[Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

Games that have been abandoned and no longer work properly with the latest version of Minetest.
User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3162
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by Calinou » Post

Linuxdirk wrote:I’m not sure … But what about the strength of the mobs? You already adjusted it a little a few weeks ago.

Maybe I’m doing this wrong, but I think the mobs are VERY hard for not being endboss-like enemies but regular foes :)

Check here for a typical fight (killed me one time before. Please ignore my random talking *g* It’ not about the video it’s just about the fight). I had steel armor except iron boots and a steel shield and used a silver pickaxe.

See health bar at the end … Is it intended to be that hard or am I just stupid? :)

They can be too challenging for the average Minetest player, I agree. I can either make mobs rarer (good for performance), or make them deal less damage, or make them have less health. I'll probably make them a bit rarer and less damaging for now.

https://gitorious.org/calinou/carbone/c ... e8efbbd3e8

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2516
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by Linuxdirk » Post

They’re very rare already. That’s the third or fourth mob I had to deal with in the series. Maybe they should deal less damage (keep in mind that I was nearly fully equipped with good armor and still barely survived it …).

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2516
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by Linuxdirk » Post

Just noticed this …

Code: Select all

13:22:41: WARNING: Undeclared global variable "inventory_plus" accessed at ...dirk/.minetest/games/carbone/mods/3d_armor/armor.lua:326
13:22:41: WARNING: Undeclared global variable "wet_lvl" accessed at .../dirk/.minetest/games/carbone/mods/farming/nodes.lua:129
13:22:41: WARNING: Undeclared global variable "wet_lvl" accessed at .../dirk/.minetest/games/carbone/mods/farming/nodes.lua:135
13:22:41: WARNING: Undeclared global variable "skins" accessed at ...dirk/.minetest/games/carbone/mods/3d_armor/armor.lua:220
13:22:41: WARNING: Undeclared global variable "u_skins" accessed at ...dirk/.minetest/games/carbone/mods/3d_armor/armor.lua:222
13:22:41: WARNING: Undeclared global variable "inventory_plus" accessed at ...dirk/.minetest/games/carbone/mods/3d_armor/armor.lua:380
13:22:41: WARNING: Undeclared global variable "unified_inventory" accessed at ...dirk/.minetest/games/carbone/mods/3d_armor/armor.lua:380
13:22:41: WARNING: Undeclared global variable "unified_inventory" accessed at ...dirk/.minetest/games/carbone/mods/3d_armor/armor.lua:237
13:22:41: WARNING: Undeclared global variable "inventory_plus" accessed at ...dirk/.minetest/games/carbone/mods/3d_armor/armor.lua:243
13:22:41: ERROR[ServerThread]: Assignment to undeclared global "hp" inside a function at ...me/dirk/.minetest/games/carbone/mods/gauges/init.lua:22.
13:22:41: ERROR[ServerThread]: Assignment to undeclared global "breath" inside a function at ...me/dirk/.minetest/games/carbone/mods/gauges/init.lua:23.
13:22:54: WARNING: Undeclared global variable "inventory_plus" accessed at ...dirk/.minetest/games/carbone/mods/3d_armor/armor.lua:277
… and a few more when using tools like the screwdriver or using the bucket.

User avatar
Danfun64
Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 01:22

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by Danfun64 » Post

I have a quick question. How do you disable the acid?

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3162
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by Calinou » Post

Danfun64 wrote:I have a quick question. How do you disable the acid?
Go to the end of mods/default/init.lua, and add this:

Code: Select all

minetest.register_alias("default:acid_source", "air")
minetest.register_alias("default:acid_flowing", "air")
This aliases the acid nodes to air.

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3085
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by Inocudom » Post

Calinou, how up-to-date is this sub-game in comparison to minetest_game? It might be worth your while to check that out.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
Danfun64
Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 01:22

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by Danfun64 » Post

Thanks for the advice Calinou

While I like Carbone for the most part, there are a couple more things I would like to turn off, like moreores (what is the point of them anyway? It's not like they add additional features), the increased amount of clay (Is there a reason for this feature? If not, is there a way to bring them back to vanilla minetest level?), and coins (again, do they have a purpose, is there some way to use the coins for an economy, either with npcs or real players in multiplayer for stuff like shops?) Got any advice?

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3162
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by Calinou » Post

Inocudom wrote:Calinou, how up-to-date is this sub-game in comparison to minetest_game? It might be worth your while to check that out.
It was forked from minetest_game in April 2014 (between 0.4.9 and 0.4.10), so it is quite out of date now.
Danfun64 wrote:Thanks for the advice Calinou

While I like Carbone for the most part, there are a couple more things I would like to turn off, like moreores (what is the point of them anyway? It's not like they add additional features), the increased amount of clay (Is there a reason for this feature? If not, is there a way to bring them back to vanilla minetest level?), and coins (again, do they have a purpose, is there some way to use the coins for an economy, either with npcs or real players in multiplayer for stuff like shops?) Got any advice?
There is no More Ores in Carbone, tin and silver are added directly in the default mod. To disable them, you would have to edit the code to make them not generate and alias their definitions to stone. You would also have to change the bronze ingot recipe to use an iron ingot instead of a tin ingot.

As for clay, same thing: you need to edit mapgen.lua of the default mod to make less clay spawn.

For coins, it is much harder, you would have to remove references to coins at all places…

User avatar
arcturian_vagabond
Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2014 01:58
In-game: posipil
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by arcturian_vagabond » Post

I have crafted a bow an 16 arrows according to these instructions.
Craft a bow with the strings from the farming mod:
string wood
string wood
string wood
Craft arrows with:
stick stick steel
Select the bow and shoot with left mouse click. Every shoot will take 1
arrow from your inventory and wears out the bow (you have around 50
shoots).
  • I have the bow and 16 arrows in my inventory.
  • I select the bow so that it is showing in hand.
  • I left click.
  • Nothing happens, and I still have 16 arrows.
  • I right click.
  • Nothing happens, and I still have 16 arrows.
What might be wrong?

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3162
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by Calinou » Post

arcturian_vagabond wrote:I have crafted a bow an 16 arrows according to these instructions.
Craft a bow with the strings from the farming mod:
string wood
string wood
string wood
Craft arrows with:
stick stick steel
Select the bow and shoot with left mouse click. Every shoot will take 1
arrow from your inventory and wears out the bow (you have around 50
shoots).
  • I have the bow and 16 arrows in my inventory.
  • I select the bow so that it is showing in hand.
  • I left click.
  • Nothing happens, and I still have 16 arrows.
  • I right click.
  • Nothing happens, and I still have 16 arrows.
What might be wrong?
The arrows must be placed in the slot which is to the right of the bow.

User avatar
arcturian_vagabond
Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2014 01:58
In-game: posipil
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by arcturian_vagabond » Post

Calinou wrote:The arrows must be placed in the slot which is to the right of the bow.
That seems to have worked. Where is that documented? I spent some time searching before asking here.

It doesn't seem intuitive. I don't understand why it would matter which slot the arrows are in.

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
In-game: ExeterDad
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by ExeterDad » Post

arcturian_vagabond wrote:
Calinou wrote:The arrows must be placed in the slot which is to the right of the bow.
That seems to have worked. Where is that documented? I spent some time searching before asking here.

It doesn't seem intuitive. I don't understand why it would matter which slot the arrows are in.
It seems you are correct. It doesn't seem to be documented. Although reading through the Throwing Mod thread it is explained and other features of the mod. viewtopic.php?f=11&t=2805
Hope that helps

User avatar
arcturian_vagabond
Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2014 01:58
In-game: posipil
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by arcturian_vagabond » Post

ExeterDad wrote:Although reading through the Throwing Mod thread it is explained and other features of the mod. viewtopic.php?f=11&t=2805
Hope that helps
Thanks for checking, but now I am more confused.

viewtopic.php?p=38418#p38418
PilzAdam wrote:It checkes every slot of the inventory and takes the first arrow.
That is how I expected the arrows to work at first.

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3162
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by Calinou » Post

arcturian_vagabond wrote:It doesn't seem intuitive. I don't understand why it would matter which slot the arrows are in.
There are several types of arrows (regular arrows, golden arrows, torch arrows, …), the mod must know which type of arrow you want to fire.

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3085
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by Inocudom » Post

Calinou wrote:
Inocudom wrote:Calinou, how up-to-date is this sub-game in comparison to minetest_game? It might be worth your while to check that out.
It was forked from minetest_game in April 2014 (between 0.4.9 and 0.4.10), so it is quite out of date now.
Many, many commits were made to minetest_game since them, Calinou:
https://github.com/minetest/minetest_ga ... its/master
I think you will find some of them to be very useful. Remember, there are servers that use Carbone.

Can any of you server owners that use Carbone offer any assistance?
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
arcturian_vagabond
Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2014 01:58
In-game: posipil
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by arcturian_vagabond » Post

Calinou wrote:There are several types of arrows (regular arrows, golden arrows, torch arrows, …), the mod must know which type of arrow you want to fire.
Okay, I can see how that would work. Thank you for helping :)

User avatar
danquebec
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 20:34

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by danquebec » Post

@Calinou

Apparently your decision is already taken to make mobs weaker, but I would just like to say that it saddens me because I think things are not challenging enough already.

Just to make it known that there are some players who would like things to be harder.

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3162
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by Calinou » Post

danquebec wrote:@Calinou

Apparently your decision is already taken to make mobs weaker, but I would just like to say that it saddens me because I think things are not challenging enough already.

Just to make it known that there are some players who would like things to be harder.
Some servers lag a lot, so the defaults shouldn't be too hard. Also, some people play on mobile devices.

I think you can tweak monster_damage_factor to increase monster damage. Try 1.5 or 2.0 as values.

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2516
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by Linuxdirk » Post


User avatar
digitalmouse
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 18:26
In-game: digitalmouse
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by digitalmouse » Post

Happy New Year, Calinou!

Should I try anything different in regards to the steel ingots not making a cart? or perhaps the mod has changed enough since my last posting of 'yep' in reply to your question, that i should try updating the mod and see if that works?

Thanks for your time on a great mod.

-digi
Minetest experimental server running on 900Mhz Raspberry Pi: pi.god.jp:30000

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3162
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by Calinou » Post

digitalmouse wrote:Happy New Year, Calinou!

Should I try anything different in regards to the steel ingots not making a cart? or perhaps the mod has changed enough since my last posting of 'yep' in reply to your question, that i should try updating the mod and see if that works?

Thanks for your time on a great mod.

-digi
This is the cart recipe in the code, it should definitely work like that (5 steel ingots in a “U”):

Code: Select all

minetest.register_craft({
	output = "carts:cart",
	recipe = {
		{"default:steel_ingot", "", "default:steel_ingot"},
		{"default:steel_ingot", "default:steel_ingot", "default:steel_ingot"},
	},
})

User avatar
digitalmouse
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 18:26
In-game: digitalmouse
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by digitalmouse » Post

Calinou wrote: This is the cart recipe in the code, it should definitely work like that (5 steel ingots in a “U”):

Code: Select all

minetest.register_craft({
	output = "carts:cart",
	recipe = {
		{"default:steel_ingot", "", "default:steel_ingot"},
		{"default:steel_ingot", "default:steel_ingot", "default:steel_ingot"},
	},
})
And I see that in init.lua... so.. hmmm
strange...
Minetest experimental server running on 900Mhz Raspberry Pi: pi.god.jp:30000

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2516
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by Linuxdirk » Post

Can you please check this and this?

I love Carbone and I don’t want it to stop me from updating other mods and modpacks … :)

User avatar
hammergil
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 22:39

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by hammergil » Post

I am new to sub_games and have installed carbone ready to play. I have a few questions:

1. What is a sub_game? Is it just a bundle of mods? How does this differ from just the base game and installing mods?

2. In Carbone, what is the point of coins? Is it supposed to be a scoring system and the game is to outscore your opponents? Are the coins used for some economics...trading, etc?

3. What is the overall goal of the game? Is it just a social environment in multiplayer? Competitive in some way? meant to be played as a singleplayer?

thanks!

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 3933
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by Wuzzy » Post

hammergil wrote:I am new to sub_games and have installed carbone ready to play. I have a few questions:

1. What is a sub_game? Is it just a bundle of mods? How does this differ from just the base game and installing mods?

2. In Carbone, what is the point of coins? Is it supposed to be a scoring system and the game is to outscore your opponents? Are the coins used for some economics...trading, etc?

3. What is the overall goal of the game? Is it just a social environment in multiplayer? Competitive in some way? meant to be played as a singleplayer?

thanks!
1. The term “sub_game” is undefined and meaningless. But the term “subgame” exists and has a meaning, but only within the Minetest community, it is a technical term. A subgame is mostly just a bundle of mods indeed. There are a few additional metadata to a subgame: Name, main menu images (background and banner) and customized settings; each subgame can have its own minetest.conf. And that's it!
Subgames are represented by the little icons in the main menu, clicking those icons switches the current subgame.
Subgames basically exist to create a complete gaming experience, so the user does not go through the hassle of manually installing a bunch of mods and finding a good configuration.
Another difference is that all mods in the currently seletected subgame cannot be un-selected, they are fixed. The only way to get rid of them is to modify the subgame itself or use another subgame. But the user can enable additional mods, as long as they do not conflict with the subgame's mods. Luckily, this is not often the case. The subgame mods are written in blue font in the mod selection menu.
The base game itself is a subgame, also just called “Minetest” for some crazy reason, but in the forums, it is often called “minetest_game”.
“subgame” is probably a misnomer, since a subgame must not neccessarily be an actual game. In fact, most subgames are just sandboxes at the moment.

2. Coins are completely useless in Carbone.

3. Carbone is not a game. Carbone is only a sandbox, like many other subgames.
There are no goals and no real challenges, this is why Carbone is not, a game. In fact, I know of only two subgames which are games: City v City and The Hungry Games. Every other subgame lacks basic challenges or even goals. This is not neccessarily bad, it just means they aren't games.
Basically the main stuff you do in Carbone is digging into the earth and build awesome buildings and sometimes kill some mobs. There are a few extras in Carbone, but that's basically it.
Carbone itself is not competetive at all. Carbone could be played both in singleplayer and multiplayer. AFAIK there are a few Carbone servers out there.
Carbone itself does not have any built-in trading system, so the coins are worthless. But there are a few economic mods out there which allow trading in multiplayer servers. I don't know whether any Carbone server with trading exists right now.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests