[Mod] Travelpoints [1.5] [travelpoints]

User avatar
RacsoRhodes
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 15:02
Location: Suffolk, Virginia

Re: [Mod] Travelpoints [1.4] [travelpoints]

by RacsoRhodes » Post

Version 1.4

Major addition: Global Travelpoints.

This update does not break old travelpoint collections or pads.

Let me know if you find any issues.

--Racso
  • This version adds global travelpoints as requested by dgm5555.
  • This version does not break existing travelpoint collections. ABM will automatically update existing transporter pads for formspec changes.
  • init.lua - Added privilege "tpglobal".
  • functions.lua/travelpoints.get_travelpoints_table()
  • [list]
  • Added parameter "mode".
  • Added condition for opening either user's table or the global table.
[*]Updated all calls to travelpoints.get_travelpoints_table().[/*]
[*]functions.lua/travelpoints.save_travelpoints_table()[/*]
  • Added parameter "mode".
  • Added condition for opening either user's table or the global table.
[*]Updated all calls to travelpoints.save_travelpoints_table().[/*]
[*]init.lua - Added chat command "tpgset".[/*]
[*]functions.lua/travelpoints.get_travelpoints_array()[/*]
  • Added parameter "mode".
  • Added condition for opening either user's table or the global table.
[*]Updated all calls to travelpoints.get_travelpoints_array().[/*]
[*]init.lua - Added chat command "tpggo".[/*]
[*]init.lua - Added chat command "tpgdrop".[/*]
[*]functions.lua/travelpoints.get_formspec()[/*]
  • Added parameter "mode".
  • Renamed button "List Travelpoints" to "My Travelpoints".
  • Added button "Global Travelpoints".
  • Removed button "Save" (Saves automatically with each modification.)
  • Added button "Exit".
  • Moved timestamp and modstamp text.
  • Added text for mod version.
[*]Mod now requires at least version 0.4.10 of Minetest for changes in formspec.[/*]
[*]functions.lua/travelpoints.on_destruct() Added[/*]
[*]functions.lua/travelpoints.after_place_node() Added[/*]
[*][/*]functions.lua/travelpoints.on_receive_fields() Added[/*]
[*]functions.lua/travelpoints.can_dig() Added[/*]
[*]nodes.lua[/*]
  • Transporter_pad definition now uses shared call backs.
  • Transporter_pad_active definition now uses shared call backs.
[*]Players with "server" privilege can now dig active transporter.[/*]
[*]functions.lua/travelpoints.get_infotext() - Removed "Placed by " text, now just shows pad owner's name in parentheses.[/*]
[*]Added version and source meta tags to pad nodes.[/*]
[*]nodes.lua - ABM now updates old pads for changes in meta data.[/*]
[*]functions.lua/travelpoints.set_pad_destination() Added[/*]
[*]functions.lua/travelpoints.get_travelpoints_array() no longer prepends 'none' to the travelpoints array.[/*]
[*]Removed all "- 1" math that compensated for the extra index in the travelpoints array.[/*]
[*]init.lua - Chat command "/travelpoints", fixed display for those with server privilege.[/*]
[*]readme.txt[/*]
  • Rewrote "About Travelpoints" section.
  • Added chat commands "/tpgset", "/tpggo" and "/tpgdrop".
  • Fixed minor errors.
[/list]

AceWill
Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 17:11

Re: [Mod] Travelpoints [1.4] [travelpoints]

by AceWill » Post

Good mod - not having to manually choose my destination every time I want to use a telepad is very convenient.

Just a few thoughts/requests:
Would it be possible to make some way to pick which direction you are facing when you arrive? If you put the travel point in an alcove, similar to the screen shot, it would be nice to arrive not facing the wall.

Second: perhaps you could give the receiver pads a purpose by making them configurable as an alternative to using chat commands. (So, you right click on a receiver pad, it gives a formspec that you can use to name the pad, and it gets autosaved as a travel point. Or just leave it unconfigured and use it for decorative purposes. Kind of along the lines of how the transport pad itself works.

User avatar
benrob0329
Member
Posts: 1341
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 22:39
GitHub: Benrob0329
IRC: benrob0329
In-game: benrob03
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Travelpoints [1.4] [travelpoints]

by benrob0329 » Post

Could you please add digiline support? It'd be cool to make a Star Trek style transporter room :-P

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
Posts: 2574
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: [Mod] Travelpoints [1.4] [travelpoints]

by Andrey01 » Post

It still view of mod of travelnets

igetit41
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 22:26

Re: [Mod] Travelpoints [1.4] [travelpoints]

by igetit41 » Post

Hey I'm having an issue with this mod. When I load it in the game crashes with the following error in the init.lua file.

2017-10-09 22:32:15: ERROR[Main]: /home/ubuntu/.minetest/mods/travelpoints/init.lua:75: attempt to call field 'execute' (a nil value)
2017-10-09 22:32:15: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2017-10-09 22:32:15: ERROR[Main]: /home/ubuntu/.minetest/mods/travelpoints/init.lua:75: in main chunk

I looked at that line and did some troubleshooting of my own. It seems to be a problem with the os.execute function specifically. Other os functions work properly in this file if I test them before line 75 and os.execute works just fine in other mods.

Did I do something wrong when loading this mod? I followed your listed instructions and my Minetest version is 0.4.16. What am I missing?

And just to be clear, I've tried creating that directory manually, and that does allow the mod to load, but then the game dies when I try to place a teleport pad. I'm guessing there are other parts of the mod that are impacted by os.execute not working (or by whatever is causing os.execute not to work).

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2828
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: [Mod] Travelpoints [1.4] [travelpoints]

by Hybrid Dog » Post

os.execute may be blocked by mod security. I think you can add travelpoints to trusted mods in some minetest setting.

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

igetit41
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 22:26

Re: [Mod] Travelpoints [1.4] [travelpoints]

by igetit41 » Post

Hybrid Dog wrote:os.execute may be blocked by mod security. I think you can add travelpoints to trusted mods in some minetest setting.
OMG that worked!! I had to turn of security in general (listing travelpoints specifically didn't do it), but it works now :)

Thanks so much, Hybrid Dog!!!

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6972
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Travelpoints [1.4] [travelpoints]

by rubenwardy » Post

igetit41 wrote:OMG that worked!! I had to turn of security in general (listing travelpoints specifically didn't do it), but it works now :)
Warning: it's dangerous to turn off mod security. See: viewtopic.php?f=18&t=17601
Never turn it off on a publicly accessible server. Turning it off in singleplayer is ok if you trust all the mods
Instead this mod should be patched.
Renewed Tab (my browser add-on) | Donate | Mods | Minetest Modding Book

Hello profile reader

User avatar
christoferlevich
Member
Posts: 325
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 23:44
GitHub: ChristoferL
Location: Athol, Massachusetts

Re: [Mod] Travelpoints [1.4] [travelpoints]

by christoferlevich » Post

I would love to try this but I get an error and I don't know if this mod is active or abandoned...
2017-11-23 05:40:19: ERROR[Main]: ModError: Failed to load and run script from C:\Users\Admin\Desktop\Block-Ed-0.4.16-win64\bin\..\mods\travelpoints\init.lua:
2017-11-23 05:40:19: ERROR[Main]: ...\Block-Ed-0.4.16-win64\bin\..\mods\travelpoints\init.lua:75: attempt to call field 'execute' (a nil value)
2017-11-23 05:40:19: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2017-11-23 05:40:19: ERROR[Main]: ...\Block-Ed-0.4.16-win64\bin\..\mods\travelpoints\init.lua:75: in main chunk
2017-11-23 05:40:19: ERROR[Main]: Check debug.txt for details.
line 75 is in the init file is "os.execute("mkdir \"" .. travelpoints.travelpoints_tables .. "\"")"

Is this something I can fix?
everything can be a learning experience...

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2828
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: [Mod] Travelpoints [1.4] [travelpoints]

by Hybrid Dog » Post

christoferlevich, yes you can, see the comments above your post.

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

User avatar
BirgitLachner
Member
Posts: 393
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 10:18
In-game: Bibs

Re: [Mod] Travelpoints [1.4] [travelpoints]

by BirgitLachner » Post

Hybrid Dog wrote:os.execute may be blocked by mod security. I think you can add travelpoints to trusted mods in some minetest setting.
Where do I need to do it?

