[Mod] Bones and bonemeal [0.3 beta] [bone]

Post Reply
User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

[Mod] Bones and bonemeal [0.3 beta] [bone]

by BlockMen » Post

Hi everyone,

this mod implements Bones to Minetest. When you dig dirt there will drop bone with a chance of 2%. With Bones you can craft Bonemeal, that lets grow grass when used. Also you can grow trees instantly when using Bonemeal on a sapling. (since Version 0.2)

Since Version 0.3 this mod supports PilzAdam's farming mod. The wheat, cotton and pumpkin need a random number of bonemeal to get full grown. The bonemeal lets grow also flowers when used on grass block, but remember that they are only part of last Minetest-dev version and just in survival and build games.
1 Bone -> Output: 5 Bonemeal
Bonemeal can only used on Dirt with Grass, the height of the growing grass is random.

Screenshot:
Image

Depends:
default

Notice:
- only works with Minetest 0.4.6 or later
- flowers only available at last git (build and survival games)

Download:
Version 0.3 Beta: Download

Version 0.2: old Version
Version 0.1: first release

License:
WTFPL

Please give Feedback and ideas for improvement
Last edited by BlockMen on Mon Apr 29, 2013 17:31, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

Why not use the bones that are in the Build and Survival game (the other bones mod) to craft bonemeal?
In the screenshot I can see that your inventory image has semi transparent pixels at the sides, wich causes this strange looking wielditem.

User avatar
rarkenin
Member
Posts: 668
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 20:48

by rarkenin » Post

PilzAdam wrote:Why not use the bones that are in the Build and Survival game (the other bones mod) to craft bonemeal?
In the screenshot I can see that your inventory image has semi transparent pixels at the sides, wich causes this strange looking wielditem.
I think the point is difficulty. It is easier to kill oneself to get bones.
Admin pro tempore on 0gb.us:30000. Ask me if you have a problem, or just want help.
This is a signature virus. Add me to your signature so that I can multiply.
Now working on my own clone, Mosstest.
I guess I'm back for some time.

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

rarkenin wrote:
PilzAdam wrote:Why not use the bones that are in the Build and Survival game (the other bones mod) to craft bonemeal?
In the screenshot I can see that your inventory image has semi transparent pixels at the sides, wich causes this strange looking wielditem.
I think the point is difficulty. It is easier to kill oneself to get bones.
The "dead player" node is rather rare and you cant get it in singleplayer that easy (if you have no static spawn).

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

PilzAdam wrote:The "dead player" node is rather rare and you cant get it in singleplayer that easy (if you have no static spawn).
That is the main point. This mod allows bones in singleplayer too, but without dying.


And thanks for the hint with the texture, I will change next release.

User avatar
Likwid H-Craft
Member
Posts: 1113
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 14:20
Location: Lost in Crypt

by Likwid H-Craft » Post

Can you make do trees?
My Domain's/others:
http://likwidtest.hj.cx/ (Not Done)

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

Version 0.2 released:

- Bonemeal can be used to grow trees instantly when put on sapling.
- improved bonemeal texture

User avatar
Likwid H-Craft
Member
Posts: 1113
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 14:20
Location: Lost in Crypt

by Likwid H-Craft » Post

Thank you :) I need a faster way for trees :)
My Domain's/others:
http://likwidtest.hj.cx/ (Not Done)

User avatar
windmere33
Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 19:21
Location: North Carolina, USA

by windmere33 » Post

This is an AWESOME mod, i downloaded it, and I love it. But does grass do anything? if it doesnt, could you modify PilzAdams farming mod so that u get seeds out of grass?
Active Contributor To Thaumtest!

User avatar
Josh
Member
Posts: 1146
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 23:11
Location: Victoria, Australia

by Josh » Post

In minecraft, i think if you kill a zombie you get a bone (which is used to craft bonemeal) maybe if you kill the DM in PilzAdam's Simple Mobs he can drop a bone which you can use to craft bonemeal?

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

iiiiiiiii amm mmakking skkelletoons for minnnnnnnnitesttttttttt but need a 3d model
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

windmere33 wrote:This is an AWESOME mod, i downloaded it, and I love it. But does grass do anything? if it doesnt, could you modify PilzAdams farming mod so that u get seeds out of grass?
A support for PilzAdam's farming mod is already planned.
Josh wrote:In minecraft, i think if you kill a zombie you get a bone (which is used to craft bonemeal) maybe if you kill the DM in PilzAdam's Simple Mobs he can drop a bone which you can use to craft bonemeal?
If a good skelleton mod (maybe jojoa's?) is published i will add support for it too

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

in minitest i made a skeleton mob. i stopped the mod from using it due to the attacking not wroking. i will edit it more later but it drops bones, bows, and arrows. though i will have to make a soft dependency for it.if anyone can provide a 3d model that would be great
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

Update: Version 0.3

Changelog:
- supports PilzAdam's farming mod
- supports flowers of lastest dev-build
- improved grass growing (when using bonemeal)

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

Could you support any tree. Maybe check to see if it has the droup tree and then have it grow.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

jojoa1997 wrote:Could you support any tree. Maybe check to see if it has the droup tree and then have it grow.
Supporting trees isn't that easy. There is currently no way to say "if jungle_saplinge then grow jungle_tree"(IIRC). This mod generates the default tree on its own, and when i will find the time i may add jungle trees...someday.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

Oh in minitest I have made jungle trees grow though they are not the normal shape. Also there should be a generate tree function.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
rommiekerova
Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 10:59
In-game: Andromeda
Location: United Kingdom

by rommiekerova » Post

I was trying to get it to use the bones used in the default game instead of yours but all I got was a failed init.lua. Can you please tell me how to make it use the default bones? I was playing on a server that does use the default bones to make bonemeal so I'm sure its possible.
My Mods: Kerova - viewtopic.php?id=8054
My Server: Kalisae - viewtopic.php?id=9040 <--CLOSED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE!

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

rommiekerova wrote:I was trying to get it to use the bones used in the default game instead of yours but all I got was a failed init.lua. Can you please tell me how to make it use the default bones? I was playing on a server that does use the default bones to make bonemeal so I'm sure its possible.
Add following to init.lua:

Code: Select all

minetest.register_craft({
    output = 'bone:bonemeal 5',
    recipe = {{'bones:bones'}}
})

User avatar
rommiekerova
Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 10:59
In-game: Andromeda
Location: United Kingdom

by rommiekerova » Post

Awesome. Works perfectly. Thanks.
I'm not saying your bones aren't good btw, I just don't see a need for an extra item when the default already has one. I'm playing on my own server thats open only to me right now so default bones is fine. ^_^
My Mods: Kerova - viewtopic.php?id=8054
My Server: Kalisae - viewtopic.php?id=9040 <--CLOSED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE!

User avatar
alissson8947
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 19:18

by alissson8947 » Post

a im are new Meber of minetest.net

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

alissson8947 wrote:a im are new Meber of minetest.net
Welcome!

Take the time to read the forum and how it works, or at least the sticky posts and enjoy minetest.

User avatar
D0431791
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 11:43

by D0431791 » Post

rarkenin wrote:
PilzAdam wrote:Why not use the bones that are in the Build and Survival game (the other bones mod) to craft bonemeal?
In the screenshot I can see that your inventory image has semi transparent pixels at the sides, wich causes this strange looking wielditem.
I think the point is difficulty. It is easier to kill oneself to get bones.
Bone Ore is also a choice.
Minetest can be better if
*better data structure for players and unstackable items like JSON
*multi sqlite files so that multi dimension can be easily implemented
*more convenient mob developing interface

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2842
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

[Mod] Bones and bonemeal [0.3b] [bone]

by TenPlus1 » Post

This mod has a bug where hoe's no longer work on grass and dirt, so I've updated the bonemeal mod to work with the newer minetest 0.4.12 features:
Attachments
bone_0.3b-BlockMen.zip
(2.87 KiB) Downloaded 133 times

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests