[Mod] Grains [grains]

Post Reply
User avatar
v-rob
Developer
Posts: 782
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 03:19
GitHub: v-rob
IRC: v-rob
Location: Right behind you.

[Mod] Grains [grains]

by v-rob » Post

Image

This extension for the default farming mod adds four new types of grains: oats, rye, barley, and rice. These all can be made into respective flour and bread. Barley seeds are found in normal grass, while oat, rye, and rice seeds are found in dry grass.

GitHub: https://github.com/v-rob/grains
Zip: https://github.com/v-rob/grains/archive/master.zip

License: MIT for code, CC BY 3.0 for textures.

Depends:
default, farming
Attachments
screenshot_20171119_130542.png
(571.19 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by v-rob on Sun Nov 19, 2017 21:09, edited 1 time in total.
GUI Core Developer | My Best Mods: Bridger - Slats - Stained Glass | To contact me, send a PM

Chibi ghost
Member
Posts: 845
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 21:17
In-game: Ghost

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

by Chibi ghost » Post

I like this does it work with ten+'s farming redo

User avatar
cx384
Member
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 09:38
GitHub: cx384
IRC: cx384

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

by cx384 » Post

Nice mod!
You could add spelt (dinkel) and rice.
Can your read this?

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

Yeah, rice would be cool.

Chem871
Member
Posts: 955
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 21:49
GitHub: Chemguy99
In-game: Chem Nyx
Location: My Basement's Attic

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

by Chem871 » Post

Einkorn! Buckwheat! Spelt! I know from experience that einkorn bread tastes scrumptious :P
What is SCP-055?

User avatar
v-rob
Developer
Posts: 782
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 03:19
GitHub: v-rob
IRC: v-rob
Location: Right behind you.

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

by v-rob » Post

Chibi ghost wrote:I like this does it work with ten+'s farming redo
Only thing it could conflict with is the barley, if that's the farming mod that gives you it.

I like the idea of rice. I'll add it.
GUI Core Developer | My Best Mods: Bridger - Slats - Stained Glass | To contact me, send a PM

Chibi ghost
Member
Posts: 845
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 21:17
In-game: Ghost

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

by Chibi ghost » Post

is there a way to use redo's barley for recipes if redo is present in the game
thus removing potential mod conflict
sorry if what say is strange

User avatar
v-rob
Developer
Posts: 782
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 03:19
GitHub: v-rob
IRC: v-rob
Location: Right behind you.

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

by v-rob » Post

Chibi ghost wrote:is there a way to use redo's barley for recipes if redo is present in the game
thus removing potential mod conflict
sorry if what say is strange
Actually, this is planned already.
GUI Core Developer | My Best Mods: Bridger - Slats - Stained Glass | To contact me, send a PM

Chem871
Member
Posts: 955
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 21:49
GitHub: Chemguy99
In-game: Chem Nyx
Location: My Basement's Attic

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

by Chem871 » Post

Could you make new textures for the rye, barley, and oats seeds, flour, bread, and plants?
What is SCP-055?

Chibi ghost
Member
Posts: 845
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 21:17
In-game: Ghost

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

by Chibi ghost » Post

any news on the development of this mod pls

User avatar
v-rob
Developer
Posts: 782
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 03:19
GitHub: v-rob
IRC: v-rob
Location: Right behind you.

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

by v-rob » Post

Chibi ghost wrote:any news on the development of this mod pls
Sorry! I didn't post the update I made. Rice has been added.

I can't remove the barley if farming_redo is enable without ruining the mod. Farming_redo is technically called "farming", so I would always have barley disabled because of the default farming mod. This mod won't actually conflict with farming redo. All it will do is make two different versions of barley.
GUI Core Developer | My Best Mods: Bridger - Slats - Stained Glass | To contact me, send a PM

Chem871
Member
Posts: 955
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 21:49
GitHub: Chemguy99
In-game: Chem Nyx
Location: My Basement's Attic

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

by Chem871 » Post

Maybe rename your barley to a different kind of wheat. Could you add ricecakes? :P
What is SCP-055?

Chibi ghost
Member
Posts: 845
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 21:17
In-game: Ghost

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

by Chibi ghost » Post

https://www.thespruce.com/what-are-whole-grains-3376950
had a lookie and Farro might be an option

User avatar
Napiophelios
Member
Posts: 1019
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 01:14
GitHub: Napiophelios
IRC: Nappi
In-game: Nappi

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

by Napiophelios » Post

check out PixelBox texture pack by Gambit ( License: WTFPL)
It has some nice textures for the stages of rice.
You are already using variants of his work, so they should fit nicely :)

EDIT: sorry wrong link. You need PixelBox Reloaded

Chibi ghost
Member
Posts: 845
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 21:17
In-game: Ghost

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

by Chibi ghost » Post

silly question but if I adjust the code plus image tag and change every reference to the word barly to another grain name would this mod still work?

User avatar
ManElevation
Member
Posts: 896
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 22:04
GitHub: ManElevation
IRC: ManElevation
In-game: ManElevation
Location: Madrid,Spain

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

by ManElevation » Post

nice! +1
My Public Mods! Discord: Rottweiler Games#3368

Chem871
Member
Posts: 955
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 21:49
GitHub: Chemguy99
In-game: Chem Nyx
Location: My Basement's Attic

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

by Chem871 » Post

Chibi ghost, I think that would work, but you would have to change ALL barley plants/bread/flour etc to something new.
What is SCP-055?

Chibi ghost
Member
Posts: 845
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 21:17
In-game: Ghost

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

by Chibi ghost » Post

yes I worked that out if I didn't like or see the potential of this mod I wouldn't do the work
or see a way to make it work for me
thank you very much
yey seems to work just fine with my minor rewrite and hopefully, very soon I will be
eating my first loaf of farro bread
just rearanging the farm to make room for the new crops

Chibi ghost
Member
Posts: 845
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 21:17
In-game: Ghost

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

by Chibi ghost » Post

is me or the growing times are broken on this mod
I can't seem to get the grains to grow past stage one
Image
Image
Attachments
screenshot_20171123_152444.png
(484.74 KiB) Not downloaded yet
screenshot_20171123_152459.png
(505.84 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
casp3r
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 10:38

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

by casp3r » Post

After 3 day/night cycles i'm comfirm :)
i'm work on it cause i
want it

Chibi ghost
Member
Posts: 845
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 21:17
In-game: Ghost

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

by Chibi ghost » Post

I had this running for more than 1 minetest week and the crop stayed at stage one before I gave up removed the mod and repurposed the spare land

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

In farming you can have hard times :D

Chem871
Member
Posts: 955
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 21:49
GitHub: Chemguy99
In-game: Chem Nyx
Location: My Basement's Attic

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

by Chem871 » Post

V-rob, just look into how Tenplus1 coded his growing stages.
What is SCP-055?

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2871
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Note: If a plant is registered with default farming mod then it will automatically work with farming redo as well :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BuckarooBanzay, Google [Bot] and 6 guests