Post your modding questions here

User avatar
D00Med
Member
Posts: 949
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
GitHub: D00Med
Location: Australia...somewhere

Re: Post your modding questions here

by D00Med » Post

@ABJ: That would really be great :D
@Killerz: You can use textures from other peoples mods, as long as you include the license and give credit, (and anything else specified by the license). For example, if I was to use the default_stone.png texture from minetest_game you would have to include this in the license.txt or readme: "default_stone.png from Cisoun's WTFPL texture pack", and also include a copy of the WTFPL license .
You can also make them yourself. Paint is ok, but it's a lot easier with more advanced programs like GIMP or GFIE.

There is a list of groups here: http://dev.minetest.net/Groups
And you can make your own groups, just by adding them to the list of groups for a node. For example, in my witchcraft mod, I added the potions group just by making potions belong to the group potions=1
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242

Killerz
Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 15:08
In-game: Killerz
Location: On the face of the earth xD

Re: Post your modding questions here

by Killerz » Post

D00Med wrote:@ABJ: That would really be great :D
@Killerz: You can use textures from other peoples mods, as long as you include the license and give credit, (and anything else specified by the license). For example, if I was to use the default_stone.png texture from minetest_game you would have to include this in the license.txt or readme: "default_stone.png from Cisoun's WTFPL texture pack", and also include a copy of the WTFPL license .
You can also make them yourself. Paint is ok, but it's a lot easier with more advanced programs like GIMP or GFIE.

There is a list of groups here: http://dev.minetest.net/Groups
And you can make your own groups, just by adding them to the list of groups for a node. For example, in my witchcraft mod, I added the potions group just by making potions belong to the group potions=1
Thanks alot,i will take a look at the groups now....
EDM For the win!

Vassy - Secrets = LIFE

Killerz
Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 15:08
In-game: Killerz
Location: On the face of the earth xD

Re: Post your modding questions here

by Killerz » Post

D00Med wrote:@ABJ: That would really be great :D
@Killerz: You can use textures from other peoples mods, as long as you include the license and give credit, (and anything else specified by the license). For example, if I was to use the default_stone.png texture from minetest_game you would have to include this in the license.txt or readme: "default_stone.png from Cisoun's WTFPL texture pack", and also include a copy of the WTFPL license .
You can also make them yourself. Paint is ok, but it's a lot easier with more advanced programs like GIMP or GFIE.

There is a list of groups here: http://dev.minetest.net/Groups
And you can make your own groups, just by adding them to the list of groups for a node. For example, in my witchcraft mod, I added the potions group just by making potions belong to the group potions=1
Thanks alot,i will take a look at the groups now....
EDM For the win!

Vassy - Secrets = LIFE

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
Posts: 1082
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
GitHub: BrunoMine
Location: SP-Brasil
Contact:

Re: Post your modding questions here

by BrunoMine » Post

Is there any way to modify the sky minetest?
I want to start a project to create rain, snow, etc. I know mo weather but I want to create a lighter mod to a server.
If they know mods that change the appearance of the sky, let me know.

User avatar
D00Med
Member
Posts: 949
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
GitHub: D00Med
Location: Australia...somewhere

Re: Post your modding questions here

by D00Med » Post

You can use "player:set_sky({color}, "plain", {})" to change the color, or "player:set_sky({}, "skybox", {textures})" to make the sky out of textures, and finally you can use "player:set_sky({}, "regular", {})" to return the sky to normal.
mods that change the sky:
Xerenas'(hope that's spelt right) weather_pack changes the sky during rain and storms.
skybox extended by emperor_genshin changes the sky when the player is in "space"(really high).
glaxybox(don't know the author) changes the sky to stars and galaxies.
marssurvive by UjEdwin also changes the sky when the player is in space.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
Posts: 1082
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
GitHub: BrunoMine
Location: SP-Brasil
Contact:

Re: Post your modding questions here

by BrunoMine » Post

Thanks. This will help a lot. (I have difficulties to find this forum because I do not speak in English)

User avatar
D00Med
Member
Posts: 949
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
GitHub: D00Med
Location: Australia...somewhere

Re: Post your modding questions here

by D00Med » Post

you're welcome
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242

User avatar
ynong123
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 13:24
GitHub: ynong123
IRC: ynong123
In-game: ynong123
Location: Malaysia

Re: Post your modding questions here

by ynong123 » Post

How to read password that hashed with minetest.get_password_hash() ?
Take a look of my mods:
Password Chest
Color Decoration Block
Trapplus

Forgive me for my bad English.

