[Question] Why Minetest is so laggy in windows?

Post Reply
User avatar
MineYoshi
Member
Posts: 5373
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 13:20
Contact:

[Question] Why Minetest is so laggy in windows?

by MineYoshi » Post

I don't know why the new MT Version (0.4.13.) is so laggy, don't haves more than 15 or 20 fps , i don't know how to make it faster, do you have any tricks or advices i can do?
I am bored and tired of only can use the 0.4.12 version what i can do?

If you need the requeriments:

Processor AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4600+
Manufacturer AMD
Speed 2.4 GHz
Number of Cores 2
CPU ID 178BFBFF00060FB2
Family 0F
Model 6B
Stepping 2
Revision
Video Card NVIDIA GeForce 7025 / NVIDIA nForce 630a (Microsoft Corporation - WDDM)
Manufacturer NVIDIA
Chipset GeForce 7025 / nForce 630a
Dedicated Memory 250.0 MB
Total Memory 889.6 MB
Pixel Shader Version 3.0
Vertex Shader Version 3.0
Hardware T & L Yes
Vendor ID 10DE
Device ID 03D6
Plug and Play ID VEN_10DE&DEV_03D6&SUBSYS_03D61849&REV_A2
Driver Version 8.15.11.8593
Memory 2.0 GB
Operating System Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate Edition Service Pack 1 (build 7601), 64-bit
Service Pack 1
Size 64 Bit
Edition Ultimate
Version 6.1.7601
Locale 0C0A
BIOS
Version American Megatrends Inc. P1.10
Manufacturer
Date 03/09/09
Display Maximum Resolution 1360 x 768
Sound Device 1 Dispositivo de High Definition Audio
Driver Version 6.1.7601.17514
Sound Device 2 JieLi AC46
Driver Version 6.1.7601.18208
DVD TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S223F SCSI CdRom Device
CD TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S223F SCSI CdRom Device
Drive 1
Size 149.4 GB
Free 100.6 GB
Drive 2
Size 148.3 GB
Free 40.9 GB
Drive 3
Size 350.0 MB
Free 86.1 MB
Browsers
Internet Explorer 11.0.9600.18204
Chrome 0.0
Firefox 44.0
Safari
Software
Java
Flash 20.0.0.306
DirectX 11.0
.NET 3.5.30729.5420
QuickTime
Adobe PDF Reader
Oi

User avatar
Kevin Tee
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2015 04:00
Location: Thailand

Re: [Question] Why Minetest is so laggy in windows?

by Kevin Tee » Post

What is your mt config?

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6374
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [Question] Why Minetest is so laggy in windows?

by rubenwardy » Post

By lag do you mean low fps?

The development version has multiple performance improvements, you can pick up a version from the builds section of the forum

User avatar
MineYoshi
Member
Posts: 5373
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 13:20
Contact:

Re: [Question] Why Minetest is so laggy in windows?

by MineYoshi » Post

I tried all but everyone have low fps!
;-;
Oi

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2930
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Question] Why Minetest is so laggy in windows?

by TenPlus1 » Post

Have you tried switching Shaders OFF and setting Debug Log to none ?

User avatar
addi
Member
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
GitHub: adrido
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

Re: [Question] Why Minetest is so laggy in windows?

by addi » Post

Try switching to Direct3d (DirectX 9). This helped much on my PC. Sadly sfan5's builds does not support it, so you have to use Krock's or my Installer build.
But Krock does not provide native x64 builds so I would recommend you to try my installer.
If you don't want a indev build, you can use Dark's stable build. This had the best performance on my PC.

User avatar
MineYoshi
Member
Posts: 5373
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 13:20
Contact:

Re: [Question] Why Minetest is so laggy in windows?

by MineYoshi » Post

I tried all the recommended version and it's the same there are low fps!
I tried your version addi

i download the installer and doesn't work , only says that needs admin privileges i say yes, and keep there, don't do nothing don't appear anything!
Oi

User avatar
addi
Member
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
GitHub: adrido
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

Re: [Question] Why Minetest is so laggy in windows?

by addi » Post

Thanks for testing and thanks for your feedback.

I need additional informations first.
Please open Explorer and navigate to your downloads folder (where you downloaded the MinetestSetup.exe)
Press and hold down [SHIFT] while right clicking an empty space in the folder.
Click now "Open command prompt here" (or similar) type "minetestsetup /log=log.txt" [ENTER]
Image
Then it should generate a log.txt file in the downloads folder. Please sent me the contents.
If there is no log file after confirming the UAC with yes, Setup may be blocked by an anti virus or it does not have administrative rights.
Attachments
cmd.PNG
(6.74 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
MineYoshi
Member
Posts: 5373
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 13:20
Contact:

Re: [Question] Why Minetest is so laggy in windows?

by MineYoshi » Post

You are right addis, the antivirus blocked the file,

anyways there is a trouble:

Runtime Error (at 29:206):

Error Interno: ExtractTemporaryFile: The file "" was not found.


I tried downloading the installer again, and the same error!
Oi

Sick-D!!
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 15:36
GitHub: Sick-D
IRC: Sick-D
In-game: Sick-D

Re: [Question] Why Minetest is so laggy in windows?

by Sick-D!! » Post

I don't use Windows anymore, because of Problems like that.
Do you have the same Problems with other Games/Programs?

Are your drivers Up-to-date?
Is your "Microsoft-thing" up-to-date?

What about a dualboot with Linux? Or a Linux in Virtualbox? (just asking xD)
Some Videos in German?
https://www.youtube.com/user/SickDDubstep
Or Livestreams?
http://www.twitch.tv/sick_d

Bye bye ;)

User avatar
MineYoshi
Member
Posts: 5373
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 13:20
Contact:

Re: [Question] Why Minetest is so laggy in windows?

by MineYoshi » Post

In really i know that about M$ Windows, so i have Slacko puppy linux64 in dualboot, i only say that because some friends that only keep in windows, because they don't want his computer get an error!

But anyways, i have a trouble in the resolution in slacko, so i use Windows instead sometimes...
Oi

User avatar
AiTechEye
Member
Posts: 892
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 21:14
GitHub: AiTechEye
Location: ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Re: [Question] Why Minetest is so laggy in windows?

by AiTechEye » Post

Memory 2.0 GB

that could be the problem, because minetest is using much memory, and its a common problem in windows, when playing games.

minetest normaly takes about 900mb ram, and your system maybe 1000mb.

you can see more if you press: ctrl+shift+esc

try to add this to the conf file
(it will clear unused stuff when it's not used for x seconds )

server_unload_unused_data_timeout = 1500
client_unload_unused_data_timeout = 600
Last edited by AiTechEye on Wed Mar 16, 2016 21:39, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
MineYoshi
Member
Posts: 5373
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 13:20
Contact:

Re: [Question] Why Minetest is so laggy in windows?

by MineYoshi » Post

It don't works ;_;
Oi

User avatar
AiTechEye
Member
Posts: 892
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 21:14
GitHub: AiTechEye
Location: ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Re: [Question] Why Minetest is so laggy in windows?

by AiTechEye » Post

try to use ctrl+shift+esc and you will see whats is going on your computer.

if it is using much cache you need to use the "disc cleanup" it wil just remove unused / tempoary files, and clear the old backups... (the backups in windows 7 or older is huge)

User avatar
MineYoshi
Member
Posts: 5373
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 13:20
Contact:

Re: [Question] Why Minetest is so laggy in windows?

by MineYoshi » Post

Only 254 Mb of Ram....


The processor my computer is old!

(More or less 6 years...)
Oi

User avatar
AiTechEye
Member
Posts: 892
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 21:14
GitHub: AiTechEye
Location: ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Re: [Question] Why Minetest is so laggy in windows?

by AiTechEye » Post

that says all, but you can still add this to the conf file (better then nothing)
it will clear unused data every minute

server_unload_unused_data_timeout = 60
client_unload_unused_data_timeout = 60

User avatar
MineYoshi
Member
Posts: 5373
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 13:20
Contact:

Re: [Question] Why Minetest is so laggy in windows?

by MineYoshi » Post

I used that don't works ;_;
Oi

snowflake
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 16:50

Re: [Question] Why Minetest is so laggy in windows?

by snowflake » Post

if your laggy in game , disable full range veiw , u got lot of application in your computer , u may need to unistall some ...

User avatar
MineYoshi
Member
Posts: 5373
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 13:20
Contact:

Re: [Question] Why Minetest is so laggy in windows?

by MineYoshi » Post

....


i don't have view full range, i limited with minetest.conf the view to 15 nodes, still laggy, not so many processes, still laggy!

Simple i fuck this shit i will wait for 0.4.14

the 0.4.13 is very laggy!
Oi

snowflake
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 16:50

Re: [Question] Why Minetest is so laggy in windows?

by snowflake » Post

Did u try uninstalling some of your application??

or try installing some more video drives in windows

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4577
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Question] Why Minetest is so laggy in windows?

by Krock » Post

Here some additions from my side:

Reducing RAM usage
1) Use a low-resolution texture pack: lower = better
2) Disable mods with background music and heavy mesh files, it's all loaded to RAM
3) Disable "Mesh cache" (default setting)

Increasing FPS
1*) Use a recent in-dev build from the "Builds" forum. The VBO commit gives a FPS boost
2) Check for a newer video card driver, make sure it's actually the correct one
3) Add an exception in your antivirus for minetest.exe
4) Check all rendering backends (setting "Video driver") and see what's the fastest one
5) Disable (3D) clouds
6) Disable "Smooth lighting"
7) Disable "Freetype fonts"
8) Disable your computer
Last edited by Krock on Thu Apr 14, 2016 21:33, edited 1 time in total.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
MineYoshi
Member
Posts: 5373
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 13:20
Contact:

Re: [Question] Why Minetest is so laggy in windows?

by MineYoshi » Post

Krock wrote:Here some additions from my side:

Reducing RAM usage
1) Use a low-resolution texture pack: lower = better
2) Disable mods with background music and heavy mesh files, it's all loaded to RAM
3) Disable "Mesh cache" (default setting)

Increasing FPS
1) Check for a newer video card driver, make sure it's actually the correct one
2) Add an exception in your antivirus for minetest.exe
3) Check all rendering backends (setting "Video driver") and see what's the fastest one
4) Disable (3D) clouds
5) Disable "Smooth lighting"
6) Disable "Freetype fonts"
7) Disable your computer
ok tried the thing of the resolution, my minetest is very vanilla!
i don't have mods and i disable "Mesh Cache"

I don't found any new video card driver!

I added the exception in antivirus!
i did the steps to 4 to 6

i only need to "disable my computer"
and check rendering backends (i tried mostly but maybe a find a good one!)
Oi

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests