[Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

User avatar
ManElevation
Member
 
Posts: 896
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 22:04
Location: Madrid,Spain
GitHub: ManElevation
IRC: ManElevation
In-game: ManElevation

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by ManElevation » Sun Jan 01, 2017 12:04

echosa wrote:Ah. Ok. The main post just says "Dependence: default". Thanks. I'll try that tomorrow.

all ways there to help :)
My Public Mods! Discord: Rottweiler Games#3368
 

User avatar
ManElevation
Member
 
Posts: 896
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 22:04
Location: Madrid,Spain
GitHub: ManElevation
IRC: ManElevation
In-game: ManElevation

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by ManElevation » Sun Jan 01, 2017 12:05

DS-minetest wrote:no, you have to add the textures to the "textures" folder of basic_machines or to another mod textures folder but then you have to add this mod to depends.txt (add a "?" to the end of the mod name to make it optional)
the textures are:
"sky_pos_y.png",
"sky_neg_y.png",
"sky_pos_z.png",
"sky_neg_z.png",
"sky_neg_x.png" and
"sky_pos_x.png"
they should explain themselves


and those textures are part of the sky mod
My Public Mods! Discord: Rottweiler Games#3368
 

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
Location: I'm scared that if this is too exact, I will be unable to use my keyboard.
GitHub: DS-Minetest
In-game: DS

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by DS-minetest » Sun Jan 01, 2017 15:33

ManElevation wrote:and those textures are part of the sky mod

you can find examples for these textures in sky mod topic but you could also take other textures
Do not call me -minetest.
Call me DS or DS-minetest.
I am German, so you don't have to pm me English if you are also German.
The background is a lie.
 

echosa
Member
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 04:01

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by echosa » Sun Jan 01, 2017 18:41

It's strange to me that 1.) the initial post doesn't have instructions for this, and 2.) that this is required at all. I would have expected basic_machines to tell me it needs the textures/another mod or to have the textures/other mod already bundled with it. I guess I'm used to most mods either being complete or telling me that extra stuff is required. Like I said, it's just strange to me. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 

User avatar
ManElevation
Member
 
Posts: 896
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 22:04
Location: Madrid,Spain
GitHub: ManElevation
IRC: ManElevation
In-game: ManElevation

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by ManElevation » Mon Jan 02, 2017 00:32

DS-minetest wrote:
ManElevation wrote:and those textures are part of the sky mod

you can find examples for these textures in sky mod topic but you could also take other textures


true but its easier for him
My Public Mods! Discord: Rottweiler Games#3368
 

User avatar
ManElevation
Member
 
Posts: 896
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 22:04
Location: Madrid,Spain
GitHub: ManElevation
IRC: ManElevation
In-game: ManElevation

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by ManElevation » Mon Jan 02, 2017 23:06

Ruggero wrote:I've tried out this mod. It's a little difficult to play but it can replace mesecons AND technic quite good. But the thing that leaved me most impressed of all was the Recycler. Now, i can't understand the code at all but i thinked: "if the Recycler can return only 75 percent of the stuff used for the crafting why can't it return ALL the stuff?" If this is possible the Recycler would turn into a kind of reverse crafting table device! (Good stuff for a mod)


yea i know its hard, but when you get how to do it youll never forget, wiki ---> https://github.com/ac-minetest/basic_machines/wiki/mover
My Public Mods! Discord: Rottweiler Games#3368
 

User avatar
ManElevation
Member
 
Posts: 896
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 22:04
Location: Madrid,Spain
GitHub: ManElevation
IRC: ManElevation
In-game: ManElevation

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by ManElevation » Tue Jan 03, 2017 02:52

https://github.com/ManElevation/basic_m ... ro-no-fuel

i edited basic machines and made the enviro with out the need of fuel like the older versions
My Public Mods! Discord: Rottweiler Games#3368
 

User avatar
ManElevation
Member
 
Posts: 896
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 22:04
Location: Madrid,Spain
GitHub: ManElevation
IRC: ManElevation
In-game: ManElevation

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by ManElevation » Tue Jan 03, 2017 04:34

Rnd you can use this texture for something like a machine. no need to credit
Image
My Public Mods! Discord: Rottweiler Games#3368
 

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
Location: I'm scared that if this is too exact, I will be unable to use my keyboard.
GitHub: DS-Minetest
In-game: DS

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by DS-minetest » Tue Jan 03, 2017 11:36

ManElevation wrote:Rnd you can use this texture for something like a machine. no need to credit
Image

It looks like a compass.
You should post the texture at Post your mod texture requests here.
Do not call me -minetest.
Call me DS or DS-minetest.
I am German, so you don't have to pm me English if you are also German.
The background is a lie.
 

User avatar
SaKeL
Member
 
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 18:39
GitHub: JurajVajda
IRC: SaKeL
In-game: SaKeL

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by SaKeL » Mon Jan 16, 2017 21:20

getting recently new error
Code: Select all
2017-01-16 19:08:23: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: Lua: Runtime error from mod '' in callback item_OnPlace(): /root/.minetest/mods/basic_machines/mover.lua:225: bad argument #3 to 'show_formspec' (string expected, got nil)
2017-01-16 19:08:23: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2017-01-16 19:08:23: ERROR[Main]:    [C]: in function 'show_formspec'
2017-01-16 19:08:23: ERROR[Main]:    /root/.minetest/mods/basic_machines/mover.lua:225: in function 'on_rightclick'
2017-01-16 19:08:23: ERROR[Main]:    /usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/item.lua:337: in function </usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/item.lua:330>
 

hajo
Member
 
Posts: 596
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by hajo » Mon Jan 16, 2017 22:55

Ruggero wrote:"if the Recycler can return only 75 percent of the stuff used for the crafting
why can't it return ALL the stuff?"

Simple - It is a design-decision to give the player some loss.
See wiki: "Recycler turns stuff back into the materials used to make it,
with 25% loss of materials ( random based )"
 

User avatar
rnd
Member
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 12:24
GitHub: ac-minetest
IRC: ac_minetest
In-game: rnd

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by rnd » Tue Jan 17, 2017 11:03

getting recently new error

try new update:

-gui tweaks ( mover, distributor forms now autorefresh)
-all (trap)doors from 0.4.15 can now open/close with signal
-better distributor mechanics ( when delay is used all targets activate inside one minetest.after)
-better keypad mechanics (prevents spamming multiple active minetest.after)

Example (Automatic smelting station - works for players who are not in protection)
insert items in left chest, open trapdoor to activate, get product from right chest
Image
Attachments
smelting station.jpg
(61.47 KiB) Not downloaded yet
If you want to tell people the truth, make them laugh, otherwise they'll kill you. Oscar Wilde
 

hajo
Member
 
Posts: 596
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by hajo » Thu Jan 19, 2017 17:06

rnd wrote:Example (Automatic smelting station ..
insert items in left chest, open trapdoor to activate, get product from right chest

What is the point of that trapdoor,
when there is already a keypad to use as start/stop-button ?
 

User avatar
rnd
Member
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 12:24
GitHub: ac-minetest
IRC: ac_minetest
In-game: rnd

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by rnd » Thu Jan 19, 2017 17:29

suppose you put diamonds in and you want to get them back.. push that keypad
If you want to tell people the truth, make them laugh, otherwise they'll kill you. Oscar Wilde
 

User avatar
ManElevation
Member
 
Posts: 896
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 22:04
Location: Madrid,Spain
GitHub: ManElevation
IRC: ManElevation
In-game: ManElevation

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by ManElevation » Wed Jan 25, 2017 03:20

DS-minetest wrote:
ManElevation wrote:Rnd you can use this texture for something like a machine. no need to credit
Image

It looks like a compass.
You should post the texture at Post your mod texture requests here.


good idea
My Public Mods! Discord: Rottweiler Games#3368
 

hajo
Member
 
Posts: 596
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by hajo » Wed Jan 25, 2017 08:02

Idea: colored lights (e.g. send a color-name or RGB-value from a keypad)
And maybe colors for the keypads, too.

Also: I don't understand how batteries and power / energy work,
and how to determine the power-requirements of a set of machines.
(Other then trial-and-error, or max-everything)

The wiki-pages about battery and generator only have the crafting recipes.

BTW, lights are completely missing in the List of machines at the github-wiki.
 

hajo
Member
 
Posts: 596
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by hajo » Sun Feb 05, 2017 20:40

I cannot get distributors to work correctly.

E.g. I have 2 working stacks with a battery, keypad and furnace:
F1 xx F2
B1 K0 B2
K1 D0 K2

The keypads K1 and K2 point to the batteries B1 and B2
that power the furnaces F1 and F2 on top of their stacks,
and they cook the items inside them - ok so far.

The stack in the center has a keypad K0 and a distributor D0,
where the keypad triggers the distributor,
and the distributor is set to trigger both batteries (and in turn the furnaces),
just as if K1 and K2 had both been pressed - but it doesn't work.
Mode is 1, to pass the original signal (keypads send 2=ON),
and no delay.

Rightclicking and 'show 1' etc. highlight the correct blocks,
(and I did already try other combinations, e.g. point at the keypads or furnaces),
but no success.

