[0.4.10] Third person view

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

[0.4.10] Third person view

by BlockMen » Post

Hello everyone,

finally there is the third person view for Minetest!

Toogle through camera modes by pressing F7, available modes are first person view, third person view and third person front view.
On servers that are not updated to lastest master branch on github you may experience some lags in animation when in third person view.

Furthermore mods can control the camera position now by setting the players eye offset (by MirceaKitsune)
See lua-api.txt for more details.


Image

Have fun.

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
GitHub: hoodedice
IRC: hoodedice
In-game: hoodedice
Location: world
Contact:

by hoodedice » Post

Yaay, it's stable!

Nice work, BlockMen and MirceaKitsune! And anyone else!
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3162
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

Works with the textures set by player_textures, for those wondering.

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

This shows how bad the model animations are.

User avatar
CWz
Member
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 17:01
GitHub: chaoswormz
IRC: CWz
In-game: CWz
Location: Banana Land

by CWz » Post

PilzAdam wrote:This shows how bad the model animations are.
something to keep in mind for version 0.4.11
Last edited by CWz on Sat Apr 12, 2014 19:11, edited 1 time in total.
I am CWz on the following servers: VanessaE's servers. If you see CWz on server other then those then chances are it's a Fake. you can contact me on irc.freenode.net or by PM if you are not sure

t3tNU9hNyeSJxFOmM5fmtGxlfoJrcBCg

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
GitHub: hoodedice
IRC: hoodedice
In-game: hoodedice
Location: world
Contact:

by hoodedice » Post

PilzAdam wrote:This shows how bad the model animations are.
Jordach says he fixed the player model in his custom game, but I don't think he made the new model upstream yet
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build

User avatar
Casimir
Member
Posts: 1163
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 16:59
GitHub: CasimirKaPazi

by Casimir » Post

Thank you BlockMen!

@ hoodedice
This?
PilzAdam wrote:This shows how bad the model animations are.
Firstperson view shows how bad the default textures are.
Last edited by Casimir on Sat Apr 12, 2014 19:38, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
BlauerEisRegen
Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 18:13

by BlauerEisRegen » Post

Good Job!
And what about moving the head in the right direction and not always in the same position?
I saw the model and couldn't this be possible?

User avatar
TheNodeboxer
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 01:38
Location: Nodebox World
Contact:

by TheNodeboxer » Post

When is it due? Like 4.10?

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen
Location: A forest in the midwest
Contact:

by Evergreen » Post

TheNodeboxer wrote:When is it due? Like 4.10?
It's due now. (with the latest git and windows builds at least)


And yes, it will be in 0.4.10
Back from the dead!

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3162
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

PilzAdam wrote:This shows how bad the model animations are.
Ideally, we would have client-side animation decision, with animation speed changing based on movement speed. We would also have backward walking animation, generated by playing the animation backwards.

4aiman
Member
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 05:47

by 4aiman » Post

PilzAdam wrote:This shows how bad the model animations are.
Thanks goodness someone cares! (No jokes. I'm dead ******* serious.)
Calinou wrote:Ideally, we would have client-side animation decision, with animation speed changing based on movement speed.
And what do we do for other players models? It wouldn't be very nice if local animations would be just right and remote (e.g. those of other players) would still lag. With this new addition that should be fixed ASAP.

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4499
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

by Krock » Post

I love that new feature, it's very good to see the players in back. (useful for PvP)

[/ignore_posts_above]
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
teamcrafterz112233
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2014 13:32

by teamcrafterz112233 » Post

i like this

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3162
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

4aiman wrote:
PilzAdam wrote:This shows how bad the model animations are.
Thanks goodness someone cares! (No jokes. I'm dead ******* serious.)
Calinou wrote:Ideally, we would have client-side animation decision, with animation speed changing based on movement speed.
And what do we do for other players models? It wouldn't be very nice if local animations would be just right and remote (e.g. those of other players) would still lag. With this new addition that should be fixed ASAP.
Client-side animation decision would apply on all players, at least for movement animations. It's possible technically, Xonotic got that about a year ago, it also reduces server load. ;)

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

Calinou wrote:
4aiman wrote:
PilzAdam wrote:This shows how bad the model animations are.
Thanks goodness someone cares! (No jokes. I'm dead ******* serious.)
Calinou wrote:Ideally, we would have client-side animation decision, with animation speed changing based on movement speed.
And what do we do for other players models? It wouldn't be very nice if local animations would be just right and remote (e.g. those of other players) would still lag. With this new addition that should be fixed ASAP.
Client-side animation decision would apply on all players, at least for movement animations. It's possible technically, Xonotic got that about a year ago, it also reduces server load. ;)
That was discussed already and to requote sapier:
sapier on #1176 wrote:discussion on minetest-dev 20140411 revealed players don't have a velocity at all so no way to get it without major changes to engine.
https://github.com/minetest/minetest/is ... t-40253913

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
Posts: 1072
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
GitHub: BrunoMine
Location: SP-Brasil
Contact:

by BrunoMine » Post

Good Work! Congratulations for innovative creativity
My small square universe under construction ... Minemacro
Comunidade Minetest Brasil
www.minetestbrasil.com

bajanhgk
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2014 16:31
In-game: bajanhgk
Location: The World Of Darkness

by bajanhgk » Post

i have a question can i change the button for the 3rd person view
Just a Loner In the Winds which Blow Endlessly towards Death

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

bajanhgk wrote:i have a question can i change the button for the 3rd person view
Yes, add

Code: Select all

keymap_camera_mode = KEY_F7
to minetest.conf file and replace F7 with the wanted key.
But if that new key is already in use (e.g.F5) it wont work or must also be changed

User avatar
ZachyGames
Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 12:14
Location: Youtube
Contact:

by ZachyGames » Post

how to change into front view? i wanna see my face just a test for my texture.

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4499
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

by Krock » Post

ZachyGames wrote:how to change into front view? i wanna see my face just a test for my texture.
BlockMen wrote:Toogle through camera modes by pressing F7, available modes are first person view, third person view and third person front view.
Last edited by Krock on Mon Apr 14, 2014 06:13, edited 1 time in total.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
JPRuehmann
Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 21:40
Location: Germany
Contact:

by JPRuehmann » Post

Super
looks nice and is fun tu walk aroun seing yourself.
Thanks,
JPR

User avatar
ZachyGames
Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 12:14
Location: Youtube
Contact:

by ZachyGames » Post

Krock wrote:
ZachyGames wrote:how to change into front view? i wanna see my face just a test for my texture.
BlockMen wrote:Toogle through camera modes by pressing F7, available modes are first person view, third person view and third person front view.
Why i cant front view everytime i pressed it

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4499
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

by Krock » Post

ZachyGames wrote:Why i cant front view everytime i pressed it
F7 -> 3rd person back
F7 -> 3rd person front
F7 -> 1st person

Upgrade your client.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
ZachyGames
Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 12:14
Location: Youtube
Contact:

by ZachyGames » Post

Krock wrote:
ZachyGames wrote:Why i cant front view everytime i pressed it
F7 -> 3rd person back
F7 -> 3rd person front
F7 -> 1st person

Upgrade your client.
:P

Image

look. And i cant front view even i press F7.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests