[Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 659
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
Location: Black-Forest, Germany
GitHub: adrido

by addi » Mon Dec 09, 2013 15:25

tux_peng wrote:
Code: Select all
[@linux mods]$ ./update_from_db.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "./update_from_db.py", line 36, in <module>
    addpage(1)
  File "./update_from_db.py", line 33, in addpage
    f.write('comment = "'+s["license"]+'",\n')
TypeError: Can't convert 'int' object to str implicitly
[@linux mods]$ uname -a
Linux linux.lan 3.12.3-1-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Wed Dec 4 21:45:42 CET 2013 x86_64 GNU/Linux
oh sorry that was me, i improved the backend license storege to work better at 4 Dec in the evening.

but its working now. you can try it again
 

tux_peng
Member
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 18:21

by tux_peng » Wed Dec 11, 2013 05:54

No, I commented out that line and it's working though...
Servers now up (Economy, no PvP) Forum up already! http://tuxcraft.info
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 659
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
Location: Black-Forest, Germany
GitHub: adrido

by addi » Wed Dec 11, 2013 15:11

tux_peng wrote:No, I commented out that line and it's working though...

forgott to upload the bugfix :/
but now its working :)
 

mauvebic
Member
 
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Sun Jan 05, 2014 17:51

i have imagemagick installed though generate_previews.sh returns the error that it can't find convert, and promptly deletes all the previews that are already there :/ (os crunchbang [debian wheezy])
 

User avatar
Pitriss
Member
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 17:09
Location: Czech republic, Bohumin
GitHub: Pitriss
IRC: pitriss
In-game: pitriss

by Pitriss » Sun Jan 05, 2014 17:59

you need also blender to generate previews..
I reject your reality and substitute my own. (A. Savage, Mythbusters)
I'm not modding and/or playing minetest anymore. All my mods were released under WTFPL. You can fix/modify them yourself. Don't ask me for support. Thanks.
 

mauvebic
Member
 
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Sun Jan 05, 2014 18:16

blender and imagemagick are installed, the error message though says it can't find imagemagicks' convert.
Last edited by mauvebic on Sun Jan 05, 2014 18:18, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
ritchie
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 11:57
Location: Czech Republic
IRC: Ritchie
In-game: Ritchie

by ritchie » Sun Jan 05, 2014 21:02

mauvebic wrote:blender and imagemagick are installed, the error message though says it can't find imagemagicks' convert.

Hi, please paste here output of command
Code: Select all
whereis convert

and output of script generate_previews.sh
 

mauvebic
Member
 
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Sun Jan 05, 2014 21:25

Code: Select all
AL lib: UpdateDeviceParams: Failed to set 44100hz, got 48000hz instead
unknown argument, loading as file: --python-text
Stripping metadata from generated files...
convert.im6: unable to open image `blender_out/character_*_00.png': No such file or directory @ error/blob.c/OpenBlob/2638.
convert.im6: unable to open file `blender_out/character_*_00.png' @ error/png.c/ReadPNGImage/3667.
convert.im6: no images defined `output/character_*_preview.png' @ error/convert.c/ConvertImageCommand/3044.
convert.im6: unable to open image `blender_out/character_*_01.png': No such file or directory @ error/blob.c/OpenBlob/2638.
convert.im6: unable to open file `blender_out/character_*_01.png' @ error/png.c/ReadPNGImage/3667.
convert.im6: no images defined `output/character_*_preview_back.png' @ error/convert.c/ConvertImageCommand/3044.
Running pngcrush...

 | pngcrush 1.7.9
 |    Copyright (C) 1998-2002,2006-2010 Glenn Randers-Pehrson
 |    Copyright (C) 2005      Greg Roelofs
 | This is a free, open-source program.  Permission is irrevocably
 | granted to everyone to use this version of pngcrush without
 | payment of any fee.
 | Executable name is pngcrush
 | It was built with libpng version 1.2.43, and is
 | running with  libpng version 1.2.49 - March 29, 2012

 |    Copyright (C) 1998-2004,2006-2010 Glenn Randers-Pehrson,
 |    Copyright (C) 1996, 1997 Andreas Dilger,
 |    Copyright (C) 1995, Guy Eric Schalnat, Group 42 Inc.,
 | and zlib version 1.2.3.4, Copyright (C) 1998-2002 (or later),
 |    Jean-loup Gailly and Mark Adler.
|| Warning: versions are different between png.h and png.c
||   png.h version: 1.2.43
||   png.c version: 1.2.49

 | It was compiled with gcc version 4.4.3 and gas version 2.9.5(?).

Could not find file: output/*_preview*.png
   CPU time used = 0.000 seconds (decoding 0.000,
          encoding 0.000, other 0.000 seconds)

Done !

This time im not getting the missing convert message (might have something to do with purging & reinstalling imagemagick and rebooting after that) though its still not working :/

install_skin.sh gives me different error:
Code: Select all
./install_skin.sh: 38: ./install_skin.sh: Syntax error: "(" unexpected (expecting ")")
 

User avatar
ritchie
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 11:57
Location: Czech Republic
IRC: Ritchie
In-game: Ritchie

by ritchie » Sun Jan 05, 2014 22:35

mauvebic wrote:
Code: Select all
code omited from quote...

This time im not getting the missing convert message (might have something to do with purging & reinstalling imagemagick and rebooting after that) though its still not working :/

This seems that you have some error causing Blender doesn't work. The images that should be generated by Blender just doesn't exist.
Please try to change first line in the script (shebang) as I described in second paragraph in the list in link I wrote below.

mauvebic wrote:install_skin.sh gives me different error:
Code: Select all
./install_skin.sh: 38: ./install_skin.sh: Syntax error: "(" unexpected (expecting ")")

Look at the first paragraph in the list I wrote here: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?pid=117259#p117259
I solved it with VanessaE's help.

EDIT:

mauvebic wrote:
Code: Select all
AL lib: UpdateDeviceParams: Failed to set 44100hz, got 48000hz instead
unknown argument, loading as file: --python-text

This seems strange, maybe Blender doesn't do what should do.
Last edited by ritchie on Sun Jan 05, 2014 22:52, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
 
Posts: 1070
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
Location: SP-Brasil
GitHub: BrunoMine

by BrunoMine » Thu Jan 16, 2014 14:43

What went wrong?
Image
My small square universe under construction ... Minemacro
Comunidade Minetest Brasil
www.minetestbrasil.com
 

User avatar
ritchie
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 11:57
Location: Czech Republic
IRC: Ritchie
In-game: Ritchie

by ritchie » Sun Jan 19, 2014 19:09

brunob.santos wrote:What went wrong?

You don't have skin previews on your minetestserver. Did you run script generate_previews.sh?
 

TeemoOwni
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2014 21:50

by TeemoOwni » Mon Jan 20, 2014 02:41

does it work in servers?
 

Iqualfragile
Member
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 22:11

by Iqualfragile » Mon Jan 20, 2014 16:02

TeemoOwni wrote:does it work in servers?

yes
Gr8 b8, m8. I rel8, str8 appreci8, and congratul8. I r8 this b8 an 8/8. Plz no h8, I'm str8 ir8. Cr8 more, can't w8. We should convers8, I won't ber8, my number is 8888888, ask for N8. No calls l8 or out of st8. If on a d8, ask K8 to loc8. Even with a full pl8, I always have time to communic8 so don't hesit8.
 

User avatar
Achilles
Member
 
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 11:55
Location: Excuse Me???? -_-
In-game: Achilles

by Achilles » Thu Apr 10, 2014 19:54

Is there anyway of making a Camouflage skin? Then attackers could use it against enemies...
The Ironic Thing About Common Sense Is That It Isn't Very Common
 

User avatar
Achilles
Member
 
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 11:55
Location: Excuse Me???? -_-
In-game: Achilles

by Achilles » Thu Apr 10, 2014 19:57

The skin could also change depending what biome you are in...

So if you were wearing a camouflage texture for a normal green biome it would change to a desert camouflage texture automatically when you went into a desert...
The Ironic Thing About Common Sense Is That It Isn't Very Common
 

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
 
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
Location: Hampshire, UK
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi

by CraigyDavi » Thu Apr 10, 2014 19:59

Achilles wrote:Is there anyway of making a Camouflage skin? Then attackers could use it against enemies...

Yeah I could make one if you like...but it depends what you want it to be camouflage to. Like you could make a tree camouflage skin or maybe a dirt camouflage skin or maybe just one which is the standard *camouflagey* type.
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2650
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

by TenPlus1 » Fri Apr 11, 2014 08:08

You could make a totally transparant skin with edges that slightly glow and become Predator, then you could stalk users from trees and such... Would look interesting :)
 

User avatar
Achilles
Member
 
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 11:55
Location: Excuse Me???? -_-
In-game: Achilles

by Achilles » Fri Apr 11, 2014 19:51

CraigyDavi wrote:
Achilles wrote:Is there anyway of making a Camouflage skin? Then attackers could use it against enemies...

Yeah I could make one if you like...but it depends what you want it to be camouflage to. Like you could make a tree camouflage skin or maybe a dirt camouflage skin or maybe just one which is the standard *camouflagey* type.


I think the standard *camouflagey* type would be the best, Unless you have lots of spare time :)

TenPlus1 wrote:You could make a totally transparant skin with edges that slightly glow and become Predator, then you could stalk users from trees and such... Would look interesting :)


I was thought of that before, but i didn't know you could do it...
The Ironic Thing About Common Sense Is That It Isn't Very Common
 

WilkerS1
Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 01:24
GitHub: Wilker-a
In-game: WilkerS1

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by WilkerS1 » Sun May 25, 2014 15:29

i have my own skins. but can i use the skin map of minecraft in minetest?
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by Jordach » Sun May 25, 2014 15:50

WilkerS1 wrote:i have my own skins. but can i use the skin map of minecraft in minetest?

Skins made for MC work in MT. I happened to make the default player skin.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

WilkerS1
Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 01:24
GitHub: Wilker-a
In-game: WilkerS1

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by WilkerS1 » Sun May 25, 2014 16:06

Jordach wrote:Skins made for MC work in MT. I happened to make the default player skin.

yaaaaaaaaay!
i think that come mods published here have to be in the next MT update! :D
 

WilkerS1
Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 01:24
GitHub: Wilker-a
In-game: WilkerS1

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by WilkerS1 » Sun May 25, 2014 16:09

...and another question: how can i add the skins?
 

User avatar
ak399g
Member
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 02:36
In-game: SAFR

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by ak399g » Sat May 31, 2014 18:09

Not happy with the fact that it doesn't accept leading zeroes.
Also, is there a way to combine this mod with Player Textures, so that most users can pick their own but a few special skins are reserved for, say, admins?
 

gameslayer
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 10:47
In-game: Gameslayer

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by gameslayer » Wed Jun 04, 2014 06:04

I am having problems and and a bit confused on how to install the mod can somebody help?
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 4469
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by Krock » Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:30

gameslayer wrote:I am having problems and and a bit confused on how to install the mod can somebody help?

How do I install mods?
by celeron55 » 22 Mar 2012, 18:48
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bastrabun and 5 guests