Also, to activate a keypad reliably, the player has to wield a pickaxe when punching.
When holding an axe, shovel, torch, or empty hand, sometimes there is no reaction.

BTW, keypads have a field for "repeat",
but I don't see how the timing for that repeat works.
(i.e. I would like to trigger the furnaces again after the burn has finished
- say about once every minute)

Also, is there a way to list/dump the setup of such a machine/cluster of machines?
 

User avatar
GreenDimond
Member
 
Posts: 1266
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 01:26
Location: Yes
GitHub: GreenXenith
IRC: GreenDimond
In-game: GreenDimond
 

hajo
Member
 
Posts: 596
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE
 

User avatar
GreenDimond
Member
 
Posts: 1266
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 01:26
Location: Yes
GitHub: GreenXenith
IRC: GreenDimond
In-game: GreenDimond

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by GreenDimond » Fri Mar 17, 2017 18:22

hajo wrote:
GreenDimond wrote:Is that... HAL?

You mean the detector ?

Yes.

Also, the mover has incorrect pine tree names (ie. default:pinetree should default:pine_tree).
Y▹uTube | Mods | Patreon | Minetest Discord | GreenDimond#3232
 

Salex
Member
 
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 19:03
Location: Rome,Italy.
In-game: Salex

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by Salex » Sat Apr 15, 2017 20:34

Deleted
Last edited by Salex on Mon Jun 19, 2017 11:20, edited 1 time in total.
Salex will not be an active account on forums.I asked Admins of server I play to change my name from Salex to FGH or to help me get the account back.So now I'll play as FGH(my old nickname)and my minetest forum account will be FGH.
 

Salex
Member
 
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 19:03
Location: Rome,Italy.
In-game: Salex

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by Salex » Tue Apr 18, 2017 17:06

Deleted
Last edited by Salex on Mon Jun 19, 2017 11:20, edited 1 time in total.
Salex will not be an active account on forums.I asked Admins of server I play to change my name from Salex to FGH or to help me get the account back.So now I'll play as FGH(my old nickname)and my minetest forum account will be FGH.
 

hajo
Member
 
Posts: 596
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by hajo » Mon May 22, 2017 08:24

Some more ideas/suggestions for basic_machines:

clockgen - could use a dialog for setting the activation-timing
(like the deactivation-dialog for lights)

lights - colors for lights (eg. traffic-lights),
maybe using the text from keypad to specify the color.

keypad :
* allow to set the prompt text (currently fixed at "enter text" / "enter password")
* allow to edit an existing text (like for signs)
* colors for the keypad (eg. red/green for start/stop-buttons)
Also, it would be nice to have some way to get a list of valid sounds that can be played.
Maybe as a book, made by the constructor ?
And some more sounds/door-chimes would also be nice (new mod 'basic_sounds' ?).

distributor :
* staged delays: start the delay-timer for entry#2 when entry#1 has been triggered, etc.)
This would enable animated sequences with just 1 distributor
(e.g. traffic-lights, airlock/drawbridge-animation, etc.)

* use input-signal (from keypad) as start-address
This would enable several animated sequences with just 1 distributor,
eg. use the entries 1-8 for a door-animation from outside->in,
and the distributor-entries 9-16 for the animation of the doors inside->out
(with maybe an empty entry as stop/end-marker between sequences)

mover - setting it up as a teleporter can be a hassle
* needs a better error-message then "click closer to mover" (by how much?)
* allow direct input of coordinates, if the target-area belongs to the player

autocrafter - could use improvements:
* it is not smart enough to recurse on recipes
(e.g. given wood to make ladders doesn't work - it needs sticks as input)
* the grid doesn't support moving stuff in&out with shift-click

constructor / grinder / robot-worker - could use different textures / colors
* using the same textures is confusing in a crowded factory

Also, some more documentation/examples about detector / environ / ball-spawner.
 

843jdc
Member
 
Posts: 352
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 16:46
Location: USA
GitHub: jdc843
IRC: jdc843
In-game: 843jdc

nada

by 843jdc » Sun Jun 04, 2017 08:00

Post Deleted.
Last edited by 843jdc on Mon Jun 12, 2017 16:17, edited 3 times in total.
 

User avatar
rnd
Member
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 12:24
GitHub: ac-minetest
IRC: ac_minetest
In-game: rnd

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by rnd » Sun Jun 04, 2017 13:37

This was used to test during debug to see if this mod causes lag - by turning off all machines using this command. Normally admin/or that 'special' player can use it
Last edited by rnd on Sun Jun 11, 2017 15:46, edited 2 times in total.
If you want to tell people the truth, make them laugh, otherwise they'll kill you. Oscar Wilde
 

PreviousNext

Return to WIP Mods



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CalebJ and 3 guests