The game is too poorly optimized.

User avatar
Zombie471
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 13:20
In-game: Zombie471

The game is too poorly optimized.

by Zombie471 » Post

My 915GM runs the game at 40fps and my R9 280 runs at 50fps. There should be a drastic increase in performance, not 10fps. This is also a FX-8350 with 8 cores @ 4GHz vs a Pentium M with 1 core @ 1Ghz, and 1GB RAM vs 8GB RAM. Game needs more optimization. Just saying.

(to give you an idea of what it might look like, Halo Custom Edition runs at 20fps on the 915gm while my r9 280 runs it at 1,000fps.)

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4276
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine
IRC: Sokomine
In-game: Sokomine

Re: The game is too poorly optimized.

by Sokomine » Post

People with good gaming hardware pretty often complain about less than optimal fps and graphics. On the other hand, the very same game runs quite well on a descent smartphone and similar weak hardware. It's odd that it does less well on good hardware.
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3169
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: The game is too poorly optimized.

by Calinou » Post

Minetest is mostly CPU bound and single-threaded, which means it doesn't like AMD CPUs very much.

Optimization is very tricky, it's more than just flipping compiler switches around.

I suggest you tweak your minetest.conf settings, most notably, use a fixed viewing range:

Code: Select all

viewing_range_nodes_min = 120
viewing_range_nodes_max = 120

Zeno
Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 03:36
GitHub: Zeno-
Location: Australia

Re: The game is too poorly optimized.

by Zeno » Post

Calinou wrote:I suggest you tweak your minetest.conf settings, most notably, use a fixed viewing range:

Code: Select all

viewing_range_nodes_min = 120
viewing_range_nodes_max = 120
Calinou has beaten me to it. In the main game loop, details such as how many frames per second are being rendered are collected. If, for example, you have a desired FPS of 60 and the main loop is idle for most of that time then viewing range is increased until the loop is not idle. The end effect of this that minetest will *seem* to be running slower (or not as much faster as you'd expect) because it's displaying more.

CWz
Member
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 17:01
GitHub: chaoswormz
IRC: CWz
In-game: CWz
Location: Banana Land

Re: The game is too poorly optimized.

by CWz » Post

We need to start having the graphics being handled by GPU

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6972
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: The game is too poorly optimized.

by rubenwardy » Post

We do need to utilise the GPU more, but it needs to be done in a way that doesn't drop support for older computers.
Renewed Tab (my browser add-on) | Donate | Mods | Minetest Modding Book

Hello profile reader

User avatar
jp
Banned
Posts: 947
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:03
GitHub: kilbith
Location: France

Re: The game is too poorly optimized.

by jp » Post

Zeno wrote:
Calinou wrote:I suggest you tweak your minetest.conf settings, most notably, use a fixed viewing range:

Code: Select all

viewing_range_nodes_min = 120
viewing_range_nodes_max = 120
Calinou has beaten me to it. [...]
I've opened an issue earlier about it : https://github.com/minetest/minetest/issues/2644

Now consequently waiting for the right measure of a core-dev since many people are in agreement... :3

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4649
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: The game is too poorly optimized.

by Krock » Post

I think it's the task of Irrlicht's developers to use the GPU more, not just Minetest.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6972
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: The game is too poorly optimized.

by rubenwardy » Post

Minetest is the one that edits the texture of a node - in CPU - to do lighting. Don't assign the blame to other people. Minetest contains a lot of broken code.
Renewed Tab (my browser add-on) | Donate | Mods | Minetest Modding Book

Hello profile reader

hmmmm
Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 04:04

Re: The game is too poorly optimized.

by hmmmm » Post

rubenwardy wrote:Minetest is the one that edits the texture of a node - in CPU - to do lighting. Don't assign the blame to other people. Minetest contains a lot of broken code.
Oh wow, fuck off. Minetest's contains less "broken code" than most other open source projects because it's actively developed and people care. I am also deeply offended by the insinuation that our lighting code is "broken". I challenge you to come up with something better. Hint: you can't.

hmmmm
Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 04:04

Re: The game is too poorly optimized.

by hmmmm » Post

.

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6972
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: The game is too poorly optimized.

by rubenwardy » Post

hmmmm wrote:
rubenwardy wrote:Minetest is the one that edits the texture of a node - in CPU - to do lighting. Don't assign the blame to other people. Minetest contains a lot of broken code.
Oh wow, fuck off. Minetest's contains less "broken code" than most other open source projects because it's actively developed and people care. I am also deeply offended by the insinuation that our lighting code is "broken". I challenge you to come up with something better. Hint: you can't.
I didn't mean to imply that the lighting code is broken, I was talking about assigning the blame to other people. (as in, don't blame Irrlicht for bad rendering, it's mostly how Minetest uses it). Broken code is a property which inheritent of most FOSS projects, unfortunately, and yes Minetest is better than most. Editing the texture works, and is the only solution that works on old computers, but it is hacky. You could use shaders and per pixel lighting to utilise the GPU more.
Renewed Tab (my browser add-on) | Donate | Mods | Minetest Modding Book

Hello profile reader

Zeno
Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 03:36
GitHub: Zeno-
Location: Australia

Re: The game is too poorly optimized.

by Zeno » Post

Quite honestly there are really only a few places that are bottlenecks. The lighting, textures and (for singleplayer) the socket communication (although because of software lighting calculations this isn't a bottleneck atm tbh).

I spent a LOT of time optimising what I could this year and late last year and I am 100% positive that the code is much, much, much more optimised than it was when I first looked at it. It's a time consuming process and some things cannot be optimised any further without fairly significant structural changes.

User avatar
GFX_Garage
Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 15:12
GitHub: GraphicsGarage
In-game: GFX

Re: The game is too poorly optimized.

by GFX_Garage » Post

This helped my frame rates a lot. It's still not smooth though.

I'm using AMD hardware. 3.3ghz FX quad core. 8gb 1333 RAM and a 7770 GHZ. 1gb.

I love this game though, and I'll put up with it so those with P4s and Semprons can play too. :)
"Well it is an ambiguous enterprise, and fraught with contradiction, but forward, ever forward" ~ Terence McKenna

https://www.youtube.com/user/GraphicsGarage/featured

http://torywright.deviantart.com/

MajorLunaC
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 26, 2015 16:56
GitHub: MajorLunaC
IRC: MajorLunaC
In-game: MajorLunaC

Re: The game is too poorly optimized.

by MajorLunaC » Post

Would a model of a more optimized open-source minecraft clone help? I hope it can because it's not very appealing to still have giant gaps in the map, and end up warping and jittering around. It's a clone called "Craft" (which is why no one's ever heard of it, and ended up mostly un-updated -_-' ), and has a slightly updated branch too:

Main: http://www.michaelfogleman.com/craft/
Branch: https://github.com/DanielOaks/Craft
Methods & Links: http://0fps.net/2013/07/03/ambient-occl ... ke-worlds/ (even the comments are very informative!)

If the code itself might not help, at least some of the methods used might help? It's pretty efficient online, and renders smoothly, but it might be because of no moving parts (no liquids even). I haven't tested it with more people online because there's no one around.

User avatar
Zombie471
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 13:20
In-game: Zombie471

Re: The game is too poorly optimized.

by Zombie471 » Post

Calinou wrote:Minetest is mostly CPU bound and single-threaded, which means it doesn't like AMD CPUs very much.

Optimization is very tricky, it's more than just flipping compiler switches around.

I suggest you tweak your minetest.conf settings, most notably, use a fixed viewing range:

Code: Select all

viewing_range_nodes_min = 120
viewing_range_nodes_max = 120

I forgot to tell you if it worked or not, but it only brought it up to 60fps. It's an improvement, but a small one. Still makes no sense to me, this PC gets 600fps while that other one I mentioned gets 10. and then Minetest comes around and gets 50fps on this and 40 on the other, which makes no sense. Oh well, at least I have 60.

User avatar
Zombie471
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 13:20
In-game: Zombie471

Re: The game is too poorly optimized.

by Zombie471 » Post

MajorLunaC wrote:Would a model of a more optimized open-source minecraft clone help? I hope it can because it's not very appealing to still have giant gaps in the map, and end up warping and jittering around. It's a clone called "Craft" (which is why no one's ever heard of it, and ended up mostly un-updated -_-' ), and has a slightly updated branch too:

Main: http://www.michaelfogleman.com/craft/
Branch: https://github.com/DanielOaks/Craft
Methods & Links: http://0fps.net/2013/07/03/ambient-occl ... ke-worlds/ (even the comments are very informative!)

If the code itself might not help, at least some of the methods used might help? It's pretty efficient online, and renders smoothly, but it might be because of no moving parts (no liquids even). I haven't tested it with more people online because there's no one around.

Dang, that game got me 1,000 fps. The game isn't very good though. and the FOV sucks.

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6972
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: The game is too poorly optimized.

by rubenwardy » Post

Zombie471 wrote:
Calinou wrote:Minetest is mostly CPU bound and single-threaded, which means it doesn't like AMD CPUs very much.

Optimization is very tricky, it's more than just flipping compiler switches around.

I suggest you tweak your minetest.conf settings, most notably, use a fixed viewing range:

Code: Select all

viewing_range_nodes_min = 120
viewing_range_nodes_max = 120

I forgot to tell you if it worked or not, but it only brought it up to 60fps. It's an improvement, but a small one. Still makes no sense to me, this PC gets 600fps while that other one I mentioned gets 10. and then Minetest comes around and gets 50fps on this and 40 on the other, which makes no sense. Oh well, at least I have 60.
The game is capped at 60fps. To remove the cap, change fps_Max to zero in your minetest.conf
Renewed Tab (my browser add-on) | Donate | Mods | Minetest Modding Book

Hello profile reader

User avatar
Fixer
Member
Posts: 904
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer
Location: Ukraine

Re: The game is too poorly optimized.

by Fixer » Post

MajorLunaC wrote: Main: http://www.michaelfogleman.com/craft/
Branch: https://github.com/DanielOaks/Craft
Methods & Links: http://0fps.net/2013/07/03/ambient-occl ... ke-worlds/ (even the comments are very informative!)
I do have issues with MT performance myself on pretty good PC, something need to be done. But right now I just want to point out that this Craft game is very basic... but damn it looks so nice even with simple mapgen, and performance is just flawless with far view available. Sunset/sunrise is awesome here. Wish we have that in MT.

User avatar
benrob0329
Member
Posts: 1341
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 22:39
GitHub: Benrob0329
IRC: benrob0329
In-game: benrob03
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: The game is too poorly optimized.

by benrob0329 » Post

I have found that setting the expected FPS and max FPS yields MUCH better FPS than without setting it.

User avatar
Fixer
Member
Posts: 904
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer
Location: Ukraine

Re: The game is too poorly optimized.

by Fixer » Post

Default setting is 65fps limit and rendering policy toward larger range of view with fps down to 35-45 iirc.

User avatar
Gael de Sailly
Member
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 17:01
GitHub: gaelysam
IRC: Gael-de-Sailly
In-game: Gael-de-Sailly gaelysam
Location: Voiron, France

Re: The game is too poorly optimized.

by Gael de Sailly » Post

The human eye can see around 60 fps. Having more fps theoretically changes nothing. Is the game really unplayable with 60 fps ?
Just realize how bored we would be if the world was perfect.

Dragonop
Member
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:59
GitHub: Dragonop
IRC: Dragonop
In-game: Dragonop
Location: Argentina

Re: The game is too poorly optimized.

by Dragonop » Post

Gael de Sailly wrote:The human eye can see around 60 fps. Having more fps theoretically changes nothing. Is the game really unplayable with 60 fps ?
This is wrong. It's a mith.

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4649
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: The game is too poorly optimized.

by Krock » Post

Gael de Sailly wrote:The human eye can see around 60 fps. Having more fps theoretically changes nothing. Is the game really unplayable with 60 fps ?
If it's wrongly adjusted, the screen refresh rate could "eat" some frames. However, this is acceptable and still fine. The game starts being unplayable when the frame rate starts to fall and rise (wiggle).
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6972
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: The game is too poorly optimized.

by rubenwardy » Post

Dragonop wrote:
Gael de Sailly wrote:The human eye can see around 60 fps. Having more fps theoretically changes nothing. Is the game really unplayable with 60 fps ?
This is wrong. It's a mith.
However most screens can only refresh at 60 fps.

I can't find any citations about the speed of the eye, one would be good.
Renewed Tab (my browser add-on) | Donate | Mods | Minetest Modding Book

Hello profile reader

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot] and 7 guests