Byakuren
Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 01:59
GitHub: raymoo
IRC: Hijiri
In-game: Raymoo + Clownpiece

Re: Post your modding questions here

by Byakuren » Post

ynong123 wrote:How to read password that hashed with minetest.get_password_hash() ?
You can't, hashes are one-way
Every time a mod API is left undocumented, a koala dies.

Killerz
Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 15:08
In-game: Killerz
Location: On the face of the earth xD

Re: Post your modding questions here

by Killerz » Post

Another nooby question but......How do licences work?
EDM For the win!

Vassy - Secrets = LIFE

ABJ
Member
Posts: 3015
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 13:02
GitHub: ABJ-MV
In-game: ABJ
Location: In Earth orbit, with a perigee of 1048 km and an apogee of 1337 km and an inclination of 69 degrees.

Re: Post your modding questions here

by ABJ » Post

Licences are ((usually) one-way!) agreements that give and (usually -_-) take from the user of a product certain permissions about it's usage. For example can you copy this software, disassemble it, modify it. etc. You can make a "licence" however you want as long as the law allows. The names - CC-BY-SA or all those other named licences are prepackaged sets of conditions. An author can easily choose from a different set of licence options this way; each licence offers specific conditions suited for different kinds of common author licencing conditions configurations (do I want my user to be restricted on use. do I want my user to be free, etc) and prepackage for you all the legalese that would be needed to make the condition valid with the laws take legal action against a user for violating these terms. Otherwise, in custom licence, you have to write all of it yourself. Or simply write Licence = WTFPL (Whatever the f*** people want).
Just my knowledge from the few years.......also some bits which I know exist are missing here, but I'm too bad at explaining to include them, somebody help
Ask me twice if need be.

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3169
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: Post your modding questions here

by Calinou » Post

Killerz wrote:Another nooby question but......How do licences work?
There's a nice site which describes common open source licenses here.

Killerz
Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 15:08
In-game: Killerz
Location: On the face of the earth xD

Re: Post your modding questions here

by Killerz » Post

Thanks ABJ and Calinou
Also,1 last question,How do you get meshes from, blender?
EDM For the win!

Vassy - Secrets = LIFE

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: Post your modding questions here

by burli » Post

You need an exporter plugin for the b3d format. But I'm not sure that any exporter works. I tried this week to export a sheep model, but it doesn't work

User avatar
Onyx
Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 08:36
In-game: Onyx
Location: On your planet

Re: Post your modding questions here

by Onyx » Post

If the question is: How to use Blender to create 3D objects?
Here's a wiki page: https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Blender_3 ... h_Modeling
"One chunk, two chunks, three chunks..."

ABJ
Member
Posts: 3015
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 13:02
GitHub: ABJ-MV
In-game: ABJ
Location: In Earth orbit, with a perigee of 1048 km and an apogee of 1337 km and an inclination of 69 degrees.

Re: Post your modding questions here

by ABJ » Post

He probably means how to add blender meshes to Minetest mods.

EDIT: Whoops, burli!

Killerz
Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 15:08
In-game: Killerz
Location: On the face of the earth xD

Re: Post your modding questions here

by Killerz » Post

Thanks Burli, onyx ,I meant how to add blender meshes

Edit:Sorry autocorrect
Last edited by Killerz on Mon Jul 18, 2016 01:16, edited 1 time in total.
EDM For the win!

Vassy - Secrets = LIFE

ABJ
Member
Posts: 3015
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 13:02
GitHub: ABJ-MV
In-game: ABJ
Location: In Earth orbit, with a perigee of 1048 km and an apogee of 1337 km and an inclination of 69 degrees.

Re: Post your modding questions here

by ABJ » Post

Burlingham?

User avatar
Casimir
Member
Posts: 1206
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 16:59
GitHub: CasimirKaPazi

Re: Post your modding questions here

by Casimir » Post

I wanted to create a mod "default_extra" to supplement the features of minetest_game that are missing in Voxelgarden. To define them the item names are of the form ":default:stone_with_gold". But then I get an error complaining that the original default mod should use the ":" prefix. What is wrong here?

"default_extra" depends on "default"

Code: Select all

2016-07-17 17:51:15: ERROR[Main]: ModError: Failed to load and run script from /home/../mods/vg_extra/default_extra/init.lua:
2016-07-17 17:51:15: ERROR[Main]: /home/../builtin/game/register.lua:62: Name default:stone does not follow naming conventions: "default_extra:" or ":" prefix required
2016-07-17 17:51:15: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2016-07-17 17:51:15: ERROR[Main]: 	[C]: in function 'error'
2016-07-17 17:51:15: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/../builtin/game/register.lua:62: in function 'check_modname_prefix'
2016-07-17 17:51:15: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/../builtin/game/register.lua:110: in function 'register_item'
2016-07-17 17:51:15: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/../builtin/game/register.lua:177: in function 'register_node'
2016-07-17 17:51:15: ERROR[Main]: 	...minetest/bin/../games/Voxelgarden/mods/default/nodes.lua:7: in main chunk
2016-07-17 17:51:15: ERROR[Main]: 	[C]: in function 'dofile'
2016-07-17 17:51:15: ERROR[Main]: 	...mes/minetest/bin/../mods/vg_extra/default_extra/init.lua:7: in main chunk

ABJ
Member
Posts: 3015
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 13:02
GitHub: ABJ-MV
In-game: ABJ
Location: In Earth orbit, with a perigee of 1048 km and an apogee of 1337 km and an inclination of 69 degrees.

Re: Post your modding questions here

by ABJ » Post

I'm making the assumption that you are trying to make Minetest register the node as a default: node. However, the ":" prefix is only for replacing existing nodes, not using other mods to register a non-present node as present in the mod. You can only use this prefix if you are already replacing an existing "default:stone_with_gold". So you'll just have to register it as a default_extra node.

Just my meagre knowledge and guesswork..

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6972
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Post your modding questions here

by rubenwardy » Post

ABJ wrote:However, the ":" prefix is only for replacing existing nodes, not using other mods to register a non-present node as present in the mod. You can only use this prefix if you are already replacing an existing "default:stone_with_gold".
Not true. The : prefix disables the name check, so you can use it to add a node called default:stone in a mod called default_extra
Renewed Tab (my browser add-on) | Donate | Mods | Minetest Modding Book

Hello profile reader

User avatar
Casimir
Member
Posts: 1206
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 16:59
GitHub: CasimirKaPazi

Re: Post your modding questions here

by Casimir » Post

-.- Stupid me. I hade a dofile... pointing to mod "default". Fixed now. Works now.

ABJ
Member
Posts: 3015
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 13:02
GitHub: ABJ-MV
In-game: ABJ
Location: In Earth orbit, with a perigee of 1048 km and an apogee of 1337 km and an inclination of 69 degrees.

Re: Post your modding questions here

by ABJ » Post

Wow nice.
I made another mistake.
I COULD HAVE LOOKED SO MATURE! :P XD

Nefario
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 12:15
GitHub: rhobariii
IRC: rhobariii
In-game: rhobariii

Re: Post your modding questions here

by Nefario » Post

Hello, I've ran into a problem with my new mod. See this screenshot here: http://i.imgur.com/7g6rYtE.png
As you can see, some squares are weirdly "highlighted". Here is my code:

Note:I removed the code from here since my issue is fixed.

Can anyone help?
Last edited by Nefario on Tue Jul 19, 2016 10:53, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
everamzah
Member
Posts: 490
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 00:47
GitHub: everamzah
IRC: everamzah
In-game: everamzah

Re: Post your modding questions here

by everamzah » Post

Perhaps try commenting out default.get_hotbar_bg(0,4.85), or maybe changing it to default.get_hotbar_bg(9,0).

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests