[Linux] Portable Minetest client and server as AppImages

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

[Linux] Portable Minetest client and server as AppImages

by Calinou » Post

What is AppImage?

AppImage is a software that lets you build portable Linux binaries. Here, I host regular builds of Minetest as AppImages.

Download

All these AppImages are for 64-bit systems only, they will not work on 32-bit systems. Pick the client to play Minetest, pick the server to host a dedicated Minetest server.

0.4.16 client
0.4.16 server

Git ("master" development branch) client
Git ("master" development branch) server

All files (includes SHA-256 checksums and change log)

How do I run it?

Any distribution released after Ubuntu 14.04 is supported (since Ubuntu 14.04 is used to compile the binaries). To run the AppImage, make it executable (using chmod +x or by right-cliking the file then selecting "Properties" then "Permissions", and checking the executable checkbox) then double-click it to start Minetest. No administrator/root rights are needed.

Note that you want to start the server from a terminal, else you won't see its output.

User avatar
Lejo
Member
Posts: 714
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 16:32
GitHub: Lejo1
In-game: Lejo

Re: [Linux] Portable Minetest client and server as AppImages

by Lejo » Post

Very Nice!
+1

User avatar
jan6
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 17:58
GitHub: jan69
IRC: jan6
In-game: jan6
Location: Estonia

Re: [Linux] Portable Minetest client and server as AppImages

by jan6 » Post

May I request 32-bit images as well? They will be even more portable and allow me to run them as well...no 64 bit for me...
I know everything, exept what I know...
I have a secret..it's so secret even I don't know what it is

User avatar
Laser0073
Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 01:26
GitHub: Laser0073
In-game: Laser0073

Re: [Linux] Portable Minetest client and server as AppImages

by Laser0073 » Post

Hey, good job! I now take MT with me on a usb drive :)
i5 6500 OC @3.5GHz, EVGA GTX 960 4GB, 8GB DDR4, ASROCK Pro4S, 128GB.SSD, MT 0.4.17, Linux Mint 18.3 (Ubuntu 16.04)
OwOOOg9CphnceB30eUFX6BOCW8W3jT4i

User avatar
Sergey
Member
Posts: 784
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 13:28
Location: Russia

Re: [Linux] Portable Minetest client and server as AppImages

by Sergey » Post

Cool.
Do I need both client and server for singleplayer game? AFAIK local server is needed for it.

User avatar
jan6
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 17:58
GitHub: jan69
IRC: jan6
In-game: jan6
Location: Estonia

Re: [Linux] Portable Minetest client and server as AppImages

by jan6 » Post

Sergey wrote:Cool.
Do I need both client and server for singleplayer game? AFAIK local server is needed for it.
no, local server is included in the client(and you can even connect to it with another client), the "server build" is for when you want to run a full server, it has no graphical output and therefore conserves a considerable amount of power, especially on 24/7 server situations...
I know everything, exept what I know...
I have a secret..it's so secret even I don't know what it is

User avatar
Sergey
Member
Posts: 784
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 13:28
Location: Russia

Re: [Linux] Portable Minetest client and server as AppImages

by Sergey » Post

What can you say about FLATPAK technology?
How AppImage and FLATPAK differ?

User avatar
Sergey
Member
Posts: 784
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 13:28
Location: Russia

Re: [Linux] Portable Minetest client and server as AppImages

by Sergey » Post

Could somebody answer my question?

And second question about new AppImages?

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Linux] Portable Minetest client and server as AppImages

by Calinou » Post

Sergey wrote:What can you say about FLATPAK technology?
How AppImage and FLATPAK differ?
AppImage is probably easier to use for end users, at least right now – you can use it without root, it works even on old distributions and no runtime is needed (unlike Flatpak). Just make it executable and run it.

User avatar
Sergey
Member
Posts: 784
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 13:28
Location: Russia

Re: [Linux] Portable Minetest client and server as AppImages

by Sergey » Post

Calinou, your answer is sooo quick! Thank you!

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2641
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Linux] Portable Minetest client and server as AppImages

by Linuxdirk » Post

Good work. Now we need a Docker container, a file for Kubernetes, an rkt container, a Panamax app, and some more of the multiple standards+1 softwares that circumvent the package manager to install software using an own package manager. :D

But how do you run them? simply chmod +x filename and then ./filename to run without caring what distribution and version you need, like with PHAR files from PHP only needing a minimum PHP version?

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Linux] Portable Minetest client and server as AppImages

by Calinou » Post

Linuxdirk wrote:Good work. Now we need a Docker container, a file for Kubernetes, an rkt container, a Panamax app, and some more of the multiple standards+1 softwares that circumvent the package manager to install software using an own package manager. :D
This is one of the reasons I like AppImage – it's actually a lightweight layer that makes use of SquashFS (for type 2 AppImages, the currently recommended ones). If you pass --appimage-extract to the command line of any AppImage (including the ones I distribute), it will be extracted and all the contents will be available in a folder.

It also is clearly focused on desktops (but it can work on servers too, you may need to install/enable FUSE there because it might not be there by default, though), unlike many of the "competing" technologies.
Linuxdirk wrote:But how do you run them? simply chmod +x filename and then ./filename to run without caring what distribution and version you need, like with PHAR files from PHP only needing a minimum PHP version?
Yes, pretty much. You don't need to do anything else, but if you want to be able to call minetest from a terminal to start it, just rename the AppImage to minetest and place it in /usr/local/bin (or in another directory present in your $PATH).

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2641
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Linux] Portable Minetest client and server as AppImages

by Linuxdirk » Post

Does the container have access to the "host" filesystem or is it independent from it?

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Linux] Portable Minetest client and server as AppImages

by Calinou » Post

Linuxdirk wrote:Does the container have access to the "host" filesystem or is it independent from it?
By default, no sandboxing is performed, but you can optionally use Firejail to run an AppImage sandboxed.

Update

I just updated the AppImages for 0.4.16 and latest Git master. These have been tested on Ubuntu 14.04, Debian 8 and Fedora 25. Enjoy!

User avatar
Lejo
Member
Posts: 714
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 16:32
GitHub: Lejo1
In-game: Lejo

Re: [Linux] Portable Minetest client and server as AppImages

by Lejo » Post

For me the serverversion don't work on my server (16.04) but at home it works.
It always says "Permission denied".
What can I do?

BBmine
Member
Posts: 3475
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 22:51
GitHub: BBmine
IRC: BBmine
In-game: Baggins
Location: USA

Re: [Linux] Portable Minetest client and server as AppImages

by BBmine » Post

I find this VERY useful when I want to play Minetest on someone's Linux pc who doesn't have Minetest installed.

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Linux] Portable Minetest client and server as AppImages

by Calinou » Post

Lejo wrote:For me the serverversion don't work on my server (16.04) but at home it works.
It always says "Permission denied".
What can I do?
AppImages are made mostly for desktops, and I haven't really tested them on servers. The reason the server AppImage might not work out of the box in a server environment is that unlike desktop distributions, server distributions typically don't come with FUSE installed and enabled.

User avatar
Lejo
Member
Posts: 714
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 16:32
GitHub: Lejo1
In-game: Lejo

Re: [Linux] Portable Minetest client and server as AppImages

by Lejo » Post

I just do:

Code: Select all

chmod a+x filename
And then:

Code: Select all

./filename

So it works!

BBmine
Member
Posts: 3475
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 22:51
GitHub: BBmine
IRC: BBmine
In-game: Baggins
Location: USA

Re: [Linux] Portable Minetest client and server as AppImages

by BBmine » Post

How would I run the Appimages server from the command line if there's already a different Minetest installed on the pc?

EDIT: Nvm, g00gle helped me.

User avatar
Lejo
Member
Posts: 714
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 16:32
GitHub: Lejo1
In-game: Lejo

Re: [Linux] Portable Minetest client and server as AppImages

by Lejo » Post

I had a problem that I can't save screenshots with AppImage.
It allways says failed to save screenshot.
I tested it in a normal release and there it works.
What can I do?

User avatar
Lejo
Member
Posts: 714
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 16:32
GitHub: Lejo1
In-game: Lejo

Re: [Linux] Portable Minetest client and server as AppImages

by Lejo » Post

Fixed i does in minetest.conf.
screenshot_path = /home/user

User avatar
mahmutelmas06
Member
Posts: 367
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 13:10
GitHub: mahmutelmas06
IRC: mahmutelmas06
In-game: masum

Re: [Linux] Portable Minetest client and server as AppImages

by mahmutelmas06 » Post

Configuration and world files stores in /home folder.
Is it possible to store them near minetest.appimage file ?
My Mods:

Beverage

dawgdoc
Member
Posts: 253
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 01:10
GitHub: dawgdoc

Re: [Linux] Portable Minetest client and server as AppImages

by dawgdoc » Post

You should be able to store them at anyplace you like and then put a symlink to them at the point they are expected to be found. I have my mods and subgames on a separate partition with symlinks to them at /home/.minetest
Give a man a fish, feed him for a day. Give a kid a fish, it's going to die.

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3096
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [Linux] Portable Minetest client and server as AppImages

by Inocudom » Post

The development version creates this following error and crashes one second after starting up:

Code: Select all

terminate called after throwing an instance of 'LuaError'
  what():  Runtime error from mod '' in callback run(): Type is not convertible to string
stack traceback:
	[C]: in function 'func'
	..._8yd7YN/usr/bin/../share/minetest/builtin/async/init.lua:10: in function <..._8yd7YN/usr/bin/../share/minetest/builtin/async/init.lua:4>
Aborted
I just upgraded my Linux Mint 17 to Linux Mint 17.3, but this AppImage still creates the same error. It shouldn't do that, because Linux Mint 17.3 is based on Ubuntu 14.04.

I think Calinou is going to need help with this one. Any volunteers?
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
jan6
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 17:58
GitHub: jan69
IRC: jan6
In-game: jan6
Location: Estonia

Re: [Linux] Portable Minetest client and server as AppImages

by jan6 » Post

Inocudom wrote:The development version creates this following error and crashes one second after starting up:

Code: Select all

 
I just upgraded my Linux Mint 17 to Linux Mint 17.3, but this AppImage still creates the same error. It shouldn't do that, because Linux Mint 17.3 is based on Ubuntu 14.04.

I think Calinou is going to need help with this one. Any volunteers?
all is fine for me...except the "error writing mods.conf", but that's probably just a minor clash with the installed version...

is it fixed now and you just haven't updated the post?
I know everything, exept what I know...
I have a secret..it's so secret even I don't know what it is

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests