[Windows] BlockMen's builds (32 & 64bit): LevelDB, DirectX

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

[Windows] BlockMen's builds (32 & 64bit): LevelDB, DirectX

by BlockMen » Post

You can get here my lastest Windows builds, for 32Bit and 64Bit systems. The builds have GetText, cURL, TTF, LuaJIT, LevelDB and DirectX support.

Lastest Builds (2015-02-12):

32Bit:
Minetest 0.4.11-dev20150212

64Bit:
Minetest 0.4.11-x64-dev20150212

To use DirectX instead of OpenGL add

Code: Select all

video_driver = direct3d9
enable_shaders = false
to minetest.conf.

Please let me know if you notice any bugs or problems with these builds.
Last edited by BlockMen on Thu Feb 12, 2015 10:25, edited 21 times in total.

User avatar
webdesigner97
Member
Posts: 1327
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 19:16
GitHub: webD97
IRC: webdesigner97
In-game: webdesigner97
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

by webdesigner97 » Post

Which advantages does DirectX have?

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

webdesigner97 wrote:Which advantages does DirectX have?
You mean Direct3D and not DirectX here. It's usually slightly faster, but does not support GLSL shaders and is Windows-only.

User avatar
webdesigner97
Member
Posts: 1327
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 19:16
GitHub: webD97
IRC: webdesigner97
In-game: webdesigner97
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

by webdesigner97 » Post

Calinou wrote:
webdesigner97 wrote:Which advantages does DirectX have?
You mean Direct3D and not DirectX here. It's usually slightly faster, but does not support GLSL shaders and is Windows-only.
Ok, thx for the explanation :) Oh and BlockMen said:
BlockMen wrote:(...) The builds have GetText, cURL, TTF, LuaJIT and DirectX support.(...)
That's why I also said Directx ;)

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

webdesigner97 wrote:
Calinou wrote:
webdesigner97 wrote:Which advantages does DirectX have?
You mean Direct3D and not DirectX here. It's usually slightly faster, but does not support GLSL shaders and is Windows-only.
Ok, thx for the explanation :) Oh and BlockMen said:
BlockMen wrote:(...) The builds have GetText, cURL, TTF, LuaJIT and DirectX support.(...)
That's why I also said Directx ;)
"Microsoft DirectX is a collection of APIs [...] on Microsoft platforms."
"Direct3D is part of Microsoft's DirectX API." -> so DirectX support is not wrong ;)

And yes, its faster and runs smoother. Unfortunately Minetest has currently only shaders for OpenGl, so when using Direct3D you have to disable shaders.

User avatar
cHyper
Member
Posts: 904
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 08:49
GitHub: cHyper-0815OL
IRC: cHyper cHyper_de
In-game: cHyper cHyper_0815
Location: Austria
Contact:

by cHyper » Post

How must the minetest.conf file look like?

Code: Select all

video_driver = direct3d9
is this correct?

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

cHyper wrote:How must the minetest.conf file look like?

Code: Select all

video_driver = direct3d9
is this correct?
Yes. You should see the driver you use in the console when starting Minetest.

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3096
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

BlockMen wrote:
webdesigner97 wrote:
Calinou wrote:
You mean Direct3D and not DirectX here. It's usually slightly faster, but does not support GLSL shaders and is Windows-only.
Ok, thx for the explanation :) Oh and BlockMen said:
BlockMen wrote:(...) The builds have GetText, cURL, TTF, LuaJIT and DirectX support.(...)
That's why I also said Directx ;)
"Microsoft DirectX is a collection of APIs [...] on Microsoft platforms."
"Direct3D is part of Microsoft's DirectX API." -> so DirectX support is not wrong ;)

And yes, its faster and runs smoother. Unfortunately Minetest has currently only shaders for OpenGl, so when using Direct3D you have to disable shaders.
There are a few questions that would have to be asked concerning shaders for DirectX 9:
1-Does DirectX 9 even support shaders at all?
2-Is there anybody skilled enough and willing enough to write shaders for DirectX 9?
3-If shaders were successfully written for DirectX 9, would they ever be added to Minetest?
Last edited by Inocudom on Mon Jul 29, 2013 22:37, edited 1 time in total.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

by LionsDen » Post

I noticed a couple of issues.

1. I use the technic mod and when I click the button to show the bags, none of the bags have a name on it's button. I was/am using PilzAdam's latest 7-24-2013 version and occasionally the button name would disappear but it was only on one or two of them and they would come back the next time I clicked the bags button. On yours, all of them were missing and never came back and I played for hours and even restarted the game once in that time.

2. After I was done testing, I copied the world back to PilzAdam's version and it wouldn't let me open the file. I don't remember the exact error but it wouldn't load the world. I don't know if it was a problem with your copy or PilzAdam's version that was causing this. Luckily, I had a backup from before I took the world over to yours and was able to restore my world.

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

LionsDen wrote:I noticed a couple of issues.

1. I use the technic mod and when I click the button to show the bags, none of the bags have a name on it's button. I was/am using PilzAdam's latest 7-24-2013 version and occasionally the button name would disappear but it was only on one or two of them and they would come back the next time I clicked the bags button. On yours, all of them were missing and never came back and I played for hours and even restarted the game once in that time.

2. After I was done testing, I copied the world back to PilzAdam's version and it wouldn't let me open the file. I don't remember the exact error but it wouldn't load the world. I don't know if it was a problem with your copy or PilzAdam's version that was causing this. Luckily, I had a backup from before I took the world over to yours and was able to restore my world.
Thanks for giving feedback.

First issue: I have tested and noticed, that labels in formspecs are not shown, so its not related to technic. It may be caused by TTF, i'm gonna check this.

2nd issue: This is caused by commits that have been merged into the game, which are already included in my build, but not in PilzAdam's last build. Because of that the game is not able to read the mapdata. You can ask PilzAdam to make a new build, then you can open the world you have used in my build.

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

BlockMen wrote:
LionsDen wrote:I noticed a couple of issues.

1. I use the technic mod and when I click the button to show the bags, none of the bags have a name on it's button. I was/am using PilzAdam's latest 7-24-2013 version and occasionally the button name would disappear but it was only on one or two of them and they would come back the next time I clicked the bags button. On yours, all of them were missing and never came back and I played for hours and even restarted the game once in that time.

2. After I was done testing, I copied the world back to PilzAdam's version and it wouldn't let me open the file. I don't remember the exact error but it wouldn't load the world. I don't know if it was a problem with your copy or PilzAdam's version that was causing this. Luckily, I had a backup from before I took the world over to yours and was able to restore my world.
Thanks for giving feedback.

First issue: I have tested and noticed, that labels in formspecs are not shown, so its not related to technic. It may be caused by TTF, i'm gonna check this.

2nd issue: This is caused by commits that have been merged into the game, which are already included in my build, but not in PilzAdam's last build. Because of that the game is not able to read the mapdata. You can ask PilzAdam to make a new build, then you can open the world you have used in my build.
woowoowwow, hold on. Do you just said that we broke world format with a commit?

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

PilzAdam wrote: woowoowwow, hold on. Do you just said that we broke world format with a commit?
Yes. Error message:

Code: Select all

22:46:28: ERROR[main]: ServerError: World data version mismatch in MapBlock (-1,-2,1)
22:46:28: ERROR[main]: ----
22:46:28: ERROR[main]: "ERROR: MapBlock format not supported"
22:46:28: ERROR[main]: See debug.txt.
22:46:28: ERROR[main]: World probably saved by a newer version of Minetest.
and commit that is causing: https://github.com/minetest/minetest/co ... 527f22c08d

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3938
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

Inocudom wrote:
BlockMen wrote:
webdesigner97 wrote: Ok, thx for the explanation :) Oh and BlockMen said:

That's why I also said Directx ;)
"Microsoft DirectX is a collection of APIs [...] on Microsoft platforms."
"Direct3D is part of Microsoft's DirectX API." -> so DirectX support is not wrong ;)

And yes, its faster and runs smoother. Unfortunately Minetest has currently only shaders for OpenGl, so when using Direct3D you have to disable shaders.
There are a few questions that would have to be asked concerning shaders for DirectX 9:
1-Does DirectX 9 even support shaders at all?
Yes, but it uses HLSL instead of GLSL
Inocudom wrote:2-Is there anybody skilled enough
Yes
Inocudom wrote: and willing enough to write shaders for DirectX 9?
Probably no
Inocudom wrote:3-If shaders were successfully written for DirectX 9, would they ever be added to Minetest?
Yeah, sure
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

New build: 0.4.7-dev01082013

https://www.dropbox.com/s/qn5l50o1dqeru ... 082013.zip


Includes last commits, that fix world breaking issue

PS: Every kind of labels in formspecs are still not shown, it seems to be an windows only issue related to the restructured menu

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

New build: 0.4.7-dev03082013

https://www.dropbox.com/s/59mr2f4uny9m1 ... 082013.zip


Fixes formspecs issue, labels are now displayed correct

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

BlockMen wrote:Fixes formspecs issue, labels are now displayed correct
What was the problem?

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

PilzAdam wrote:
BlockMen wrote:Fixes formspecs issue, labels are now displayed correct
What was the problem?
Im not sure, it may be an incorrect conversion from wstring to wchar_t*, which is IMO unnecessary at all. so i changed the var declaration of all labels from wchar_t* to wstring...

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

New build: 0.4.7-dev04082013

https://www.dropbox.com/s/uz91hi7cv87fd ... 082013.zip


a lot new stuff, e.g.
- Texture Pack selection via main menu
- anticheat
- and many fixes

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

New build: 0.4.7-dev06082013

https://www.dropbox.com/s/gdyneo0u6d8zl ... 082013.zip


Commits since last build:
+ Spoiler

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

New build: 0.4.7-dev18082013

https://www.dropbox.com/s/b54no74izsyne ... 082013.zip
+ Spoiler

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

New build: 0.4.7-dev25082013

https://www.dropbox.com/s/fyqv8yslm9c6p ... 082013.zip
+ Spoiler

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3096
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

Add a setting for HighPrecisionFPU (fixes #763)... What effect does this have on DirectX 9? It sounds like it would make it smoother, but does it?
Last edited by Inocudom on Mon Aug 26, 2013 02:34, edited 1 time in total.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3938
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

Inocudom wrote:Add a setting for HighPrecisionFPU (fixes #763)... What effect does this have on DirectX 9? It sounds like it would make it smoother, but does it?
# Makes DirectX work with LuaJIT. Disable if it causes troubles.
https://github.com/minetest/minetest/co ... 2b1#L0R393
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

New build: 0.4.7-dev04092013

https://www.dropbox.com/s/gf6vecadz8com ... 092013.zip
+ Spoiler

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

New build: 0.4.7-dev09092013

https://www.dropbox.com/s/4jkbztbe4kzsz ... 092013.zip
+ Spoiler

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests