[0.4.8] Texture pack selection

Locked
Nore
Developer
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

[0.4.8] Texture pack selection

by Nore » Post

For 0.4.8, there will be texture pack selection in the main menu. Texture pack folders should be put in the textures/ folder, and the main menu allows to choose the texture pack.

Moreover, the "all" folder is removed, and will be shown as a texture pack. The "server" folder (and texture pack) are textures that the server will send to client.

Example structure:

Code: Select all

textures/
├── HDX/
│ ├── info.txt
│ ├── screenshot.png
│ ├── default_wood.png
│ └── ...
└── Misa/
  ├── info.txt
  ├── screenshot.png
  ├── default_brick.png
  └── ...
For texture pack creators:
- there should be a "info.txt" file in the texture pack folder, that will hold information on the texture pack that will be displayed
- there should be a "screenshot.png" that will be a screenshot of the TP. Its format must be 4:3 (at least 160×120).
Last edited by Nore on Sun Aug 04, 2013 15:26, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen
Location: A forest in the midwest
Contact:

by Evergreen » Post

Awesome! More updates for mt-faithful are coming because of this. :D
Back from the dead!

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6379
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

by rubenwardy » Post

Wow! Very nice!

Now all we need is sound packs, and we will be pack-ed up!

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3098
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

This is a good idea, but so is sound packs support.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
webdesigner97
Member
Posts: 1327
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 19:16
GitHub: webD97
IRC: webdesigner97
In-game: webdesigner97
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

by webdesigner97 » Post

Yep, this is a great improvement!

User avatar
Casimir
Member
Posts: 1189
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 16:59
GitHub: CasimirKaPazi

by Casimir » Post

Very nice.
Now info.txt for games and mods too, please.
Also you don't need a big red text "no screenshot available", just don't show it.
Last edited by Casimir on Sun Aug 04, 2013 17:30, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Mossmanikin
Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 16:26
Location: where we don't speak english.

by Mossmanikin » Post

Absolutely great.
I've been waiting for this. :)

Noob 4 life!
My stuff

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen
Location: A forest in the midwest
Contact:

by Evergreen » Post

Also, why isn't the mod manager more like this? Making an image for a mod + an explanation isn't a bad idea.
Last edited by Evergreen on Sun Aug 04, 2013 18:58, edited 1 time in total.
Back from the dead!

User avatar
andressonpaullo
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 20:33

by andressonpaullo » Post

ai dentro

User avatar
Mito551
Member
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 15:03

by Mito551 » Post

great!

User avatar
Josh
Member
Posts: 1146
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 23:11
Location: Victoria, Australia

by Josh » Post

Great Texture Pack new system you got going there, +1
Last edited by Josh on Mon Aug 05, 2013 02:53, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
cHyper
Member
Posts: 992
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 08:49
GitHub: cHyper-0815OL
IRC: cHyper cHyper_de
In-game: cHyper
Location: Austria
Contact:

by cHyper » Post

awesome feature...

+1
Last edited by cHyper on Thu Aug 15, 2013 08:01, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
BlauerEisRegen
Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 18:13

by BlauerEisRegen » Post

I simply like that! Good job!
Will there be a feauture where you can change the textures in the running game?

User avatar
Gambit
Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31
Location: United States

by Gambit » Post

Is there a limit on how many letters can be in the info.txt? Will the summery be cutoff or spill out of it's boundaries?
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4527
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

Gambit wrote:Is there a limit on how many letters can be in the info.txt? Will the summery be cutoff or spill out of it's boundaries?
Try it and find out. (To be fair, nobody has actually done this test.)
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server

User avatar
Gambit
Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31
Location: United States

by Gambit » Post

Jordach wrote:
Gambit wrote:Is there a limit on how many letters can be in the info.txt? Will the summery be cutoff or spill out of it's boundaries?
Try it and find out. (To be fair, nobody has actually done this test.)
Eww... yeah you might need to fix it... X_x
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

Gambit wrote:
Jordach wrote:
Gambit wrote:Is there a limit on how many letters can be in the info.txt? Will the summery be cutoff or spill out of it's boundaries?
Try it and find out. (To be fair, nobody has actually done this test.)
Eww... yeah you might need to fix it... X_x
Image
info.txt:

Code: Select all

This is an epicly long Texture Pack description to show how long a description can be.
Z
Thats about 80 characters for the first line.

I wonder why you cant test this yourself, though.
Last edited by PilzAdam on Fri Aug 16, 2013 22:16, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Mito551
Member
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 15:03

by Mito551 » Post

PilzAdam wrote:
Gambit wrote:
Jordach wrote:Try it and find out. (To be fair, nobody has actually done this test.)
Eww... yeah you might need to fix it... X_x
http://mg.viewskew.com/mgoblin_media/me ... TPInfo.png
info.txt:

Code: Select all

This is an epicly long Texture Pack description to show how long a description can be.
Z
Thats about 80 characters for the first line.

I wonder why you cant test this yourself, though.
it looks like he did. and that's his reaction to the result of his little test.

User avatar
Gambit
Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31
Location: United States

by Gambit » Post

Mito551 wrote:
PilzAdam wrote:
Gambit wrote:
Eww... yeah you might need to fix it... X_x
http://mg.viewskew.com/mgoblin_media/me ... TPInfo.png
info.txt:

Code: Select all

This is an epicly long Texture Pack description to show how long a description can be.
Z
Thats about 80 characters for the first line.

I wonder why you cant test this yourself, though.
it looks like he did. and that's his reaction to the result of his little test.
I did test it. so Yep.
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001

User avatar
Prestotron562
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 22:37
Location: Internet
Contact:

by Prestotron562 » Post

Yeah Sfan5 had that in his builds

User avatar
Gambit
Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31
Location: United States

by Gambit » Post

I wish there was a slideshow feature for the preview images that way we can show multiple shots of the texture pack.
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001

User avatar
Prestotron562
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 22:37
Location: Internet
Contact:

by Prestotron562 » Post

Yeah sfan5 has a build of Minetest with this feature.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest