mod base experiment

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: mod base experiment

by burli » Post

Just for fun: add palm trees

Image
Attachments
screenshot_20170204_204029.jpg
(204.78 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
Posts: 2879
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
Contact:

Re: mod base experiment

by TumeniNodes » Post

burli wrote:Just for fun: add palm trees

Image
Very cool, I like the other trees you just posted last night too. (with the high roots)

hmmm, coconut trees and coconuts coming next? :P
Ich mag keine grünen Eier und Schinken, ich mag sie nicht Sam I Am

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: mod base experiment

by burli » Post

They already have coconuts ;-). The other trees are the default trees from MTG

This was just to test my assumption that trees can be added this way. These are schematics from ethereal

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: mod base experiment

by burli » Post

tools.lua removed and schematics folder is empty.

I still don't know what I should do with mods like doors, stairs and so on. Based on the paradigm of the modbase node registrations should be separated from other code

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: mod base experiment

by burli » Post

ShadMOrdre wrote: What I've come to discover, is that the lack of a consistent convention for defining things in default, is a HUGE problem.
Sounds interesting what you said. What kind of convention would you expect?

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: mod base experiment

by burli » Post

I'm going to reorganize the mapgen registration. It feels wrong that all biomes are registered first and then the ores and decorations are registered as bulk into all biomes at once

I want to register a biome (or group of the same biome, e.g. taiga and taiga_ocean) and then register the ores and other stuff for that biome. That would mean, that I have to register the same ore/decoration multiple times, but I don't think that this is a problem

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3700
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: mod base experiment

by paramat » Post

I like those palm trees.

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: mod base experiment

by burli » Post

paramat wrote:I like those palm trees.
They are from ethereal. I have to modify them. That's why I asked how I can edit mts files.

And they are placed on a cold beach because it seem that cold desert has no "cold desert beach" biome

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: mod base experiment

by burli » Post

I completely restart this from scratch and finally I got a simple modding base without any default.

It just includes one biome, some basic nodes, the stairs mod, sfinv, creative mod and player. There are no sounds, plants or anything else

https://github.com/MarkuBu/minetest_modbase

Image

The only issue is currently that dungeons are not generated with cobble. It's the same issue like in the minimal development game. I don't know how to fix that
Attachments
screenshot_20170307_210928.jpg
(45.99 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 4140
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: mod base experiment

by Wuzzy » Post

Why did you rename the playermodel mod for no reason?
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: mod base experiment

by burli » Post

Wuzzy wrote:Why did you rename the playermodel mod for no reason?
First I created an empty player mod just to remove the missing textures error message. Then I remembered that I have a stand alone player mod (I think it is yours?). I just copied the files into the player folder. But the hotbar doesn't work and it still uses default. So I replaced the code and the model with the current version of MTG. I renamed default, but I assumed that player would collide with the local player variables. That's why I finally called it players

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: mod base experiment

by burli » Post

I still think about a new sound API. But I'm not sure how to start

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: mod base experiment

by burli » Post

Start adding intllib for internationalization, but I'm not happy with translations like "Wüstenpflastersteintreppe".

GalvanizedDreamer
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 18:38

Re: mod base experiment

by GalvanizedDreamer » Post

I must admit, this is quite impressive. I am just curious as to whether you are still working on this or not?

Regardless, best of luck.

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 4140
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: mod base experiment

by Wuzzy » Post

@burli: I have more or less adapted a very modular approach for MineClone 2 early on. It makes development much easier. I think it may interest you.

You might want to look at MineClone 2's code. Note that ITEMS/mcl_core is the (partially) debloated default mod. Maybe not perfect yet, but definitely not the horrible bloat that is default. Maybe I shrink this mod even more, but I am not sure about that yet.

Regarding the sound API: I have implemented one in MineClone 2 (in CORE/mcl_sounds). Its really just that: Defining default sounds for MineClone 2.
Definitely better than default mod, but I still don't really like this because you still have to depend on the subgame.
Maybe one day, we as a modding community come together to define some kind of standard API for sounds, because there are many recurring node sounds.

But yeah, I think by using the approach “one mod = one feature” we already avoid a ton of mod-related problems.

However, I must warn you to be careful not to take it to the other extreme. There should not be a mod for each trivial node or group of nodes. IMO mods should be organized to make dependeny manangement easy. A categorization based on topic alone does not always make sense.
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH

User avatar
texmex
Member
Posts: 1752
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: tacotexmex

Re: mod base experiment

by texmex » Post

This is exciting. Are you maintaining it?

I wonder if a "pseudo" mod called default could be made. An empty init.lua and a depends.txt with dependency on all other mods in the mod base, so that 3rd party mods depending on default would retain compatibility…
Mods | Support Mesehub: bc1qluuests9rxmlnvpjrhsnyjg9ucwy6z3r0y3srw

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 4140
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: mod base experiment

by Wuzzy » Post

burli wrote:The only issue is currently that dungeons are not generated with cobble. It's the same issue like in the minimal development game. I don't know how to fix that
Did you define the mapgen aliases? E.g.

Code: Select all

minetest.register_alias("mapgen_cobble", "default:cobble")
The mapgen needs the aliases to know which nodes to place when generating the map.

See Minetest Game/mods/default/mapgen.lua for a list.
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH

User avatar
texmex
Member
Posts: 1752
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: tacotexmex

Re: mod base experiment

by texmex » Post

I gotta say, running this is like a breeze of fresh air. Additive subgame development feels so much better than subtractive.

I've concerns about the nodebox leaves though, it lowers my FPS from 60 to 20.
Mods | Support Mesehub: bc1qluuests9rxmlnvpjrhsnyjg9ucwy6z3r0y3srw

User avatar
texmex
Member
Posts: 1752
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: tacotexmex

Re: mod base experiment

by texmex » Post

Now that burli's probably not going to develop this anymore, is anyone else interested in maintaining it? I'm not skilled enough to lead it but I'll help out with the little I know.
Mods | Support Mesehub: bc1qluuests9rxmlnvpjrhsnyjg9ucwy6z3r0y3srw

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Minix and 1 guest