Post your modding questions here

User avatar
RealGoldenHart
Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 23:27
GitHub: GoldenHart
IRC: GoldenHart
In-game: GoldenHart
Location: Here, and not there.

Re: Post your modding questions here

by RealGoldenHart » Post

Alright thanks guys. I will try a different mod. Thanks for teaching me. I thought if you could move a vehicle around in a vehicles mod, that maybe you could move an air transport or something up. Ttyl
K. I'm bored with signatures.

User avatar
orwell
Member
Posts: 958
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius

Re: Post your modding questions here

by orwell » Post

RealGoldenHart wrote: 3. How would I go about generating a realm in the sky? For example, rather than in caverealms where the realms are spawned underground, is it possible to do that in the sky?
Now...I realize this makes the mod impossible for servers to add, because they would have to make a new world for this addition. Is there any alternative that achieves the same goal?
I, personally, have no idea of mapgen stuff of any kind.
- Mapgen v7 has floatlands. they are disabled but can be enabled
- Terrain gets generated in 3d cubes of 80 nodes in diameter, not in 2d chunks like in Minecraft. So, if no one ever flew up to the heights you want the sky realm to be generated, an existing world is no problem, because the sky terrain has not yet been generated.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...

User avatar
cx384
Member
Posts: 654
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 09:38
GitHub: cx384
IRC: cx384

Re: Post your modding questions here

by cx384 » Post

What is the best way to put the names of all files (folders) which are in one folder into a table?
(I want to get a table which contains the name of all existing texture packs (path = /.minetest/textures ))
Can your read this?

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: Post your modding questions here

by burli » Post

How can I debug lua code? I need to run a code step by step to check variables, but I don't know how. I tried to use player controls (key input), but that doesn't work, however

Code: Select all

local function stepkey()
	local player = minetest.get_player_by_name("singleplayer")
	repeat
	until player:get_player_control().aux1
	repeat
	until not player:get_player_control().aux1
end

User avatar
cx384
Member
Posts: 654
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 09:38
GitHub: cx384
IRC: cx384

Re: Post your modding questions here

by cx384 » Post

You can write print("variable") in every line.
Can your read this?

User avatar
orwell
Member
Posts: 958
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius

Re: Post your modding questions here

by orwell » Post

Can't you use print() instructions to print values after each step?
Minetest is not multithreaded, whenever a event function blocks (such as running an infinite loop) the server can't do anything else, it can't even update the player control status. So you may not wait inside callback functions using loops.
You might achieve something like you want using coroutines, but these are broken inside the callbacks for some reason
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: Post your modding questions here

by burli » Post

cx384 wrote:You can write print("variable") in every line.
That's too fast and too much. I need to stop the code to analyse the data

User avatar
orwell
Member
Posts: 958
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius

Re: Post your modding questions here

by orwell » Post

maybe print just everything...
print(dump(table_of_all_relevant_data))
There is no other way
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: Post your modding questions here

by burli » Post

orwell wrote:maybe print just everything...
print(dump(table_of_all_relevant_data))
There is no other way
As I said, too fast and too much for console output. I write to a file now

User avatar
orwell
Member
Posts: 958
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius

Re: Post your modding questions here

by orwell » Post

Maybe (but only maybe) this is useful for you. It's a simple ring buffer. I used it to debug a problem in my advtrains mod, because I couldn't reproduce the bug but only detect when it was happening, so I needed to let some trains run and let them trigger the dump when some component recognized that something was wrong

Code: Select all

local ringbuflen=200

local ringbufs={}
local ringbufcnt={}

function advtrains.drb_record(tid, msg)
	if not ringbufs[tid] then
		ringbufs[tid]={}
		ringbufcnt[tid]=0
	end
	ringbufs[tid][ringbufcnt[tid]]=msg
	ringbufcnt[tid]=ringbufcnt[tid]+1
	if ringbufcnt[tid] > ringbuflen then
		ringbufcnt[tid]=0
	end
end
function advtrains.drb_dump_and_exit(pts, tid)
	print("Train "..tid.." dumping ringbuffer at pos:", pts)
	local stopcnt=ringbufcnt[tid]
	repeat
		minetest.log("action", ringbufcnt[tid]..ringbufs[tid][ringbufcnt[tid]])
		ringbufcnt[tid]=ringbufcnt[tid]+1
		if ringbufcnt[tid] > ringbuflen then
			ringbufcnt[tid]=0
		end
	until ringbufcnt[tid]==stopcnt
	minetest.log("action", dump(advtrains.trains[tid]))
	error("Successfully dumped stuff")
end
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: Post your modding questions here

by burli » Post

sofar wrote:
burli wrote:Is voxelmanip always faster than get_node? I noticed that the hopper mod uses voxelmanip just to get two neighbour nodes.

Is this really better?
yes and no. It can sometimes mean only doing a single lua-to-C call, which is likely cheaper than two get_node() calls. But if it's not performance critical, you shouldn't worry too much.
Well, I changed my pathfinder from voxelmanip to get_node. I just can say that get_node is extremely fast. Only for reading some nodes voxelmanip is much to slow since it always loads a whole mapblock

Edit: I measured a time of 7ms for the whole pathfinder run which includes around 3000 get_node calls

User avatar
Tmanyo
Member
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2014 01:20
GitHub: Tmanyo
IRC: Tmanyo
In-game: tmanyo
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Post your modding questions here

by Tmanyo » Post

I am wondering if it is possible to take a table with player names as keys such as this one:

Code: Select all

{["description"] = {["tmanyo"] = "Really bad", ["cow"] = "Really great server!", ["singleplayer"] = "This server is really bad!"}, ["value"] = {["tmanyo"] = 2.1, ["cow"] = 5, ["singleplayer"] = 2}}
Then formatting each key into a string such as:

Code: Select all

"Rating: " .. value[key] .. "\n\"" .. description[key] .. "\""
Or something like that.
I guess the real question is, What if you don't know the key, how do you index the value and description? Once I have gotten past that roadblock, how do I list these strings one after another in a formspec? I don't want the same person's results to come up every time. I want "tmanyo - value description" \n "cow - value description" \n ect...
Tmanyo
http://www.rrhmsservers.ml
Servers I Host:
Tmanyo-Realism
Mods of mine that I don't totally hate:
Bank Accounts
T-Rating
Tmusic Player

Nyarg
Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 04:32

Re: Post your modding questions here

by Nyarg » Post

Tmanyo wrote:I am wondering if it is possible to take a table with player names as keys

If I'm properly understand question so answer is http://dev.minetest.net/minetest.serialize
Tmanyo wrote: What if you don't know the key, how do you index the value and description?
Look into my mod for ptTbl(a,tNm) function. (If I'm properly understand question)
I am a noob. still yet. Not so noob ) [vml] WIP and a little proof for fun PlantedTorch )))
MT Strike 78a36b468554d101e0be3b0d1f587a555f396452 Great! Somebody have found it )
"My english isn't well" I know. I'm sorry )

User avatar
Tmanyo
Member
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2014 01:20
GitHub: Tmanyo
IRC: Tmanyo
In-game: tmanyo
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Post your modding questions here

by Tmanyo » Post

Nyarg wrote:
Tmanyo wrote:I am wondering if it is possible to take a table with player names as keys

If I'm properly understand question so answer is http://dev.minetest.net/minetest.serialize
Tmanyo wrote: What if you don't know the key, how do you index the value and description?
Look into my mod for ptTbl(a,tNm) function. (If I'm properly understand question)
Thank you for trying, but I know how to use minetest.serialize. The main question is, How does one "iterate" through a table and get all the information to be able to place into individual strings that can then be listed in a form?
Tmanyo
http://www.rrhmsservers.ml
Servers I Host:
Tmanyo-Realism
Mods of mine that I don't totally hate:
Bank Accounts
T-Rating
Tmusic Player

User avatar
kaeza
Moderator
Posts: 2162
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 05:00
GitHub: kaeza
IRC: kaeza diemartin blaaaaargh
In-game: kaeza
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Contact:

Re: Post your modding questions here

by kaeza » Post

Tmanyo wrote:The main question is, How does one "iterate" through a table and get all the information to be able to place into individual strings that can then be listed in a form?
From the Lua Manual:
pairs (t)

Returns three values: the next function, the table t, and nil, so that the construction

for k,v in pairs(t) do body end

will iterate over all key–value pairs of table t.

See function next for the caveats of modifying the table during its traversal.
Is that what you want?
Your signature is not the place for a blog post. Please keep it as concise as possible. Thank you!

Check out my stuff! | Donations greatly appreciated! PayPal

User avatar
Tmanyo
Member
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2014 01:20
GitHub: Tmanyo
IRC: Tmanyo
In-game: tmanyo
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Post your modding questions here

by Tmanyo » Post

kaeza wrote:
Tmanyo wrote:The main question is, How does one "iterate" through a table and get all the information to be able to place into individual strings that can then be listed in a form?
From the Lua Manual:
pairs (t)

Returns three values: the next function, the table t, and nil, so that the construction

for k,v in pairs(t) do body end

will iterate over all key–value pairs of table t.

See function next for the caveats of modifying the table during its traversal.
Is that what you want?
Somewhat, I will keep trying new things to see different results. Thank you.
Edit--
I was able to figure out a solution! Thank you to everyone who helped. :)
Tmanyo
http://www.rrhmsservers.ml
Servers I Host:
Tmanyo-Realism
Mods of mine that I don't totally hate:
Bank Accounts
T-Rating
Tmusic Player

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
Posts: 2943
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
Contact:

Re: Post your modding questions here

by TumeniNodes » Post

I am so horrible with Lua : (
So, for a while now I have been trying to add the smoke particles from Homedecor's fake fire mod to default torches.
I gave up after a few tries back about a couple months ago.

I decided to try again the other day and still just have not been able to learn/understand Lua enough to achieve this goal.

Could someone look at how I attempted it this time and tell me where I am going wrong?
I'm sorry to keep bugging people, but it is embarrassing for me because I just don't seem to be able to grasp coding at all, and does not help that I have some issues which are making it near impossible for me to try to learn anything new these days

My plan was to at least get the function working first, and then get to redoing the smoke texture to fit for torches. Then apply it to the other torch varients (i.e. wall mount, floor, ceiling etc)
I already added the smoke texture to default textures folder, and the sounds as well to the sounds folder.

But I just have no idea where or how to add the code I copy/pasted, and just edited "chimney" with "torch" : /
I commented out the on_destruct code as it kept throwing errors for me

<edit> I did just realise I commented out at the "end" of the function and edited that to just before on_destruct now. sorry about that mistake. It still throws an error though, because my code is botched.

Here is my circus code :P

Code: Select all

local function start_smoke(pos, node, clicker, torch)
	local this_spawner_meta = minetest.get_meta(pos)
	local id = this_spawner_meta:get_int("smoky")
	local s_handle = this_spawner_meta:get_int("sound")
	local above = minetest.get_node({x=pos.x, y=pos.y+1, z=pos.z}).name

	if id ~= 0 then
		if s_handle then
			minetest.after(0, function(handle)
				minetest.sound_stop(handle)
			end, s_handle)
		end
		minetest.delete_particlespawner(id)
		this_spawner_meta:set_int("smoky", nil)
		this_spawner_meta:set_int("sound", nil)
		return
	end

	if above == "air" and (not id or id == 0) then
		id = minetest.add_particlespawner({
			amount = 4, time = 0, collisiondetection = true,
			minpos = {x=pos.x-0.25, y=pos.y+0.4, z=pos.z-0.25},
			maxpos = {x=pos.x+0.25, y=pos.y+5, z=pos.z+0.25},
			minvel = {x=-0.2, y=0.3, z=-0.2}, maxvel = {x=0.2, y=1, z=0.2},
			minacc = {x=0,y=0,z=0}, maxacc = {x=0,y=0.5,z=0},
			minexptime = 1, maxexptime = 3,
			minsize = 4, maxsize = 8,
			texture = "smoke_particle.png",
		})
		if chimney == 1 then
			this_spawner_meta:set_int("smoky", id)
			this_spawner_meta:set_int("sound", nil)
		else
			s_handle = minetest.sound_play("fire_small", {
				pos = pos,
				max_hear_distance = 5,
				loop = true
			})
			this_spawner_meta:set_int("smoky", id)
			this_spawner_meta:set_int("sound", s_handle)
		end
	end
end

local function stop_smoke(pos)
	local this_spawner_meta = minetest.get_meta(pos)
	local id = this_spawner_meta:get_int("smoky")
	local s_handle = this_spawner_meta:get_int("sound")

	if id ~= 0 then
		minetest.delete_particlespawner(id)
	end

	if s_handle then
		minetest.after(0, function(handle)
			minetest.sound_stop(handle)
		end, s_handle)
	end

	this_spawner_meta:set_int("smoky", nil)
	this_spawner_meta:set_int("sound", nil)
end

minetest.register_node("default:torch", {
	description = "Torch",
	drawtype = "mesh",
	mesh = "torch_floor.obj",
	inventory_image = "default_torch_on_floor.png",
	wield_image = "default_torch_on_floor.png",
	tiles = {{
		    name = "default_torch_on_floor_animated.png",
		    animation = {type = "vertical_frames", aspect_w = 16, aspect_h = 16, length = 3.3}
	}},
	paramtype = "light",
	paramtype2 = "wallmounted",
	sunlight_propagates = true,
	walkable = false,
	liquids_pointable = false,
	light_source = 13,
	groups = {choppy=2, dig_immediate=3, flammable=1, attached_node=1, torch=1},
	drop = "default:torch",
	selection_box = {
		type = "wallmounted",
		wall_bottom = {-1/8, -1/2, -1/8, 1/8, 2/16, 1/8},
	},
	sounds = default.node_sound_wood_defaults(),
	on_rightclick = function(pos, node, clicker, itemstack, pointed_thing)
			local torch = 1
			start_smoke(pos, node, clicker, torch)
			return itemstack
		--[[end,
		on_destruct = function (pos)
			stop_smoke(pos)]]--
		end
	on_place = function(itemstack, placer, pointed_thing)
		local under = pointed_thing.under
		local node = minetest.get_node(under)
		local def = minetest.registered_nodes[node.name]
		if def and def.on_rightclick and
			((not placer) or (placer and not placer:get_player_control().sneak)) then
			return def.on_rightclick(under, node, placer, itemstack,
				pointed_thing) or itemstack
		end
A Wonderful World

Nyarg
Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 04:32

Re: Post your modding questions here

by Nyarg » Post

TumeniNodes wrote:I commented out the on_destruct code as it kept throwing errors for me
I replace for example

Code: Select all

minetest.register_node("default:torch
...
in ..\minetest-0.4.14\games\minetest_game\mods\default\nodes.lua

with your code then edit part

Code: Select all

minetest.register_node("default:torch", { 
   description = "Torch",
---   drawtype = "mesh",
	drawtype = "torchlike",
---   mesh = "torch_floor.obj",
   inventory_image = "default_torch_on_floor.png",
   wield_image = "default_torch_on_floor.png",
   tiles = {{
          name = "default_torch_on_floor_animated.png",
          animation = {type = "vertical_frames", aspect_w = 16, aspect_h = 16, length = 3.3}
   }},
   paramtype = "light",
   paramtype2 = "wallmounted",
   sunlight_propagates = true,
   walkable = false,
   liquids_pointable = false,
   light_source = 13,
   groups = {choppy=2, dig_immediate=3, flammable=1, attached_node=1, torch=1},
   drop = "default:torch",
   selection_box = {
      type = "wallmounted",
      wall_bottom = {-1/8, -1/2, -1/8, 1/8, 2/16, 1/8},
   },
   sounds = default.node_sound_wood_defaults(),

  
   on_destruct = function (pos)

      stop_smoke(pos)	 
   end ,


   on_place = function(itemstack, placer, pointed_thing)
      local under = pointed_thing.under
      local node = minetest.get_node(under)
      local def = minetest.registered_nodes[node.name]

      local torch = 1

      start_smoke(pointed_thing.above, node, clicker, torch)
      start_smoke(under, node, clicker, torch)
		 
	  local stack = ItemStack("default:torch")
	  local ret = minetest.item_place(stack, placer, pointed_thing)
	  return ItemStack("default:torch " ..
			itemstack:get_count() - (1 - ret:get_count()))		 
	end

}) 
so it works but

Code: Select all

local function stop_smoke(pos) 
   local this_spawner_meta = minetest.get_meta(pos)
   local id = this_spawner_meta:get_int("smoky")
   local s_handle = this_spawner_meta:get_int("sound")
   print("======DESTRUCT id + pos  "..id, minetest.serialize(pos))
...
Show me id = 0.
Why ?
I am a noob. still yet. Not so noob ) [vml] WIP and a little proof for fun PlantedTorch )))
MT Strike 78a36b468554d101e0be3b0d1f587a555f396452 Great! Somebody have found it )
"My english isn't well" I know. I'm sorry )

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
Posts: 2943
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
Contact:

Re: Post your modding questions here

by TumeniNodes » Post

The code I edited is from 0.4.15 (stable) torch.lua, not sure if that is causing that issue.

But, tried your edit and no luck, no results. Thank you though.

You say the effect is working for you though, editing this into 0.4.14? Well that's pretty cool : )
That is step #1 forward I guess :D
A Wonderful World

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
Posts: 2943
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
Contact:

Re: Post your modding questions here

by TumeniNodes » Post

Nyarg,
I have to apologize.
Your edit does, in fact work. I'm a goof, and had the torches mod enabled, which overrode the code :P
So, I will need to implement this function for that mod as well, to add it to that.

Thank you.

Now I will start tweaking the smoke texture and the particle's size and positions, so they look better with torches.
And to find a better suited sound file for them. : )
A Wonderful World

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
Posts: 2943
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
Contact:

Re: Post your modding questions here

by TumeniNodes » Post

Is there someplace I can add inventory and wield images for various materials in this code?
the self-generated images look horrible.

Code: Select all

function angledglass.register_glass(subname, recipeitem, groups, images, description, sounds)
	groups.glass = 1
minetest.register_node(":angledglass:glass" .. subname, {
	description = description,
	drawtype = "mesh",
	mesh = "angled_glass.obj",
	tiles = images,
	use_texture_alpha = true,
	paramtype = "light",
	sunlight_propogates = true,
	paramtype2 = "facedir",
	is_ground_content = false,
	groups = groups,
	sounds = sounds,
	collision_box = {
		type = "fixed",
		fixed = {
			{0.375, -0.5, 0.375, 0.5, 0.5, 0.5},
			{-0.5, -0.5, -0.5, -0.375, 0.5, -0.375},
			{-0.4375, -0.5, -0.4375, -0.3125, 0.5, -0.3125},
			{0.3125, -0.5, 0.3125, 0.4375, 0.5, 0.4375},
			{0.25, -0.5, 0.25, 0.375, 0.5, 0.375},
			{-0.375, -0.5, -0.375, -0.25, 0.5, -0.25},
			{0.1875, -0.5, 0.1875, 0.3125, 0.5, 0.3125},
			{-0.3125, -0.5, -0.3125, -0.1875, 0.5, -0.1875},
			{0.125, -0.5, 0.125, 0.25, 0.5, 0.25},
			{-0.25, -0.5, -0.25, -0.125, 0.5, -0.125},
			{0.0625, -0.5, 0.0625, 0.1875, 0.5, 0.1875},
			{-0.1875, -0.5, -0.1875, -0.0625, 0.5, -0.0625},
			{0, -0.5, 0, 0.125, 0.5, 0.125},
			{-0.125, -0.5, -0.125, 0, 0.5, 0},
			{-0.0625, -0.5, -0.0625, 0.0625, 0.5, 0.0625},
		}
	},
	on_place = angledglass.angled_place
})
end


-- Register glass types

angledglass.register_glass("_acacia_wood_glass", "default:acacia_wood",
		{choppy = 2, oddly_breakable_by_hand = 2, flammable = 3, wood = 1},
		{"default_glass.png", "default_acacia_wood.png"},
		"Acacia Wood Glass",
		default.node_sound_glass_defaults())
		
angledglass.register_glass("_acacia_wood_obsidian_glass", "default:acacia_wood",
		{choppy = 2, oddly_breakable_by_hand = 2, flammable = 3, wood = 1},
		{"default_obsidian_glass.png", "default_acacia_wood.png"},
		"Acacia Wood Obsidian Glass",
		default.node_sound_glass_defaults())
A Wonderful World

User avatar
cx384
Member
Posts: 654
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 09:38
GitHub: cx384
IRC: cx384

Re: Post your modding questions here

by cx384 » Post

TumeniNodes wrote:Is there someplace I can add inventory and wield images for various materials in this code?
the self-generated images look horrible.

Code: Select all

function angledglass.register_glass(subname, recipeitem, groups, images, description, sounds)
	groups.glass = 1
minetest.register_node(":angledglass:glass" .. subname, {
	description = description,
	drawtype = "mesh",
	mesh = "angled_glass.obj",
	tiles = images,
	use_texture_alpha = true,
	paramtype = "light",
	sunlight_propogates = true,
	paramtype2 = "facedir",
	is_ground_content = false,
	groups = groups,
	sounds = sounds,
	collision_box = {
		type = "fixed",
		fixed = {
			{0.375, -0.5, 0.375, 0.5, 0.5, 0.5},
			{-0.5, -0.5, -0.5, -0.375, 0.5, -0.375},
			{-0.4375, -0.5, -0.4375, -0.3125, 0.5, -0.3125},
			{0.3125, -0.5, 0.3125, 0.4375, 0.5, 0.4375},
			{0.25, -0.5, 0.25, 0.375, 0.5, 0.375},
			{-0.375, -0.5, -0.375, -0.25, 0.5, -0.25},
			{0.1875, -0.5, 0.1875, 0.3125, 0.5, 0.3125},
			{-0.3125, -0.5, -0.3125, -0.1875, 0.5, -0.1875},
			{0.125, -0.5, 0.125, 0.25, 0.5, 0.25},
			{-0.25, -0.5, -0.25, -0.125, 0.5, -0.125},
			{0.0625, -0.5, 0.0625, 0.1875, 0.5, 0.1875},
			{-0.1875, -0.5, -0.1875, -0.0625, 0.5, -0.0625},
			{0, -0.5, 0, 0.125, 0.5, 0.125},
			{-0.125, -0.5, -0.125, 0, 0.5, 0},
			{-0.0625, -0.5, -0.0625, 0.0625, 0.5, 0.0625},
		}
	},
	on_place = angledglass.angled_place
})
end


-- Register glass types

angledglass.register_glass("_acacia_wood_glass", "default:acacia_wood",
		{choppy = 2, oddly_breakable_by_hand = 2, flammable = 3, wood = 1},
		{"default_glass.png", "default_acacia_wood.png"},
		"Acacia Wood Glass",
		default.node_sound_glass_defaults())
		
angledglass.register_glass("_acacia_wood_obsidian_glass", "default:acacia_wood",
		{choppy = 2, oddly_breakable_by_hand = 2, flammable = 3, wood = 1},
		{"default_obsidian_glass.png", "default_acacia_wood.png"},
		"Acacia Wood Obsidian Glass",
		default.node_sound_glass_defaults())
You can add:

Code: Select all

wield_image = "myimage.png",
https://github.com/minetest/minetest/bl ... .txt#L3742
Can your read this?

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
Posts: 2943
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
Contact:

Re: Post your modding questions here

by TumeniNodes » Post

Thanks cx,
I know of those but, just not where I can place it in this code so it will work

Nothing I have tried has worked.
I have tried using wield_image and inventory_image in both the node registration, and type registration codes.

The problem is, I have used them before but don;t know how when using the subname structure in code
A Wonderful World

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
Posts: 2578
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: LandarVargan
In-game: LandarVargan

Re: Post your modding questions here

by Lone_Wolf » Post

I edited the texture for the nyancat sword (nyancatsplus mod) in windows Paint and in the game there's white in the place of the transparent background I was aiming for. I've been able to get transparent backrounds with paint before (Making a skin for MineBlocks). Any suggestions?
My ContentDB -|- Working on CaptureTheFlag -|- Minetest Forums Dark Theme!! (You need it)

User avatar
cx384
Member
Posts: 654
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 09:38
GitHub: cx384
IRC: cx384

Re: Post your modding questions here

by cx384 » Post

Lone_Wolf wrote:I edited the texture for the nyancat sword (nyancatsplus mod) in windows Paint and in the game there's white in the place of the transparent background I was aiming for. I've been able to get transparent backrounds with paint before (Making a skin for MineBlocks). Any suggestions?
Use gimp!
https://www.gimp.org/
Can your read this?

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests