[Mod] Torches [3.0.1] [torches]

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

[Mod] Torches [3.0.1] [torches]

by BlockMen » Post

Hi everyone,

this mod adds 3D torches to Minetest in two different styles; by default in Minetest style (flames are animated textures).
The second style is Minecraft like, so flames are "animated" by using particles

Minetest styled:
Those torches use the same textures as the 2D torch, so its fully compatible with Texture Packs. By default ceiling torches
are removed and cannot be placed aswell. You can change this behavior by adding "torches_enable_ceiling = true" to your minetest.conf
Furthermore this style is more server traffic friendly, so it is enabled by default

Minecraft styled:
Those torches have a non-animated texture and needs to be supported by Texture Packs (currently most don't support this mod).
"Animation" is done like in Minecraft with particles, which cause (in the current implementation in the Minetest engine)
some amount of traffic and can cause lags at slow connections. The rate and distance when particles are send is configurable
in the first lines of "mc_style.lua". Enable this style by adding "torches_style = minecraft" to your minetest.conf. Note that
the ceiling setting is ignored with this style.

Notice:
Both styles convert existing torches to the new style. Keep in mind that by default ceiling torches get removed !

Depends:
default

Download:
Version 3.0.1: Download (Minetest 0.4.12 and later)
+ Spoiler
License:
LGPL 2.1 (Code) and CC-BY 3.0 (Textures and Meshes/Models)

Other:
Repository: on Github

Please give Feedback and ideas for improvement
Last edited by BlockMen on Sun Mar 29, 2015 16:54, edited 5 times in total.

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3089
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=3021
The link above leads to a previous attempt to create 3D torches for Minetest. Maybe it's lantern could prove to be useful?
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

Inocudom wrote:http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=3021
The link above leads to a previous attempt to create 3D torches for Minetest. Maybe it's lantern could prove to be useful?
There are one or two more mods that have 3D torches, but none has particles flames, which have IMO alot benefits and also look IMO better.

And this mod will just have torches, nothing else ;)

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen
Location: A forest in the midwest
Contact:

by Evergreen » Post

Another amazing mod BlockMen! :D
Back from the dead!

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

Evergreen wrote:Another amazing mod BlockMen! :D
thanks.

--

Update: Version 1.1

Changelog:
- Torches on wall dont drop when node under it is digged
- Torches drop directly when not placed on floor or wall
- fixed different other placing bugs

User avatar
babe223
Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 13:36
Location: Brasil,Rio de Janeiro

by babe223 » Post

http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=3021
My mod has animation of fire so no particle of smoke nor his '-'
Bem vindos Brasileiros,eu sou primeiro brasileiro daqui do forum, espero que tragam bastante mods

[MOD] torch http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php?id=3021
[MOD]HATCHE:http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php?id=3458

User avatar
AndrOn
Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 22:32
Location: Orléans, France

by AndrOn » Post

These torches are regularly dropping torches items in my world, don't know why. (awesome mod by the way ;)
k8NzxjXgxpd3KOKx8pz2z12pStfpe5tR

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

AndrOn wrote:These torches are regularly dropping torches items in my world, don't know why. (awesome mod by the way ;)
Are the torches dropping "themself" or do they stay and drop items? What version do you use (Minetest and mod)?

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6147
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

by rubenwardy » Post

Nice!

User avatar
MaxCZ
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 11:19

by MaxCZ » Post

NNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiccccccccccccccccccccccccccccceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
wazuclan.com by MaxCZ

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

by LionsDen » Post

I really like the torches mod. :)

I do have one problem though. I can't place the torches on ceilings. They fall off right away. Placing torches on ceilings, upside down, is the most common way I use torches so it's a little bit of a pain for me. That is the only downside I have seen to the mod so far.

Great work. :)

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

LionsDen wrote: I do have one problem though. I can't place the torches on ceilings. They fall off right away.
Its a feature, not a bug ;)

User avatar
CalumMc
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 16:50
Location: England

by CalumMc » Post

Sometimes I see a torch raining dropped items directly under it, resulting in many items. Also if a player places a torch on a door, it actually destroys part of the door. In addition, this mod takes no notice of protection systems, leaving a mess of torches in my spawn. Is there a solution to these problems besides removing the mod? Thanks

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

CalumMc wrote:Sometimes I see a torch raining dropped items directly under it, resulting in many items. Also if a player places a torch on a door, it actually destroys part of the door. In addition, this mod takes no notice of protection systems, leaving a mess of torches in my spawn. Is there a solution to these problems besides removing the mod? Thanks
Currently i have no idea what is causing this issues, so i guess removing is currently the best solution...

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

Update. Version 1.2 released

--

accidentally i removed this post, sry
Last edited by BlockMen on Wed Jan 22, 2014 12:57, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
falsegrayburger
Member
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 15:16
In-game: naro

by falsegrayburger » Post

Great mod

User avatar
Johnyknowhow
Member
Posts: 358
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 15:17
In-game: Minetestian
Location: Washington, USA

by Johnyknowhow » Post

Great,
More minecraftest,
I lost interest in Minetest for a couple of years and... I am still not really paying much attention. I rarely browse these forums anymore but it's nice to see old faces.

obligatory fancy signature goes here

User avatar
Markov
New member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 06:59
Location: Russia
Contact:

by Markov » Post

Can you just edit textire to model for default torch? It'll be better!

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

Markov wrote:Can you just edit textire to model for default torch? It'll be better!
I don't like like the default texture, so my answer is: no.

User avatar
gsmanners
Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 21:37

by gsmanners » Post

Is there a way to make this work without the add_particle? I'm not sure, but I think having lots of particles in a really huge cavern would make the game lag a bit.

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

gsmanners wrote:Is there a way to make this work without the add_particle? I'm not sure, but I think having lots of particles in a really huge cavern would make the game lag a bit.
Well, you can try out if limiting helps. I made a dev-branch on github where flames are only spawned when a player is near torch (13 block by default).

https://github.com/BlockMen/torches/tree/dev

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

BlockMen wrote:They have "real" flames
Wouldnt that harm my computer?

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen
Location: A forest in the midwest
Contact:

by Evergreen » Post

PilzAdam wrote:
BlockMen wrote:They have "real" flames
Wouldnt that harm my computer?
In fact, wouldn't that burn down your house?
Back from the dead!

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

PilzAdam wrote:
BlockMen wrote:They have "real" flames
Wouldnt that harm my computer?
Hmm...guess why I put the word "real" in quotation marks.

But be a man and try out if they harm your computer ;)

User avatar
gsmanners
Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 21:37

by gsmanners » Post

BlockMen wrote:Well, you can try out if limiting helps. I made a dev-branch on github where flames are only spawned when a player is near torch (13 block by default).

https://github.com/BlockMen/torches/tree/dev
Thanks. I'll give that a shot.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: naughtmcnoone and 4 guests