Bigger swords

Post Reply
Kosmos
Member
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 12:42
In-game: KosmosHD

Bigger swords

by Kosmos » Post

Hi,
I looked a lot MineCraft videos and i tought why MT have no big swords like Minecraft.
I have a picture for example.

Minecraft Lucky sword:
http://imgur.com/hIRDKCr

-Kosmos

User avatar
octacian
Member
Posts: 597
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 22:18
GitHub: octacian
IRC: octacian
In-game: octacian
Location: Canada

Re: Bigger swords

by octacian » Post

IDK, I guess people just haven't make any big swords. It's not that it's not possible in MT, all you have to do is change the wield_scale property of the itemdef. For example:

Code: Select all

minetest.register_craftitem("swords:big", {
  description = "Big Sword",
  inventory_image = "big_sword_texture.png",
  wield_scale = { x = 2, y = 2, z = 2, },
})
The above should make a sword twice the size as normal swords. I haven't actually tried it, but that's my understanding.
MicroExpansion, Working Computers, All Projects - Check out my YouTube channel! (octacian)
I'm currently inactive in the Minetest community! So if I don't respond, that's why.

User avatar
GreenXenith
Member
Posts: 1356
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 01:26
GitHub: GreenXenith
Location: UTC-8:00
Contact:

Re: Bigger swords

by GreenXenith » Post

Now how to get this to work with weildview/3Darmor? :D
YouTube | Mods | Patreon | Minetest Discord @greenxenith

You should not be able to read this message.

Kosmos
Member
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 12:42
In-game: KosmosHD

Re: Bigger swords

by Kosmos » Post

octacian wrote:IDK, I guess people just haven't make any big swords. It's not that it's not possible in MT, all you have to do is change the wield_scale property of the itemdef. For example:

Code: Select all

minetest.register_craftitem("swords:big", {
  description = "Big Sword",
  inventory_image = "big_sword_texture.png",
  wield_scale = { x = 2, y = 2, z = 2, },
})
The above should make a sword twice the size as normal swords. I haven't actually tried it, but that's my understanding.
Great. I had test it. But i don't know how i can use it for my mod.-There sometimes to much errors or i haven't the damage what i havw wrote. (I'm a bad programmer). Do you know what's wrong?

-Kosmos

User avatar
octacian
Member
Posts: 597
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 22:18
GitHub: octacian
IRC: octacian
In-game: octacian
Location: Canada

Re: Bigger swords

by octacian » Post

Kosmos wrote:The above should make a sword twice the size as normal swords. I haven't actually tried it, but that's my understanding.
Great. I had test it. But i don't know how i can use it for my mod.-There sometimes to much errors or i haven't the damage what i havw wrote. (I'm a bad programmer). Do you know what's wrong?

-Kosmos[/quote]

Sorry, forgot. It's minetest.register_item for tools, not minetest.register_craftitem. I personally think the functions should be put into one, but whatever. Hope it works!
MicroExpansion, Working Computers, All Projects - Check out my YouTube channel! (octacian)
I'm currently inactive in the Minetest community! So if I don't respond, that's why.

User avatar
stu
Member
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Bigger swords

by stu » Post

GreenDimond wrote:Now how to get this to work with weildview/3Darmor? :D
Not possible with wieldview sadly, however, it is with wield3d ;-)

Image

Here is the full code, it has the same properties as the default diamond sword. The last part is not absolutely necessary however it does position the sword better in the hand. Note that the mod 'swords' would need to soft-depend on wield3d for that to work.

Code: Select all

minetest.register_tool("swords:big_sword", {
	description = "Big Sword",
	inventory_image = "swords_big_sword.png",
	wield_scale = {x=3, y=3, z=2},
	tool_capabilities = {
		full_punch_interval = 0.7,
		max_drop_level=1,
		groupcaps={
			snappy={times={[1]=1.90, [2]=0.90, [3]=0.30}, uses=40, maxlevel=3},
		},
		damage_groups = {fleshy=8},
	},
	sound = {breaks = "default_tool_breaks"},
})

if minetest.global_exists("wield3d") then
	wield3d.location["swords:big_sword"] = {
		"Arm_Right",
		{x=0, y=5.5, z=8},
		{x=-90, y=225, z=90},
		{x=0.25, y=0.25}
	}
end
Last edited by stu on Sun Jan 15, 2017 18:16, edited 1 time in total.

Kosmos
Member
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 12:42
In-game: KosmosHD

Re: Bigger swords

by Kosmos » Post

How you can get so big swords if you press F7?
Last edited by Kosmos on Fri Jan 13, 2017 20:16, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
octacian
Member
Posts: 597
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 22:18
GitHub: octacian
IRC: octacian
In-game: octacian
Location: Canada

Re: Bigger swords

by octacian » Post

Wow, wrong yet again. lol

Thanks for correcting me stu and providing the right code :rotfl:
MicroExpansion, Working Computers, All Projects - Check out my YouTube channel! (octacian)
I'm currently inactive in the Minetest community! So if I don't respond, that's why.

User avatar
stu
Member
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Bigger swords

by stu » Post

octacian wrote:Wow, wrong yet again. lol

Thanks for correcting me stu and providing the right code :rotfl:
I was not meaning to 'correct' your code, there was nothing wrong with it other than register_tool which you already pointed out yourself. I was mostly showing how it is possible to see this effect in multiplayer or 3rd person. The code is essentially just a carbon copy of the default diamond sword from MTG ;-)

User avatar
Gael de Sailly
Member
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 17:01
GitHub: gaelysam
IRC: Gael-de-Sailly
In-game: Gael-de-Sailly gaelysam
Location: Voiron, France

Re: Bigger swords

by Gael de Sailly » Post

Kosmos wrote:Hi,
I looked a lot MineCraft videos and i tought why MT have no big swords like Minecraft.
What is the purpose of such a sword, except imitating Minecraft on principle, and masking the player's view?
Just realize how bored we would be if the world was perfect.

User avatar
GreenXenith
Member
Posts: 1356
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 01:26
GitHub: GreenXenith
Location: UTC-8:00
Contact:

Re: Bigger swords

by GreenXenith » Post

stu wrote:
GreenDimond wrote:Now how to get this to work with weildview/3Darmor? :D
Not possible with wieldview sadly, however, it is with wield3d ;-)



Here is the full code, it has the same properties as the default diamond sword. The last part is not absolutely necessary however it does position the sword better in the hand. Note that the mod 'swords' would need to soft-depend on wield3d for that to work.

Code: Select all

minetest.register_tool("swords:big_sword", {
	description = "Big Sword",
	inventory_image = "swords_big_sword.png",
	wield_scale = {x=3, y=3, z=2},
	tool_capabilities = {
		full_punch_interval = 0.7,
		max_drop_level=1,
		groupcaps={
			snappy={times={[1]=1.90, [2]=0.90, [3]=0.30}, uses=40, maxlevel=3},
		},
		damage_groups = {fleshy=8},
	},
	sound = {breaks = "default_tool_breaks"},
})

if minetest.global_exists(wield3d) then
	wield3d.location["swords:big_sword"] = {
		"Arm_Right",
		{x=0, y=5.5, z=8},
		{x=-90, y=225, z=90},
		{x=0.25, y=0.25}
	}
end
Tried this, failed to remember to put the last part, and it worked with wrong placement. Added the rest of the code and now it is telling me
2017-01-14 14:58:58: ERROR[Main]: ModError: Failed to load and run script from /home/alex/.minetest/mods/test/init.lua:
2017-01-14 14:58:58: ERROR[Main]: /usr/share/minetest/builtin/common/strict.lua:9: core.global_exists: table: 0x404e1c40 is not a string
2017-01-14 14:58:58: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2017-01-14 14:58:58: ERROR[Main]: [C]: in function 'error'
2017-01-14 14:58:58: ERROR[Main]: /usr/share/minetest/builtin/common/strict.lua:9: in function 'global_exists'
2017-01-14 14:58:58: ERROR[Main]: /home/alex/.minetest/mods/test/init.lua:46: in main chunk
2017-01-14 14:58:58: ERROR[Main]: Check debug.txt for details.

Yes, I added wield3d as soft dependency. Wat do?
YouTube | Mods | Patreon | Minetest Discord @greenxenith

You should not be able to read this message.

User avatar
stu
Member
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Bigger swords

by stu » Post

GreenDimond wrote:Tried this, failed to remember to put the last part, and it worked with wrong placement. Added the rest of the code and now it is telling me
2017-01-14 14:58:58: ERROR[Main]: ModError: Failed to load and run script from /home/alex/.minetest/mods/test/init.lua:
2017-01-14 14:58:58: ERROR[Main]: /usr/share/minetest/builtin/common/strict.lua:9: core.global_exists: table: 0x404e1c40 is not a string
2017-01-14 14:58:58: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2017-01-14 14:58:58: ERROR[Main]: [C]: in function 'error'
2017-01-14 14:58:58: ERROR[Main]: /usr/share/minetest/builtin/common/strict.lua:9: in function 'global_exists'
2017-01-14 14:58:58: ERROR[Main]: /home/alex/.minetest/mods/test/init.lua:46: in main chunk
2017-01-14 14:58:58: ERROR[Main]: Check debug.txt for details.

Yes, I added wield3d as soft dependency. Wat do?
Sorry, my bad, `minetest.global_exists` is expecting a string. I have now corrected the code above.

Code: Select all

if minetest.global_exists("wield3d") then
   wield3d.location["swords:big_sword"] = {
      "Arm_Right",
      {x=0, y=5.5, z=8},
      {x=-90, y=225, z=90},
      {x=0.25, y=0.25}
   }
end
Pro Tip: The value z=8 determines how far forward the object is translated.

User avatar
GreenXenith
Member
Posts: 1356
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 01:26
GitHub: GreenXenith
Location: UTC-8:00
Contact:

Re: Bigger swords

by GreenXenith » Post

stu wrote:
GreenDimond wrote:Tried this, failed to remember to put the last part, and it worked with wrong placement. Added the rest of the code and now it is telling me
2017-01-14 14:58:58: ERROR[Main]: ModError: Failed to load and run script from /home/alex/.minetest/mods/test/init.lua:
2017-01-14 14:58:58: ERROR[Main]: /usr/share/minetest/builtin/common/strict.lua:9: core.global_exists: table: 0x404e1c40 is not a string
2017-01-14 14:58:58: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2017-01-14 14:58:58: ERROR[Main]: [C]: in function 'error'
2017-01-14 14:58:58: ERROR[Main]: /usr/share/minetest/builtin/common/strict.lua:9: in function 'global_exists'
2017-01-14 14:58:58: ERROR[Main]: /home/alex/.minetest/mods/test/init.lua:46: in main chunk
2017-01-14 14:58:58: ERROR[Main]: Check debug.txt for details.

Yes, I added wield3d as soft dependency. Wat do?
Sorry, my bad, `minetest.global_exists` is expecting a string. I have now corrected the code above.

Code: Select all

if minetest.global_exists("wield3d") then
   wield3d.location["swords:big_sword"] = {
      "Arm_Right",
      {x=0, y=5.5, z=8},
      {x=-90, y=225, z=90},
      {x=0.25, y=0.25}
   }
end
Pro Tip: The value z=8 determines how far forward the object is translated.
Now the game loads but it doesn't affect object position. I am still holding it by the blade in front of the handguard. Changing z= doesnt do a single thing.
YouTube | Mods | Patreon | Minetest Discord @greenxenith

You should not be able to read this message.

Kosmos
Member
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 12:42
In-game: KosmosHD

Re: Bigger swords

by Kosmos » Post

Gael de Sailly wrote:
Kosmos wrote:Hi,
I looked a lot MineCraft videos and i tought why MT have no big swords like Minecraft.
What is the purpose of such a sword, except imitating Minecraft on principle, and masking the player's view?
You look dangerouser in PvP.

-Kosmos

User avatar
stu
Member
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Bigger swords

by stu » Post

GreenDimond wrote:Now the game loads but it doesn't affect object position. I am still holding it by the blade in front of the handguard. Changing z= doesnt do a single thing.
Well you must have done something wrong as the code works fine for me as you can see. I have attached a minimal working test mod, I hope this helps.
Attachments
swords.zip
LICENSE CC0 1.0 Universal (CC0 1.0)
(849 Bytes) Downloaded 48 times

Dragonop
Member
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:59
GitHub: Dragonop
IRC: Dragonop
In-game: Dragonop
Location: Argentina

Re: Bigger swords

by Dragonop » Post

I made some big swords some time ago
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=14236

User avatar
GreenXenith
Member
Posts: 1356
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 01:26
GitHub: GreenXenith
Location: UTC-8:00
Contact:

Re: Bigger swords

by GreenXenith » Post

stu wrote:
GreenDimond wrote:Now the game loads but it doesn't affect object position. I am still holding it by the blade in front of the handguard. Changing z= doesnt do a single thing.
Well you must have done something wrong as the code works fine for me as you can see. I have attached a minimal working test mod, I hope this helps.
I̶n̶ ̶y̶o̶u̶r̶ ̶m̶o̶d̶,̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶s̶w̶o̶r̶d̶ ̶i̶s̶ ̶f̶l̶o̶a̶t̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶n̶e̶a̶r̶ ̶m̶y̶ ̶f̶e̶e̶t̶.̶ ̶I̶f̶ ̶i̶t̶ ̶w̶e̶r̶e̶ ̶u̶p̶ ̶m̶o̶r̶e̶,̶ ̶i̶t̶ ̶w̶o̶u̶l̶d̶ ̶b̶e̶ ̶p̶e̶r̶f̶e̶c̶t̶.̶
EDIT: See next post.
Last edited by GreenXenith on Thu Jan 19, 2017 16:17, edited 1 time in total.
YouTube | Mods | Patreon | Minetest Discord @greenxenith

You should not be able to read this message.

User avatar
GreenXenith
Member
Posts: 1356
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 01:26
GitHub: GreenXenith
Location: UTC-8:00
Contact:

Re: Bigger swords

by GreenXenith » Post

A̶l̶s̶o̶,̶ ̶n̶o̶ ̶m̶a̶t̶t̶e̶r̶ ̶h̶o̶w̶ ̶I̶ ̶c̶h̶a̶n̶g̶e̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶x̶/̶y̶/̶z̶ ̶=̶ ̶s̶t̶u̶f̶f̶,̶ ̶i̶t̶ ̶s̶t̶a̶y̶s̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶s̶a̶m̶e̶.̶ ̶I̶ ̶c̶h̶a̶n̶g̶e̶d̶ ̶i̶t̶ ̶t̶o̶ ̶t̶h̶i̶s̶ ̶j̶u̶s̶t̶ ̶t̶o̶ ̶s̶e̶e̶ ̶w̶h̶a̶t̶ ̶c̶h̶a̶n̶g̶e̶d̶ ̶w̶h̶a̶t̶ ̶a̶n̶d̶ ̶i̶t̶ ̶d̶i̶d̶ ̶n̶o̶t̶h̶i̶n̶g̶.̶
{̶x̶=̶0̶,̶ ̶y̶=̶5̶0̶0̶0̶,̶ ̶z̶=̶1̶0̶0̶0̶}̶,̶ ̶-̶-̶ ̶0̶ ̶5̶.̶5̶ ̶8̶
{̶x̶=̶1̶0̶0̶0̶,̶ ̶y̶=̶1̶1̶0̶0̶,̶ ̶z̶=̶1̶1̶2̶0̶}̶,̶ ̶-̶-̶ ̶-̶9̶0̶ ̶2̶2̶5̶ ̶9̶0̶
{̶x̶=̶5̶0̶,̶ ̶y̶=̶5̶0̶}̶ ̶-̶-̶ ̶0̶.̶2̶5̶ ̶0̶.̶2̶5̶
EDIT: Apparently I had a mod enabled that messed with the positioning. I dunno which one though. Will figure out later. It works!
YouTube | Mods | Patreon | Minetest Discord @greenxenith

You should not be able to read this message.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: proller and 17 guests