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2828
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: [Mod] Travelpoints [1.4] [travelpoints]

by Hybrid Dog » Post


‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

User avatar
christoferlevich
Member
Posts: 325
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 23:44
GitHub: ChristoferL
Location: Athol, Massachusetts

Re: [Mod] Travelpoints [1.4] [travelpoints]

by christoferlevich » Post

Hybrid Dog wrote:christoferlevich, yes you can, see the comments above your post.
That did not work. Listed, not listed, security off - etc... I still get the error...
everything can be a learning experience...

User avatar
BirgitLachner
Member
Posts: 393
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 10:18
In-game: Bibs

Re: [Mod] Travelpoints [1.4] [travelpoints]

by BirgitLachner » Post

Yes ... I tried a lot, but I think somebody needs to renew the mod and update it. I tried to find out, what is the difference between Mods that write to a file and Travelpoints and I saw some differences but do not know how to change the Mod.

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2828
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: [Mod] Travelpoints [1.4] [travelpoints]

by Hybrid Dog » Post

Maybe it's used like this

Code: Select all

local insec_env = minetest.request_insecure_environment()
[…]
insec_env.os.execute([…]
Anyway, mods should avoid manually saving information in files because now modstorage is available.

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

User avatar
AndroBuilder
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:34
In-game: AndroBuilder

Re: [Mod] Travelpoints [1.4] [travelpoints]

by AndroBuilder » Post

in order to get this mod to work in windows, you need to manual create a folder named: travelpoints_tables in the world-folder of your game-world.

Second you also need to delete line 75
--os.execute("mkdir "" .. travelpoints.travelpoints_tables .. """)
otherwise it will still crash on windows systems

User avatar
BirgitLachner
Member
Posts: 393
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 10:18
In-game: Bibs

Re: [Mod] Travelpoints [1.4] [travelpoints]

by BirgitLachner » Post

No ... there are too many thing, you need to do ... I already tried that

Hopefully some of the fork will work: https://github.com/RacsoRhodes/travelpoints/network
AFAIK Zeuner is paid to renew the Travelpoints-Mod.

hajo
Member
Posts: 606
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Travelpoints [1.4] [travelpoints]

by hajo » Post

BirgitLachner wrote:Hopefully some of the fork will work: https://github.com/RacsoRhodes/travelpoints/network
How about POI - points-of-interest ?

User avatar
AndroBuilder
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:34
In-game: AndroBuilder

Re: [Mod] Travelpoints [1.4] [travelpoints]

by AndroBuilder » Post

With the changes i wrote ... the mod Works there is no error anymore loading the mod

User avatar
RacsoRhodes
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 15:02
Location: Suffolk, Virginia

Re: [Mod] Travelpoints [1.5] [travelpoints]

by RacsoRhodes » Post

Version 1.5

Corrected directory creation error.

Much thanks to Github user "ritschwumm" for the changes in this version, they pull requested these fixes back in August 2017 and I missed it until now.

Sorry for the near abandoned nature of this mod, I have not played Minetest since version 0.4.14.

I completely missed the addition of "minetest.mkdir" in Minetest version 0.4.13, os.execute() seems to have been deprecated in 0.4.16 for obvious security reasons which lead to the error messages.

Thanks for all the feedback, sorry for late response.

--Racso

1.5 2018-02-10
  • This version corrects the directory creation error that began with Minetest Version 0.4.16.
  • Thanks to GitHub user "ritschwumm" for the changes in this version.
  • init.lua - Method for world table directory creation updated from os.execute() to minetest.mkdir(). Older Minetest versions still supported through os.execute().
  • functions.lua/travelpoints.get_location() - Y axis capture corrected, no more transporting half inside a node.
  • init.lua/minetest.register_chatcommand("tpggo" - Fixed comment typo.

User avatar
BirgitLachner
Member
Posts: 393
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 10:18
In-game: Bibs

Re: [Mod] Travelpoints [1.5] [travelpoints]

by BirgitLachner » Post

Great news!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 21 guests