[Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

User avatar
mahmutelmas06
Member
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 13:10
GitHub: mahmutelmas06
IRC: mahmutelmas06
In-game: masum

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.11] [mobs]

by mahmutelmas06 » Mon May 18, 2015 18:59

I suggest you to add these two faturates to api

NPCF has avoid node code in its api ( why mobs walks to fire or water right )
Peaceful NPC has open door feature ( more clever npcs :) )
My Mods:

Beverage
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.11] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Mon May 18, 2015 19:23

I've been thinking of adding mob specific routines which are automatically added to the api and will look into making this possible for next release... At the moment we have a few on_punch, on_death calls but nothing outwith that...

Mahmut: remember that adding more features slows down the mod and having pathfinding code in the api will do just that... I will look for a workaround for those features...
 

User avatar
mahmutelmas06
Member
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 13:10
GitHub: mahmutelmas06
IRC: mahmutelmas06
In-game: masum

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.11] [mobs]

by mahmutelmas06 » Wed May 20, 2015 11:51

Thank you for considering suggestions.
Avoid node could be usefull for flying mobs if you add an option for avoid distance.

mobs:space_specfic seems not in use which is the descripted in mobs wiki.
My Mods:

Beverage
 

Kilarin
Member
 
Posts: 774
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.11] [mobs]

by Kilarin » Wed May 20, 2015 12:05

TenPlus1 wrote: remember that adding more features slows down the mod and having pathfinding code in the api will do just that.

Would it be possible to build in path finding, but put a flag in a config file that would enable you to turn it on or off? So someone with cpu to spare could use the more complicated logic, and a server fighting lag could set it to "no" and run dumb but fast?
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.12] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Wed May 20, 2015 14:55

Following the recent spree of animal theft on a few servers I'm pleased to say players now have ownership of their animals so that no-one else can pick them up... Also, once they are placed down they will remain tamed with the placer as owner...
 

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
 
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A
In-game: ExeterDad

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.12] [mobs]

by ExeterDad » Wed May 20, 2015 17:28

TenPlus1 wrote:Following the recent spree of animal theft on a few servers I'm pleased to say players now have ownership of their animals so that no-one else can pick them up... Also, once they are placed down they will remain tamed with the placer as owner...

Excellent!
 

Kilarin
Member
 
Posts: 774
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.12] [mobs]

by Kilarin » Wed May 20, 2015 22:58

TenPlus1 wrote:Following the recent spree of animal theft on a few servers I'm pleased to say players now have ownership of their animals so that no-one else can pick them up... Also, once they are placed down they will remain tamed with the placer as owner...

Oh nice!!!!
 

User avatar
horse_lover
Member
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 21:51
Location: The future
IRC: LizzardBeth
In-game: horse_lover LizzardBeth

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.12] [mobs]

by horse_lover » Mon May 25, 2015 20:27

Sooo, I just downloaded this mod and minetest just... crashes. I had another mod installed before (shooter mod) and it was working perfectly fine before I added this mod. Are they not compatible or something?
PS: I did download the simple mobs mod before, but then saw this one so I deleted simple mobs and added the mobs redo. Maybe that was the problem???
Blue Roses are my thing
Love horses ;D
Fishies too <3 Fish Lore - Aquarium Fish Information
 

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
 
Posts: 895
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
Location: Bigsby Texas
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.12] [mobs]

by Nathan.S » Tue May 26, 2015 02:20

horse_lover if you downloaded from Github you may need to remove the trailing -master from the folder name.

Giving us the printout from the debug.txt file will help us determine the problem as well.
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website, and brand new Minetest Modding Course
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.12] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Tue May 26, 2015 06:49

horse_lover: also which version of minetest are you running ? and which mods are you using alongside mobs redo ?
 

User avatar
horse_lover
Member
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 21:51
Location: The future
IRC: LizzardBeth
In-game: horse_lover LizzardBeth

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.12] [mobs]

by horse_lover » Tue May 26, 2015 12:44

Nathan.S wrote:horse_lover if you downloaded from Github you may need to remove the trailing -master from the folder name.

Giving us the printout from the debug.txt file will help us determine the problem as well.

Umm, it's very long, do you want be to do the whole thing or just a certain part? (I'm sorry, I get very confused when it comes to computer stuff :P)
TenPlus1 wrote:horse_lover: also which version of minetest are you running ? and which mods are you using alongside mobs redo ?

I'm using minetest 0.4.9 and the other mods are tnt by Pilz Adam, the simple shooter mod and PilzAdam's carts
Blue Roses are my thing
Love horses ;D
Fishies too <3 Fish Lore - Aquarium Fish Information
 

twoelk
Member
 
Posts: 1324
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
Location: northern Germany
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.12] [mobs]

by twoelk » Tue May 26, 2015 13:32

- close minetest.
- Get the old debug.txt out of the way (delete it or rename it or move it to some other folder like the doc folder in minetest)
- Start Minetest, let it crash, fail or do something that triggers the problem.
- Post the new debug.txt that now only shows the information of the last restart attempt.

If you changed the debug level, be sure to change it back so that the debug.txt doesn't grow too large. If the debug.txt gets too large youre system may freeze or the game crash. So deleting it now and then might be useful.

btw. version 0.4.9 is outdated and will not work with some newer mods.
The currunt stable version is 0.4.12 and the dev version might be halfway to 0.4.13 with plans for 0.5.0 allready in discussion.
 

User avatar
Caerulean
Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 16:20
In-game: Caerulean

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.12] [mobs]

by Caerulean » Sun May 31, 2015 15:35

Hello. :) I wanna say thank you for this great mod and for the work you've done on this and making the other mob mods compatible.

Anyway, I don't know if I should post here but we can't seem to get the other mob mods (i.e. kpgmobs, pmobs, and zombie) to work on Windows 8. We can run them fine on this Windows 7 laptop but not on the other one. I checked the debug.txt and all it said was that it failed to load and run the init.lua file for the respective mod. Tried running them with both an existing and a new world to no avail. Your Mobs Redo mod works fine, just not the other mob mods. Tried disabling and enabling non-mob mods as well but they don't seem to affect it.

Thanks for the help. :)
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.12] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Sun May 31, 2015 19:44

It's strange that they work fine in Windows 7 and not Win8, the windows version shouldn't matter when installing mods so long as the main Minetest game works... Try installing the latest DEV (unstable) version of Minetest in Windows 8 to see if that helps any...
 

prestidigitator
Member
 
Posts: 640
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 23:54

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.12] [mobs]

by prestidigitator » Sun May 31, 2015 20:38

Could it possibly have to do with line termination sequence/characters?
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.12] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Mon Jun 01, 2015 06:09

Do you mean the ';' character at the end of command lines ? if so then no, the LUA code should work regardless of running on win7 or win8 or even linux... All of my mods work fine on windows 8 as they have been tested on many platforms...
 

prestidigitator
Member
 
Posts: 640
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 23:54

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.12] [mobs]

by prestidigitator » Mon Jun 01, 2015 06:18

TenPlus1 wrote:Do you mean the ';' character at the end of command lines ? if so then no, the LUA code should work regardless of running on win7 or win8 or even linux... All of my mods work fine on windows 8 as they have been tested on many platforms...

No. I mean "\n" vs. "\r\n" for text file line termination. (I'm pretty sure I've seen people report issues of this screwing up the loading of mod Lua files before. Just saving a file using the wrong editor in Windows can change the line endings....)
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.12] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Mon Jun 01, 2015 08:00

The previous post mentioned that the mods themselves worked find in Windows 7 so eol terminator doesn't seem to be the problem...
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3546
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.12] [mobs]

by Wuzzy » Thu Jun 04, 2015 22:00

Wait, do I understand correctly? Could I now just use the core mod of this modpack you released and just throw away all those mobs by not using the other mods? If so, then you may have finally earned my respect and I might consider of using this mod for my Weird subgame, after careful comparison of course.

However:
Why do you distribute two seperate and completely different variants of the same mod in the same thread?
Now we have 1.12 (NOT modular, seen on the first post) and 1.12 (modular, buried in the thread).

This is very confusing; I suggest to officially transform this into a modpack and to just throw away the non-modular version. If the transformation went without problems, there should be zero compability problems. Maybe even increment the version number after this, even if you didn't really change anything, just to be sure. I don't quite understand why exactly you want to keep the non-modular variant.

And why does this thread have additional mobs scattered around the pages, rather than posting them into a new thread for each mod? :-/

I still hate the fact that you call this mod “[mobs]”, because of name clashes, but I guess Minetest modders just love to reuse shortnames over and over again. :-(

Sorry for complaining so much, but I just feel overwhelmed by this chaos here. You would probably make a lot of people happy just by cleaning up. On the other hand, I don't care about the other mobs that much, so don't take these complaints too serious. If the API is now really standalone, that would be great in its own right.
 

sofar
Developer
 
Posts: 2059
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.12] [mobs]

by sofar » Thu Jun 04, 2015 22:40

I actually do not like modpacks, at all. They're confusing and hard to use. Split them out and make them separately distributable, and it'll be a lot easier to use in different configurations.
 

fooljap
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 05:55
In-game: fooljap

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.12] [mobs]

by fooljap » Fri Jun 05, 2015 10:14

what happen

Code: Select all
Irrlicht log: Could not open file of texture: mobs_kitten_striped.png
19:08:44: ACTION[ServerThread]: XXX punches object 1502: LuaEntitySAO at (77.2165,1.54262,-60.3457)
19:08:44: ACTION[ServerThread]: LuaEntitySAO at (77.2165,1.54262,-60.3457) punched by player XXX, damage 0 hp, health now 1 hp
19:08:44: ERROR[main]: ServerError: C:\game\mites0412win64msvcjp\bin\..\mods\mobs/api.lua:943: attempt to perform arithmetic on field 'full_punch_interval' (a nil value)
19:08:44: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
19:08:44: ERROR[main]:    C:\game\mites0412win64msvcjp\bin\..\mods\mobs/api.lua:943: in function <C:\game\mites0412win64msvcjp\bin\..\mods\mobs/api.lua:939>
19:08:44: ACTION[ServerThread]: XXX leaves game. List of players:
19:09:25: INFO: event_handler(): Ctrl+C, Close Event, Logoff Event or Shutdown Event, shutting down.
 

Kilarin
Member
 
Posts: 774
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.12] [mobs]

by Kilarin » Fri Jun 05, 2015 10:38

sofar wrote:I actually do not like modpacks, at all.

I like the ability to download a standard group of mobs, and then to remove whichever ones I do not want and add new ones if I wish.
 

prestidigitator
Member
 
Posts: 640
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 23:54

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.12] [mobs]

by prestidigitator » Fri Jun 05, 2015 11:31

Kilarin wrote:I like the ability to download a standard group of mobs, and then to remove whichever ones I do not want and add new ones if I wish.

Either way it's best if the thing being distributed can be downloaded, installed, and run with minimal or even no changes. I don't see a huge difference between enabling/disabling individual mods in the world configuration menu or easy changes to individual lines in a mod configuration file (hopefully copied to the world directory so it can be configured on a per-world basis and the mod directory itself can remain pristine). The latter takes some discipline on the part of the mod author, though.

On the other hand, one bit that can be more confusing about a modpack is that other mod authors creating dependent mods or modpacks have to know which bundled mod(s) to list in their dependencies files. For example, "moretrees" depends on "plants_lib" from the "plantlife" modpack. When we talk about "moretrees" we probably want to point to the "plantlife" modpack as its dependency, but in its depends.txt it has to list "plants_lib", which luckily has a similar name to "plantlife" (but it doesn't always work out so nicely). Again it helps if the author is disciplined and documents things very simply and clearly.
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.12] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Fri Jun 05, 2015 14:05

The Mobs Redo modpack does make it easier to disable the mobs you dont want to appear in a world, and easier to drop in a new mod with the 'mobs' dependency inside the modpack itself which keeps everything together in one place...

I offer both types of mod because the first is the actively developed one and the modpack is for those looking to enable.disable specific mobs for their worlds... If more users wish the modpack as the default then please say and I'll change it...
 

blert2112
Member
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 04:05
GitHub: blert2112

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.12] [mobs]

by blert2112 » Sun Jun 07, 2015 05:32

I think I may have found a small bug...
I have been converting other mobs (eleven additional mobs, thirteen if you count the multiple turtles, and counting), from the various other mods, to this mod. It seems that sea-faring creatures ("fly in water") won't attack. You can swim right in front of them and they won't care one bit. If I spawn one on land it will immediately attack, if I then spawn one in the water it won't notice me at all and will go about it's happy way.

edit: ... Seems there is more to this, but first... Is there some mechanism that deters any mob in the water from attacking? While testing my latest conversion (crocodile), I lured it into the water. As soon as it was in the water it no longer cared a bit about chomping on my leg.

another edit: ... Is there an option to specify that a certain mob will attack another specific mob? If not, would you consider adding it? I think I would be nice if I could make the sharks attack the sea turtles. (wouldn't be too nice for the turtles though)
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests