Freeminer

proller
Member
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Freeminer

by proller » Post

1. you can join to servers with big games in reasonable time
how to try: delete 'cache' dir and join to any big game like dreambuilder

2. faster singleplayer start

3. server can handle 200-500-? players online

4. stable connection on slow networks with loss (wifi 3g ...)

5. server can send files of any size (like huge models) (mt can send only ~3mb max file)

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4184
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: Freeminer

by Sokomine » Post

proller wrote: Freeminer 0.4.11.5 released!
First release networking incompatible with minetest.
Oh :-( That's bad. Wish networking would remain compatible.
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3098
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: Freeminer

by Inocudom » Post

Sokomine wrote:
proller wrote: Freeminer 0.4.11.5 released!
First release networking incompatible with minetest.
Oh :-( That's bad. Wish networking would remain compatible.
Proller, I recently noticed that Freeminer's servers are still empty and still don't have any players. I can't guarantee that any of Minetest's players will ever play Freeminer as well, so don't put stock in that ever happening. Maybe, if you reach out to other gaming communities, you might get some interest in Freeminer? It is worth a try.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
neko259
Member
Posts: 805
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

Re: Freeminer

by neko259 » Post

Currently was trying to run the latest tagged freeminer client/server. This is what I've seen at the first minutes:
* Old minetest's lighting problems which I've not been seen in mt for a year: some leaves are black.
* Strange water: I've seen a place just in the center of the sea that is 1 water block lower and water just flows into it
* Crack texture problem. If you hold LMB on a node and move the cursor to another node, the crack doesn't show up on the new node.

And the bright side is I've looked through the pull requests on github and I perfectly understand why freeminer forked. Some of them weren't commented for months! I don't imagine a development team that is so indifferent to the development. And this is not some "we don't like their code" thing, because in this case it should be well commented about that exactly is bad (I've seen this code too, but still).

I don't know what's wrong with both games' developers but they obviously lack something. Minetest lacks teamwork and desire for involving and freeminer lacks attention and love for stability.

I want to wish good luck to both teams :)

proller
Member
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Freeminer

by proller » Post

* Strange water: - its underwater cave, now it flooded. wait 1-10 min.
But if you find huge cave (1+ million nodes volume) - wait 1-10 hours ;)
sometimes caves bigger than oceans -
Image

proller
Member
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Freeminer

by proller » Post

* Crack texture problem. - fixed.

User avatar
cHyper
Member
Posts: 1014
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 08:49
GitHub: cHyper-0815OL
IRC: cHyper cHyper_de
In-game: cHyper
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Freeminer

by cHyper » Post

when I create a v6 world and start the game following error occur.

Code: Select all

Irrlicht log: Irrlicht Engine version 1.8.1
Irrlicht log:  (Build 9200)
Irrlicht log: Using renderer: OpenGL 3.3.0
Irrlicht log: GeForce GTS 250M/PCIe/SSE2: NVIDIA Corporation
Irrlicht log: OpenGL driver version is 1.2 or better.
Irrlicht log: GLSL version: 3.3
Irrlicht log: Resizing window (800 600)
21:36:17: ACTION[main]: Serving 339 files, 1375017 bytes
21:36:17: ERROR[main]: ServerMap::loadMapMeta(): could not open C:\Users\Peter\AppData\Roaming\freeminer\.\worlds\mappa v2015\map_meta.txt

proller
Member
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Freeminer

by proller » Post

in latests builds too?
http://freeminer.setun.net/build/

User avatar
cHyper
Member
Posts: 1014
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 08:49
GitHub: cHyper-0815OL
IRC: cHyper cHyper_de
In-game: cHyper
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Freeminer

by cHyper » Post

proller wrote:in latests builds too?
http://freeminer.setun.net/build/
Image
  • 01:33:09: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
    01:33:09: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from
    01:33:09: ERROR[main]: C:\Users\Peter\AppData\Roaming\freeminer\.\games\default\mods\default\init.lua:
    01:33:09: ERROR[main]: ...oaming\freeminer\.\games\default\mods\default/mapgen.lua:858: attempt to call field 'get_mapgen_params' (a nil value)
    01:33:09: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
    01:33:09: ERROR[main]: ...oaming\freeminer\.\games\default\mods\default/mapgen.lua:858: in main chunk
    01:33:09: ERROR[main]: [C]: in function 'dofile'
    01:33:09: ERROR[main]: ...\Roaming\freeminer\.\games\default\mods\default\init.lua:46: in main chunk
    01:33:09: ERROR[main]: ======= END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
    01:33:09: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run C:\Users\Peter\AppData\Roaming\freeminer\.\games\default\mods\default\init.lua
    01:33:09: ERROR[main]: ModError: ModError: Failed to load and run C:\Users\Peter\AppData\Roaming\freeminer\.\games\default\mods\default\init.lua
    01:33:09: ERROR[main]: Reconnecting 1/10 ...
    01:33:09: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
with 330-build same error...

proller
Member
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Freeminer

by proller » Post

can you try extract last 330 build to new empty dir?

proller
Member
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Freeminer

by proller » Post


User avatar
philipbenr
Member
Posts: 1783
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi
Location: United States

Re: Freeminer

by philipbenr » Post

Yay! A step up it appears. I hope that this version will really satisfy, as I have been looking about the forums as of recently.

User avatar
mahmutelmas06
Member
Posts: 367
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 13:10
GitHub: mahmutelmas06
IRC: mahmutelmas06
In-game: masum

Re: Freeminer

by mahmutelmas06 » Post

Android version doesnt work on Android 2.3.7 ( Cyanogenmod) Motorola Atrix 4G
I downloaded from google play but just white screen nothing else
My Mods:

Beverage

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
Posts: 1783
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi
Location: United States

Re: Freeminer

by philipbenr » Post

Many more features! Loving the work proller. +2

proller
Member
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Freeminer

by proller » Post

Now again possible to compile with minetest-compatible protocol.
to enable:
cmake . -DMINETEST_PROTO=1

proller
Member
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Freeminer

by proller » Post

minetest compatible android client:
http://freeminer.setun.net/build/freemi ... c71c05.apk

proller
Member
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Freeminer

by proller » Post

minetest-compatible windows client:
http://freeminer.setun.net/build/freemi ... -win32.zip

User avatar
addi
Member
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
GitHub: adrido
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

Re: Freeminer

by addi » Post

Just want to point out, that the odd wielditem bug exists in Freeminer too :-(

Image
Attachments
screenshot_20150502_171435.png
(189.59 KiB) Not downloaded yet

proller
Member
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Freeminer

by proller » Post

client for minetest for android on google play: https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... reeminermt

proller
Member
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Freeminer

by proller » Post


User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6431
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Freeminer

by rubenwardy » Post

proller wrote:client for minetest for android on google play: https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... reeminermt
That isn't Minetest. You should call it Freeminer (Minetest support)

proller
Member
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Freeminer

by proller » Post

Freeminer 0.4.13.7 released!
based on minetest 0.4.13
https://github.com/freeminer/freeminer/ ... g/0.4.13.7

Dragonop
Member
Posts: 1232
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:59
GitHub: Dragonop
IRC: Dragonop
In-game: Dragonop
Location: Argentina

Re: Freeminer

by Dragonop » Post

This is not Minetest. PLESE don't call it minetest, because it is not.
Also, all spanish people say the following (on the reviews)
-It sucks.
-The game quits.
-Can't get into the servers.

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2781
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: Freeminer

by Hybrid Dog » Post

When l tried to compile it, l got an error that json.h is missing.

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

proller
Member
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Freeminer

by proller » Post

you need clone with --recursive:
git clone --recursive https://github.com/freeminer/freeminer.git

or if you have already cloned dir:
git submodule update --init --recursive

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests