Place a schematic

Post Reply
User avatar
Don
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Place a schematic

by Don » Post

Is there a way to place a node and it places a schematic file. Doesn't matter if it is a .we or .mts
Also, is there a way to use on_punch to place or replace a schematic
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here

User avatar
addi
Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
GitHub: adrido
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

Re: Place a schematic

by addi » Post

Don wrote:Is there a way to place a node and it places a schematic file. Doesn't matter if it is a .we or .mts
Also, is there a way to use on_punch to place or replace a schematic
yes, shure.

just have a look into my gates mod. it does something like you want.
partial code of gates mod:

Code: Select all

local function open_gate(pos)
--local start_time = os.clock()
local meta = minetest.get_meta(pos);
if meta:get_string("state") == "closed" then -- only open the gate if its closed
local pos1 = minetest.string_to_pos(meta:get_string("pos1"))
local pos2 = minetest.string_to_pos(meta:get_string("pos2"))
minetest.create_schematic(pos1, pos2,{}, savedir..minetest.pos_to_string(pos).."_closed.schematic")--save the closed gate before opening
minetest.place_schematic(pos1, savedir..minetest.pos_to_string(pos).."_opend.schematic", nil, nil, true)
meta:set_string("state","opend");
meta:set_string("infotext","opend");
minetest.swap_node(pos, {name="gates:controler_opend"})
end
--local end_time = os.clock()
--elapsed_time = end_time-start_time
--print('start time: '   .. start_time .. 's')
--print('end time: '     .. end_time .. 's')
--print('time elapsed: ' .. elapsed_time .. 's')
end

local function toggle(pos)
local meta = minetest.get_meta(pos);
if meta:get_string("state") == "opend" then
close_gate(pos);
return "closed"
else
open_gate(pos);
return "opend"
end
end

local function punched(pos, node, puncher, pointed_thing)
--print(schematic_exists(pos,"closed"),schematic_exists(pos,"opend"))
local playername = puncher:get_player_name()
	if schematic_exists(pos,"closed") and schematic_exists(pos,"opend") then
		local status = toggle(pos);
		if status == "opend" then
		minetest.chat_send_player(playername, "Gate Opened")
		elseif status == "closed" then
		minetest.chat_send_player(playername, "Gate Closed")
		else
		minetest.chat_send_player(playername, "ERROR: Unknown state of Gate")
		end	
	end
end
minetest.register_node("gates:controler",{
description ="Gate controller",
tiles = {"gates_bg.png","gates_bg.png","gates_bg.png^gates_unknown.png"},
groups = {oddly_breakable_by_hand = 1},
after_place_node = placed,
on_receive_fields =submitted,
on_punch = punched
})
OT: i dont know how you will place a *.mts file in a minetest world since its avchd a video file :-P
so please call your file not *.mts, call it *.shemtic or *.mtsheme or...

User avatar
Don
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: Place a schematic

by Don » Post

Thanks. I will look this over in the morning
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here

User avatar
Napiophelios
Member
Posts: 1035
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 01:14
GitHub: Napiophelios
IRC: Nappi
In-game: Nappi

Re: Place a schematic

by Napiophelios » Post

You should check out DeployNodes by cornernote
its not new but it still works and there are plenty of examples to study from

Also Maze by echo and HedgeMaze by thefamilygrog66
both kinda similar and both still work

User avatar
Don
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: Place a schematic

by Don » Post

Napiophelios wrote:You should check out DeployNodes by cornernote
its not new but it still works and there are plenty of examples to study from

Also Maze by echo and HedgeMaze by thefamilygrog66
both kinda similar and both still work
Thanks
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4289
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine
IRC: Sokomine
In-game: Sokomine

Re: Place a schematic

by Sokomine » Post

My apartments mod uses .mts files for placing schematics. Just give yourshelf an apartment:build_chest, place it in the world, and spawn any schematic you like and which you have placed in the mod's schems/ folder. It also takes care of orientation and will spawn the building rotated according to the building spawner's facedir.
The mod can be found via the link in my signature.
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
Don
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: Place a schematic

by Don » Post

Thanks. I am busy over the holidays but hope to work on my mods lots in January.
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 3722
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
In-game: TenPlus1
Contact:

Re: Place a schematic

by TenPlus1 » Post

Here is a quick example of a node, when placed that loads a schematic file:

Code: Select all

-- Schematic Block
minetest.register_node("test:schemblock", {
	description = "Schematic Block",
	tiles = {"default_grass.png"},
	groups = {crumbly=3},
	on_construct = function(pos)
		-- Remove Schematic Block
		minetest.remove_node(pos)
		-- Define Schematic File
		local schem = minetest.get_modpath("test").."/schems/build1.mts"
		-- Define Placecment Coords
		local spos = {x=pos.x-3,y=pos.y,z=pos.z-3}
		-- Place Schematic
		minetest.place_schematic(spos,schem,"0",{},false)
	end,
})

User avatar
Don
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: Place a schematic

by Don » Post

Exactly what I needed. Thank you!
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests