How to apply texture pack on individual clients?

Post Reply
User avatar
keyxmakerx
Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 23:53

How to apply texture pack on individual clients?

by keyxmakerx » Post

Ever since I installed the new minetest, the texture is default for the server itself but could I apply my own texture?

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3935
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

Its currently not possible to use you own Textures on a Server
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4526
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

sfan5 wrote:Its currently not possible to use you own Textures on a Server
Ehm, yes you can. You replace the mod the mod textures on the server.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server

User avatar
Zeg9
Member
Posts: 608
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:02
Location: France

by Zeg9 » Post

Put them in $PATH_USER/textures/all
http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=1592
Last edited by Zeg9 on Mon May 13, 2013 08:16, edited 1 time in total.
I made a few (a lot of?) mods for minetest: here is a list.
See also the MT-Faithful texture pack (work in progress).

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3935
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

Jordach wrote:
sfan5 wrote:Its currently not possible to use you own Textures on a Server
Ehm, yes you can. You replace the mod the mod textures on the server.
What I meant: If you go on a Server, you can't use your own textures
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen
Location: A forest in the midwest
Contact:

by Evergreen » Post

sfan5 wrote:
Jordach wrote:
sfan5 wrote:Its currently not possible to use you own Textures on a Server
Ehm, yes you can. You replace the mod the mod textures on the server.
What I meant: If you go on a Server, you can't use your own textures
Ehm, yes you can. No one except you can see them though.
Back from the dead!

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4543
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

minetest.conf: texture_path = /foo/blah

(or dump everything into minetest/textures/all of course)
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6280
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

by rubenwardy » Post

sfan5 wrote:
Jordach wrote:
sfan5 wrote:Its currently not possible to use you own Textures on a Server
Ehm, yes you can. You replace the mod the mod textures on the server.
What I meant: If you go on a Server, you can't use your own textures
Two words: Texture packs

User avatar
keyxmakerx
Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 23:53

by keyxmakerx » Post

VanessaE wrote:minetest.conf: texture_path = /foo/blah

(or dump everything into minetest/textures/all of course)
Yes I tried that, but everything just returns back to default. I just assumed it was pulling the texture from the server.

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4543
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

You tried which one? I listed two methods there (which I know work, because I use them both).
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4526
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

If the texture name in /textures/all is not the same as the one on the server, then the client will not replace the texture ingame at all.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server

User avatar
keyxmakerx
Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 23:53

by keyxmakerx » Post

Ok >.< Sorry I am abit confusled. Let me try this, my minetest folder is minetest/textures/base/ Which is the only folder within the texture folder. Should I create a directory?

Also if I change the texture path for the server, would it affect windows users?

I am using the beta Linux version.

And also, could I add a mod to a client, like music? because wen i add onto server it makes the timeout even worse. - I think it may be my internet is too slow plus the server is off a old laptop, wen i get the money ill buy a system76 in hopes that will increase the speed of the server by many factors.
Last edited by keyxmakerx on Tue May 14, 2013 00:37, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4543
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

The folder you mentioned is not the main texture folder, but one of many.

If you change the textures on the server, which is done by outright replacing them in every mod folder they exist in, all clients who connect to your server will see and reflect the change (except where they run their own texture packs of course).

If you add a music mod such as Ambiance, or the music player in Technic, there will be a much larger download time. Timeouts are normal in this case (if undesirable).

The overall speed of your server has little effect on the speed of data transmission, because of the way the network stack has been written. This will be improved in the future I'm sure.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
keyxmakerx
Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 23:53

by keyxmakerx » Post

VanessaE wrote:The folder you mentioned is not the main texture folder, but one of many.

If you change the textures on the server, which is done by outright replacing them in every mod folder they exist in, all clients who connect to your server will see and reflect the change (except where they run their own texture packs of course).

If you add a music mod such as Ambiance, or the music player in Technic, there will be a much larger download time. Timeouts are normal in this case (if undesirable).

The overall speed of your server has little effect on the speed of data transmission, because of the way the network stack has been written. This will be improved in the future I'm sure.
Sorry to bother you with all of this, I'm just now getting into server even though I've been a linux member for years now. So again I am very sorry.

Ok so I change all textures from the /usr/share/minetest and .minetest and adding a texture to server is bad idea along with music which can not be individually added to client. And reducing timeout isn't about my server more than... There u lost me with network stack, seeing how I have decent internet speed along with high bandwidth I can't see an issue that would cause a problem unless it was the game itself but to my understanding they have already fixed any issues with the newer updated version. ?

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4543
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

No need to apologize. Every one of us on these forums, from the newest casual player to the most seasoned core developer, has been in that "n00b!" stage before.

By "network stack", I mean the code specific to the Minetest engine that is responsible for handling the connection between your server and the various clients who are connecting to it.

It is not a problem with your hardware or your Internet connection, nor anything that you're doing with your server. The network stack in Minetest is just not currently capable of fast communication, but improvements to this code are expected some time in the not-too-distant future.

Also of note, there is some capability to play sounds on a client's local machine without them first having gone through the server. Rather, a user can download a sound pack from some random website, install it to his client, and those sounds will play when your server tells the client to play them, if you have the appropriate mods to do this (I don't remember which ones use this feature).
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
keyxmakerx
Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 23:53

by keyxmakerx » Post

VanessaE wrote:No need to apologize. Every one of us on these forums, from the newest casual player to the most seasoned core developer, has been in that "n00b!" stage before.

By "network stack", I mean the code specific to the Minetest engine that is responsible for handling the connection between your server and the various clients who are connecting to it.

It is not a problem with your hardware or your Internet connection, nor anything that you're doing with your server. The network stack in Minetest is just not currently capable of fast communication, but improvements to this code are expected some time in the not-too-distant future.

Also of note, there is some capability to play sounds on a client's local machine without them first having gone through the server. Rather, a user can download a sound pack from some random website, install it to his client, and those sounds will play when your server tells the client to play them, if you have the appropriate mods to do this (I don't remember which ones use this feature).
So basically... wait for all of those features to be implemented later on?

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

There is a simple way to apply a texture pack to clients, although it is hacky.

I suggest downloading and compiling Minetest yourself, then keep it in a place where you can write.

1) back up these directories: "games" and "mods"
2) download a texture pack and extract it, do not move the files yet
3) copy or move the files from the texture pack to replace mods' textures (eg. "default_stone.png" goes to the "default" mod's "textures" directory); you will have to do this for each mod, including the default ones, individually
4) start server

User avatar
kaeza
Moderator
Posts: 2162
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 05:00
GitHub: kaeza
IRC: kaeza diemartin blaaaaargh
In-game: kaeza
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Contact:

by kaeza » Post

I just use something to the effect of:

Code: Select all

#! /bin/sh
MINETESTDIR="$HOME/.minetest";
TPDIR="$MINETESTDIR/textures/default";
cd "$MINETESTDIR";
mkdir "textures/default";
for file in `find games/common/ games/minetest_game/ -name '*.png'`; do
  cp -f "$file" "$TPDIR/";
done
Then set texture_path in minetest.conf to point to $TPDIR:

Code: Select all

texture_path = /home/bleh/.minetest/textures/default
Your signature is not the place for a blog post. Please keep it as concise as possible. Thank you!

Check out my stuff! | Donations greatly appreciated! PayPal

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4526
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

kaeza wrote:I just use something to the effect of:

Code: Select all

#! /bin/sh
MINETESTDIR="$HOME/.minetest";
TPDIR="$MINETESTDIR/textures/default";
cd "$MINETESTDIR";
mkdir "textures/default";
for file in `find games/common/ games/minetest_game/ -name '*.png'`; do
  cp -f "$file" "$TPDIR/";
done
Then set texture_path in minetest.conf to point to $TPDIR:

Code: Select all

texture_path = /home/bleh/.minetest/textures/default
Now I remember why Bash is awesome.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server

User avatar
keyxmakerx
Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 23:53

by keyxmakerx » Post

kaeza wrote:I just use something to the effect of:

Code: Select all

#! /bin/sh
MINETESTDIR="$HOME/.minetest";
TPDIR="$MINETESTDIR/textures/default";
cd "$MINETESTDIR";
mkdir "textures/default";
for file in `find games/common/ games/minetest_game/ -name '*.png'`; do
  cp -f "$file" "$TPDIR/";
done
Then set texture_path in minetest.conf to point to $TPDIR:

Code: Select all

texture_path = /home/bleh/.minetest/textures/default
Ok, but adding that line of code would it effect windows users? Or do I add it to my client? If so which file do I add that line for texture path to?
Last edited by keyxmakerx on Fri May 17, 2013 09:45, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
kaeza
Moderator
Posts: 2162
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 05:00
GitHub: kaeza
IRC: kaeza diemartin blaaaaargh
In-game: kaeza
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Contact:

by kaeza » Post

keyxmakerx wrote:I am using the beta Linux version.
keyxmakerx wrote:would it effect windows users?
wat
Your signature is not the place for a blog post. Please keep it as concise as possible. Thank you!

Check out my stuff! | Donations greatly appreciated! PayPal

User avatar
keyxmakerx
Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 23:53

by keyxmakerx » Post

kaeza wrote:
keyxmakerx wrote:I am using the beta Linux version.
keyxmakerx wrote:would it effect windows users?
wat
They are asking to change where the game finds the texture packs on the server, if the server sends out to find texture packs on /usr/share/minetest/bla bla then windows users will just have a everything unknown block will they not? Or did i misinterpret the suggestions.

NVM Scratch all that, sorry i finally understand now. The bash wouldn't work for me because i'm using the more recently built version of minetest which doesn't have common.

I didn't realize that changing the minetest.conf on your client would affect anything, I thought it just pulled all the information server side. Got it to work! thanks everyone and sorry for being such a noobie! T.T
Last edited by keyxmakerx on Mon May 20, 2013 20:08, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests