Local server?

Post Reply
Aoifa
New member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 06:22
In-game: Aoifa

Local server?

by Aoifa » Post

So at my school i want to run a simple local server on the wifi minetest is installed the computers are connected by wifi and cable. I want to know how to make a server without port fowarding there is aready one but i want one that i can control to start it up the teacher clicked something like minetestserverstart.bat any ideas on how to do this?
Thanks!

snowflake
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 16:50

Re: Local server?

by snowflake » Post

your teacher did port forward and started the server with that file..

u could use software to host but it wont work in local , it works with friends

if other people install the software and add u , a server will be created but not a local one..

there is only 2 ways to get a local server
- u port forward it
- ask someone to host it

iZacZip
Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 10:37

Re: Local server?

by iZacZip » Post

Hello...
A suggestion:
For a very basic MineTest server you can use minetesthosting.com as some people have posted in the Server topic...
It has everything you wanted:
- no port forwarding involved
- local and basic server
- easy to take care of

And it all starts by signing in, creating a world, selecting the no-pay basic plan, etc...
Ignore my old posts.

Aoifa
New member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 06:22
In-game: Aoifa

Re: Local server?

by Aoifa » Post

snowflake wrote:your teacher did port forward and started the server with that file..

u could use software to host but it wont work in local , it works with friends

if other people install the software and add u , a server will be created but not a local one..

there is only 2 ways to get a local server
- u port forward it
- ask someone to host it
So could i copy the file to my server also i want it to be a Lan server so just people on the wifi can get on

Aoifa
New member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 06:22
In-game: Aoifa

Re: Local server?

by Aoifa » Post

snowflake wrote:your teacher did port forward and started the server with that file..

u could use software to host but it wont work in local , it works with friends

if other people install the software and add u , a server will be created but not a local one..

there is only 2 ways to get a local server
- u port forward it
- ask someone to host it
So could i port foward then?

BBmine
Member
Posts: 3475
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 22:51
GitHub: BBmine
IRC: BBmine
In-game: Baggins
Location: USA

Re: Local server?

by BBmine » Post

Is it Windows or Linux?

In Linux do

minetest --server worldname

Aoifa
New member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 06:22
In-game: Aoifa

Re: Local server?

by Aoifa » Post

BBmine wrote:Is it Windows or Linux?

In Linux do

minetest --server worldname
windows

snowflake
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 16:50

Re: Local server?

by snowflake » Post

Aoifa wrote:
snowflake wrote:your teacher did port forward and started the server with that file..

u could use software to host but it wont work in local , it works with friends

if other people install the software and add u , a server will be created but not a local one..

there is only 2 ways to get a local server
- u port forward it
- ask someone to host it
So could i port foward then?
yeah u need to port forward to get local server...

Aoifa
New member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 06:22
In-game: Aoifa

Re: Local server?

by Aoifa » Post

snowflake wrote:
Aoifa wrote:
snowflake wrote:your teacher did port forward and started the server with that file..

u could use software to host but it wont work in local , it works with friends

if other people install the software and add u , a server will be created but not a local one..

there is only 2 ways to get a local server
- u port forward it
- ask someone to host it
So could i port foward then?
yeah u need to port forward to get local server...
Could you please explain how i would set it up like include where on the computer i need to go please?

snowflake
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 16:50

Re: Local server?

by snowflake » Post

I got 2 options -
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
there is a service for minetesthosting.com

-u could get a server without any mods and only 5 people to join for free in that website service , u dont need to port forward to get local server but however there is some offers u could do.. , if u pay $40 a month , u can get mod , no lag etc.. more people

here - http://www.minetesthosting.com/
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
- to port forward and make your own server
instructions are here -

, i got 2 guide just so u if u can't understand

- viewtopic.php?id=8924
- viewtopic.php?id=1037

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Amaz
Member
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 08:26
GitHub: Amaz1
IRC: Amaz
In-game: Amaz

Re: Local server?

by Amaz » Post

If all of the computers are on the same network, there should be no need to portforward. Just connect to the ip (The network one, I think starting with 192, not the global one. My terminology here is probably inaccurate!)/hostname of whichever computer is running the server, and everything should work. Should be as simple as that!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest