resetting position.

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
 
Posts: 1046
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
Location: SP-Brasil
GitHub: BrunoMine

resetting position.

by BrunoMine » Sat Sep 28, 2013 18:28

Algun players back in place.
Code: Select all
15:23:45: ACTION[ServerThread]: Player Xander9000 moved too fast; resetting position
15:23:46: ACTION[ServerThread]: Player Xander9000 moved too fast; resetting position
15:23:47: ACTION[ServerThread]: Player Xander9000 moved too fast; resetting position

Can someone explain to me how to solve this?

STATUS:
  • Minetest Versão 0.4.7
  • My server
  • Runserver
  • Mod: vendor,money2,node_ownership,locked_sign
Last edited by BrunoMine on Sat Sep 28, 2013 18:28, edited 1 time in total.
My small square universe under construction ... Minemacro
Comunidade Minetest Brasil
www.minetestbrasil.com
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3391
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

by Wuzzy » Sat Sep 28, 2013 18:44

This looks like the anti-cheat system has worked here. It is part of the engine.

If a player moves suspiciosly fast (even faster than in fast mode afaik), the engine assumes that he/she/it is cheating and resets his/her/its position to where he/she/it belongs to.

You don’t have any mods installed which allow players to move extremely fast, so this is unlikely a false alert. It seems the anti-cheat system did its job well.

If the player was actually cheating (better check it manually), the problem is solved by causing the player to stop cheating on your server somehow (I don’t care how you do it).

If the player was not cheating, I don’t know how to solve the problem.

But I am not 100% sure, so take that what I said with a grain of salt.
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5684
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
 

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
 
Posts: 1046
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
Location: SP-Brasil
GitHub: BrunoMine

by BrunoMine » Mon Sep 30, 2013 16:21

this occurred because of mods?
has a less risky?
My small square universe under construction ... Minemacro
Comunidade Minetest Brasil
www.minetestbrasil.com
 

tinoesroho
Member
 
Posts: 570
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 21:55
Location: Canada

by tinoesroho » Tue Oct 01, 2013 02:00

The problem is that the server missed a few packets due to lag. When the latest packet hit the server, it looked at the previous position and the new position and went "Aha! You can't move that fast." The protocol doesn't have lag-correction, so the server doesn't know that time passed between the two packets.

When I ran Minetest on a dual-core, I disabled anti-cheat.
We are what we create.

I tinker and occasionally make (lousy) mods. Currently building an MMO subgame and updating mods. Pirate Party of Canada member. Sporadic author. 21 years old.

My github:
https://github.com/tinoesroho/
 


Return to Problems



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests