paramat
Developer
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

Blog post by celeron55

by paramat » Post

http://c55.me/blog/?p=1491
You should read this :)
Last edited by paramat on Thu Oct 17, 2013 22:39, edited 1 time in total.

DaN

by DaN » Post

AMEN.
DaN H.

mauvebic

by mauvebic » Post

I like to compare everything that goes into the engine for how well it suits a gravitation-less space game without ground surface. If everything is either disableable or suitable for such, then it gives much more freedom for people to experiment and create interesting things, even in ground-based worlds.
It’s starting to seem to me that we need to change the Minetest distribution to contain a bunch of different subgames instead of trying to have one main game. New ideas or thumbs ups for this?
I've been annoying various people for two years now as to what is needed for a genuine space game and/or alien worlds :P Chiefly, the ability to change the sky (sun, moon, the background and/or colour). And that's just for a start if you want to offer unique environments/gameplay. As it stands, the engine is hardcoded for minetest_game and variations on that theme, and new features considered through the same optics - there is no weather or caves in space :P

It would help with suggestions/ideas/feature requests if we knew what kind of games we're looking for here.

paramat
Developer

by paramat » Post

I really like celeron55's attitude and approach to Minetest and obviously am very happy to see this space-orientated vision. IRL the future of mining is in space, so there is a progression from a sandbox mining game to mining asteroids, other planets, moons etc.