[Mod] BobBlocks [git] [bobblocks]

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28
Contact:

by RabbiBob » Post

Added ver 0.0.4

Image
Added translucent node state

Inadvertently figured out how to do something that was part of my original idea for this mod: translucent\opaque nodes. Note the translucent blocks in the off state, which would work well for stained glass sculptures.

Image
Health Kit - Off State

Image
Health Kit - On State

Walking through Health Kit while on will deliver 10HP to the player
Last edited by RabbiBob on Sun Mar 25, 2012 18:03, edited 1 time in total.

cosarara97
Member
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 18:53

by cosarara97 » Post

lol:
Image
What you see under the block is the same you would see in fly mode, the caves underground xD
:D

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28
Contact:

by RabbiBob » Post

Noticed that last night & I need to test to see where else it does it (other than on ground level).

Unsure if it's a 'feature' or a 'bug' at this point ;-) <j/k>

Out of curiousity, what are your game settings in your mintest.conf file? Your image looks far more glassly than what I've seen on my system (and I like it).

cosarara97
Member
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 18:53

by cosarara97 » Post

Code: Select all

address = localhost
creative_mode = 0
enable_damage = 0
name = cosarara97
new_style_leaves = 1
port = 30000
smooth_lighting = 1
free_move = false
enable_3d_clouds = 1
opaque_water = 0
only_peaceful_mobs = 1
fast_move = false
selected_mainmenu_tab = 0
selected_world_path = /home/jaume/.minetest/worlds/world
I'm on linux (so I use opengl) and I'm currently using the default texture pack :D
:D

User avatar
Death Dealer
Member
Posts: 1379
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 18:46
Location: Limbo
Contact:

by Death Dealer » Post

cosarara97 wrote:lol:
Image
What you see under the block is the same you would see in fly mode, the caves underground xD
This is cool. A windows to underground.
Keep calm and code python^_^

cosarara97
Member
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 18:53

by cosarara97 » Post

Yep, but I would prefer having 2 separate blocks, the transparent block and the "magic window" block :D
:D

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28
Contact:

by RabbiBob » Post

Yeah, same thing here. Interesting. Going with feature right now.

Near
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 03:55

by Near » Post

I am puking rainbows it is just the best mod i ever seen

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28
Contact:

by RabbiBob » Post

Image

Worked on Mesecon integration this morning. I'm not ready to put out a version 0.0.5 yet, however you can add the below code to blocks.lua and add jeija (or "mesecons" if you are using the latest from github) to depends.txt to use it now. There should be no changes to this code to affect future versions.

Code: Select all

-- MESECON
-- Add jeija (or mesecons depending on your Mesecons version) to bobblocks\depends.txt and paste the below in at the bottom of bobblocks\blocks.lua

mesecon:register_on_signal_on(function (pos, node)
    if 
        node.name == 'bobblocks:redblock_off'       or
        node.name == 'bobblocks:orangeblock_off'    or
        node.name == 'bobblocks:yellowblock_off'    or
        node.name == 'bobblocks:greenblock_off'     or
        node.name == 'bobblocks:blueblock_off'      or
        node.name == 'bobblocks:indigoblock_off'    or
        node.name == 'bobblocks:violetblock_off'    or
        node.name == 'bobblocks:whiteblock_off' 
        then
        update_bobblock (pos, node, state)
        end
    end)
    
mesecon:register_on_signal_off(function (pos, node)
    if 
        node.name == 'bobblocks:redblock'       or
        node.name == 'bobblocks:orangeblock'    or 
        node.name == 'bobblocks:yellowblock'    or 
        node.name == 'bobblocks:greenblock'     or 
        node.name == 'bobblocks:blueblock'      or 
        node.name == 'bobblocks:indigoblock'    or 
        node.name == 'bobblocks:violetblock'    or 
        node.name == 'bobblocks:whiteblock'
        then
        update_bobblock (pos, node, state)
        end
    end)
Last edited by RabbiBob on Sun Apr 01, 2012 15:41, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1923
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Post

RabbiBob wrote:Image

Worked on Mesecon integration this morning. I'm not ready to put out a version 0.0.5 yet, however you can add the below code to blocks.lua and add jeija to default.txt to use it now. There should be no changes to this code to affect future versions.

Code: Select all

-- MESECON
-- Add jeija to bobblocks\default.txt and paste the below in at the bottom of bobblocks\blocks.lua

mesecon:register_on_signal_on(function (pos, node)
    if 
        node.name == 'bobblocks:redblock_off'       or
        node.name == 'bobblocks:orangeblock_off'    or
        node.name == 'bobblocks:yellowblock_off'    or
        node.name == 'bobblocks:greenblock_off'     or
        node.name == 'bobblocks:blueblock_off'      or
        node.name == 'bobblocks:indigoblock_off'    or
        node.name == 'bobblocks:violetblock_off'    or
        node.name == 'bobblocks:whiteblock_off' 
        then
        update_bobblock (pos, node, state)
        end
    end)
    
mesecon:register_on_signal_off(function (pos, node)
    if 
        node.name == 'bobblocks:redblock'       or
        node.name == 'bobblocks:orangeblock'    or 
        node.name == 'bobblocks:yellowblock'    or 
        node.name == 'bobblocks:greenblock'     or 
        node.name == 'bobblocks:blueblock'      or 
        node.name == 'bobblocks:indigoblock'    or 
        node.name == 'bobblocks:violetblock'    or 
        node.name == 'bobblocks:whiteblock'
        then
        update_bobblock (pos, node, state)
        end
    end)
hey bob could you ever make a lower resolution texture for this?
hello, am program. do language in rust. make computer do. okay i go now.

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28
Contact:

by RabbiBob » Post

Maybe. At most I'm inclined to resize down to 16x16 and see how it looks. If it looks like crap I won't support it myself.

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1923
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Post

RabbiBob wrote:Maybe. At most I'm inclined to resize down to 16x16 and see how it looks. If it looks like crap I won't support it myself.
well okay :/ maybe 32x32?
hello, am program. do language in rust. make computer do. okay i go now.

User avatar
Death Dealer
Member
Posts: 1379
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 18:46
Location: Limbo
Contact:

by Death Dealer » Post

RabbiBob wrote:Maybe. At most I'm inclined to resize down to 16x16 and see how it looks. If it looks like crap I won't support it myself.
i dont think the current blocks could get any better:D especially resizing it smaller..
Keep calm and code python^_^

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28
Contact:

by RabbiBob » Post

J4i - what texture pack do you use? Default or custom?

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1923
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Post

RabbiBob wrote:J4i - what texture pack do you use? Default or custom?
custom! http://c55.me/minetest/forum/viewtopic.php?id=885
hello, am program. do language in rust. make computer do. okay i go now.

User avatar
sdzen
Member
Posts: 1170
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 22:33
Location: Paradise (your not allowed)

by sdzen » Post

just to say i did resize your textures they look fine but i also have some of my custom textures i did for kicks

Zen S.D.

The next generation of tranquility!
malheureusement mon français n'est pas bon :<
Owner of the Zelo's
In game name: MuadTralk, spdtainted, sdzen, sd zen, sdzeno

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28
Contact:

by RabbiBob » Post

Added 16x16 and 32x32 texture downloads (see first post). These are straight resizes of the 64x64 default textures.

Ok... going back to 64x64 now ;-)

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28
Contact:

by RabbiBob » Post

Updated worklist. Included links to changes, mesecons upgrade code (beta), and added textures to 0.0.4 release list.

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28
Contact:

by RabbiBob » Post

Tested for v20120326

Image

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3169
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

Hmm... You should probably set your colored block's renderings as "glasslike" or whatever it is - it would fix the problem of seeing through the floor.

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28
Contact:

by RabbiBob » Post

Calinou wrote:Hmm... You should probably set your colored block's renderings as "glasslike" or whatever it is - it would fix the problem of seeing through the floor.
They are. Example:

Code: Select all

minetest.register_node("bobblocks:orangeblock", {
    description = "Orange Block",
    drawtype = "glasslike",
The issue, I believe is how I'm achieving the transparency. I haven't figured out a better way to make it see through and I've already worked the png opacity levels in Photoshop without success:

Code: Select all

alpha = WATER_ALPHA,
I'm happy to do it differently, just not sure how yet.

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28
Contact:

by RabbiBob » Post

Updated Release info and Current Worklist in first post.

0.0.5
  • Changed default texture to 32x32
  • On\Off states for all bobblocks poles - default to light on \ punch for light off
  • Added Mesecons (video) compatibility for blocks and poles: Making Discussion ~ Working Code. I'm debating on how I want to implement the dependency (either two versions of this or a straight depends) as I'm already seeing an issue of depending on another mod.
    • Added directions for dependency in main post and in the init.lua file.
  • Merged blocks and poles lua files. Long story.
  • Pit trap is available (currently in testing), however turned off in init.lua

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28
Contact:

by RabbiBob » Post

Tested for v20120408 - good (somehow the mesecons activation seems even faster this release).

Working on pit trap spikes and seeking textures (see thread) in order to finish.
Last edited by RabbiBob on Mon Apr 09, 2012 00:44, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28
Contact:

by RabbiBob » Post

0.0.6
  • Added ReadMe.txt (because people RTFM, right?)
  • Added recipes for traps, activated in init.lua, and created hidden (set) states for spike traps (see video). Added Death Dealer's spike textures. Fake grass node finished (see video).
  • Added sounds to blocks, poles, health and traps
  • Removed deprecated material = minetest.digprop_glasslike(1.0), from nodes (breaks backwards compatibility pre- v20120318) and deprecated registered falling node
Introducing Spike Traps

Image

fullbuster93
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 19:33

by fullbuster93 » Post

mod dont work .
i didn't change the file , because i dont understand what to add in that file

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 38 guests