Freeminer

User avatar
Menche
Member
Posts: 1001
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 00:43
IRC: Menchers
In-game: Menche
Location: An island in a lava lake.

by Menche » Post

sfan5 wrote:
Krock wrote:
sfan5 wrote:Why not use LevelDB?
EEhmm..my 100MB sqlite3 map took over 30 minutes to migrate to LevelDB.
and that * 35.74 gives 1072 minutes or ~18 hours.
Does that indicate how fast LevelDB is? No
Does that indicate how LevelDB performs on normal usage? No
Towards the end of my 0.4.x server's life I migrated the map to leveldb. It took several hours, but the resulting map file was smaller and performed noticably faster. You only have to convert once!
An innocent kitten dies every time you top-post.

sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 4095
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

PilzAdam wrote:
sfan5 wrote:
Krock wrote: EEhmm..my 100MB sqlite3 map took over 30 minutes to migrate to LevelDB.
and that * 35.74 gives 1072 minutes or ~18 hours.
Does that indicate how fast LevelDB is? No
Does that indicate how LevelDB performs on normal usage? No
Has anyone ever proven that LevelDB is faster than sqlite3? No
Has anyone ever proven that sqlite3 is faster than LevelDB? No
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

Amaz
Member
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 08:26
GitHub: Amaz1
IRC: Amaz
In-game: Amaz

by Amaz » Post

Just out of interest, how do you convert a map from sqlite 3 to levelDB?

sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 4095
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

Code: Select all

minetestserver --migrate leveldb --world <path to world>
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

Amaz
Member
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 08:26
GitHub: Amaz1
IRC: Amaz
In-game: Amaz

by Amaz » Post

Thanks!

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3121
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

I don't see the point in tempting people with this fork if new builds of it are exceedingly rare, as they are meant to be (in the case of Windows users, at least.)

User avatar
Casimir
Member
Posts: 1207
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 16:59
GitHub: CasimirKaPazi

by Casimir » Post

Why don't you learn to compile on windows? This way you could also provide all the builds you are missing to others. I'm sure the freeminer developers would be happy to see someone taking care of the windows builds.

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3121
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

Casimir wrote:Why don't you learn to compile on windows? This way you could also provide all the builds you are missing to others. I'm sure the freeminer developers would be happy to see someone taking care of the windows builds.
http://forum.freeminer.org/threads/nobo ... /#post-772
This smashed my hopes and dreams of anybody doing so... For eternity.

CWz
Member
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 17:01
GitHub: chaoswormz
IRC: CWz
In-game: CWz
Location: Banana Land

by CWz » Post

I can't get current git of freeminer to compile so i am stuck with an older version.
I am CWz on the following servers: VanessaE's servers. If you see CWz on server other then those then chances are it's a Fake. you can contact me on irc.freenode.net or by PM if you are not sure

t3tNU9hNyeSJxFOmM5fmtGxlfoJrcBCg

proller
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

by proller » Post

show error

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4650
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

by Krock » Post

Inocudom wrote:
Casimir wrote:Why don't you learn to compile on windows? This way you could also provide all the builds you are missing to others. I'm sure the freeminer developers would be happy to see someone taking care of the windows builds.
http://forum.freeminer.org/threads/nobo ... /#post-772
This smashed my hopes and dreams of anybody doing so... For eternity.
Yeah, I saw that too. It needs soo much stuff to get that all running on Windows while it seems to work for every damnsmalllinux-user.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

CWz
Member
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 17:01
GitHub: chaoswormz
IRC: CWz
In-game: CWz
Location: Banana Land

by CWz » Post

proller wrote:show error
I already did.
https://github.com/freeminer/freeminer/issues/61

You said:
Something wrong with your gettext or glib
I know it can't be gettext since i was able to compile this commit
Last edited by CWz on Tue Apr 08, 2014 16:20, edited 1 time in total.
I am CWz on the following servers: VanessaE's servers. If you see CWz on server other then those then chances are it's a Fake. you can contact me on irc.freenode.net or by PM if you are not sure

t3tNU9hNyeSJxFOmM5fmtGxlfoJrcBCg

proller
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

by proller » Post

after this commit we switch to c11, looks like you use too old compiler.

CWz
Member
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 17:01
GitHub: chaoswormz
IRC: CWz
In-game: CWz
Location: Banana Land

by CWz » Post

proller wrote:after this commit we switch to c11, looks like you use too old compiler.
i was using g++ and gcc version 4.8 to compile. what else do i need?

EDIT: I think i will just wait until the next LinuxMint LTS comes out.
Last edited by CWz on Sat Apr 12, 2014 16:33, edited 1 time in total.
I am CWz on the following servers: VanessaE's servers. If you see CWz on server other then those then chances are it's a Fake. you can contact me on irc.freenode.net or by PM if you are not sure

t3tNU9hNyeSJxFOmM5fmtGxlfoJrcBCg

proller
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Freeminer

by proller » Post

pull and try compile now.

User avatar
Enke
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 02:56
GitHub: NANOsoldierEnke
IRC: Enke
In-game: Enke
Location: The internet

Re: Freeminer

by Enke » Post

Wait. Wasn't there something about telling Freeminerbot to compile a new build of Freeminer or something?
Lush8
ExtraVars for Red Eclipse

<Anarchid> my turn was still the most awesome, yielding all the cripples, two captured paranormals, and death rate of about 30%
<ORCACommander> Anarchid: you need to work harder
<ORCACommander> I am hereby putting you under review until you can increase the casualty rate

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3121
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: Freeminer

by Inocudom » Post

Enke wrote:Wait. Wasn't there something about telling Freeminerbot to compile a new build of Freeminer or something?
Freeminer bot crashed and burned, sad to say.

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4290
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine
IRC: Sokomine
In-game: Sokomine

Re: Freeminer

by Sokomine » Post

The only creative Freeminer server I know about unfortionately turned damage on and does not yet have a /spawn command. Hope someone reads that and changes it.

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2835
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: Freeminer

by Hybrid Dog » Post

Sokomine wrote:The only creative Freeminer server I know about unfortionately turned damage on and does not yet have a /spawn command. Hope someone reads that and changes it.
This one?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YmyZDbFumwg
I only saw 1 freeminer server on the public serverlist yet, maybe this is the one.

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4290
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine
IRC: Sokomine
In-game: Sokomine

Re: Freeminer

by Sokomine » Post

Hybrid Dog wrote: This one?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YmyZDbFumwg
I only saw 1 freeminer server on the public serverlist yet, maybe this is the one.
Maybe. Unfortionately, I can't check the video from here. The server I built on has a site called "extreme mining spot". I own a tiny house out of cheap baskets for pies close to the travelnet there. There's also a travelnet inside the house which connects to a spot in the desert where I built a small castle (I like the sandstonebrick texture there).

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3121
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: Freeminer

by Inocudom » Post

http://forum.freeminer.org/threads/wind ... #post-1035
It was quite a while, but a new Freeminer build was made today.

User avatar
HolyPhoenix
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 18:20

Re: Freeminer

by HolyPhoenix » Post

So would you guys say that freeminer performs better than minetest?

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4290
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine
IRC: Sokomine
In-game: Sokomine

Re: Freeminer

by Sokomine » Post

HolyPhoenix wrote: So would you guys say that freeminer performs better than minetest?
They all come with mapgens that are less suitable for building, those Freeminer servers, so it's hard to tell. There are some aspects that are annyoing when building (i.e. floating dirt/sand). However, it's good to have a change and diversity sometimes.
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
Posts: 1897
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi
Location: United States

Re: Freeminer

by philipbenr » Post

@HolyPheonix: Try them both.

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3121
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: Freeminer

by Inocudom » Post

I must remind people here of this fork of Minetest, for it desperately needs a community of its own (and people willing to host servers for it that aren't mere experiments.) For those not willing to read the first post, I will post the link to Freeminer's website here:
http://freeminer.org/

You see, as it stands right now, Freeminer does not have a future, because it does not have a community of it's own. This is a shame, because this fork is open source and it is under the GPLv3 license. Besides, it does incorporate all of the commits made to Minetest while keeping its own features (like a node-based farmesh and gsmapper.) I would also recommend its default sub-game, if only sand/gravel/dirt didn't flow (well, a pull request could be made to toggle whether the behavior occurs or not,) for that sub-game works with not only Freeminer's mapgenv6, but also its mapgenv7 and mapgenv5 (the one from 0.3.1.) Of course, other sub-games will work with this fork too, which is maintained by xyz and proller. Instead of uncaringly allowing it to sink into the abyss, give it a try and give it a chance. Don't be like the PureZC community, which didn't care about it much, if at all (of course, they didn't care about Minetest either.)

For the users of Windows, do not download the stable build on the home page of Freeminer's website. It is far, far too old. Instead, download one of the latest development builds:
http://forum.freeminer.org/threads/jojo ... uilds.132/
http://forum.freeminer.org/threads/crai ... uilds.124/
To those that use these builds, make sure that you put the following line into your configuration file to prevent your CPU from revving like a jet engine:
more_threads = 0
All thanks goes to proller for telling me about this extremely important setting.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests