[Mod] Mobs Redo [1.53] [mobs]

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2880
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.34] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

zorman: the snippet of code I posted only handles a path length of 16 nodes, try increasing it to 50.

User avatar
D00Med
Member
Posts: 943
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
GitHub: D00Med
Location: Australia...somewhere

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.34] [mobs]

by D00Med » Post

@TenPlus1 I can't seem to get it to work, should "minetest.find_path(h, h, 50, 3, 6, "Dijkstra")" be changed to "minetest.find_path(p, h, 50, 3, 6, "Dijkstra")"
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4167
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.34] [mobs]

by Sokomine » Post

flummi wrote: The tamed sheeps (and the cows although) from mobs_redo keep slipping through the corners of my corral - and only there in the corners. They can't jump over the fences or slip through at any other places. They just walk around in the corral until they reach a corner. There they stand still for some moments with their backside to the corner and then slowly start sliding backwards until they are approx. half through the fence. Then they turn around and walk away - outside the corral. This seems to not happen to the sheeps from the cme creature mod.

Does anybody know how to fix this or prevent them from slidding through my fences? Keeping them in a pit or building stonewalls isn't an option ;-) And I like the sheeps from mobs_redo - especially the red one :-)
I once had a lamb tunnel through the one-node wide floor while I was working somewhere below. Only a piece of wool and meat remained from the unlucky animal. Mob loss due to tunneling through corners afaik still happens. It's less bad than in the days when the first mobs came to MT - in those days, sheeps jumped on the back of other sheeps and thus escaped any fenced-in area (was another mod back then). Smaller animals seem to be particulary endangered by the tunneling effect. The safest way appears to be to have 2 nodes wide walls. There's invisible glass on the Xanandu server which comes in very handy.
burli wrote: I also want to propose to add the function to spawn mobs in groups like a herd of cows
Definitely! It's sad to see all these lone sheep and cows wander the map. Rather than picking up lone animals and "tame" them with a bit of food, I'd love to have herds of sheep walking slowly and randomly around a shepherd-npc-mob who would be willing to sell sheep to players for valuable ores.
Insurrection wrote: Question about mob behaviors- I'm trying to make a new "skittish" tag for mobs (so to speak) that makes them run away from the player once they spot the player. I've tried copying and modifying some of the existing code in API.lua, but no luck. I'm a bit code-dumb, so any help would be appreciated. I'd imagine this would be a useful feature altogether for other modders, too.
That'd also be great but doesn't fit into this particular mod. Mobs_redo has mobs that throw hearts around when having sex. Running away when something dangerous as a player comes would be far too unrealistic for it :-/ If you want to see sheep and rabbits that are rightly afraid of players, take a look at AdventureTest as seen on the TerraQuest server.
Tenplus1 wrote: - New replace function added which can use tables e.g.

replace_what = {"default:grass_3", "default:grass_4", "default:grass_5"},
That's a good idea. The animals seem a lot more lively if they change their environment. Sheep and cows turning dirt_with_grass into dirt, self-feeding on wheat fields...that's something. Just removing grass plants may not be obvious enough to the observer.
A list of my mods can be found here.

redblade7
Member
Posts: 312
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 07:14
IRC: redneonglow redblade7
In-game: redblade7 redblade7_owner

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.34] [mobs]

by redblade7 » Post

I'm running into a problem, after recent updates to mods on my servers, mobs_animal does not stay tamed forever. When you walk away for a while, the mob is "untamed" and loses its name tag if it has one. I don't know if mobs or mobs_animal is responsible, or if it's an update I did for something else. My servers are all at 0.4.15 stable. Were there any changes made to mobs or mobs_animal recently, or is the problem in another mod?

EDIT: After updating several of my mods including mobs and mobs_animal there are no problems. Thank you!
Last edited by redblade7 on Thu Apr 13, 2017 01:10, edited 1 time in total.
-redblade7, admin of: THE CREATIVE GARDENS (creative), THE VALLEYS (sandbox), and THE DIGITAL FARMS (farming/hunger/shops)

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
Posts: 2440
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.34] [mobs]

by Andrey01 » Post

Will any new mobs?

EdShouldBeInBed
Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 16:03
In-game: EdShdBInBed

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.34] [mobs]

by EdShouldBeInBed » Post

Is there a way to set the depth a mob will appear at in minetest.conf? I want to use the goblins, but I'd like to put them down in the region I have HeroOfTheWind's Caverealms appearing.
I'm a writer who tinkers with code on occasion. I play minetest when insomnia makes the writing hard.

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2880
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.34] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

The .conf only allows you to set spawn chance and number but you could easily add a mob:spawn command to your own mod that spawns them at that depth...

EdShouldBeInBed
Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 16:03
In-game: EdShdBInBed

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.34] [mobs]

by EdShouldBeInBed » Post

Cool, figured that. Just wanted to see if there was a setting before I altered the code. :)
I'm a writer who tinkers with code on occasion. I play minetest when insomnia makes the writing hard.

User avatar
googol
Member
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 09:23

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.34] [mobs]

by googol » Post

A small request.
Could you add in to the all functions
minetest.register_craftitem
Where is on_use = minetest.item_eat()
Next line:
groups = {eatable=N}
Please.

for example:
-- before

Code: Select all

-- fried egg
minetest.register_craftitem(":mobs:chicken_egg_fried", {
description = S("Fried Egg"),
	inventory_image = "mobs_chicken_egg_fried.png",
	on_use = minetest.item_eat(2),
})
-- after

Code: Select all

-- fried egg
minetest.register_craftitem(":mobs:chicken_egg_fried", {
description = S("Fried Egg"),
	inventory_image = "mobs_chicken_egg_fried.png",
	groups = {eatable=2},
	on_use = minetest.item_eat(2),
})
Thanks.
I am groot!

bell07
Member
Posts: 598
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 15:15
GitHub: bell07

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.34] [mobs]

by bell07 » Post

+1
But the right group should be "food", to be sync to the "food" mod.

Code: Select all

food_meat=1
The food mod does have the food.support(group, item) enhancer function, some items are already enhanced in https://github.com/rubenwardy/food/blob ... upport.lua
But my view is the item groups should be defined in mods that defines the items.

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2880
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.34] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Update:

- Fixed snow glitch where mobs couldn't attack player while standing on snow, now line_of_sight only counts FULL blocks as an obstruction.

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21
Location: Bigsby Texas
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.34] [mobs]

by Nathan.S » Post

Hey, now the mobs are going to kill me. ;)
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website, and brand new Minetest Modding Course

User avatar
cHyper
Member
Posts: 904
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 08:49
GitHub: cHyper-0815OL
IRC: cHyper cHyper_de
In-game: cHyper cHyper_0815
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.34] [mobs]

by cHyper » Post

what about to support award-mod? where u can count the mob kills for instance.

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.34] [mobs]

by burli » Post

I noticed that path following works with Oerkki, Sand monster and Dirt monster, but not with spider or tree monster. I can't open the mesh models with Blender. Can someone check where the origin of the models is?

Bread
Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 14:29

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.34] [mobs]

by Bread » Post

Mobs can step over fence and gate without jumping now.

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.34] [mobs]

by burli » Post

Bread wrote:Mobs can step over fence and gate without jumping now.
Because stepheight is set to 1.1

ph8jPf9M
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 10:29
GitHub: 22i

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.34] [mobs]

by ph8jPf9M » Post

burli wrote:I noticed that path following works with Oerkki, Sand monster and Dirt monster, but not with spider or tree monster. I can't open the mesh models with Blender. Can someone check where the origin of the models is?
not sure but found these viewtopic.php?t=3063 https://github.com/mdoege/stampy_mobs_blender_files

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.34] [mobs]

by burli » Post

I have downloaded the mobs_mc mod, but pathfinding doesn't work for mobs like Zombie and Skeleton, but it works with the spider. I have no idea why. Can someone help to find the reason and fix this? I don't know enough about Blender

User avatar
MinisterFarrigut
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 14:59
In-game: singleplayer
Location: The ruins of my basement

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.34] [mobs]

by MinisterFarrigut » Post

Wait, could it be possible to put Minecraft mods into Minetest?
I build buildings. I don't usually make mods...I use them.

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
Posts: 2440
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.34] [mobs]

by Andrey01 » Post

MinisterFarrigut wrote:Wait, could it be possible to put Minecraft mods into Minetest?
I consider it is possible.Only you need write Minecraft`s mods on Lua

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2880
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.35] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Updated to version 1.35:

- Fixed group_attack so that only members of the same species will attack player
- Added owner_loyal flag so that when player hits an enemy, loyal and aggressive pets will attack it as well.

Thanks to vaguelyAnonymous for the 2nd idea :)

KCoombes
Member
Posts: 412
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 23:19
In-game: Knatt
Location: SW Florida, USA

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.35] [mobs]

by KCoombes » Post

TenPlus1 wrote:Updated to version 1.35:

- Fixed group_attack so that only members of the same species will attack player
- Added owner_loyal flag so that when player hits an enemy, loyal and aggressive pets will attack it as well.

Thanks to vaguelyAnonymous for the 2nd idea :)
Fabulous! I see gang wars in the future :P

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
Posts: 2410
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf or LoneWolfHT
In-game: Lone_Wolf
Location: Not there, THERE!

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.35] [mobs]

by Lone_Wolf » Post

Could you add a 'Lava sword' that auto-smelts (if possible) the drops of mobs?

Struttas_of_Borg
New member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 13, 2017 18:06

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.35] [mobs]

by Struttas_of_Borg » Post

hey im new to minetest, i have the mod installed and activated, but no mobs are spawning.

how do i get the mobs.

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.35] [mobs]

by burli » Post

you need to add mobs as additional mod. In mobs redo are no mobs included

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bell07, Majestic-12 [Bot] and 5 guests