Capes. Are they possible?

Rhys
Member
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

Capes. Are they possible?

by Rhys » Sun Sep 08, 2013 14:03

Hello! Just wondered something - In Minecraft, they have like special capes. Can we re create that on Minetest?
 

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Sun Sep 08, 2013 14:03

Rhys wrote:Hello! Just wondered something - In Minecraft, they have like special capes. Can we re create that on Minetest?

If you adjust the player model, sure.
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.
 

Rhys
Member
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

by Rhys » Sun Sep 08, 2013 14:22

Dan Duncombe wrote:
Rhys wrote:Hello! Just wondered something - In Minecraft, they have like special capes. Can we re create that on Minetest?

If you adjust the player model, sure.


So, it is possible then, but how do I do it?
 

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Sun Sep 08, 2013 15:09

Rhys wrote:
Dan Duncombe wrote:
Rhys wrote:Hello! Just wondered something - In Minecraft, they have like special capes. Can we re create that on Minetest?

If you adjust the player model, sure.


So, it is possible then, but how do I do it?

Get Blender, then re-export the model, with all animations, as .x, making sure you have textured it, then make a new skin for Sam that includes the cape.This will probably break compatability with every other skin.
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.
 

User avatar
Zeg9
Member
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:02
Location: France

by Zeg9 » Sun Sep 08, 2013 18:31

Dan Duncombe wrote:This will probably break compatability with every other skin.

Not if you use multiple textures / UV maps; IIRC this feature has been merged some time ago.
I made a few (a lot of?) mods for minetest: here is a list.
See also the MT-Faithful texture pack (work in progress).
 

User avatar
Gambit
Member
 
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31
Location: United States

by Gambit » Sun Sep 08, 2013 21:48

Wouldn't it possible to have a Player model with a Cape already attached and animated, but with two defferant textures. The Player model only will have .PNG for itself, and the cape will have its own .PNG which perhaps mods be made to change it from a .PNG with no pixels (Invisible=no cape) to a .PNG with a cape design.

I tried to explain it in the most convoluted way possible.
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3828
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Mon Sep 09, 2013 05:23

Gambit wrote:Wouldn't it possible to have a Player model with a Cape already attached and animated, but with two defferant textures. The Player model only will have .PNG for itself, and the cape will have its own .PNG which perhaps mods be made to change it from a .PNG with no pixels (Invisible=no cape) to a .PNG with a cape design.

I tried to explain it in the most convoluted way possible.

Yes, that would be possible
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
 
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
Location: world
GitHub: hoodedice
IRC: hoodedice
In-game: hoodedice

by hoodedice » Mon Sep 09, 2013 08:55

sfan5 wrote:
Gambit wrote:Wouldn't it possible to have a Player model with a Cape already attached and animated, but with two defferant textures. The Player model only will have .PNG for itself, and the cape will have its own .PNG which perhaps mods be made to change it from a .PNG with no pixels (Invisible=no cape) to a .PNG with a cape design.

I tried to explain it in the most convoluted way possible.

Yes, that would be possible


That could be well extended to include about every other wearable item. However, won't this make the model 'heavy'?
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build
 

Rhys
Member
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

by Rhys » Mon Sep 09, 2013 14:33

Blender? A offline downloadable program? I could always like make a cape "skin" for the player skin, and changeable in the game. What I mean by this is making a implemented cape in the skin (First Try), then after, make it stand out (Second Try), then, Make it move (Third Try).
 

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
 
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
Location: world
GitHub: hoodedice
IRC: hoodedice
In-game: hoodedice

by hoodedice » Mon Sep 09, 2013 16:42

Rhys wrote:Blender? A offline downloadable program? I could always like make a cape "skin" for the player skin, and changeable in the game. What I mean by this is making a implemented cape in the skin (First Try), then after, make it stand out (Second Try), then, Make it move (Third Try).


Ya, that. The current character does not have a cape part built in. You'll have to make that!
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Mon Sep 09, 2013 20:28

I can do this in a day. Honest. Also with animation.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Mon Sep 09, 2013 22:18

Jordach wrote:I can do this in a day. Honest. Also with animation.
I hereby knight you commander of blender.
Image
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

nolan
Member
 
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 04:52
Location: ohio

by nolan » Mon Sep 09, 2013 23:15

jojoa1997 wrote:
Jordach wrote:I can do this in a day. Honest. Also with animation.
I hereby knight you commander of blender.
http://www.janetchui.net/images/19.jpg

I think Pavel_S would be a better choice, Jordach could be the prince
Minecraft Came Out For The Ps3
 

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
 
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
Location: A forest in the midwest
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen

by Evergreen » Tue Sep 10, 2013 00:06

nolan wrote:
jojoa1997 wrote:
Jordach wrote:I can do this in a day. Honest. Also with animation.
I hereby knight you commander of blender.
http://www.janetchui.net/images/19.jpg

I think Pavel_S would be a better choice, Jordach could be the prince
If you have been paying attention to his random blender renders topic and irc, I believe you would think otherwise. :P
Back from the dead!
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Tue Sep 10, 2013 06:42

Evergreen wrote:
nolan wrote:
jojoa1997 wrote:I hereby knight you commander of blender.
http://www.janetchui.net/images/19.jpg

I think Pavel_S would be a better choice, Jordach could be the prince
If you have been paying attention to his random blender renders topic and irc, I believe you would think otherwise. :P
Pavel's models don't have a flexible chest, improved bendy arms.

No to mention a (nearly) working mouth.

EDIT: Using space in the skin, it is possible without using two skins.
Last edited by Jordach on Tue Sep 10, 2013 06:44, edited 1 time in total.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

Rhys
Member
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

by Rhys » Tue Sep 10, 2013 15:50

Jordach wrote:I can do this in a day. Honest. Also with animation.


Not gonna stop ya. :)
 

tinoesroho
Member
 
Posts: 570
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 21:55
Location: Canada

by tinoesroho » Tue Sep 10, 2013 16:21

My clothes mod more or less stalled, in part because I suck with models. I didn't want to break the skins, either.
We are what we create.

I tinker and occasionally make (lousy) mods. Currently building an MMO subgame and updating mods. Pirate Party of Canada member. Sporadic author. 21 years old.

My github:
https://github.com/tinoesroho/
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Tue Sep 10, 2013 16:49

Yes, they are possible:
Image
I just need to animate and we're away!!
Image
Hint, hint.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
 
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
Location: A forest in the midwest
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen

by Evergreen » Tue Sep 10, 2013 17:50

Jordach wrote:Yes, they are possible:
http://mg.viewskew.com/mgoblin_media/media_entries/365/samcape.png
I just need to animate and we're away!!
http://i.imgur.com/rVsZcTP.png
Hint, hint.
No compatabillty breaking! YAY! Amazing job Jordach!
Back from the dead!
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Tue Sep 10, 2013 18:05

Image
Image
Works just like a hat layer.

EDIT: https://github.com/minetest/minetest_game/pull/201

It includes a capeless Sam II, W007!
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

Rhys
Member
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

by Rhys » Tue Sep 10, 2013 19:22

Jordach wrote:http://i.imgur.com/nPR4Ju7.png
http://i.imgur.com/1feBz1Z.png
Works just like a hat layer.

EDIT: https://github.com/minetest/minetest_game/pull/201

It includes a capeless Sam II, W007!


Jesus christ dude, its awesome! Can I take this into a further capes mod? :)
Last edited by Rhys on Tue Sep 10, 2013 19:23, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
 
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
Location: A forest in the midwest
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen

by Evergreen » Tue Sep 10, 2013 19:23

Rhys wrote:
Jordach wrote:http://i.imgur.com/nPR4Ju7.png
http://i.imgur.com/1feBz1Z.png
Works just like a hat layer.

EDIT: https://github.com/minetest/minetest_game/pull/201

It includes a capeless Sam II, W007!


Jesus christ dude, its awesome? Can I take this into a further capes mod? :)
No, it can't be a mod. The cape is built into the player model, so it can't be made with a mod. It will also be pointless if his pull request is merged.
Back from the dead!
 

Rhys
Member
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

by Rhys » Tue Sep 10, 2013 19:24

I can take some skins mod code, and do like a cape changer?
 

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
 
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
Location: A forest in the midwest
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen

by Evergreen » Tue Sep 10, 2013 19:29

Rhys wrote:I can take some skins mod code, and do like a cape changer?
In the way Jordach did it, the capes are a part of the skin, so there is no changing the capes via mods. (unless the mod retextures the player skin)
Last edited by Evergreen on Tue Sep 10, 2013 19:30, edited 1 time in total.
Back from the dead!
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Tue Sep 10, 2013 19:42

See this part of the skin:
Image
You see that red section, that creates a cape when used with my cape model.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

Next

Return to Feature Discussion



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests