[mod] Underground Realms [0.8] [caverealms]

NandoV2
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 16:18
In-game: NandoV2

Re: [mod] Underground Realms [0.8] [caverealms]

by NandoV2 » Post

Be my : I Cant Find A Cave? How Can i make that that i can find 1?

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero
Location: Hawaii

Re: [mod] Underground Realms [0.8] [caverealms]

by HeroOfTheWinds » Post

NandoV2 wrote:Be my : I Cant Find A Cave? How Can i make that that i can find 1?
I added an option to the config file for this a few versions ago. Open your mods folder, look in the caverealms folder, and open the file "config.lua". There's an option in there marked for setting you to spawn in the caves when you start a new world. Just change it from 'false' to 'true' then start a new world with CaveRealms enabled.

Hope this helps, and enjoy!

(On a side note, if you'd rather not spawn in them, grant yourself fly and noclip, then fly around underground below y=-700, and you'll eventually find the caves.)
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P

depassages
New member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 07:50

Re: [mod] Underground Realms [0.8] [caverealms]

by depassages » Post

Hi,

I have an error running this mod in minetest 0.4.11


and in debug.txt

Code: Select all

08:58:05: ERROR[EmergeThread0]: Assignment to undeclared global "n_biome" inside a function at /home/seb/.minetest/mods/caverealms/init.lua:222.
[caverealms] 379 ms
[caverealms] chunk minp (-2512 -912 208)
[caverealms] 387 ms
[caverealms] chunk minp (-2432 -992 208)
[caverealms] 415 ms
[caverealms] chunk minp (-2432 -912 208)
[caverealms] 388 ms
[caverealms] chunk minp (-2432 -992 288)
[caverealms] 393 ms
[caverealms] chunk minp (-2512 -992 288)
[caverealms] 388 ms
[caverealms] chunk minp (-2432 -912 288)
[caverealms] 390 ms
[caverealms] chunk minp (-2512 -912 288)
[caverealms] 393 ms
[caverealms] chunk minp (-2592 -912 288)
[caverealms] 433 ms
[caverealms] chunk minp (-2592 -992 288)
[caverealms] 401 ms
[caverealms] chunk minp (-2352 -992 288)
[caverealms] 413 ms
[caverealms] chunk minp (-2352 -912 288)
[caverealms] 448 ms
[caverealms] chunk minp (-2352 -992 208)
[caverealms] 398 ms
[caverealms] chunk minp (-2352 -912 208)
[caverealms] 404 ms
[caverealms] chunk minp (-2512 -992 128)
[caverealms] 436 ms
[caverealms] chunk minp (-2592 -992 208)
[caverealms] 414 ms
[caverealms] chunk minp (-2592 -912 208)
[caverealms] 416 ms
[caverealms] chunk minp (-2592 -992 128)
[caverealms] 403 ms
08:58:29: ACTION[ServerThread]: singleplayer granted (interact, settime, home, fly, server, teleport, rollback, bring, privs, password, ban, shout, basic_privs, kick, noclip, fast, give) privileges to singleplayer
-----------------------------------------
08:58:30: Printing debug stacks:
-----------------------------------------
Debug stacks:
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD 7f407f7fd700:
#0  virtual void* MeshUpdateThread::Thread()
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD 7f407fffe700:
#0  virtual void* EmergeThread::Thread()
(Leftover data: #1  MapBlock* ServerMap::loadBlock(v3s16))
(Leftover data: #2  MapSector* ServerMap::loadSectorMeta(std::string, bool))
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD 7f408b530700:
#0  virtual void* ServerThread::Thread()
#1  void Server::Receive()
(Leftover data: #2  virtual void ServerEnvironment::step(float))
(Leftover data: #3  void RemoteClient::GetNextBlocks(ServerEnvironment*, EmergeManager*, float, std::vector<PrioritySortedBlockTransfer>&))
(Leftover data: #4  void Server::SendBreath(irr::u16, irr::u16))
(Leftover data: #5  MapSector* ServerMap::loadSectorMeta(std::string, bool))
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD 7f409a559780:
#0  int main(int, char**)
(Leftover data: #1  void ClientMap::renderMap(irr::video::IVideoDriver*, irr::s32))
(Leftover data: #2  virtual void ClientEnvironment::step(float))
(Leftover data: #3  void Client::Receive())
(Leftover data: #4  void Client::ProcessData(irr::u8*, irr::u32, irr::u16))
(Leftover data: #5  void MeshUpdateQueue::addBlock(v3s16, MeshMakeData*, bool, bool))
Any idea where it's from ?

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero
Location: Hawaii

Re: [mod] Underground Realms [0.8] [caverealms]

by HeroOfTheWinds » Post

Interesting find... seems like it doesn't break it, but surprised no one found it til now. Thanks, depassages!

I issued a commit fixing it, although you can easily fix it yourself by adding "local" before "n_biome" on line 222.
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P

User avatar
Gael de Sailly
Member
Posts: 753
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 17:01
GitHub: Gael-de-Sailly
IRC: Gael-de-Sailly
In-game: Gael-de-Sailly Ginkgoo
Location: France

Re: [mod] Underground Realms [0.8] [caverealms]

by Gael de Sailly » Post

Amazing !

I'm fully captivated by these caves. They seem both mysterious and reassuring : not completely dark, the lighting is somewhat fairy.

It really confirms that Minetest has a huge potential, especially about mapgen. The problem is that awesome mods like this one aren't enough highlighted, and the beginner is soon sick of the game. He doesn't know what he's missing.

2 small issues :
– The lava is sometimes generated inside caves.
– Caves are sometimes too large in my opinion. Too large caves can't be wholly seen and so we can see blue sky, that ruins the wonderful atmosphere of the caves. I play with these following params :

Code: Select all

-- 3D noise for caves

local np_cave = {
	offset = 0,
	scale = 1,
	spread = {x=128, y=64, z=128}, -- squashed 2:1
	seed = 59033,
	octaves = 5,
	persist = 0.63
}

-- 3D noise for wave

local np_wave = {
	offset = 0,
	scale = 1,
	spread = {x=128, y=128, z=128},
	seed = -400000000089,
	octaves = 3,
	persist = 0.67
}

-- 2D noise for biome

local np_biome = {
	offset = 0,
	scale = 1,
	spread = {x=128, y=128, z=128},
	seed = 9130,
	octaves = 3,
	persist = 0.5
}
Just realize how bored we would be if the world was perfect.

fooljap
Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 05:55
In-game: fooljap

Re: [mod] Underground Realms [0.8] [caverealms]

by fooljap » Post

I love this MOD, but am not usable because an error occurs.

Code: Select all

[caverealms] 110 ms
[caverealms] chunk minp (-112 -112 -112)
14:26:08: ERROR[main]: ServerError: caught (...)
14:26:08: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
14:26:08: ERROR[main]: 	[C]: in function 'get_data'
14:26:08: ERROR[main]: 	C:\game\minetest-0.4.12\bin\..\mods\caverealms\init.lua:113: in function <C:\game\minetest-0.4.12\bin\..\mods\caverealms\init.lua:94>
14:26:08: ERROR[main]: 	C:\game\minetest-0.4.12\bin\..\builtin\game\register.lua:341: in function <C:\game\minetest-0.4.12\bin\..\builtin\game\register.lua:329>
15:01:54: INFO: event_handler(): Ctrl+C, Close Event, Logoff Event or Shutdown Event, shutting down.

fooljap
Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 05:55
In-game: fooljap

Re: [mod] Underground Realms [0.8] [caverealms]

by fooljap » Post

another bug

Code: Select all

[caverealms] searching for spawn 59
21:06:02: ERROR[main]: ServerError: caught (...)
21:06:02: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
21:06:02: ERROR[main]: 	[C]: in function 'get3dMap_flat'
21:06:02: ERROR[main]: 	....4.12-win64-msvc-jp\bin\..\mods\caverealms/functions.lua:571: in function 'spawnplayer'
21:06:02: ERROR[main]: 	....4.12-win64-msvc-jp\bin\..\mods\caverealms/functions.lua:503: in function <....4.12-win64-msvc-jp\bin\..\mods\caverealms/functions.lua:499>
21:06:02: ERROR[main]: 	...st-0.4.12-win64-msvc-jp\bin\..\builtin\game\register.lua:341: in function <...st-0.4.12-win64-msvc-jp\bin\..\builtin\game\register.lua:329>
[plants_lib] Stand by, playing out the rest of the aircheck mapblock log
(there are 0 entries)...
[plants_lib] Stand by, playing out the rest of the no-aircheck mapblock log
(there are 0 entries)...
21:08:13: INFO: event_handler(): Ctrl+C, Close Event, Logoff Event or Shutdown Event, shutting down.

User avatar
Diamond knight
Member
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 19:50
GitHub: Diamondknight
In-game: Ferrumprinceps
Location: Chilling in Constantinople
Contact:

Re: Underground Realms idea

by Diamond knight » Post

HeroOfTheWinds wrote:
fireuser wrote:Could you make it so you spawn in these caves? I have tried to make you spawn in caves, but failed miserably. I love under ground and it would make it easy to find the caves. (because you spawn in them Du) Any ways it's kind of stupid so if you don't like it, forget about it. It would probably only cause trouble. Thanks : )
that would be cool

maybe some underground versions of the overworld (cave trees, cave apples, cave grass(the tall kind))

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero
Location: Hawaii

Re: [mod] Underground Realms [0.8] [caverealms]

by HeroOfTheWinds » Post

Fooljap, what version of Minetest are you using? It works for me in Minetest 0.4.12.

I'm not sure about the first error, looks like voxelmanip failed.
The second error looks like the same problem.

@DiamondKnight: I actually do have something like that planned, it's gonna take a while though. I've procrastinated a long time, and I'm sorry for that. College happens, then internship happens.
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P

dannyplaysminetest
Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 19:20
In-game: Danny

Re: [mod] Underground Realms [0.8] [caverealms]

by dannyplaysminetest » Post

Awesome Mod! Thanks for the hard work on this one, cool to have fantasy world like places to explore in MineTest..

News!
I now have Nether Crystal Caves, while generating a new map, i left the seed option off and i enabled the Nether and Caverealms Mod at the same time, and this is the result :

Image

Note : Normally one would end up with a huge Lava Lake on the floor, i spend quite some time yesterday stopping and removing 99% of the lava, now a whole city can fit in this cave. ^_^

I discovered many of these places deep underground yesterday, i´m still trying to find a (more complete) crystal cave without the Netherrack, i hope those still exist on that map as wel.

User avatar
duane
Member
Posts: 1632
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: [mod] Underground Realms [0.8] [caverealms]

by duane » Post

-- deleted --
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.

User avatar
Ferk
Member
Posts: 337
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 17:18
GitHub: Ferk

Re: [mod] Underground Realms [0.8] [caverealms]

by Ferk » Post

I just wanted to say that this mod is awesome.

The feeling of uncovering a huge cave filled with little lights when you have spent a long time digging deep down through claustrophobic darkness is incredible. Imho, this mod is a must and it's much more interesting than the nether idea, imho. We need more stuff like this.

I specially like the fungi biome.. it would be interesting if we had mobs in there and it could become a living forest underground filled with strange flora and fauna. Almost like an alternate dimension.

There should be some way to make sticks out of some plants or something, so that it would be possible to build tools and make a living inside of the underground biome.
{ ☠ Dungeontest ☠ , ᗧ••myarcade•• }

User avatar
Sane
Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 09:31
GitHub: mt-sane
In-game: Sane

Re: [mod] Underground Realms [0.8] [caverealms]

by Sane » Post

This is a very beautyful mod.
I just wanted to give it a quick look and ended up flying through connected caves for 2 hours.
Thanks for this mod!

One little thing is buggig me though. Lava lakes keep leaking into the caves which is kind of griefy.
Trying to stay me.

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero
Location: Hawaii

Re: [mod] Underground Realms [0.8] [caverealms]

by HeroOfTheWinds » Post

Thank you, and I'm glad you like the caves so much!

The idea of being able to harvest sticks down in the CaveRealms intrigues me. I rather like the idea, and I'll try thinking of some plausible way for sticks to be down there. That said, college keeps me very busy, so it could be some time before I actually get around to putting them in. :P

As far as mobs go, I too would like mobs down there. A while back, someone said they were working on a dinosaur mod, and I intend to add compatibility with it should it ever be finished. On another note, TenPlus1's Mobs Redo is compatible with caverealms right out of the box. Stone monsters, Dungeon Masters, Oerkki(s), and Mese monsters all spawn in the caves if that mod is installed.

Regarding lava lakes.... That has been a problem for as long as I have worked on this mod. Part of the problem is that it seems as if lava is generated after the on_generated() function (where the magic happens) finishes, which means that I generally can't do much. Perhaps something has changed in the engine by now that would let me fix it...
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P

User avatar
benrob0329
Member
Posts: 1322
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 22:39
GitHub: Benrob0329
IRC: benrob0329
In-game: benrob03
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: [mod] Underground Realms [0.8] [caverealms]

by benrob0329 » Post

This should be the MT version of the Nether!!! XP

I almost feel as if an ancient (alien? Think where Mese came from...) civilisation lived down here at one time...

Either way the caves are beautiful, but do you think that they could generate farther down? I like that you don't have to mine too far down, but it feels like its too far up, almost taking away from mining...
Social: YouTube Peertube Matrix Room: #minetest:matrix.org | Games: The Infinite IKEA

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero
Location: Hawaii

Re: [mod] Underground Realms [0.8] [caverealms]

by HeroOfTheWinds » Post

benrob0329 wrote:This should be the MT version of the Nether!!! XP

I almost feel as if an ancient (alien? Think where Mese came from...) civilisation lived down here at one time...

Either way the caves are beautiful, but do you think that they could generate farther down? I like that you don't have to mine too far down, but it feels like its too far up, almost taking away from mining...
This is a setting that individual users/servers can manipulate. In the file "config.lua", there is a line

Code: Select all

setting("number", "ymax", -700) --top realm limit
which you can change. Just use a number less than -700 to make the caves generate deeper. Some servers I know of have set it as deep as -3000... However, just be mindful of these other lines when changing the depth of the caves:

Code: Select all

--realm limits for Dungeon Masters' Lair
setting("number", "dm_top", -4000) --upper limit 
setting("number", "dm_bot", -5000) --lower limit 

...

--Deep cave settings
setting("number", "deep_cave", -7000) -- upper limit
If need be, lower those values too.

Enjoy!
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P

User avatar
benrob0329
Member
Posts: 1322
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 22:39
GitHub: Benrob0329
IRC: benrob0329
In-game: benrob03
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: [mod] Underground Realms [0.8] [caverealms]

by benrob0329 » Post

Oh ok, thanks! I'll have to look for the other ones now to!
Social: YouTube Peertube Matrix Room: #minetest:matrix.org | Games: The Infinite IKEA

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3096
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [mod] Underground Realms [0.8] [caverealms]

by Inocudom » Post

If, by ancient aliens, you are referring to a race that existed before modern man, the following YouTube video should interest you:
https://youtu.be/7Fi4WOHW0NI
The twilight that is spoken of is also known as the Purple Dawn, by the way.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
benrob0329
Member
Posts: 1322
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 22:39
GitHub: Benrob0329
IRC: benrob0329
In-game: benrob03
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: [mod] Underground Realms [0.8] [caverealms]

by benrob0329 » Post

EDIT: I thought you were talking about the TV show...
Last edited by benrob0329 on Sun Sep 06, 2015 05:26, edited 1 time in total.
Social: YouTube Peertube Matrix Room: #minetest:matrix.org | Games: The Infinite IKEA

User avatar
duane
Member
Posts: 1632
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: [mod] Underground Realms [0.8] [caverealms]

by duane » Post

HeroOfTheWinds wrote:The idea of being able to harvest sticks down in the CaveRealms intrigues me.
Mushroom stems! That's what I did in Valley Mapgen. Journey to the Center of the Earth fashion.
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.

User avatar
benrob0329
Member
Posts: 1322
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 22:39
GitHub: Benrob0329
IRC: benrob0329
In-game: benrob03
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: [mod] Underground Realms [0.8] [caverealms]

by benrob0329 » Post

What if this also was able to use mobs_redo and make a King Dungeoun Master mob that only spawned in his castle? And what if only one, HUGE one was generated?
Social: YouTube Peertube Matrix Room: #minetest:matrix.org | Games: The Infinite IKEA

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero
Location: Hawaii

Re: [mod] Underground Realms [0.8] [caverealms]

by HeroOfTheWinds » Post

benrob0329 wrote:What if this also was able to use mobs_redo and make a King Dungeoun Master mob that only spawned in his castle? And what if only one, HUGE one was generated?
You don't know how much I wished MT had the right set up for a "boss-mob" mod... I really want to have a boss down in the Dungeon Master Realm, but MT is just so clumsy with even the small mobs. Goodness knows how bad a huge one would be... But no, I really like that idea, shame it's out of reach atm...

Hmm, I guess I could use the giant mushroom stems for crafting sticks. Still, I'll need parallels for the DM realms and the Deep Caves... That said, you do realize that you can just use the glowing crystals as replacement torches, right?
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P

User avatar
benrob0329
Member
Posts: 1322
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 22:39
GitHub: Benrob0329
IRC: benrob0329
In-game: benrob03
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: [mod] Underground Realms [0.8] [caverealms]

by benrob0329 » Post

HeroOfTheWinds wrote:
benrob0329 wrote:What if this also was able to use mobs_redo and make a King Dungeoun Master mob that only spawned in his castle? And what if only one, HUGE one was generated?
You don't know how much I wished MT had the right set up for a "boss-mob" mod... I really want to have a boss down in the Dungeon Master Realm, but MT is just so clumsy with even the small mobs. Goodness knows how bad a huge one would be... But no, I really like that idea, shame it's out of reach atm...

Hmmm, perhaps someone should make a test mod using Mobs Redo testing my theory (I could try, but I'm working on my C++ right now...):

If you generated a spawning block that kept the position of the DM after server restart, and defined the DM with non despawning, you could, in theory, do it. However maybe that should wait until the C++ mobs API is done.
Social: YouTube Peertube Matrix Room: #minetest:matrix.org | Games: The Infinite IKEA

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero
Location: Hawaii

Re: [mod] Underground Realms [0.8] [caverealms]

by HeroOfTheWinds » Post

That isn't really the problem I'm thinking of, though that could potentially be one too.

The problem with MT mods is the lack of client-side prediction. E.G. the client application doesn't smooth out movements and attacks of mobs by having the server and the client compute the AI of the mobs... Leading it to appear to users that the mobs are jittering or outright warping around, taking little knockback from attacks, and sometimes even shrugging off damage because lol MT's punch mechanisms need a lot of work. Mobs Redo has helped a lot here, but the prediction is still a huge factor, as is trying to punch mobs. Not sure if it's still there, but another problem had been that consecutive punches didn't work unless you move the crosshairs away from the hit box then back onto it.

So, if this is the case, what of a giant hitbox, e.g. a boss? You'd have this big composite cube of pain jittering about, dodging you when you could swear you hit him, and potentially forcing you to turn 90 degrees back and forth until you could hit again. Plus, the only damage mechanism in MT is either projectiles or "punches"... How would you calculate the punches on something that big, barring some really hacky code?

Also, I'd like for a huge boss to be "climbable", so that you had to get onto his shoulders to be able to attack his head to kill him. Entities in MT currently have no such function for collisions between pairs of entities, so you could walk right through the boss' legs too.

Those are just my thoughts on the matter. Perhaps one day MT will let us realize this dream, but until then, I guess the best chance would be maybe having a "monster room" type of challenge, with 10 or so DMs in the same fort. >:D

Meanwhile, I'll keep on making my fighting game in Unity3D.
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P

User avatar
benrob0329
Member
Posts: 1322
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 22:39
GitHub: Benrob0329
IRC: benrob0329
In-game: benrob03
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: [mod] Underground Realms [0.8] [caverealms]

by benrob0329 » Post

So your saying that the biggest problems would be servers and a lack of functionality, hopefully 0.5.0's improved performance and reworked server client communications will help, as well as the improving client side prediction and C++ mobs API.

Wow, I just realised (or re realised) how much I CANT WAIT FOR 0.5.0!
Social: YouTube Peertube Matrix Room: #minetest:matrix.org | Games: The Infinite IKEA

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests