How to make a server?

mrfiver
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 02:45

How to make a server?

by mrfiver » Sun Jan 29, 2012 02:48

Ok so my friends and I think this game is pretty cool but when we tried to play together it kept on saying connection timed out,
we tried to use runserver and the wiki didn't help us out. So anyone got any ideas on how to make a server?
 

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi

by IPushButton2653 » Sun Jan 29, 2012 02:50

It depends if you can forward ports or not. I'm not an expert on that, but if you can't forward ports, you'll need a VPN software such as Remobo or Hamachi.
 

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28

by RabbiBob » Sun Jan 29, 2012 14:51

Assuming that you have a working server that you can connect to on your LAN already and if you have control of the router that separates the server from the internet:

1. Start the server on a port (set in minetest.conf as port = ####)
2. Find the internal LAN IP of the computer the you are running the server on (example: 192.168.1.100)
3. Use port forwarding from the router to forward port #### to the internal LAN IP
4. Let your friends know what your internet IP is (you can find this by looking at your router's status page or go to a site such as whatismyip.com).

They'll need to connect to the internet IP and the port you defined.
 

Roflo
Member
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 16:31

by Roflo » Sun Jan 29, 2012 22:13

From above just note that:
a) If you don't have a public IP: Configure port forwarding.
b) If you do have a public IP or just playing on a local LAN: make sure you don't have a Firewall blocking incoming connections.
Unless otherwise specified: I use linux and run (and compile) the latest dev.
 

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28

by RabbiBob » Sun Jan 29, 2012 23:41

Roflo wrote:From above just note that:
a) If you don't have a public IP: Configure port forwarding.
b) If you do have a public IP or just playing on a local LAN: make sure you don't have a Firewall blocking incoming connections.


I believe that's backwards, but it's a good point: a firewall in either scenario should be factored in.
 

Roflo
Member
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 16:31

by Roflo » Mon Jan 30, 2012 02:35

RabbiBob wrote:
Roflo wrote:From above just note that:
a) If you don't have a public IP: Configure port forwarding.
b) If you do have a public IP or just playing on a local LAN: make sure you don't have a Firewall blocking incoming connections.


I believe that's backwards, but it's a good point: a firewall in either scenario should be factored in.


Right, firewall is an issue in both cases.
Local LAN shouldn't need any further configuring.
Unless otherwise specified: I use linux and run (and compile) the latest dev.
 

User avatar
Death Dealer
Member
 
Posts: 1364
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 18:46
Location: Deathstar

by Death Dealer » Sat Feb 25, 2012 05:59

Remobo make a hosting address for you. It's very easy
Last edited by Death Dealer on Sun Feb 26, 2012 00:34, edited 1 time in total.
im sorry did you say 3D-craft???? ^_^
 


Return to Servers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Morn76, xenkey and 2 guests