[0.4.10] Sam II and Capes!

Locked
Jordach
Member
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

[0.4.10] Sam II and Capes!

by Jordach » Post

Sam II and my player capes model just got intergrated into minetest_game!

How do I make a cape?

Image
The above red section shows where the cape must be placed (it is double sided and the sides mirror the edges), while the result of a good cape; shown here;
Image

Video demonstartion of capes here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TBCBxHDcHvw

Sam II is also included with this major pull.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server

User avatar
Gambit
Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31
Location: United States

by Gambit » Post

Texture it make it look like hair instead.
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001

User avatar
Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4046
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Post

Jordach wrote: Sam II and my player capes model just got intergrated into minetest_game!
Great! I'm looking forward to nice new cape-wearing player models :-)
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

The cape inside the player texture will break a lot of player textures. Since this area was not used before many creators of textures just draw something random in it.

User avatar
RHR
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 20:07
GitHub: RHRhino

by RHR » Post

PilzAdam wrote:The cape inside the player texture will break a lot of player textures. Since this area was not used before many creators of textures just draw something random in it.
Maybe it could be done this way:
Use the "body back" section for the cape and the "body front" could be used for the back of the character too. Because both (front and back) look very similar, I think nobody will see a difference.

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3090
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

PilzAdam wrote:The cape inside the player texture will break a lot of player textures. Since this area was not used before many creators of textures just draw something random in it.
We must not let the breaking of textures stop improvements. In fact:
viewtopic.php?pid=124630#p124630
The above conversation took place in addi's skins database topic. If a cape can be made, then so can that which is mentioned above.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
GitHub: hoodedice
IRC: hoodedice
In-game: hoodedice
Location: world
Contact:

by hoodedice » Post

Wow. Looks like someone took my tip and made a custom badge. Awesome.


Also, nice add-on...
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build

User avatar
Casimir
Member
Posts: 1164
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 16:59
GitHub: CasimirKaPazi

by Casimir » Post

So next version will be 0.4.10, not 0.5?

User avatar
onpon4
Member
Posts: 517
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 01:54
GitHub: onpon4
In-game: diligentcircle
Contact:

by onpon4 » Post

Casimir wrote:So next version will be 0.4.10, not 0.5?
The dot is not a decimal point. Each of the three numbers is completely separate and represents a different level of change. I don't know Minetest's policy for what kinds of changes increment what numbers, but version 0.5.0 should not be expected until there is a change more significant than the updates we've seen to 0.4.x so far.
Last edited by onpon4 on Sat Feb 08, 2014 18:42, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
GitHub: hoodedice
IRC: hoodedice
In-game: hoodedice
Location: world
Contact:

by hoodedice » Post

onpon4 wrote:
Casimir wrote:So next version will be 0.4.10, not 0.5?
The dot is not a decimal point. Each of the three numbers is completely separate and represents a different level of change. I don't know Minetest's policy for what kinds of changes increment what numbers, but version 0.5.0 (if it happens) should be expected to be significantly more different than the updates we've seen to 0.4.x so far.
I heard in the IRC that it will be when it breaks compatibility with everything.

AFAIK, celeron-55 said that 0.4.x is for modding API. So I think we'll switch to 0.5.x when it is complete.
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build

Esteban
Member
Posts: 873
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 13:26
GitHub: Esteban-
IRC: Esteban
In-game: Esteban
Location: Somewhere in the Caribbean...

by Esteban » Post

.
Last edited by Esteban on Fri Mar 18, 2016 13:20, edited 1 time in total.

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

Inocudom wrote: We must not let the breaking of textures stop improvements.
I don't see how just adding capes is an improvement. Now, if we could use different player models and have some in-game facility for changing them like we do with skins, i'd call that an improvement :-)

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi
Location: United States

by philipbenr » Post

mauvebic wrote:
Inocudom wrote: We must not let the breaking of textures stop improvements.
I don't see how just adding capes is an improvement. Now, if we could use different player models and have some in-game facility for changing them like we do with skins, i'd call that an improvement :-)
+1
“Would it save you a lot of time if I just gave up and went mad now?”

“I'd far rather be happy than right any day.”

“What, are you, crazy?" "It's a possibility I haven't ruled out yet"

User avatar
Novacain
Member
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 01:03
Location: Skaaro

by Novacain » Post

mauvebic wrote:
Inocudom wrote: We must not let the breaking of textures stop improvements.
I don't see how just adding capes is an improvement. Now, if we could use different player models and have some in-game facility for changing them like we do with skins, i'd call that an improvement :-)
+2
EXTERMINATE!!!
My Tronrealm modpack
My tronblocks mod

Rhys
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

by Rhys » Post

I never knew my idea could go this far. ^_^ Great job!

User avatar
Novacain
Member
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 01:03
Location: Skaaro

by Novacain » Post

so, here is a question, what if you only want to make a partial cape? how will it behave then?
EXTERMINATE!!!
My Tronrealm modpack
My tronblocks mod

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi
Location: United States

by philipbenr » Post

Novacain wrote:so, here is a question, what if you only want to make a partial cape? how will it behave then?
Look on the MT skin database: http://minetest.fensta.bplaced.net/ Take a look at some of the skins on page 3
“Would it save you a lot of time if I just gave up and went mad now?”

“I'd far rather be happy than right any day.”

“What, are you, crazy?" "It's a possibility I haven't ruled out yet"

User avatar
Novacain
Member
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 01:03
Location: Skaaro

by Novacain » Post

okay, that works better. however, I do think there could be a major improvement. for non-square capes, there are side pixels missing. could it be made so that for capes that aren't square, they still have the textures for the sides?
EXTERMINATE!!!
My Tronrealm modpack
My tronblocks mod

User avatar
BlauerEisRegen
Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 18:13

by BlauerEisRegen » Post

I think this looks good, but I also think that it is not important. More important woulb be for example adding new bioms or the possibilities to change the settings ingame!
Hope sombody like my ideas?

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

by CraigyDavi » Post

BlauerEisRegen wrote:I think this looks good, but I also think that it is not important. More important woulb be for example adding new bioms or the possibilities to change the settings ingame!
Hope sombody like my ideas?
In-game settings has been suggested but is yet to be merged into the game. - https://github.com/minetest/minetest/pull/546
Biomes would be cool but I think there is more focus on getting mapgen v7 done.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests