[Mod] Fishing! - Mossmanikin's version [0.2.2] [fishing]

User avatar
Mossmanikin
Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 16:26
Location: where we don't speak english.

by Mossmanikin » Post

Junkman wrote:Very nice mod.

When you put the fishing rod for decoration and you take it back the rod can't be used for fishing anymore and you can place an unlimited number of bugged decoration on blocks.

Otherwise, I do not understand where to find strings in the game.
Thanks for your feedback. :)

That you can't use the deco fishing rod for fishing is "on purpose", because of item wear. Otherwise the player could place a worn out fishing rod and abuse the deco rod to get a brand new fishing rod.
I would like to do it in a different way, but don't know of a better one.
If you, or someone else, happen to know of a way to code it, I'll gladly change it.

About unlimited decorations: do you mean in creative mode? If so, this is normal, because the deco is a node.
What exactly do you mean with "bugged"? The inventory image? It looks a bit strange, but I wanted it to be clear that the deco is a node and not meant for fishing.
Maybe I'll make a different inventory image for the deco.

A way off getting strings, like Evergreen said:
Evergreen wrote:Strings come from cotton. Cotton seeds come from digging junglegrass. Bam, there you go. EDIT: 800TH POST!
If you think it takes to long to get strings this way you could use the stringrecipes part of my prehistoric mod (you don't need to install the rest of the mod). Or you can use the ropes from moreblocks or maybe* rope.
(*not sure about this one, not tested lately, but the recipe is there)

And last, but not least: congratulations, Evergreen! :D

Noob 4 life!
My stuff

User avatar
Junkman
New member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 11:59
Location: France

by Junkman » Post

Image

It replace a block on top of the screen and didn't suit the block on the bottom of the screen.
And yes i was in creation mod when it was unlimited, apologies :p

Else, what is the probleme for having more than one fishing rod at a time ?
Because the first time i placed the fishing rod, it wasn't volontary, i had just miss clicked and lost my rod.
Last edited by Junkman on Sun Aug 04, 2013 09:50, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Mossmanikin
Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 16:26
Location: where we don't speak english.

by Mossmanikin » Post

Junkman wrote:http://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/201 ... 8-fish.png

It replace a block on top of the screen and didn't suit the block on the bottom of the screen.
And yes i was in creation mod when it was unlimited, apologies :p

Else, what is the probleme for having more than one fishing rod at a time ?
Because the first time i placed the fishing rod, it wasn't volontary, i had just miss clicked and lost my rod.
Now I get what you mean.
I designed the deco so it looks nice at a water's edge.
First it was inside the space of a normal node. When I placed the deco at a water's edge it just didn't look right. I wanted it to be placed on land and hanging over the water.
So what looks like a bug when you place the deco somewhere else, is actually a feature. :D
As you probably found out: you can place the deco fishing rod pointing at different directions.
I think this gives the player enough options to make it not look buggy.

I'm sorry you lost your rod. Maybe I should be more clear about such things in the first topic.

If the player were able to use the deco fishing rod for fishing again this could be used to cheat.
I'm not sure how to explain what I mean by that, but I'll give it a try:

By default the fishing rod wears out every time you try to catch a fish.
When you place a fishing rod as deco, the tool is lost and a node is placed.
Because the tool is lost, the information how many times you used it is also lost. (I don't know if it's possible to store this information when the tool is lost.)
So if you could get a tool back from the node it would be brand new, no matter if the tool you "placed" before was worn out.
This way you could use a rod forever, even if "WEAR_OUT" were enabled.
This would be cheating.
If you want to use a fishing rod forever you can set "WEAR_OUT" in settings.txt to false.
This I would not consider cheating.

I hope you get the idea. ;)

Noob 4 life!
My stuff

User avatar
Junkman
New member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 11:59
Location: France

by Junkman » Post

Thanks for your answer, i understand now ^^
I will set it to false.

I like this mod, keep up the good work.

User avatar
Mossmanikin
Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 16:26
Location: where we don't speak english.

by Mossmanikin » Post

I'm glad I could help.
And thanks for your feedback. :)

Noob 4 life!
My stuff

User avatar
Bas080
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 15:54
GitHub: bas080
IRC: bas080
In-game: bas080
Location: Netherlands

by Bas080 » Post

Dropping tool and remembering the wear of the tool after digging the nodebox, I think can be done.

On place
- get_wear(): returns tool wear (0-65535), 0 for non-tools
- set_int("wear", wear)

On dig
- add_item(listname, stack): add item somewhere in list, returns leftover ItemStack
- get_int("wear")
- add_wear(wear): increases wear by amount if the item is a tool

The api functions I think you need to get it to work.

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen
Location: A forest in the midwest
Contact:

by Evergreen » Post

Bas080 wrote:Dropping tool and remembering the wear of the tool after digging the nodebox, I think can be done.

On place
- get_wear(): returns tool wear (0-65535), 0 for non-tools
- set_int("wear", wear)

On dig
- add_item(listname, stack): add item somewhere in list, returns leftover ItemStack
- get_int("wear")
- add_wear(wear): increases wear by amount if the item is a tool

The api functions I think you need to get it to work.
Yes, I don't know the api functions, but it should be simple as setting a variable with the wear of the tool before placing it, and when dug, setting the wear of the tool to the variable.
Back from the dead!

User avatar
Mossmanikin
Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 16:26
Location: where we don't speak english.

by Mossmanikin » Post

Bas080 wrote:Dropping tool and remembering the wear of the tool after digging the nodebox, I think can be done.

On place
- get_wear(): returns tool wear (0-65535), 0 for non-tools
- set_int("wear", wear)

On dig
- add_item(listname, stack): add item somewhere in list, returns leftover ItemStack
- get_int("wear")
- add_wear(wear): increases wear by amount if the item is a tool

The api functions I think you need to get it to work.
Evergreen wrote:
Bas080 wrote:Dropping tool and remembering the wear of the tool after digging the nodebox, I think can be done.

On place
- get_wear(): returns tool wear (0-65535), 0 for non-tools
- set_int("wear", wear)

On dig
- add_item(listname, stack): add item somewhere in list, returns leftover ItemStack
- get_int("wear")
- add_wear(wear): increases wear by amount if the item is a tool

The api functions I think you need to get it to work.
Yes, I don't know the api functions, but it should be simple as setting a variable with the wear of the tool before placing it, and when dug, setting the wear of the tool to the variable.
Thanks folks! :)
I'll try this.

EDIT: I tried it and it works. Thank you so much! :)
Last edited by Mossmanikin on Tue Aug 06, 2013 17:49, edited 1 time in total.

Noob 4 life!
My stuff

User avatar
Mossmanikin
Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 16:26
Location: where we don't speak english.

by Mossmanikin » Post

Update:
- If you place a worn out fishing pole the deco fishing pole "remembers" item wear
- When you pick a deco fishing pole up you get a fishing pole you can use for fishing
- When placing a fishing pole facedir works the way it should
- No more deco fishing poles in inventory

Noob 4 life!
My stuff

User avatar
Bas080
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 15:54
GitHub: bas080
IRC: bas080
In-game: bas080
Location: Netherlands

by Bas080 » Post

Nicely done! I'm implementing a deco block for the deafult tools for my OCD game after seeing the end result of your work.

User avatar
Mossmanikin
Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 16:26
Location: where we don't speak english.

by Mossmanikin » Post

Bas080 wrote:Nicely done!
Thank you. :)
Bas080 wrote:I'm implementing a deco block for the deafult tools for my OCD game after seeing the end result of your work.
Yeah, I thought it would be nice to place more tools like this too.

Noob 4 life!
My stuff

User avatar
Mossmanikin
Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 16:26
Location: where we don't speak english.

by Mossmanikin » Post

Update:
- You can catch sharks when using raw fish as bait
- You can eat a raw shark (no cooking recipe yet)
- If you don't catch a fish there's a chance you'll get the bait back
- Some other small changes

EDIT:
Image
Freakin' Giant Shark!
Last edited by Mossmanikin on Thu Aug 08, 2013 16:40, edited 1 time in total.

Noob 4 life!
My stuff

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4276
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine
IRC: Sokomine
In-game: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Post

Sounds really fine :-) But...sharks...in water where you're occasionally swimming? A bit frightening...:-)
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
Mossmanikin
Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 16:26
Location: where we don't speak english.

by Mossmanikin » Post

Sokomine wrote:Sounds really fine :-)
Thank you. :)
Sokomine wrote:But...sharks...in water where you're occasionally swimming? A bit frightening...:-)
Don't think of them as being giant killer sharks, rather small ones which wouldn't attack humans.
Of course, if you like some adrenaline... well forget the previous sentence. :D

Noob 4 life!
My stuff

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

by LionsDen » Post

Sokomine wrote:Sounds really fine :-) But...sharks...in water where you're occasionally swimming? A bit frightening...:-)
Sharks get a bad rap. More people are hit by lightning (http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news ... facts.html) than are attacked by sharks (http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news ... facts.html). It really is rare which is why when it happens it is all over the news. Now, this doesn't mean that I want to swim with sharks or tell others it's okay to swim with sharks, it just means that I like to play the Devil's Advocate. ;^)

User avatar
Mossmanikin
Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 16:26
Location: where we don't speak english.

by Mossmanikin » Post

LionsDen wrote:Now, this doesn't mean that I want to swim with sharks or tell others it's okay to swim with sharks, it just means that I like to play the Devil's Advocate. ;^)
Well... there's nothing wrong with swimming with sharks... if you know what you're doing. Of course the latter is not very likely... :D
You'd be the Devil's Advocate if you said overhunting of sharks by humans were ok. ;)

Noob 4 life!
My stuff

User avatar
Mossmanikin
Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 16:26
Location: where we don't speak english.

by Mossmanikin » Post

Update:
- Bobber has new shape & textures
- No more option for the bobber to change colour. Instead: particles when something on hook
- Option to get worms like in old versions: no mob, worm is just item & goes directly into inventory
- By default the colours of the bobber are more "natural". But there are alternate more modern colours.

Noob 4 life!
My stuff

hammergil
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 22:39

by hammergil » Post

How to fish? I have constructed a fishing pole, put worms next to just like the instructions say. If i right click pointing at water nothing happens, if I left click it plants my fishing pole into the water. how do you fish? am i missing something? thanks

User avatar
Mossmanikin
Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 16:26
Location: where we don't speak english.

by Mossmanikin » Post

hammergil wrote:How to fish? I have constructed a fishing pole, put worms next to just like the instructions say. If i right click pointing at water nothing happens, if I left click it plants my fishing pole into the water. how do you fish? am i missing something? thanks
Doesn't look like you did anything wrong.
It's perfectly normal that nothing happens when you right click on water.
But when you left click on water there should appear a bobber.

I'm not able to reproduce this bug.
I'd like to help you, but first I need some more information.

Which minetest version do you use? (I only tested on stable 0.4.7)
Which version of the mod do you use? (I only checked 0.1.5)
Did you change anything in settings.txt?
Did you try this mod without any other mods installed?

Noob 4 life!
My stuff

hammergil
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 22:39

by hammergil » Post

figured it out. well, sort of...I reinstalled minetest and now mods work fine. thanks for trying to help me.

User avatar
Mossmanikin
Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 16:26
Location: where we don't speak english.

by Mossmanikin » Post

Update
- one can catch a Northern Pike (with a fish as bait)
- one can catch a Waterlily (if the bobber and a Waterlily share the same space)
- new & different recipes

Noob 4 life!
My stuff

User avatar
Mossmanikin
Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 16:26
Location: where we don't speak english.

by Mossmanikin » Post

Update
- Trophies
- 16x16 textures for Clownfish & Blue white fish

Noob 4 life!
My stuff

User avatar
Mossmanikin
Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 16:26
Location: where we don't speak english.

by Mossmanikin » Post

Small update to support the new version of plantlife

Noob 4 life!
My stuff

User avatar
Neuromancer
Member
Posts: 958
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 22:28
GitHub: Neuromancer56

by Neuromancer » Post

I see you've expanded this Mod quite bit. I have some ideas to have it so it works with swimming fish from the Mob framework mod. Here's my post there. See if you like any of the ideas.

viewtopic.php?pid=107242#p107242

User avatar
Mossmanikin
Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 16:26
Location: where we don't speak english.

by Mossmanikin » Post

Neuromancer wrote:I see you've expanded this Mod quite bit. I have some ideas to have it so it works with swimming fish from the Mob framework mod. Here's my post there. See if you like any of the ideas.

viewtopic.php?pid=107242#p107242
Read your post and left a comment.

Noob 4 life!
My stuff

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 25 guests