[Linux/Flatpak] Flatpak builds (now on flathub)

Post Reply
est31
Developer
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 01:49

[Linux/Flatpak] Flatpak builds (now on flathub)

by est31 » Post

Note: Flathub hosts an up to date version of minetest as `net.minetest.Minetest`. You can install it using

Code: Select all

flatpak install flathub net.minetest.Minetest
as long as you already have flathub enabled. The information below is mostly historical. Visit https://flathub.org/apps/details/net.minetest.Minetest for more information.
[/b][/i]

Builds of Minetest for the Linux cross distro flatpak package format.
No deps required except flatpak (and the Freedesktop platform).

Download Minetest-0.4.15.flatpak

Installation of the freedesktop platform:

Code: Select all

wget https://sdk.gnome.org/keys/gnome-sdk.gpg
flatpak remote-add --user --gpg-import=gnome-sdk.gpg gnome https://sdk.gnome.org/repo/
flatpak --user install gnome org.freedesktop.Platform 1.4
Installation works like:

Code: Select all

flatpak install --user --bundle Minetest-0.4.15.flatpak
Then you can run it using:

Code: Select all

flatpak run net.minetest.app
The build script is at: https://github.com/est31/minetest-flatpak

This is semi-official as right now I am experimenting a bit and trying to find out how to do stuff in the best way. Long term goal is an official minetest flatpak repo and attaching the flatpak files to the releases like we do already with windows builds.

Where do I find mods, worlds, and games?

Code: Select all

~/.var/app/net.minetest.Minetest/.minetest/mods/
Last edited by est31 on Sun Jan 08, 2017 19:18, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ClaudiusMinimus
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 17:46
GitHub: ClaudiusMinimus
IRC: ClaudiusMinimus
In-game: ClaudiusMinimus
Location: Rocky Mountiains in the Western USA
Contact:

Re: [Linux/Flatpak] Flatpak preview builds

by ClaudiusMinimus » Post

Thank you for your excellent work.
Your instructions were perfect!
I look forward to you making a ppa available.
ClaudiusMinimus

Follow my blog at: ClaudiusMinimus' Universe
Visit me at the incredible Illuna Universe

User avatar
ClaudiusMinimus
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 17:46
GitHub: ClaudiusMinimus
IRC: ClaudiusMinimus
In-game: ClaudiusMinimus
Location: Rocky Mountiains in the Western USA
Contact:

Re: [Linux/Flatpak] Flatpak preview builds

by ClaudiusMinimus » Post

Will there be an updated version for 0.4.15?
ClaudiusMinimus

Follow my blog at: ClaudiusMinimus' Universe
Visit me at the incredible Illuna Universe

est31
Developer
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 01:49

Re: [Linux/Flatpak] Flatpak preview builds

by est31 » Post

Yes, I'll try to make an update for 0.4.15 next week.

User avatar
ClaudiusMinimus
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 17:46
GitHub: ClaudiusMinimus
IRC: ClaudiusMinimus
In-game: ClaudiusMinimus
Location: Rocky Mountiains in the Western USA
Contact:

Re: [Linux/Flatpak] Flatpak preview builds

by ClaudiusMinimus » Post

est31 wrote:Yes, I'll try to make an update for 0.4.15 next week.
Thank you, my server admin is asking me to update my client and snap does not work on LinuxMint 18.1
ClaudiusMinimus

Follow my blog at: ClaudiusMinimus' Universe
Visit me at the incredible Illuna Universe

User avatar
Minetestforfun
Member
Posts: 940
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 14:09
GitHub: MinetestForFun
IRC: MinetestForFun
In-game: MinetestForFun
Location: On earth
Contact:

Re: [Linux/Flatpak] Flatpak preview builds

by Minetestforfun » Post

Hi,

Good work est31, i tried your flatpak of Minetest 0.4.14 and it's good to see this kind of thing :)

For the installation : no problem

But when the game is running, after several minutes im disconnecting and can see this error message in the logs :

Code: Select all

2017-01-06 18:36:41: ERROR[AsyncWorker-0]: servers.minetest.net/list?proto_version_min=13&proto_version_max=27 not found (Timeout was reached) (response code 200)
I never saw this message before, and I don't see it when im running from my self source compiled 0.4.14 stable version of Minetest.

I hope it can help you to improve your flatpak :)

est31
Developer
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 01:49

Re: [Linux/Flatpak] Flatpak preview builds

by est31 » Post

Okay, now the flatpak was updated to the Minetest 0.4.15 release. Enjoy!
But when the game is running, after several minutes im disconnecting and can see this error message in the logs :
This looks like a network problem, but in theory it should have the same network quality in your self compiled source vs. the flatpak build.

User avatar
ClaudiusMinimus
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 17:46
GitHub: ClaudiusMinimus
IRC: ClaudiusMinimus
In-game: ClaudiusMinimus
Location: Rocky Mountiains in the Western USA
Contact:

Re: [Linux/Flatpak] Flatpak preview builds

by ClaudiusMinimus » Post

When I run the following I get the error shown

Code: Select all

flatpak install --user --bundle Minetest-0.4.15.flatpak
error: net.minetest.app/x86_64/master already installed
How do I upgrade flatpak 0.4.14 to 0.4.15?
ClaudiusMinimus

Follow my blog at: ClaudiusMinimus' Universe
Visit me at the incredible Illuna Universe

User avatar
ClaudiusMinimus
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 17:46
GitHub: ClaudiusMinimus
IRC: ClaudiusMinimus
In-game: ClaudiusMinimus
Location: Rocky Mountiains in the Western USA
Contact:

Re: [Linux/Flatpak] Flatpak preview builds

by ClaudiusMinimus » Post

I tried running the following and everything else I parse out of the Flatpak docs, but I am unable to upgrade my 0.4.14 install.

Code: Select all

flatpak update net.minetest.app
Looking for updates...
error: net.minetest.app not installed
I then tried to download and install the new version, but the following was returned:

Code: Select all

$ flatpak install --user --bundle Minetest-0.4.15.flatpak
error: net.minetest.app/x86_64/master already installed
Error in Download Path
v1.0 in the path should be changed to v2.0

Code: Select all

wget https://github.com/est31/minetest-flatpak/releases/download/v1.0/Minetest-0.4.15.flatpak
Corrected path

Code: Select all

wget https://github.com/est31/minetest-flatpak/releases/download/v2.0/Minetest-0.4.15.flatpak
Rather than poking in the dark, I will wait for your upgrade instructions.
ClaudiusMinimus

Follow my blog at: ClaudiusMinimus' Universe
Visit me at the incredible Illuna Universe

est31
Developer
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 01:49

Re: [Linux/Flatpak] Flatpak preview builds

by est31 » Post

v1.0 in the path should be changed to v2.0
Thanks! I'll change it.

You will have to do "flatpak uninstall --user net.minetest.app" before installing the new version. The settings should be preserved, as they reside in ~/.minetest.

User avatar
mahmutelmas06
Member
Posts: 367
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 13:10
GitHub: mahmutelmas06
IRC: mahmutelmas06
In-game: masum

Re: [Linux/Flatpak] Flatpak preview builds

by mahmutelmas06 » Post

Flatpack support is wonderfull idea.

Could you also provide http://appimage.org/ support.
My Mods:

Beverage

User avatar
ClaudiusMinimus
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 17:46
GitHub: ClaudiusMinimus
IRC: ClaudiusMinimus
In-game: ClaudiusMinimus
Location: Rocky Mountiains in the Western USA
Contact:

Re: [Linux/Flatpak] Flatpak preview builds

by ClaudiusMinimus » Post

est31 wrote:
v1.0 in the path should be changed to v2.0
Thanks! I'll change it.

You will have to do "flatpak uninstall --user net.minetest.app" before installing the new version. The settings should be preserved, as they reside in ~/.minetest.
Thanks, that did it. I had tried something very similar, but did not have the syntax quite right.
ClaudiusMinimus

Follow my blog at: ClaudiusMinimus' Universe
Visit me at the incredible Illuna Universe

User avatar
ClaudiusMinimus
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 17:46
GitHub: ClaudiusMinimus
IRC: ClaudiusMinimus
In-game: ClaudiusMinimus
Location: Rocky Mountiains in the Western USA
Contact:

Re: [Linux/Flatpak] Flatpak preview builds

by ClaudiusMinimus » Post

Is there a way to utilize the Minetest daily build ppa with your flatpak script?
ClaudiusMinimus

Follow my blog at: ClaudiusMinimus' Universe
Visit me at the incredible Illuna Universe

est31
Developer
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 01:49

Re: [Linux/Flatpak] Flatpak preview builds

by est31 » Post

The ppa itself can't be utilized, as its a different technology, but you can set the minetest and minetest_game repos to a different commit. This though will require updating some hashes, etc. It has to be repeated each time you will want to get an update, so is not the most simple way to update.

User avatar
ClaudiusMinimus
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 17:46
GitHub: ClaudiusMinimus
IRC: ClaudiusMinimus
In-game: ClaudiusMinimus
Location: Rocky Mountiains in the Western USA
Contact:

Re: [Linux/Flatpak] Flatpak preview builds

by ClaudiusMinimus » Post

Thank you for all you have done to make Minetest a better game and thank you for making this the Flatpak build. I hope you will be able to find someone to turn this project over to so we can continue to have the latest release of Minetest. Regardless, I wish you the best in your new ventures.
CM
ClaudiusMinimus

Follow my blog at: ClaudiusMinimus' Universe
Visit me at the incredible Illuna Universe

est31
Developer
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 01:49

Re: [Linux/Flatpak] Flatpak preview builds

by est31 » Post

Today I've found out that minetest has a presence on flathub. See this link: https://github.com/flathub/net.minetest.Minetest

It seems to be maintained by some endless OS people.

You can remove my remote (not sure how that works...) and then add the flathub remote, like its described for Endless OS here:

https://community.endlessos.com/t/how-t ... ss-os/2493

sofar
Developer
Posts: 2146
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: [Linux/Flatpak] Flatpak preview builds

by sofar » Post

I've posted the 5.0.0 release to flathub. Hopefully it will get merged relatively quickly. I'll continue to look after Minetest on Flathub together with the folks already there.

User avatar
xeranas
Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 11:06

Re: [Linux/Flatpak] Flatpak builds (now on flathub)

by xeranas » Post

Does global mod configuration differ for flatpak builds?
My local mods currently at location ~/.minetest/mods but none of them shown as installed from the game menu. Same thing with worlds. I'm new with flatpak concept and I wonder if I missing something obvious.

sofar
Developer
Posts: 2146
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: [Linux/Flatpak] Flatpak builds (now on flathub)

by sofar » Post

xeranas wrote:Does global mod configuration differ for flatpak builds?
My local mods currently at location ~/.minetest/mods but none of them shown as installed from the game menu. Same thing with worlds. I'm new with flatpak concept and I wonder if I missing something obvious.

Code: Select all

~/.var/app/net.minetest.Minetest/.minetest
Yes, flatpak doesn't share the data directory. This has pros and cons. I like the separation myself as it allows me to have a fully independent version of minetest that doesn't use or see development versions of mods and games, but it may be confusing for ordinary users.

You can however just copy your stuff into the flatpak folders. And installing online content works, so it's really easy to get mods.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests