[Mod] Fertiliser [0.1.6] [fertiliser]

User avatar
minermoder27
Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 23:24
GitHub: ZNixian
In-game: minermoder27

[Mod] Fertiliser [0.1.6] [fertiliser]

by minermoder27 » Post

Fertiliser mod for minetest.

punch anything from farming plus and farming or punch cactus and papyrus to grow it 1 "level". Trees take a few clicks, but will grow (Trees will never have apples).

Crafting

L = Leaves
A = Apple
D = Dirt
. = nothing

. L .
L A L
D D D

or (on older versions)

Craft 1 bone block to make 9 bones.
craft 8 dirt with 1 bone in the center to make 9 fertiliser.

Compadibility
Moretrees trees
Farming Plus trees
Vanilla cacti/papyrus
Vanilla pine and oak trees
Vanilla wheat/cotton

Downloads
Github: https://github.com/minermoder27/minetest-fertiliser
Download: https://github.com/minermoder27/minetes ... master.zip

Depends
default
farming (comes by default)
farming_plus

LICENCE
Apache License

CREDITS
MTDad - debugging on newer versions of Minetest
Esteban - new crafting recipie
Last edited by minermoder27 on Sun Jun 14, 2015 02:47, edited 4 times in total.
My best mods:
Buildtest

User avatar
balthazariv
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 15:48
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Fertiliser [0.1] [fertiliser]

by balthazariv » Post

Hello,

I have this error

Code: Select all

11:42:11: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
11:42:11: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from 
11:42:11: ERROR[main]: L:\Minetest\minetest - Copie\bin\..\mods\fertiliser\init.lua:
11:42:11: ERROR[main]: ...inetest\minetest - Copie\bin\..\mods\fertiliser\init.lua:26: unexpected symbol near '<'
11:42:11: ERROR[main]: ======= END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========

Xanthin
Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 14:05
GitHub: Xanthin
IRC: Xanthin
In-game: Xanthin
Location: Germany

Re: [Mod] Fertiliser [0.1] [fertiliser]

by Xanthin » Post

Interesting, faster grow of plants and trees :)

I tested it and deleted this three lines in the init.lua:

Code: Select all

<<<<<<< HEAD
=======
>>>>>>> origin/master
Now it works but not for jungletrees. With jungletree saplings I get an error about "deprecated use of default.grow_jungletree".
I havent tested it yet with moretrees.

User avatar
balthazariv
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 15:48
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Fertiliser [0.1] [fertiliser]

by balthazariv » Post

Hello, i deleted this three lines but it not works.
No item in my inventory (in creative mode) and when i want to craft

"Craft 1 bone block to make 9 bones.
craft 8 dirt with 1 bone in the center to make 9 fertiliser"
i have no item for fertiliser and no bones

Xanthin
Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 14:05
GitHub: Xanthin
IRC: Xanthin
In-game: Xanthin
Location: Germany

Re: [Mod] Fertiliser [0.1] [fertiliser]

by Xanthin » Post

Yes, I got this too at my first try. The mod has a hard dependency on farming_plus and only works if you enable it too.
Funny: you can use the fertiliser on papyrus to grow it on every soil (dirt, sand, stone) no matter how near to water and as high as you want. If you add "climbable = true," to papyrus you can play "Jack and the papyrusstalk". :)

User avatar
minermoder27
Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 23:24
GitHub: ZNixian
In-game: minermoder27

Re: [Mod] Fertiliser [0.1] [fertiliser]

by minermoder27 » Post

Sorry about three lines, it was a problem with my use of git.
This is now fixed.

User avatar
balthazariv
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 15:48
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Fertiliser [0.1] [fertiliser]

by balthazariv » Post

Hello,

I Have this error with your mod and [Modpack] [farming_plusplus][1.03] farming_plus fork

Code: Select all

23:47:55: ERROR[main]: ServerError: ...etest\bin\..\mods\farming_plusplus\farming_plus\init.lua:56: attempt to perform arithmetic on field 'y' (a nil value)
23:47:55: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
23:47:55: ERROR[main]: 	...etest\bin\..\mods\farming_plusplus\farming_plus\init.lua:56: in function 'generate_tree'
23:47:55: ERROR[main]: 	L:\Minetest\minetest\bin\..\mods\fertiliser\init.lua:6: in function <L:\Minetest\minetest\bin\..\mods\fertiliser\init.lua:4>
23:47:55: ERROR[main]: 	L:\Minetest\minetest\bin\..\mods\fertiliser\init.lua:164: in function <L:\Minetest\minetest\bin\..\mods\fertiliser\init.lua:154>

MTDad
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 05:38

Re: [Mod] Fertiliser [0.1] [fertiliser]

by MTDad » Post

balthazariv, it comes down to a ":" vs a "."

line 6 of the fertiliser/init.lua

Code: Select all

			farming:generate_tree(pos, def[4][1], def[4][2], def[4][3], def[4][4])
change it to

Code: Select all

			farming.generate_tree(pos, def[4][1], def[4][2], def[4][3], def[4][4])
and it works.
Do that and it will no longer work for older versions of farming/farming_plus that used the ":" version.

Fun little mod to play with, but it didn't work on moretrees or jungle trees for me. No crash, just no fertiliser application (no removal from the stack). I'm not sure about the recipe, I'd think about changing it to bones from the animals mod and tree leaves or something renewable like that. How do you get bones:bones anyways? I resorted to a giveme.

User avatar
Esteban
Member
Posts: 873
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 13:26
In-game: Esteban
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Fertiliser [0.1] [fertiliser]

by Esteban » Post

MTDad wrote: How do you get bones:bones anyways? I resorted to a giveme.
The bones in the default game are obtained when you die. In vanilla Minetest, when you die, your items are left inside the bones in the exact position where you died.
Scan avatar or click here to read a Message of Hope (PDF)

MTDad
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 05:38

Re: [Mod] Fertiliser [0.1] [fertiliser]

by MTDad » Post

Esteban wrote:
MTDad wrote: How do you get bones:bones anyways? I resorted to a giveme.
The bones in the default game are obtained when you die. In vanilla Minetest, when you die, your items are left inside the bones in the exact position where you died.
Right, but that doesn't give you a bones item you can use to craft the small bones this mod uses, at least it doesn't for me.

User avatar
Esteban
Member
Posts: 873
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 13:26
In-game: Esteban
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Fertiliser [0.1] [fertiliser]

by Esteban » Post

minermoder27 wrote:...
Craft 1 bone block to make 9 bones.

craft 8 dirt with 1 bone in the center to make 9 fertiliser.
...
I took a look at the code to see if there was a mistake:

Code: Select all

minetest.register_craft({
output = 'fertiliser:fertiliser 9',
recipe = {
{'default:dirt',	'default:dirt',	'default:dirt'},
{'default:dirt',	'bones:single_bone',	'default:dirt'},
{'default:dirt',	'default:dirt',	'default:dirt'},
},
})
minetest.register_craft({
output = 'bones:bones',
recipe = {
{'bones:single_bone', 'bones:single_bone', 'bones:single_bone'},
{'bones:single_bone', 'bones:single_bone', 'bones:single_bone'},
{'bones:single_bone', 'bones:single_bone', 'bones:single_bone'},
},
})
minetest.register_craft({
type = 'shapeless',
output = 'bones:single_bone 9',
recipe = {'bones:bones'},
})
But I don't see anything wrong...
Scan avatar or click here to read a Message of Hope (PDF)

User avatar
balthazariv
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 15:48
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Fertiliser [0.1] [fertiliser]

by balthazariv » Post

MTDad wrote:balthazariv, it comes down to a ":" vs a "."

line 6 of the fertiliser/init.lua

Code: Select all

			farming:generate_tree(pos, def[4][1], def[4][2], def[4][3], def[4][4])
change it to

Code: Select all

			farming.generate_tree(pos, def[4][1], def[4][2], def[4][3], def[4][4])
and it works.
Thanks now it works

Xanthin
Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 14:05
GitHub: Xanthin
IRC: Xanthin
In-game: Xanthin
Location: Germany

Re: [Mod] Fertiliser [0.1] [fertiliser]

by Xanthin » Post

MTDad wrote:[...] but it didn't work on moretrees or jungle trees for me. No crash, just no fertiliser application (no removal from the stack).
Seems like the support for jungle trees and the moretrees mod was removed from the mod with the latest update.
MTDad wrote:How do you get bones:bones anyways? I resorted to a giveme.
Like Esteban said, but in singleplayer you don´t get bones when your character dies.
MTDad wrote:I'm not sure about the recipe [...]
Yes, I also changed the recipe, not only because of the limitation in singleplayer to get the bones, just don´t like the idea to use bones for food :) I prefere a compost with

Code: Select all

        {'',				'group:leaves',						''},
        {'group:leaves',	'default:apple',		'group:leaves'},
        {'default:dirt',	'default:dirt',			'default:dirt'},
.

And thank you for your fix.

MTDad
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 05:38

Re: [Mod] Fertiliser [0.1] [fertiliser]

by MTDad » Post

This is all very puzzling to me, maybe something's changed in bones recently, or my version of minetest or bones doesn't work right. Singleplayer or Server (we have a family server we play together on), if you die, yes bones appear on the map, where you died, containing your items. When you collect those bones, you get no bones as an item in your inventory, you get your items. Oh well.

Xanthin
Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 14:05
GitHub: Xanthin
IRC: Xanthin
In-game: Xanthin
Location: Germany

Re: [Mod] Fertiliser [0.1] [fertiliser]

by Xanthin » Post

Geez! How silly, of course there are bones even in singleplayer. I am so used to have creative mod on when I use the singleplayer. Should have looked into the bones file before. Excuse me.
Now I saw what you mean and found that there was this commit for the bones mod in minetest_game.
I commented lines 80-82. Now, if you punch at the bones you instantely get all your items back in your inventory and the bones stay, so you can pick them up.

Code: Select all

		--[[ remove bones if player emptied them
		if has_space then
			minetest.remove_node(pos)
		end]]
	end,
But if you take item per item out of the bones they still dissapear. I commented lines 52-57 and they stay.

Code: Select all

	--[[on_metadata_inventory_take = function(pos, listname, index, stack, player)
		local meta = minetest.get_meta(pos)
		if meta:get_inventory():is_empty("main") then
			minetest.remove_node(pos)
		end
	end,]]
Oh, and maybe you want to look at this removed line. I dont no why it was removed, it seems to me practical to get a chat message with the coordinates where you died.

User avatar
minermoder27
Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 23:24
GitHub: ZNixian
In-game: minermoder27

Re: [Mod] Fertiliser [0.1] [fertiliser]

by minermoder27 » Post

IDK why they got rid of it. Will have to look into a workaround for the bones.

User avatar
Damien
New member
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 05:11
In-game: Damien
Location: Bouvet Island

Re: [Mod] Fertiliser [0.1] [fertiliser]

by Damien » Post

Sorry for the necro bump,I meant to ask:
Does this fertiliser also enchance the growth of grass and flowers?Also,what about the bone block?In the vanilla game it isn't obtainable if not through commands and creative,is it available in this or the farming_plus modification?

User avatar
minermoder27
Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 23:24
GitHub: ZNixian
In-game: minermoder27

Re: [Mod] Fertiliser [0.1] [fertiliser]

by minermoder27 » Post

MTDad wrote:balthazariv, it comes down to a ":" vs a "."

line 6 of the fertiliser/init.lua

Code: Select all

			farming:generate_tree(pos, def[4][1], def[4][2], def[4][3], def[4][4])
change it to

Code: Select all

			farming.generate_tree(pos, def[4][1], def[4][2], def[4][3], def[4][4])
and it works.
Do that and it will no longer work for older versions of farming/farming_plus that used the ":" version.
Fixed.
Xanthin wrote:
MTDad wrote:I'm not sure about the recipe [...]
Yes, I also changed the recipe, not only because of the limitation in singleplayer to get the bones, just don´t like the idea to use bones for food :) I prefere a compost with

Code: Select all

        {'',				'group:leaves',						''},
        {'group:leaves',	'default:apple',		'group:leaves'},
        {'default:dirt',	'default:dirt',			'default:dirt'},
.
Damien wrote:Also,what about the bone block?In the vanilla game it isn't obtainable if not through commands and creative,is it available in this or the farming_plus modification?
Added Xanthin's craft recipie by default, because of the new bone logic.

User avatar
minermoder27
Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 23:24
GitHub: ZNixian
In-game: minermoder27

Re: [Mod] Fertiliser [0.1] [fertiliser]

by minermoder27 » Post

Xanthin wrote:
MTDad wrote:[...] but it didn't work on moretrees or jungle trees for me. No crash, just no fertiliser application (no removal from the stack).
Seems like the support for jungle trees and the moretrees mod was removed from the mod with the latest update.
Moretrees support has been re-added in the latest version.
The reason why I removed it to start with was that there are no hooks in plant_life that support growing of trees. This meant that I wrote my own hooks, but then there were updates, and so it got ugly. It now scans through minetest.registered_abms to find the functions it needs.

Chibi ghost
Member
Posts: 845
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 21:17
In-game: Ghost

Re: [Mod] Fertiliser [0.1.6] [fertiliser]

by Chibi ghost » Post

this mod is now knackered
it depends on farming plus and plant lib
since farming plus breaks default farming
rip one of my favourite mods

User avatar
minermoder27
Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 23:24
GitHub: ZNixian
In-game: minermoder27

Re: [Mod] Fertiliser [0.1.6] [fertiliser]

by minermoder27 » Post

Chibi ghost wrote:rip one of my favourite mods
As in, this or farming plus? If this:

Wow, I had no idea anyone ever used this. I can fix it up to work with the default mods if you'd like.

I haven't done Minetest in ages, does plantlib still exist?

Chibi ghost
Member
Posts: 845
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 21:17
In-game: Ghost

Re: [Mod] Fertiliser [0.1.6] [fertiliser]

by Chibi ghost » Post

minermoder27 wrote:
Chibi ghost wrote:rip one of my favourite mods
As in, this or farming plus? If this:

Wow, I had no idea anyone ever used this. I can fix it up to work with the default mods if you'd like.

I haven't done Minetest in ages, does plantlib still exist?
both fertilliser was one of the first mods I ever installed and had work with no issues
and plant lib is a part of vanessa's plant mod
also RIP me as I'm going to install bone meal, remove my armour and spend a hour throwing my self off my house

User avatar
minermoder27
Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 23:24
GitHub: ZNixian
In-game: minermoder27

Re: [Mod] Fertiliser [0.1.6] [fertiliser]

by minermoder27 » Post

Chibi ghost wrote:I'm going to install bone meal, remove my armour and spend a hour throwing my self off my house
Is that another fertilizer-style mod?

Chibi ghost
Member
Posts: 845
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 21:17
In-game: Ghost

Re: [Mod] Fertiliser [0.1.6] [fertiliser]

by Chibi ghost » Post

minermoder27 wrote:
Chibi ghost wrote:I'm going to install bone meal, remove my armour and spend a hour throwing my self off my house
Is that another fertilizer-style mod?
yes I've never used it before so I don't know fully all the ins and outs of this mod

User avatar
minermoder27
Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 23:24
GitHub: ZNixian
In-game: minermoder27

Re: [Mod] Fertiliser [0.1.6] [fertiliser]

by minermoder27 » Post

Well, I'll have a look at updating it sometime tomorrow, then.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests