[Mod] Green Screens [greenscreens]

JBR
Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 22:04
Location: United Kingdom, Wales

[Mod] Green Screens [greenscreens]

by JBR » Post

This mod adds these blocks to Minetest:
Image

Please note there is no crafting recipe for these block because it's not really meant to be used for building.
This is great for taking photos of objects/buildings and then cutting them out later in a photo editor.

An example "stage":
Image

Example of use:
Image

Image

Hope this comes in handy!

License: CC0
Download:
4Shared(zip)
Dropbox(zip direct download)
Last edited by JBR on Mon Jun 10, 2013 16:06, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6972
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom
Contact:

by rubenwardy » Post

Interesting!
Renewed Tab (my browser add-on) | Donate | Mods | Minetest Modding Book

Hello profile reader

User avatar
webdesigner97
Member
Posts: 1328
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 19:16
GitHub: webD97
IRC: webdesigner97
In-game: webdesigner97
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

by webdesigner97 » Post

Yeah, that's a great idea!

deivan
Member
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 10:16
Location: Brazil. :D

by deivan » Post

In game Chroma key. :D

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen
Location: A forest in the midwest
Contact:

by Evergreen » Post

I usually just change the texture for some random block to green/blue, make a studio/stage with it, take a screenshot, open it in GIMP, use the color select tool, and press delete. Still a very interesting idea, I think I will use it. :D
Last edited by Evergreen on Mon Jun 10, 2013 11:58, edited 1 time in total.
Back from the dead!

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Post

I normally use cloud- but cloud is indestructable
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.

JBR
Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 22:04
Location: United Kingdom, Wales

by JBR » Post

Thanks for all the great comments! And thanks whoever moved it to mod releases.

JBR
Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 22:04
Location: United Kingdom, Wales

by JBR » Post

:o I just realized I missed out a colour in the pic(pink block) updating asp..

edit:done
Last edited by JBR on Mon Jun 10, 2013 15:32, edited 1 time in total.

JBR
Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 22:04
Location: United Kingdom, Wales

by JBR » Post

Hybrid Dog wrote:So you could short the code:

Code: Select all

local COLOURS = {
    {"green", "Green"},
    {"lightblue", "Light Blue"},
    {"blue", "Blue"},
    {"white", "White"},
    {"black", "Black"},
    {"pink", "Pink"}
}

for i in ipairs(COLOURS) do
    local colour = COLOURS[i][1]
    minetest.register_node("greenscreens:"..colour,{
        description = COLOURS[i][2].." Screen",
        groups = {cracky = 1},
        tiles = {colour..".png"},
        drawtype="glasslike",
        paramtype = "light",
        light_source = 5,
    })
end
Thanks but will it make any difference if I do that?

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen
Location: A forest in the midwest
Contact:

by Evergreen » Post

JBR wrote:
Hybrid Dog wrote:So you could short the code:

Code: Select all

local COLOURS = {
    {"green", "Green"},
    {"lightblue", "Light Blue"},
    {"blue", "Blue"},
    {"white", "White"},
    {"black", "Black"},
    {"pink", "Pink"}
}

for i in ipairs(COLOURS) do
    local colour = COLOURS[i][1]
    minetest.register_node("greenscreens:"..colour,{
        description = COLOURS[i][2].." Screen",
        groups = {cracky = 1},
        tiles = {colour..".png"},
        drawtype="glasslike",
        paramtype = "light",
        light_source = 5,
    })
end
Thanks but will it make any difference if I do that?
Nope. It's just a more efficient way of coding it. (not having to register each separate color of node) Take the colored wood mod for example. There are WAY to many different colors to code each node. Also,(as Hybrid-Dog suggested)change the image size to 1x1 because it is a single flat color.
Last edited by Evergreen on Mon Jun 10, 2013 15:35, edited 1 time in total.
Back from the dead!

JBR
Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 22:04
Location: United Kingdom, Wales

by JBR » Post

Hybrid Dog wrote:
Evergreen wrote:Take the colored wood mod for example. There are WAY to many different colors to code each node.
I think coloredwood could look better if every block gets a special texture.
Evergreen wrote:Also,(as Hybrid-Dog suggested)change the image size to 1x1 because it is a single flat color.
If possible you could pngcrush the textures, too
pngcrush?

JBR
Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 22:04
Location: United Kingdom, Wales

by JBR » Post

yay I managed to get png crush working, uploading new files asap.

done(re-sized and crushed png files)
Last edited by JBR on Mon Jun 10, 2013 16:08, edited 1 time in total.

hampa16
Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 04:20

by hampa16 » Post

i can't get the picture to appear on the screen!
Rex 2 Double 9
=RomanFox2=
SoulKiller35

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
Posts: 1897
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi
Location: United States

by philipbenr » Post

very nice mod. I will use it well.

+1 :)

User avatar
webdesigner97
Member
Posts: 1328
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 19:16
GitHub: webD97
IRC: webdesigner97
In-game: webdesigner97
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

by webdesigner97 » Post

What the f**k is your problem?? A forum is not a live chat!

But I don't understand your question. Which pictures do you want to show where?

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
Posts: 1897
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi
Location: United States

by philipbenr » Post

webdesigner97 wrote:But I don't understand your question. Which pictures do you want to show where?
I'd like to help as well. What do you mean, screenshot, or upload a picture onto the forum, or what?

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

by LionsDen » Post

He thinks the pictures are placed onto the green blocks, not the item that you want to takes the picture of. Easy mistake to make.

What this mod does is make single color blocks that you can place in your world. You then build a house or statue or something that you want a picture of on them. Then you position yourself so that you can see what you built with the single color blocks around it and take a screenshot. You then are able to take that screenshot into an image editing program and select the single color and delete it. Or you could invert the selection afterwards and then copy and paste your beautiful object out of the minetest world and put it into a different picture. That is all that this mod is really for. It doesn't allow you to display images onto the colored blocks.

hampa16
Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 04:20

by hampa16 » Post

LionsDen wrote:He thinks the pictures are placed onto the green blocks, not the item that you want to takes the picture of. Easy mistake to make.

What this mod does is make single color blocks that you can place in your world. You then build a house or statue or something that you want a picture of on them. Then you position yourself so that you can see what you built with the single color blocks around it and take a screenshot. You then are able to take that screenshot into an image editing program and select the single color and delete it. Or you could invert the selection afterwards and then copy and paste your beautiful object out of the minetest world and put it into a different picture. That is all that this mod is really for. It doesn't allow you to display images onto the colored blocks.
i took so many screenshots but one of those screenshots are not appearing on the screen
Rex 2 Double 9
=RomanFox2=
SoulKiller35

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen
Location: A forest in the midwest
Contact:

by Evergreen » Post

hampa16 wrote:so can you tell me do do this the easy way
they won't show up on the screens
Listen, the green screens aren't supposed to have a picture show up on them. They are for image editing pictures only, so if you aren't going to edit the screenshots afterwards, then this mod is useless to you. And also, there is no "easier" way of doing that in an image editor.
Back from the dead!

hampa16
Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 04:20

by hampa16 » Post

Evergreen wrote:
hampa16 wrote:so can you tell me do do this the easy way
they won't show up on the screens
Listen, the green screens aren't supposed to have a picture show up on them. They are for image editing pictures only, so if you aren't going to edit the screenshots afterwards, then this mod is useless to you. And also, there is no "easier" way of doing that in an image editor.
WELL THIS MOD IS USELESS NOW


Edit: Spoiler Abuse
Last edited by sfan5 on Sun Aug 25, 2013 21:32, edited 1 time in total.
Rex 2 Double 9
=RomanFox2=
SoulKiller35

sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 4094
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

hampa16 wrote:
Evergreen wrote:
hampa16 wrote:so can you tell me do do this the easy way
Listen, the green screens aren't supposed to have a picture show up on them. They are for image editing pictures only, so if you aren't going to edit the screenshots afterwards, then this mod is useless to you. And also, there is no "easier" way of doing that in an image editor.
Spoiler
WELL THIS MOD IS USELESS NOW
Do not abuse spoilers
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen
Location: A forest in the midwest
Contact:

by Evergreen » Post

hampa16 wrote:
Evergreen wrote:
hampa16 wrote:so can you tell me do do this the easy way
Listen, the green screens aren't supposed to have a picture show up on them. They are for image editing pictures only, so if you aren't going to edit the screenshots afterwards, then this mod is useless to you. And also, there is no "easier" way of doing that in an image editor.
WELL THIS MOD IS USELESS NOW


Edit: Spoiler Abuse
It is useless for you, but it is very useful for lots of people. (including me)
Back from the dead!

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Post

hampa16 wrote:
Evergreen wrote:
hampa16 wrote:so can you tell me do do this the easy way
Listen, the green screens aren't supposed to have a picture show up on them. They are for image editing pictures only, so if you aren't going to edit the screenshots afterwards, then this mod is useless to you. And also, there is no "easier" way of doing that in an image editor.
WELL THIS MOD IS USELESS NOW


Edit: Spoiler Abuse
Ahem. This mod is meant to provide a background to images so they can easily be edited out. These DO NOT DISPLAY ANYTHING
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.

hampa16
Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 04:20

by hampa16 » Post

sfan5 wrote:
hampa16 wrote:
Evergreen wrote:Listen, the green screens aren't supposed to have a picture show up on them. They are for image editing pictures only, so if you aren't going to edit the screenshots afterwards, then this mod is useless to you. And also, there is no "easier" way of doing that in an image editor.
Spoiler
WELL THIS MOD IS USELESS NOW
Do not abuse spoilers
hampa16 wrote:
LionsDen wrote:He thinks the pictures are placed onto the green blocks, not the item that you want to takes the picture of. Easy mistake to make.

What this mod does is make single color blocks that you can place in your world. You then build a house or statue or something that you want a picture of on them. Then you position yourself so that you can see what you built with the single color blocks around it and take a screenshot. You then are able to take that screenshot into an image editing program and select the single color and delete it. Or you could invert the selection afterwards and then copy and paste your beautiful object out of the minetest world and put it into a different picture. That is all that this mod is really for. It doesn't allow you to display images onto the colored blocks.
i took so many screenshots but one of those screenshots are not appearing on the screen
how do you make the pictures of objects and buildings go on the screen?(by using PhotoEditor?)
Rex 2 Double 9
=RomanFox2=
SoulKiller35

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Post

hampa16 wrote:how do you make the pictures of objects and buildings go on the screen?(by using PhotoEditor?)
Basically, here is what the mod does:
It adds nodes, which you can put other nodes on.
You can take a screenshot and edit out the special nodes this mod adds, because they are basically shadowless.
You can then have the picture of the nodes you placed with no background.
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests