Chat on multiplayer for ouya

The-Operator219
Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2014 16:51
In-game: Operator Icanttalk[formerly]
Location: Hell's inferno

Chat on multiplayer for ouya

by The-Operator219 » Post

If anyone knows how to chat on multiplayer->FOR OUYA EDITION!<- can they please tell me.
My username online is Mewt and I play mostly on groglandia and Mc.team.
Long live OperatorCorp!

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6197
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Chat on multiplayer for ouya

by rubenwardy » Post

Press T, and then type stuff?

You should read the getting started guide.

The-Operator219
Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2014 16:51
In-game: Operator Icanttalk[formerly]
Location: Hell's inferno

Re: Chat on multiplayer for ouya

by The-Operator219 » Post

This is on ouya.
I don't have a "t" button.
Long live OperatorCorp!

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
In-game: ExeterDad
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A

Re: Chat on multiplayer for ouya

by ExeterDad » Post

I honestly never heard of ouya until now. I'm thinking you may need to contact the developer that ported Minetest to the gaming platform. Surely they considered making chat commands accessible? Here's the developers site http://www.ezraanderson.com/

The-Operator219
Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2014 16:51
In-game: Operator Icanttalk[formerly]
Location: Hell's inferno

Re: Chat on multiplayer for ouya

by The-Operator219 » Post

Thank you for thr advice, i checked the link and minetest was not even mentioned on the site.
Oh well, I guess I'll have to be mewt for a while.


-The-Operator
Long live OperatorCorp!

4aiman
Member
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 05:47

Re: Chat on multiplayer for ouya

by 4aiman » Post

Um.. doesn't OUYA run android?

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3926
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

Re: Chat on multiplayer for ouya

by sfan5 » Post

4aiman wrote:Um.. doesn't OUYA run android?
No and yes, it runs a modified version of Android.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

Dragonop
Member
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:59
GitHub: Dragonop
IRC: Dragonop
In-game: Dragonop
Location: Argentina

Re: Chat on multiplayer for ouya

by Dragonop » Post

Mayebe in the pause menu?
+ Spoiler

The-Operator219
Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2014 16:51
In-game: Operator Icanttalk[formerly]
Location: Hell's inferno

Re: Chat on multiplayer for ouya

by The-Operator219 » Post

I've litteraly turned the pause menu upside down.
Long live OperatorCorp!

4aiman
Member
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 05:47

Re: Chat on multiplayer for ouya

by 4aiman » Post

sfan5 wrote:
4aiman wrote:Um.. doesn't OUYA run android?
No and yes, it runs a modified version of Android.
Well, what build is used for OUYA then? I mean, if it's a fork of Stu's or anyone else from around minetest.net, then why he/she had disabled chat?
And if that's not the case (e.g. the chat functionality is still there), then it's either a matter of the keybindings or of a broken controls...

Anyway, it would be great to see some screenies of the UI :)

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3926
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

Re: Chat on multiplayer for ouya

by sfan5 » Post

4aiman wrote:
sfan5 wrote:
4aiman wrote:Um.. doesn't OUYA run android?
No and yes, it runs a modified version of Android.
Well, what build is used for OUYA then? I mean, if it's a fork of Stu's or anyone else from around minetest.net, then why he/she had disabled chat?
And if that's not the case (e.g. the chat functionality is still there), then it's either a matter of the keybindings or of a broken controls...

Anyway, it would be great to see some screenies of the UI :)
It makes no sense to fork from the Android builds, as the OUYA needs completly different input/UI concepts anyway.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

4aiman
Member
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 05:47

Re: Chat on multiplayer for ouya

by 4aiman » Post

sfan5 wrote:
4aiman wrote:
sfan5 wrote:
Well, what build is used for OUYA then?
Anyway, it would be great to see some screenies of the UI :)
:)

User avatar
Bob the Hamster
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 20:44
GitHub: bob-the-hamster

Re: Chat on multiplayer for ouya

by Bob the Hamster » Post

I have been playing Minetest on OUYA lately, and I love it.

The OUYA console has no keyboard, so if Ezra plans to add support for chat to his port, it will have to use an on-screen virtual keyboard of some kind.

I tried to paste a link to some screenshots of minetest running on ouya here, but then I could not submit my post (maybe an anti-spam thing since I am a new user?)

User avatar
srifqi
Member
Posts: 557
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 04:31
GitHub: srifqi
IRC: srifqi
In-game: srifqi
Location: Indonesia

Re: Chat on multiplayer for ouya

by srifqi » Post

Bob the Hamster wrote:I have been playing Minetest on OUYA lately, and I love it.
Sorry, I never played it.
Bob the Hamster wrote:The OUYA console has no keyboard, so if Ezra plans to add support for chat to his port, it will have to use an on-screen virtual keyboard of some kind.
... *no comment
Bob the Hamster wrote:I tried to paste a link to some screenshots of minetest running on ouya here, but then I could not submit my post (maybe an anti-spam thing since I am a new user?)
There are no anti-spam thing here.


Please correct me if I wrong.
Saya dari Indonesia! · Terjemahkan Minetest! · my mods · My nickname in IPA: /es.rif.qi/

User avatar
Bob the Hamster
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 20:44
GitHub: bob-the-hamster

Re: Chat on multiplayer for ouya

by Bob the Hamster » Post

Huh, in that case I have no idea what I was doing wrong. I'll try posting the link to the screenshots again now:

http://ouyaforum.com/showthread.php?133 ... derson-com

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4539
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Chat on multiplayer for ouya

by Krock » Post

Bob the Hamster wrote:Huh, in that case I have no idea what I was doing wrong. I'll try posting the link to the screenshots again now:

http://ouyaforum.com/showthread.php?133 ... derson-com
ezraanderson wrote: 1. Go Purchase Minetest on OUYA this money will go to me(Ezra Anderson), so I can maintain the OUYA port.


Description:
  • Minetest is an "open source" infinite-world block sandbox game.
Not sure if I should trust this game. It's opensource and it's needed to pay2play. Doesn't fit together.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
kaeza
Moderator
Posts: 2162
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 05:00
GitHub: kaeza
IRC: kaeza diemartin blaaaaargh
In-game: kaeza
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Contact:

Re: Chat on multiplayer for ouya

by kaeza » Post

Krock wrote:Not sure if I should trust this game. It's opensource and it's needed to pay2play. Doesn't fit together.
It is possible and valid to sell the game for money while still being open source. That is, as long as one can download the (modified) sources and build it to get the very same application, there shouldn't be problems. There's another example in ASEprite. The dev sells the Windows version for 10 bucks, but you can still get the sources and build it yourself, if you have the patience and experience to do it.

The "not sure if I should trust this [developer]" still stands, though.
Your signature is not the place for a blog post. Please keep it as concise as possible. Thank you!

Check out my stuff! | Donations greatly appreciated! PayPal

ezraanderson
Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 20:23

Re: Chat on multiplayer for ouya

by ezraanderson » Post

~
Some Clarification

All Builds & Source code for the OUYA version are available here.
Not sure if I should trust this game. It's opensource and it's needed to pay2play. Doesn't fit together.
1. My OUYA version of minetest "Has Been" and "Will Always Be" 100% free to play, the OUYA version is the full game with no limitations or ads, you don't need to pay or donate any money to me(ezra anderson) to play minetest on the OUYA.
2. The "OUYA Console" has a built in "Buy Button", when you click on this button it, you can donate some money to me to help maintain the OUYA version. It took me a lot of time to get this working on the OUYA. The user-base for OUYA is very small, and compensation from donations will never cover the cost of my time for bring minetest to OUYA.
3. The UI for the OUYA version suggests in multiple places to go to minetest.net(not minetest.com) and make a donation.
4. I tried my best to follow all the guidelines of the LGPL 2.1, so I could bring minetest to the OUYA. If there are any problems please contact me.

Welcome Screen
Image
OUYA OS BUY SCREEN
Image

Thank you for the advice, i checked the link and minetest was not even mentioned on the site
I don't list minetest on my site because its not my software.
It makes no sense to fork from the Android builds, as the OUYA needs completly different input/UI concepts anyway.
Its forked from 4.10 stable, But I removed touch interface for android. The current source code running on the OUYA versions is a complete mess, I am not familiar with minetest so it took a lot of trial & error.
Really, now Minetest has a un-acredited version for OUYA, without any credits to the real developers and creators?
We need to make something to stop this kind of stuff.
1. I never claim to be the developer of minetest.
2. I tried to stay very transparent with the OUYA port.
3. There is an in game credit & license screen,
4. Credits & license are also given on the http://ouyaforum.com/showthread.php?133 ... derson-com
5. I believe the OUYA community knows that this is a port and gives full credit to core developers. http://ouyabrew.com/minetest/
Credits accessible from the in-game help system by pressing "Y"
Image
Image
If anyone knows how to chat on multiplaye
Chat is available, but is only accessible via a physical usb keyboard, you can access it by pressing "T"
Anyway, it would be great to see some screenies of the UI :)
1. The UI has not changed that much.
2. Inventory and nodes layouts need to be perfectly square, so the function correctly with the controller.
Image
2. Add more options to the pause menu.
Image

Anyways I hope this clears everything up, if you have any question please ask.
Last edited by ezraanderson on Sun Dec 14, 2014 13:31, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6197
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Chat on multiplayer for ouya

by rubenwardy » Post

It's minetest.net, not minetest.com

ezraanderson
Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 20:23

Re: Chat on multiplayer for ouya

by ezraanderson » Post

~
Oops a terrible mistake on my part, I will fix that.

User avatar
Minetestforfun
Member
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 14:09
GitHub: Darcidride
IRC: Darcidride + MinetestForFun
In-game: Darcidride + MinetestForFun
Location: On earth
Contact:

Re: Chat on multiplayer for ouya

by Minetestforfun » Post

Good work ezraanderson and thank you for your work for Ouya players :)

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
GitHub: hoodedice
IRC: hoodedice
In-game: hoodedice
Location: world
Contact:

Re: Chat on multiplayer for ouya

by hoodedice » Post

Hi everyone and welcome to the minetest forums! Ezra, we would love it if you could stay around and hang out with Minetest developers on #minetest-dev on freenode. Use a proper IRC client while connecting.

Bob and TheOperator, welcome to the forums too! Stay around and maybe try out Minetest for desktop while you're at it =)
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build

sriibalaji26
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2014 08:02
Contact:

Re: Chat on multiplayer for ouya

by sriibalaji26 » Post

I also have same problem..Thanks for the advise

ezraanderson
Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 20:23

Re: Chat on multiplayer for ouya

by ezraanderson » Post

~
I will put a chat button in the option menu for the next release.

leeminer
Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 21:29

Re: Chat on multiplayer for ouya

by leeminer » Post

Best sales pitch for an Ouya yet!!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests