[Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

Games that have been abandoned and no longer work properly with the latest version of Minetest.
TuxerP
Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2015 13:40

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

by TuxerP » Post

Ok, I will give it a try then. What is an up to date version of minetest? I have 0.4.12+repack-2 on ubuntu 15.10. Is that ok?

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3169
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

by Calinou » Post

TuxerP wrote:Ok, I will give it a try then. What is an up to date version of minetest? I have 0.4.12+repack-2 on ubuntu 15.10. Is that ok?
No, it is too old, you need to build from source. 1-line script for building from source.

TuxerP
Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2015 13:40

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

by TuxerP » Post

Minetest_game runs fine on my mobile devices. I have installed the latest minetest build via the script and placed you're subgame in the folder where the minetest_game and minimal game are. The source build does not provide a systemd startup script or a default minetest.conf.

User avatar
Sane
Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 09:31
GitHub: mt-sane
In-game: Sane

Game does not load with security on.

by Sane » Post

Hi there,
I've just pulled carbone-ng from github. It seems, that it will not run with security set to on.
Spoiler

Code: Select all

#    Prevent mods from doing insecure things like running shell commands.
secure.enable_security = true
That is due to io.open calls in:
Spoiler

Code: Select all

...
minetest.register_on_joinplayer(function(player)
	local filename = minetest.get_modpath("player_textures").."/textures/player_"..player:get_player_name()
	local f = io.open(filename..".png")
	if f then
		f:close()
		default.player_set_textures(player, {"player_"..player:get_player_name()..".png"})
	end
end)
...
Spoiler

Code: Select all

... line 426
minetest.register_on_joinplayer(function(player)
... line 515
	if minetest.get_modpath("player_textures") then
		local filename = minetest.get_modpath("player_textures").."/textures/player_"..name
		local f = io.open(filename..".png")
		if f then
			f:close()
			armor.textures[name].skin = "player_"..name..".png"
		end
	end
...
An unclean but simple remedy is simply commenting out the io lines.

Code: Select all

...
--	local f = io.open(filename..".png")
--	if f then
--		f:close()
		...
--	end
But I think the problem lies somewhere else, because 3d_armor with exact the same io lines works just fine in an other subgame.
Trying to stay me.

TuxerP
Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2015 13:40

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

by TuxerP » Post

Hi,

I have also installed carbone-ng from github. It works perfect exept when I play on an mobile phone. The HUD then overlays the buttons from the minetest android client. I have added a screenshot.

Running minetest from github on Debian 8 there is no systemd startup service. I have created on and are planning to integrate lag01's methode to load map and players folders in memory. When the script is done I will post it.
Attachments
Screenshot carbone-ng on android client
Screenshot carbone-ng on android client
Screenshot_2015-08-10-09-29-18.png (295.69 KiB) Viewed 2848 times

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3169
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

by Calinou » Post

TuxerP wrote:I have also installed carbone-ng from github. It works perfect exept when I play on an mobile phone. The HUD then overlays the buttons from the minetest android client. I have added a screenshot.
If you want a small hotbar for use on mobile, remove the large_hotbar mod.

TuxerP
Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2015 13:40

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

by TuxerP » Post

I have adjusted the large_hotbar mod to a size which is fine for my mobile. If I want to add a mod to minetest running the carbone-ng subgame where should I put that mod and how can I enable that one?
Can I place it in the mods folder of you're subgame or should I place it in the mods folder in my .minetest directory?

Maybe a stupid question, but I don't have experience with adding mods to a subgame.

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3169
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

by Calinou » Post

TuxerP wrote:I have adjusted the large_hotbar mod to a size which is fine for my mobile. If I want to add a mod to minetest running the carbone-ng subgame where should I put that mod and how can I enable that one?
Can I place it in the mods folder of you're subgame or should I place it in the mods folder in my .minetest directory?

Maybe a stupid question, but I don't have experience with adding mods to a subgame.
You should install mods to your mods directory, not in the subgame. This way, you avoid conflicts with future versions of Carbone NG and you can enable/disable your mod easily in the world configuration menu.

TuxerP
Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2015 13:40

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

by TuxerP » Post

Done that. Thanks for the advise. I don's see not much mobs in the carbone world. Can I increase the number of spawning mobs?

Running carbone-ng for a few weeks, but it looks very cool and all the mods that needed are there. Keep up the good work.

User avatar
FreeLikeGNU
Member
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 02:50
GitHub: FreeLikeGNU
IRC: freelikegnu
In-game: FreeLikeGNU

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

by FreeLikeGNU » Post

Calinou wrote:
TuxerP wrote:I have adjusted the large_hotbar mod to a size which is fine for my mobile. If I want to add a mod to minetest running the carbone-ng subgame where should I put that mod and how can I enable that one?
Can I place it in the mods folder of you're subgame or should I place it in the mods folder in my .minetest directory?

Maybe a stupid question, but I don't have experience with adding mods to a subgame.
You should install mods to your mods directory, not in the subgame. This way, you avoid conflicts with future versions of Carbone NG and you can enable/disable your mod easily in the world configuration menu.
It would be nice if one could set mods to use on the command line for a headless server the way we can for games and worlds

$ minetest --game carbone-ng --world myworld --mods modlist.txt

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3121
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

by Inocudom » Post

Calinou, it is essential that you kept Carbone NG up-to-date with minetest-game. That way, you won't have to keep releasing new versions.

Where did all of those wonderful sound effects that the previous version had go? They were very essential to the general ambience.

User avatar
FreeLikeGNU
Member
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 02:50
GitHub: FreeLikeGNU
IRC: freelikegnu
In-game: FreeLikeGNU

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

by FreeLikeGNU » Post

Inocudom wrote:Calinou, it is essential that you kept Carbone NG up-to-date with minetest-game. That way, you won't have to keep releasing new versions.

Where did all of those wonderful sound effects that the previous version had go? They were very essential to the general ambience.
Yeah, put down the books and keep modding!!! ;-)

Smitje
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 20:42

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

by Smitje » Post

Hi all,

I love Carbone NG so far. Just tried it. But why do I die when I mine mese blocks?

cheers,
Smitje

Ivà
Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 07:11
GitHub: melzua
IRC: melzua
In-game: melzua
Location: Catalonia

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

by Ivà » Post

Smitje wrote:Hi all,

I love Carbone NG so far. Just tried it. But why do I die when I mine mese blocks?

cheers,
Smitje
Because they aren't mese :D

User avatar
kaadmy
Member
Posts: 706
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 23:07
GitHub: kaadmy
IRC: KaadmY
In-game: KaadmY kaadmy NeD

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

by kaadmy » Post

Smitje wrote:Hi all,

I love Carbone NG so far. Just tried it. But why do I die when I mine mese blocks?

cheers,
Smitje
Read the block again, it says...
Image
Never paint white stripes on roads near Zebra crossings.

Pixture

Smitje
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 20:42

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

by Smitje » Post

lol,

you got me! Guess you see what you expect to see.

Thanks

moshiro fumamoto
New member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2015 14:53

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

by moshiro fumamoto » Post

dont work i most be doing something wrong. am new at this

HRJ21
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2015 11:31

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

by HRJ21 » Post

Carbone-ng looks beautiful, thank you. The only issue I have with it is that even when I am not in creative mode, I can still craft unlimited amounts of any item I want. How do I turn this off? Thanks!

User avatar
kaadmy
Member
Posts: 706
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 23:07
GitHub: kaadmy
IRC: KaadmY
In-game: KaadmY kaadmy NeD

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

by kaadmy » Post

Never paint white stripes on roads near Zebra crossings.

Pixture

LiberalSlovak
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 20:01
In-game: BWslovakian

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

by LiberalSlovak » Post

Are you ever going to re add mesecons? I love everything in this game except for the absence of my electronics!

User avatar
prof-turbo
Member
Posts: 516
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 17:02
Location: MinetestForFun or Teeworlds master server list

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

by prof-turbo » Post

LiberalSlovak : I think you should add it by yourself. Mesecons is a mod pretty loud for many computers, so putting it in a popular game would probably annoy some people :)

User avatar
GreenXenith
Member
Posts: 1356
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 01:26
GitHub: GreenXenith
Location: UTC-8:00
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

by GreenXenith » Post

So...is the large_hotbar a mod you made yourself? Because I cant find it anywhere...and I really want it...
YouTube | Mods | Patreon | Minetest Discord @greenxenith

You should not be able to read this message.

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3169
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

by Calinou » Post

GreenDimond wrote:So...is the large_hotbar a mod you made yourself? Because I cant find it anywhere...and I really want it...
Yes, it's a tiny mod that enlarges the hotbar.

If you want it yourself, create a folder called large_hotbar/, create an init.lua file inside and write this:

Code: Select all

-- large_hotbar: Makes the hotbar larger
-- Copyright (c) 2015 Calinou
-- CC0 1.0 Universal

custom_hotbar_size = tonumber(minetest.setting_get("large_hotbar.size"))

minetest.register_on_joinplayer(function(player)
  player:hud_set_hotbar_itemcount(custom_hotbar_size or 16)
end)
Then move this folder to your Minetest installation's mods/ folder.

User avatar
lisacvuk
Member
Posts: 274
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2014 11:52
GitHub: lisacvuk
IRC: lisac
In-game: lisacvuk
Location: Serbia, Užice

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

by lisacvuk » Post

Nice game. Will we see connected drawtype support for the fences anytime soon, though?
It's lisac, not lisa.
400 character limit? Am I writing a book?
Administrator on Craig's server. Minetest player.
"The enemy pales when they see the face of Dazzle!" ~ Dazzle obviously.
I live in Serbia.
Steam | OpenDOTA
My mods:
Tool ranks
I appreciate donations in TF2 items. :)

Klink45
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 02:15

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

by Klink45 » Post

I would like to have the normal inventory back. Which mod(s) change the inventory?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest