[Mod] Mapgen framework/example [0.2.0] [noise23]

Post Reply
User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

[Mod] Mapgen framework/example [0.2.0] [noise23]

by paramat » Post

Image


Download and rename to noise23 https://github.com/paramat/noise23/archive/master.zip
Browse code https://github.com/paramat/noise23

noise23 0.2.0 by paramat
For Minetest 0.4.11 and later
Depends default
License: code WTFPL

Minetest 0.4.11 rewrite with the new noise features and all the corrections and optimisations i recently learned from hmmmm.
Now 3 simple biomes: grassland, desert and tundra.
16 nodes of perlinmap overgeneration to minimise mapchunk border glitches.
Last edited by paramat on Sat Feb 14, 2015 09:41, edited 5 times in total.
I rely on donations for basic income. PayPal viewtopic.php?f=3&t=14935 Patreon https://www.patreon.com/paramat

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

by paramat » Post

Bugfix, duh ...
Last edited by paramat on Fri Feb 21, 2014 14:08, edited 1 time in total.
I rely on donations for basic income. PayPal viewtopic.php?f=3&t=14935 Patreon https://www.patreon.com/paramat

4aiman
Member
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 05:47

Re: [Mod] Mapgen framework, 2D and 3D perlin noise [0.1.1] [

by 4aiman » Post

Amazing :)

Hey, paramat, would it be hard to create a pure lua mapgen that would behave like mapgen_v7 in terms of API?

What I mean here is ability to use functions like lua_mapgen.register_biome(...) that would work similar to minetest.register_biome.

Regards!

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Mapgen framework, 2D and 3D perlin noise [0.1.1] [

by paramat » Post

Hi, yeah hard for me but totally possible, although it doesn't interest me much at the moment.

4aiman
Member
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 05:47

Re: [Mod] Mapgen framework, 2D and 3D perlin noise [0.1.1] [

by 4aiman » Post

Oh, don't worry, I was curious - that's all. Currently I've fixed my issues with MGv7 by delaying LVM's stuff.

PS: too bad we stil unable to like someone's posts...

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Mapgen framework, 2D and 3D perlin noise [0.1.1] [

by paramat » Post

Yep MGV7 is the one to use for lua API, there's not much point in me trying to compete with it :)

4aiman
Member
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 05:47

Re: [Mod] Mapgen framework, 2D and 3D perlin noise [0.1.1] [

by 4aiman » Post

It's not about competition :)
Should the api be more specific I wouldn't have to think for any other possibility.
I was so frustrated when saw that any function that adds ores or creates terrains runs prior to creating caves and tunnels. So even if I wanted to split realms with "undiggable" nodes I couldn't. It took me some time to realize that such behavior is not the part of some mod.

But in the end, minetest.after() did the trick for me. It's good that LVM could be used anytime I want. I even fixed /spawn command to search for a surface using LVM :)
Too bad I still can't figure out how many nodes can be loaded and processed simultaneously...

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Mapgen framework, 2D and 3D perlin noise [0.1.1] [

by paramat » Post

You can actually stop caves removing particular nodes (in MGV6 and MGV7) by adding:
is _ground_content = false
to the node definition (meaning 'this node is not part of the ground so shouldn't be removed by cavegen) this was a change i requested.
Because lua is slow i have to keep my mods and mapgens (relatively) simple for a reasonable speed, if i wrote a mapgen with a biome API that out-performed MGV7 it would be too slow for most people.

4aiman
Member
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 05:47

Re: [Mod] Mapgen framework, 2D and 3D perlin noise [0.1.1] [

by 4aiman » Post

paramat wrote:You can actually stop caves removing particular nodes (in MGV6 and MGV7) by adding:
is _ground_content = false
Thanks! Guess I have to update my local lua_api.txt :)
paramat wrote:If i wrote a mapgen with a biome API that out-performed MGV7 it would be too slow for most people.
True...

I've tried to tamper with LVM but have a lot of questions...
Could you help me?
For example, I wanted to make your realm be lower than it was. I've changed YMIN and YMAX to 700 but I got nothing at Y=700 within a square kilometer. I've reset map but got nothing again. Restored those values back to near 7000 and got a realm at Y~=7000.

Or, if I want to change one of your biomes to smth different, then I need to change

Code: Select all

data[vi] = c_n23destone 
to a different content_id? What about filler?
I mean the top node should differ from the beneath ones - how can I make that?

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Mapgen framework, 2D and 3D perlin noise [0.1.1] [

by paramat » Post

YMIN and YMAX need to differ by at least 80-160 nodes for anything to generate, YMIN is the realm base and YMAX is the top of the atmosphere and where mountains will get chopped off. TERCEN and YWATER then should be inbetween those 2 values.
To change nodes for example:

Code: Select all

local c_sandstone = minetest.get_content_id("default:sandstone")

Code: Select all

data[vi] = c_sandstone
This mod doesn't do filler and surface material but can do so easily using 'density' to define layers of material underground, this is the advantage of 3D noise mapgen compared to the mostly 2D noise mapgen of MGV6 and MGV7, MGV5 was 3D noise but 3D noise was much slower back then, which is why MGV6 uses 2D noise.

I think the 'is ground content' feature is not yet documented in the lua-api.txt, that needs to be done.

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Mapgen framework, 2D and 3D perlin noise [0.1.1] [

by paramat » Post

To make biome 2 dirt with a single surface node of grass, add the lines below marked by '-- *' (code untested). An 'under' table is added which stores the biome number of the previous fine material node added in each vertical column. 'if density < 0 and under ~= 0 then' checks for air immediately above a fine material node, and 'data[viu] = c_grass' places a surface node underneath that air node, replacing the existing dirt node.

Code: Select all

	local c_dirt = minetest.get_content_id("default:dirt") -- *
	local c_grass = minetest.get_content_id("default:dirt_with_grass") -- *
	
	local sidelen = x1 - x0 + 1
	local chulens = {x=sidelen, y=sidelen, z=sidelen}
	local minposxyz = {x=x0, y=y0, z=z0}
	local minposxz = {x=x0, y=z0}
	
	local nvals_terrain = minetest.get_perlin_map(np_terrain, chulens):get3dMap_flat(minposxyz)
	local nvals_biome = minetest.get_perlin_map(np_biome, chulens):get2dMap_flat(minposxz)
	
	local nixyz = 1 -- 3D noise index
	local nixz = 1 -- 2D noise index
	local stable = {}
	local under = {} -- *
	for z = z0, z1 do
		for x = x0, x1 do
			local si = x - x0 + 1
			under[si] = 0 -- *
			local nodename = minetest.get_node({x=x,y=y0-1,z=z}).name
			if nodename == "air"
			or nodename == "default:water_source" then
				stable[si] = 0
			else
				stable[si] = STABLE
			end
		end
		for y = y0, y1 do
			local vi = area:index(x0, y, z)
			local viu = area:index(x0, y-1, z) -- *
			for x = x0, x1 do
				local si = x - x0 + 1
				local grad = (TERCEN - y) / TERSCA
				local density = nvals_terrain[nixyz] + grad
				local n_biome = nvals_biome[nixz] -- biome noise for node
				local biome = false -- set biome id to undefined
				if n_biome > 0.46 + math.random() * 0.04 then -- set biome id
					biome = 3
				elseif n_biome < -0.5 + math.random() * 0.04 then
					biome = 1
				else
					biome = 2
				end
				if density >= TSTONE then
					if biome == 3 then
						data[vi] = c_n23destone
					else -- biomes 1 and 2
						data[vi] = c_n23stone
					end
					stable[si] = stable[si] + 1
					under[si] = 0 -- *
				elseif density >= 0 and density < TSTONE and stable[si] >= 2 then
					if y <= YWATER + 3 then
						data[vi] = c_sand
						under[si] = 0 -- *
					elseif biome == 3 then
						data[vi] = c_desand
						under[si] = 3 -- *
					elseif biome == 1 then
						data[vi] = c_flosand
						under[si] = 1 -- *
					else -- biome = 2
						data[vi] = c_dirt -- *
						under[si] = 2 -- *
					end
				elseif y <= YWATER then
					if biome == 1 and y >= YWATER - 3 then
						data[vi] = c_ice
					else -- biomes 2 and 3
						data[vi] = c_water
					end
					stable[si] = 0
					under[si] = 0 -- *
				elseif density < 0 and under[si] ~= 0 then -- *
					if under[si] = 2 then -- *
						data[viu] = c_grass -- *
					end -- *
					under[si] = 0 -- *
				else
					data[vi] = c_air
					stable[si] = 0
					under[si] = 0 -- *
				end
				nixyz = nixyz + 1 -- increment 3D noise index
				nixz = nixz + 1 -- increment 2D noise index
				vi = vi + 1
				viu = viu + 1 -- *
			end
			nixz = nixz - 80 -- rewind 2D noise index by 80 nodes for next x row above
		end
		nixz = nixz + 80 -- fast-forward 2D noise index by 80 nodes for next northward xy plane
	end

4aiman
Member
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 05:47

Re: [Mod] Mapgen framework, 2D and 3D perlin noise [0.1.1] [

by 4aiman » Post

Thanks a lot, paramat! You're amazing! :)

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Mapgen framework, 2D and 3D perlin noise [0.1.1] [

by paramat » Post

Yeah i know =}

Does that code work? if not post the error message.

User avatar
RHR
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 20:07
GitHub: RHRhino

Re: [Mod] Mapgen framework, 2D and 3D perlin noise [0.1.1] [

by RHR » Post

paramat wrote:Does that code work?
Hey Paramat, your code works fine! Thank you very much, it is very usefull! I'm trying to customize this mod and add some new features, so I have some questions:
1) How can I add caves e.g. subterrain or just air pockets in the stone
2) Which parts of the mapgen need lots of performance or what should I avoid to keep the mapgen fast?
3) How can I repeat the area e.g. force it to spawn from -30,000 to -28,000 and repeat it every 2,000 nodes up to +30,000?

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 3936
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Mod] Mapgen framework, 2D and 3D perlin noise [0.1.1] [

by Wuzzy » Post

Sorry, dude. I found some unstable sand:
Image
Coordinates and seed are in screenshot.

Edit. I have seen further cases where there is hanging sand. In all instances, the sand hangs at Y=7006. I hope this information helps.

Edit 2: OK, there is floating/hanging sand even at different heights:
Image
This is an interesting case. Here, there is a floating sand island; it is not connected to the main land at all. In the background, you can see more hanging sand and another floating island.

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero
Location: Hawaii

Re: [Mod] Mapgen framework, 2D and 3D perlin noise [0.1.1] [

by HeroOfTheWinds » Post

If I were to guess, I would say that probably cave generation cut out the bottom after it was generated. That being said, it DOES look a little bit too clean cut for that...
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 3936
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Mod] Mapgen framework, 2D and 3D perlin noise [0.1.1] [

by Wuzzy » Post

I found the bug!
The problem lies in the stability detection:

Code: Select all

for z = z0, z1 do -- for each xy plane progressing northwards
for x = x0, x1 do
local si = x - x0 + 1
local nodename = minetest.get_node({x=x,y=y0-1,z=z}).name
if nodename == "air"
or nodename == "default:water_source" then
	stable[si] = 0
else
	stable[si] = STABLE
end
end
Looks OK, right? No. What if the node type is ignore? No wonder it was so clear cut, it was a typical MapBlock/chunk border (whatever) problem.

All that is needed for a fix is to check to check for ignore, too.

Code: Select all

local si = x - x0 + 1
local nodename = minetest.get_node({x=x,y=y0-1,z=z}).name
if nodename == "air"
or nodename == "ignore"
or nodename == "default:water_source" then
	stable[si] = 0
else
	stable[si] = STABLE
end
If the code doesn’t know what is below the node, I assume the worst (there is air or water below it), which is the safest choice. If the assumption was wrong, this is not a problem, just some sand is removed then.

Actually, the code could be even improved further. Why limit ourselves to default:water_source? We can generalize that by checking wheather the node is not walkable (=passable for falling nodes). default:water_source is not walkable, air is not walkable either, so I can merge it.

Code: Select all

local si = x - x0 + 1
local nodename = minetest.get_node({x=x,y=y0-1,z=z}).name
if nodename == "ignore"
or minetest.registered_nodes[nodename].walkable == false then
	stable[si] = 0
else
	stable[si] = STABLE
end
I tested it for myself on the screenshot positions. If you want to help, please test it for yourselves, too. Bring yourself to these positions and tell me wheather there is floating sand or not. For me, there was no more floating sand at these positions.

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Mapgen framework, 2D and 3D perlin noise [0.1.1] [

by paramat » Post

HeroOfTheWinds nope, these happen on chunk borders.

Wuzzy thats exactly the cause, but it's intentional :) I put a check for ignore in there at first but removed it. When the upper chunk is generated first, the safe assumption you made creates horrible looking cutoffs in the sand, i much prefer the 'look' of the unsafe assumption and it's more fun to go around collapsing, or better have random collapse by ABM. The walls of sand from collapses are beautiful. Chunks are more often generated upwards when exploring on foot, you get to see more of this when flying though.

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 3936
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Mod] Mapgen framework, 2D and 3D perlin noise [0.1.1] [

by Wuzzy » Post

>:-O You gotta me kidding me! In your first post you wrote that stability was a goal, now you tell me that you actually don’t care about this goal.
I think stability is a good thing and having a map gen which supports that is even better. If there is a lot of hanging sand and it all falls down because you dig one node, Minetest can slow down extremely. :-/
And I am yet to see “horrible cutoffs in the sand”. Pics (and coords and seed) or it didn’t happen. :P

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Mapgen framework, 2D and 3D perlin noise [0.1.1] [

by paramat » Post

Heh, the cutoffs happen when generating chunks downwards, i might search out an example.

RHR, fixed parameter TERCEN defines average terrain level, so needs to become a variable 'tercen' that is rounded to the nearest realm layer. In the on-generated function change TERCEN to 'tercen' then insert this code at line 105:

Code: Select all

	local chulay = math.floor((minp.y + 32) / 80) -- chunk layer number, 0 = surface chunk
	local tercen = (math.floor(chulay / CHUINT) * CHUINT + CHUINT / 2) * 80 - 32 -- terrain centre of this realm layer
Where new parameter CHUINT is the vertical distance between realm layers measured in chunks (80 nodes).

For caves see my newest mod which does what you want. Add a 3D noise, define boolean 'nofis' (no fissure / no cave) then add a 'and nofis' in the line deciding whether to place stone.

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Mapgen framework/example [0.2.0] [noise23]

by paramat » Post

Version 0.2.0
Minetest 0.4.11 rewrite with the new noise features and all the corrections and optimisations i recently learned from hmmmm.
Now 3 simple biomes: grassland, desert and tundra.
16 nodes of perlinmap overgeneration to minimise mapchunk border glitches.

User avatar
afflatus
Member
Posts: 325
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 19:47
GitHub: 0-afflatus
IRC: afflatus
In-game: afflatus
Location: Avalonia
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Mapgen framework/example [0.2.0] [noise23]

by afflatus » Post

Downloaded for study. Thank you!
Grailtest is dreaming ...

User avatar
sirrobzeroone
Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2018 07:56

Re: [Mod] Mapgen framework/example [0.2.0] [noise23]

by sirrobzeroone » Post

Hi
I'm not sure i'm using the example correctly or if it works for ver 0.4.17.1 (win64). I downloaded the example and placed it as a mod just called noise23 under the mods folder. Went into the regular UI and created a new game using Minetestgame as base I just left the settings as on the creation screen. Then I enabled noise23 as the only mod.

I loaded the game for the first time and everything is black and I think I'm falling hard to say with an all black screen. Everything is working correctly, inventory, health bar etc. Its like my character is just hanging in a black void. Did I stuff something or did something major change with 0.4.17.1 which means the code needs an update?

Thanks for the help

EDIT: Working okay I was apparently inside a Mountain had to turn on fly and noclip to get out

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Mapgen framework/example [0.2.0] [noise23]

by paramat » Post

I have a few lua mapgen mods like this that are 'proof of concept' or are mapgen code examples, so don't have proper spawning code and spawn you in mid-air or inside ground.
The mod thread *should* mention this already (maybe it doesn't).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests