[Mod] Darkage - improved! [darkage]

Post Reply
User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

[Mod] Darkage - improved! [darkage]

by CraigyDavi » Post

Darkage

Image

This is an improved version of the outdated but legendary Darkage mod.

This mod adds some new blocks that allow pre-industrial looking buildings to be made.

Of course, feel free to use them for any other type of construction.

Dependencies: default
License: WTFPL

Website · Download · GitHub · Chat

Suggestions and feedback are welcome! :)
Last edited by CraigyDavi on Tue Jun 28, 2016 18:33, edited 14 times in total.

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4571
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Darkage - improved! [1.2] [darkage]

by Krock » Post

I'd like to see the following node in this new version of darkage:

darkage:box_locked

Code: Select all

group:tree |        | group:tree
         | darkage:box_locked |
group:tree |        | group:tree
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4169
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Mod] Darkage - improved! [1.2] [darkage]

by Sokomine » Post

It's good that the mod is maintained and new content added. Further wish: I'd appreciate it very much if darkage might use the ore generation functions provided by the api instead of its own. They ought to be capable of creating the desired distribution.
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Darkage - improved! [1.2] [darkage]

by CraigyDavi » Post

Krock wrote:I'd like to see the following node in this new version of darkage:

darkage:box_locked

Code: Select all

group:tree |        | group:tree
         | darkage:box_locked |
group:tree |        | group:tree
Sokomine wrote:It's good that the mod is maintained and new content added. Further wish: I'd appreciate it very much if darkage might use the ore generation functions provided by the api instead of its own. They ought to be capable of creating the desired distribution.
Both sound like great ideas! I'll work on implementing them.

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Darkage - improved! [1.2] [darkage]

by CraigyDavi » Post

Update
  • Most blocks are now fully compatible with the stairsplus and stairs mod
  • New mud texture, shown below
  • New lamp texture, shown below
  • is_ground_content has been removed from blocks which are not ground content
Image
Image
Last edited by CraigyDavi on Sat Sep 06, 2014 13:00, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Minetestforfun
Member
Posts: 940
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 14:09
GitHub: MinetestForFun
IRC: MinetestForFun
In-game: MinetestForFun
Location: On earth
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Darkage - improved! [1.2] [darkage]

by Minetestforfun » Post

Awesome update ! Good job !

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
In-game: ExeterDad
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A

Re: [Mod] Darkage - improved! [1.2] [darkage]

by ExeterDad » Post

I like this :)

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Darkage - improved! [1.2] [darkage]

by CraigyDavi » Post

Minetestforfun wrote:Awesome update ! Good job !
ExeterDad wrote:I like this :)
Thanks!

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Darkage - improved! [1.3] [darkage]

by CraigyDavi » Post

Update: Version 1.3
Main changes from 1.2:
  • Many, many craft recipe changes
  • New lamp texture
  • New mud and mud lump texture
  • Add some more stairs, fix existing stairs
  • Fixes problems with light emitting nodes
  • Fix caves generating in blocks which are not ground content
  • Remove textures32 folder, code cleanup

User avatar
Misty
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 02:09

Re: [Mod] Darkage - improved! [1.3] [darkage]

by Misty » Post

I havent been able to visit the forum for a while, and I was looking for the original darkage mod topic when I found this thread. I was preparing to ask the mod creator if he wanted to add my custom nodes to darkage. BUT here is your fork...with leaded glass!

I'd created some leaded glass nodes with their accompanying recipes, plus a few others that you may have already added to your new version of the mod. I've been trying to figure out how to create a framed chalk node with a texture wrap that will work like that in framed glass, while still being opaque and wood-like. I just haven't figured out how to make it work. I dont really understand the modding system, or lua programming, so maybe someone who does will succeed where I have failed.

I enjoy the medieval builds and you really need leaded glass , or something like it for those. There are a lot of times when a glass block is too thick to, so a glass pane is nice to have.
thanks for posting this...and I look forward to seeing what changes you'll make next.

User avatar
balthazariv
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 15:48
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Darkage - improved! [1.3] [darkage]

by balthazariv » Post

Hello,

I have this error, can you fix it please.

Code: Select all

15:11:11: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
15:11:11: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from 
15:11:11: ERROR[main]: L:\Minetest\minetest - Copie\bin\..\mods\darkage\init.lua:
15:11:11: ERROR[main]: L:\Minetest\minetest - Copie\bin\..\mods\darkage/stairs.lua:175: attempt to index global 'stairs' (a nil value)
15:11:11: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
15:11:11: ERROR[main]: 	L:\Minetest\minetest - Copie\bin\..\mods\darkage/stairs.lua:175: in main chunk
15:11:11: ERROR[main]: 	[C]: in function 'dofile'
15:11:11: ERROR[main]: 	L:\Minetest\minetest - Copie\bin\..\mods\darkage\init.lua:9: in main chunk
15:11:11: ERROR[main]: ======= END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
Thanks

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Darkage - improved! [1.3] [darkage]

by CraigyDavi » Post

Misty wrote:I havent been able to visit the forum for a while, and I was looking for the original darkage mod topic when I found this thread. I was preparing to ask the mod creator if he wanted to add my custom nodes to darkage. BUT here is your fork...with leaded glass!

I'd created some leaded glass nodes with their accompanying recipes, plus a few others that you may have already added to your new version of the mod. I've been trying to figure out how to create a framed chalk node with a texture wrap that will work like that in framed glass, while still being opaque and wood-like. I just haven't figured out how to make it work. I dont really understand the modding system, or lua programming, so maybe someone who does will succeed where I have failed.

I enjoy the medieval builds and you really need leaded glass , or something like it for those. There are a lot of times when a glass block is too thick to, so a glass pane is nice to have.
thanks for posting this...and I look forward to seeing what changes you'll make next.
If you would like me to add your leaded glass nodes you can send a pull request on GitHub or gimme the textures and I can implement the blocks into the mod. Nice idea for the framed chalk, might be a possibility. Also thanks for the feedback :)
balthazariv wrote:Hello,

I have this error, can you fix it please.
Thanks
Fixed!

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3096
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [Mod] Darkage - improved! [1.3] [darkage]

by Inocudom » Post

CraigyDavi, would you be able to post a topic for this mod in the forums of Freeminer for those that never go to the Minetest forums?
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Darkage - improved! [1.3] [darkage]

by CraigyDavi » Post

Inocudom wrote:CraigyDavi, would you be able to post a topic for this mod in the forums of Freeminer for those that never go to the Minetest forums?
Of course: http://forum.freeminer.org/threads/dark ... rkage.176/

User avatar
balthazariv
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 15:48
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Darkage - improved! [1.3] [darkage]

by balthazariv » Post

CraigyDavi wrote:Fixed!
Thanks

What's the difference between https://forum.minetest.net and http://freeminer.org/ ?

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Darkage - improved! [1.3] [darkage]

by CraigyDavi » Post


User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Darkage - improved! [1.3] [darkage]

by CraigyDavi » Post

Update
  • The cobble blocks actually now look like cobble.
  • There are new brick blocks which use the old cobble texture.
Image

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3096
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [Mod] Darkage - improved! [1.3] [darkage]

by Inocudom » Post

Darkage seems to have lost support from the moreblocks mod.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4571
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Darkage - improved! [1.3] [darkage]

by Krock » Post

Image
I edited some textures, here's the download link.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
coeseta
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 14:15

Re: [Mod] Darkage - improved! [1.3] [darkage]

by coeseta » Post

I also made some textures for our 128x128 texture pack :)
Still have some on my todo list ^^

Also great mod ;)

Image

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Darkage - improved! [1.3] [darkage]

by CraigyDavi » Post

Inocudom wrote:Darkage seems to have lost support from the moreblocks mod.
Is this the original or the improved one? Hopefully more blocks support should work.
Krock wrote:Image
I edited some textures, here's the download link.
Nice, mind if I add your new ones to the mod?
coeseta wrote:I also made some textures for our 128x128 texture pack :)
Still have some on my todo list ^^

Also great mod ;)

Image
Lovely textures and thanks for the support :)

User avatar
captpete
Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 03:02

Re: [Mod] Darkage - improved! [darkage]

by captpete » Post

There seem to be a block missing in this "improved" mod; specifically "limestone_sand". I use the John Smith and DokuCraft TP's in MineTest that have support for this block and use it in my Greek and Roman (and Desert) Worlds.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests