Post your mod requests/ideas here

Dragonop
Member
 
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:59
Location: Argentina
GitHub: Dragonop
IRC: Dragonop
In-game: Dragonop

Re: Post your mod requests/ideas here

by Dragonop » Sun Nov 29, 2015 13:52

Sorry, wrong word, not sure how to explain with my english skills; fixing the camera angle to be in 3rd person view and point from a high spot (10-20 blocks) to the player (in diagonal, that why I posted "isometric view"), but making the player model point in a fixed direction, and making it rotate with some keys (you can't move the camera). This is not something thet "enables" building (not in a conventional way, unless you work in some method for it), but for making little games or other stuff like that.
 

amadin
Member
 
Posts: 544
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 16:23

Teleport to the bed if you slept on it

by amadin » Wed Dec 02, 2015 17:34

I need mod which teleport player to the bed (to this bed viewtopic.php?f=18&t=11304&hilit=beds and/or to this viewtopic.php?f=11&t=2625) if player slept on it. To teleport you can use chat command, for example "/home" or button in inventory (inventory_plus and unified_inventory mods). If player never slept on bed he will be teleported to the static spawnpoint.

Instead, I will place under all my posts a link to your mod.
Last edited by amadin on Thu Dec 03, 2015 12:48, edited 4 times in total.
 

sact
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2015 11:01

Re: Post your mod requests/ideas here

by sact » Thu Dec 03, 2015 11:31

Would adding a support for compressed mods be possible, .zip, .tar.gz? That would smoothen the end user-experience.
 

bark
Member
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 13:25
In-game: bark

Re: Post your mod requests/ideas here

by bark » Thu Dec 03, 2015 11:59

I want to make/see created a mod that adds a "treasure-chest" that can only be emptied once per player.

When placed, the chest must be configured with which items it is to contain. Once configured, the chest can be opened and emptied by any player, but only once per player.

Can someone can point me in a direction as to how I can achieve this?
 

User avatar
kaeza
Moderator
 
Posts: 2162
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 05:00
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
GitHub: kaeza
IRC: kaeza diemartin blaaaaargh
In-game: kaeza

Re: Post your mod requests/ideas here

by kaeza » Fri Dec 04, 2015 01:12

One way is modifying the default locked chests, removing the owner checks for inventory withdrawals, effectively making it take-only for everyone except the owner who can put/take items at leisure.

The `bones` mod also has code to "remove" the inventory formspec once the "chest" is empty. Take a look at it.
Your signature is not the place for a blog post. Please keep it as concise as possible. Thank you!

Check out my stuff! | Donations greatly appreciated! PayPal
 

bark
Member
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 13:25
In-game: bark

Re: Post your mod requests/ideas here

by bark » Fri Dec 04, 2015 11:37

Thanks, that is great advice! Will post back here when I have something.
 

User avatar
Glorfindel
Member
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 20:05
GitHub: the1glorfindel
IRC: Glorfindel DoomWeaver
In-game: Glorfindel

Re: Post your mod requests/ideas here

by Glorfindel » Fri Dec 04, 2015 16:26

bark wrote:I want to make/see created a mod that adds a "treasure-chest" that can only be emptied once per player.

When placed, the chest must be configured with which items it is to contain. Once configured, the chest can be opened and emptied by any player, but only once per player.

Can someone can point me in a direction as to how I can achieve this?

+1 for this idea, then you could have a long journey, following clues, to a chest that can't be emptied by the first player to find it :D
 

User avatar
Don
Member
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: Post your mod requests/ideas here

by Don » Fri Dec 04, 2015 17:34

bark wrote:I want to make/see created a mod that adds a "treasure-chest" that can only be emptied once per player.

When placed, the chest must be configured with which items it is to contain. Once configured, the chest can be opened and emptied by any player, but only once per player.

Can someone can point me in a direction as to how I can achieve this?

Not sure if this helps but you could modify myitemchest to work the way you want it to.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=13375
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here
 

Girl123
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 11:56
IRC: Girl123
In-game: Girl123 Anya-J

Re: Post your mod requests/ideas here

by Girl123 » Sun Dec 06, 2015 09:30

I don't know if this was said before, but could it be able to make a duplication chest? Like the Chicken Chest in MC. You put an item in and it clones it.
 

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2719
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

Re: Post your mod requests/ideas here

by Hybrid Dog » Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:12

Girl123 wrote:I don't know if this was said before, but could it be able to make a duplication chest? Like the Chicken Chest in MC. You put an item in and it clones it.

you can already clone every node using that green clone block which you can find at nyanland

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪
 

User avatar
thefamilygrog66
Member
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 19:08
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Post your mod requests/ideas here

by thefamilygrog66 » Tue Dec 08, 2015 17:33

bark wrote:I want to make/see created a mod that adds a "treasure-chest" that can only be emptied once per player.

When placed, the chest must be configured with which items it is to contain. Once configured, the chest can be opened and emptied by any player, but only once per player.

Can someone can point me in a direction as to how I can achieve this?


Done!
I'll be uploading the code to github shortly...


Image
 

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
 
Posts: 924
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
Location: Bigsby Texas
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21

Re: Post your mod requests/ideas here

by Nathan.S » Wed Dec 09, 2015 21:37

Sorry wrong topic
Is it possible to create a craft that yields something that already has damage. I'm trying to add boiling water to the thirsty mod and want the canteen to loose water when it gets cooked, I know I can spawn things with damage, and initial_give can do damaged objects, but I can't seem to find a way to make a craft recipe that makes something with damage. I'll be cooking if it makes any difference.
Last edited by Nathan.S on Thu Dec 10, 2015 03:54, edited 2 times in total.
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website, and brand new Minetest Modding Course
 

Amaz
Member
 
Posts: 348
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 08:26
GitHub: Amaz1
IRC: Amaz
In-game: Amaz

Re: Post your mod requests/ideas here

by Amaz » Thu Dec 10, 2015 00:36

Nathan.S wrote:Is it possible to create a craft that yields something that already has damage. I'm trying to add boiling water to the thirsty mod and want the canteen to loose water when it gets cooked, I know I can spawn things with damage, and initial_give can do damaged objects, but I can't seem to find a way to make a craft recipe that makes something with damage. I'll be cooking if it makes any difference.


You could try using register_on_craft with set_wear. https://github.com/minetest/minetest/bl ... 1881-L1886 & https://github.com/minetest/minetest/bl ... .txt#L2724

(I presume this is what you mean by damage...)
 

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
 
Posts: 924
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
Location: Bigsby Texas
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21

Re: Post your mod requests/ideas here

by Nathan.S » Thu Dec 10, 2015 03:55

Amaz, I'll have to try that out, thanks.
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website, and brand new Minetest Modding Course
 

Amaz
Member
 
Posts: 348
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 08:26
GitHub: Amaz1
IRC: Amaz
In-game: Amaz

Re: Post your mod requests/ideas here

by Amaz » Thu Dec 10, 2015 09:50

I don't know if you got anywhere with it, but I quickly threw this together this morning and it seems to work!
Code: Select all
minetest.register_on_craft(function(itemstack)
    if itemstack:get_name() == "default:pick_mese" then
        itemstack:set_wear(25000)
        return itemstack
    end
end)
 

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
 
Posts: 924
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
Location: Bigsby Texas
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21

Re: Post your mod requests/ideas here

by Nathan.S » Thu Dec 10, 2015 13:44

My last post I made shortly before going to bed, and I just got up, so I didn't have a chance to try anything out, but I certainly will now. :)

Update:
Well it works as expected when crafting, but cooking things doesn't seem to trigger this. >.<
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website, and brand new Minetest Modding Course
 

User avatar
thefamilygrog66
Member
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 19:08
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Post your mod requests/ideas here

by thefamilygrog66 » Thu Dec 10, 2015 14:27

Nathan.S wrote:My last post I made shortly before going to bed, and I just got up, so I didn't have a chance to try anything out, but I certainly will now. :)

Update:
Well it works as expected when crafting, but cooking things doesn't seem to trigger this. >.<


From the minetest.register_on_craft page (http://dev.minetest.net/minetest.register_on_craft):

IT DOESN'T WORK FOR FURNACE COOKING RECIPES!
 

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
 
Posts: 924
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
Location: Bigsby Texas
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21

Re: Post your mod requests/ideas here

by Nathan.S » Thu Dec 10, 2015 14:29

Hmm, somehow I missed that page. :S

I guess I could always make a new machine that would be used for purifying water, as I can easily set wear on the canteens with such a system.
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website, and brand new Minetest Modding Course
 

bark
Member
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 13:25
In-game: bark

Re: Post your mod requests/ideas here

by bark » Thu Dec 10, 2015 21:13

Idea: Landscaping tool / brush tool
The tool creates a sphere (of chosen node) at the center of the node the tool-holding player is pointing at while clicking.

The size of the spheres should be adjustable in size. The nodes should be easy to change (perhaps a GUI?).

Imagine the possibilities!

Image
Last edited by bark on Fri Dec 11, 2015 20:08, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Glorfindel
Member
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 20:05
GitHub: the1glorfindel
IRC: Glorfindel DoomWeaver
In-game: Glorfindel
 

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2719
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

Re: Post your mod requests/ideas here

by Hybrid Dog » Fri Dec 11, 2015 17:16

try my rocket launcher
https://github.com/HybridDog/nuke

l use it for building, recently l switched to perlin noise holes.
Take care, it's fullautomatic, i.e. if you hold left click, you shoot a volley of rockets.

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪
 

bark
Member
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 13:25
In-game: bark

Re: Post your mod requests/ideas here

by bark » Fri Dec 11, 2015 20:04

That sounds like a nice approach! But your mod seems to have old and broken / unavailable dependencies. I can't get it to work.
 

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2719
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

Re: Post your mod requests/ideas here

by Hybrid Dog » Fri Dec 11, 2015 20:32

bark wrote:That sounds like a nice approach! But your mod seems to have old and broken / unavailable dependencies. I can't get it to work.

The dependencies aren't old and broken, you can get them there:
https://github.com/HybridDog/moss
https://github.com/HybridDog/vector_extras

Please tell me if they don't work.
l need to fix the forum topics when l have time.

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪
 

bark
Member
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 13:25
In-game: bark

Re: Post your mod requests/ideas here

by bark » Sat Dec 12, 2015 11:01

Ah, there they are! It works like a charm, and functionality is very close to my suggestion above. I will definitely use this for now.

I didn't find the dependencies because of the links in the readme-files, and didn't bother to look further because of the commentaries in the forum threads.

Thanks, Hybrid Dog!
 

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2719
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

Re: Post your mod requests/ideas here

by Hybrid Dog » Sat Dec 12, 2015 11:55

l btw also edited Sokomine's replacer mod, you can replace a "field of nodes" at once.
https://github.com/HybridDog/replacer
it's unfinished, e.g. no protection tests yet

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪
 

PreviousNext

Return to Modding Discussion



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests