[Mod] StreetsMod [2.0.1] – create modern cities

User avatar
luizsab
Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 13:49

Re: [Mod] StreetsMod [2.0.1] – create modern cities

by luizsab » Post

Hello! About use of WorldEdit, how can I to set center line in asphalt cubes? In old version there was an cube specific.

Thank you
Luiz
[luizsab]

User avatar
BirgitLachner
Member
Posts: 383
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 10:18
In-game: Bibs

Re: [Mod] StreetsMod [2.0.1] – create modern cities

by BirgitLachner » Post

Oh man, that's so sad. Such a great mod, but with the mod loading and accessing the server takes about 10 Minuten with streets mods. Without less than 1 minute. Same for leaving the server.

Thomas-S
Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 12:23
GitHub: Thomas--S
IRC: Thomas-S
In-game: Thomas-S
Location: Bavaria, Germany

Re: [Mod] StreetsMod [2.0.1] – create modern cities

by Thomas-S » Post

Good news for those of you who have problems with the loading time or number of registered nodes:

Today, a new setting streets.only_basic_stairsplus was added.

If you want to improve loading time and reduce the number of registered nodes, you can set the setting streets.only_basic_stairsplus to true in minetest.conf. When this is enabled, stairsplus nodes will only be registered for very basic roadmarkings.

vtwindsurfer
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 14:57
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: [Mod] StreetsMod [2.0.1] – create modern cities

by vtwindsurfer » Post

Hello, everyone!

This my first post to the forum.

I am relatively new to Minetest with only a few months of gameplay under my belt. I've been playing mostly singleplayer and adding mods as I go. Only recently have I added Streets to the list. At first it had some conflicts with other mods but I finally got it to work.

One thing though: I have had the Homedecore modpack installed for some time and that includes a recipe for Tar Blocks - Cooking "default:gravel". This is obviously a conflict with the Asphalt recipe.

I added to following to the ~.minetest/mods/streets/streets_roadsurface/init.lua file:

Code: Select all

minetest.register_craft({
	output = "streets:asphalt 4",
	recipe = {
		{"default:gravel", "group:tar_block"},
		{"group:tar_block","default:gravel"},
	}
})
This allows a crafting recipe using gravel and tar that, in a way, is more realistic, and doesn't kill the default cooking method for crafting asphalt with the Streets Mod. It is a little more resources in that you would have to first craft tar from gravel, then mix with more gravel.

I thought I would share if others were also looking for a solution. Maybe it can be added to the Streets Mod.

User avatar
v-rob
Developer
Posts: 782
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 03:19
GitHub: v-rob
IRC: v-rob
Location: Right behind you.

Re: [Mod] StreetsMod [2.0.1] – create modern cities

by v-rob » Post

vtwindsurfer wrote:Hello, everyone!

This my first post to the forum.

I am relatively new to Minetest with only a few months of gameplay under my belt. I've been playing mostly singleplayer and adding mods as I go. Only recently have I added Streets to the list. At first it had some conflicts with other mods but I finally got it to work.

One thing though: I have had the Homedecore modpack installed for some time and that includes a recipe for Tar Blocks - Cooking "default:gravel". This is obviously a conflict with the Asphalt recipe.

I added to following to the ~.minetest/mods/streets/streets_roadsurface/init.lua file:

Code: Select all

minetest.register_craft({
	output = "streets:asphalt 4",
	recipe = {
		{"default:gravel", "group:tar_block"},
		{"group:tar_block","default:gravel"},
	}
})
This allows a crafting recipe using gravel and tar that, in a way, is more realistic, and doesn't kill the default cooking method for crafting asphalt with the Streets Mod. It is a little more resources in that you would have to first craft tar from gravel, then mix with more gravel.

I thought I would share if others were also looking for a solution. Maybe it can be added to the Streets Mod.

But only if a mod that adds tar is enabled. If there is no other mod enabled, then the recipe should stay the same. (cook 1 gravel.)
GUI Core Developer | My Best Mods: Bridger - Slats - Stained Glass | To contact me, send a PM

vtwindsurfer
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 14:57
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: [Mod] StreetsMod [2.0.1] – create modern cities

by vtwindsurfer » Post

v-rob wrote:

But only if a mod that adds tar is enabled. If there is no other mod enabled, then the recipe should stay the same. (cook 1 gravel.)

I added it to the bottom of init.lua and didn't touch the original recipe. It's superseded by the mod that adds tar anyway. I needed an alternate method of crafting asphalt since cooking gravel in my game makes tar.

But, with this change, I just created a sweet automated asphalt production facility.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/kADgsAuwzsa9F7qn2

User avatar
luizsab
Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 13:49

Re: [Mod] StreetsMod [2.0.1] – create modern cities

by luizsab » Post

Thomas-S wrote:Good news for those of you who have problems with the loading time or number of registered nodes:

Today, a new setting streets.only_basic_stairsplus was added.

If you want to improve loading time and reduce the number of registered nodes, you can set the setting streets.only_basic_stairsplus to true in minetest.conf. When this is enabled, stairsplus nodes will only be registered for very basic roadmarkings.
It doesn't works to me. I have a local network with Linux PC (Debian and Ubuntu). When I enabled the Streets mod it still take a lot minutes.
Luiz
[luizsab]

Lokimugr
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 03:59
In-game: Lokimugr

Re: [Mod] StreetsMod [2.0.1] – create modern cities

by Lokimugr » Post

This is a great mod! I do wish there were center and side stripes you could put on the asphalt, though.

Thomas-S
Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 12:23
GitHub: Thomas--S
IRC: Thomas-S
In-game: Thomas-S
Location: Bavaria, Germany

Re: [Mod] StreetsMod [2.0.1] – create modern cities

by Thomas-S » Post

Lokimugr, thanks for your feedback!
I do wish there were center and side stripes you could put on the asphalt, though.
There are center and side roadmarkings. You can use them as follows:
  1. Craft 8 asphalt by cooking gravel.
  2. Craft a Mese Crystal Fragment by placing a Mese Crystal in the crafting grid.
  3. Craft a "Streets Workshop" by surrounding the mese crystal fragment with asphalt in the crafting grid.
  4. Place the streets workshop.
  5. Rightclick the workshop and follow the instructions of the tutorial there.
If there are further questions, feel free to ask.

alxk
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2018 16:00
GitHub: alex-unknown
In-game: unknown

Re: StreetsMod

by alxk » Post

The problem is that it's quite annoying to build streets. I think a tool allowing placing more Street blocks with one click would be really helpful. For example a formspec with an inventory, where the player can put the street blocks in the arrangement he wants them. By using the tool, this exact arrangement of blocks is placed.

Thomas-S
Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 12:23
GitHub: Thomas--S
IRC: Thomas-S
In-game: Thomas-S
Location: Bavaria, Germany

Re: [Mod] StreetsMod [2.0.1] – create modern cities

by Thomas-S » Post

alxk, thanks for your feedback!

At the moment, we develop a new version of the Streets mod. The placing of roadmarkings will be much simpler then.

I'll also keep your suggestion in mind, maybe it'll be implemented some day.

hajo
Member
Posts: 605
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE
Contact:

Re: StreetsMod

by hajo » Post

alxk wrote:it's quite annoying to build streets. I think
a tool allowing placing more Street blocks with one click would be really helpful.
Did you have a look at the building-capabilities of the digtron (see sig) ?

User avatar
BirgitLachner
Member
Posts: 383
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 10:18
In-game: Bibs

Re: StreetsMod

by BirgitLachner » Post

alxk wrote:The problem is that it's quite annoying to build streets. I think a tool allowing placing more Street blocks with one click would be really helpful. For example a formspec with an inventory, where the player can put the street blocks in the arrangement he wants them. By using the tool, this exact arrangement of blocks is placed.
What about using WorldEdit?

User avatar
christoferlevich
Member
Posts: 324
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 23:44
GitHub: ChristoferL
Location: Athol, Massachusetts

Re: [Mod] StreetsMod [2.0.1] – create modern cities

by christoferlevich » Post

The problem with worldedit is evvery thing is so darn straight. When creating roads on hills, its impossible to use worldedit (unless there is a way to do it I'm not aware of).
everything can be a learning experience...

User avatar
Clyde
Member
Posts: 148
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 14:23
GitHub: acmgit
In-game: clyde

Re: [Mod] StreetsMod [2.0.1] – create modern cities

by Clyde » Post

Try replace ;-).

User avatar
christoferlevich
Member
Posts: 324
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 23:44
GitHub: ChristoferL
Location: Athol, Massachusetts

Re: [Mod] StreetsMod [2.0.1] – create modern cities

by christoferlevich » Post

Clyde wrote:Try replace ;-).
Thats a great Idea! How would that work with slopes though? just replace with slopes and let the 'hidden blocks reside as sloped 'in' the hill?
everything can be a learning experience...

User avatar
ulla
Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 09:22
GitHub: IIIullaIII
IRC: ulla
In-game: ulla

Re: [Mod] StreetsMod [2.0.1] – create modern cities

by ulla » Post

Hi i have downloaded i have see this error in lua light init.lua at line 263

Code: Select all

on_construct = on_constract,
nice mod
X4cna2d4UqsiawIzUumDgPoYNx3JLGII

Thomas-S
Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 12:23
GitHub: Thomas--S
IRC: Thomas-S
In-game: Thomas-S
Location: Bavaria, Germany

Re: [Mod] StreetsMod [2.0.1] – create modern cities

by Thomas-S » Post

Ulla, as far as I can see, this error should be solved in the latest version of this mod. Thanks for your feedback.

User avatar
ScorchedFalcon
Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu May 10, 2018 20:20
GitHub: ScorchedFalcon
IRC: ScorchedFalcon
In-game: ScorchedFalcon

Re: [Mod] StreetsMod [2.0.1] – create modern cities

by ScorchedFalcon » Post

Great Mod. I've been using it on singleplayer recently, and I love it! Thanks for bringing this to us.

User avatar
LMD
Member
Posts: 927
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2017 08:16
GitHub: appgurueu
IRC: appguru[eu]
In-game: LMD
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Mod] StreetsMod [2.0.1] – create modern cities

by LMD » Post

Please note you may confuse people with your two attachments(streets 1.5 zip and 1.4.3 zip) what could make them download an older version, I already saw 1.5 has about 800 downloads, although 2.0 is out...
I'd suggest you to remove the attachments.
My stuff: Projects - Mods - Website

User avatar
Phoenixflo44
Member
Posts: 639
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 15:01
In-game: EvilPhoenix
Location: Behind my PC, in Germany

Re: [Mod] StreetsMod [2.0.1] – create modern cities

by Phoenixflo44 » Post

Could someone call me all the orders for the traffic lights
+ Spoiler

Lol1234
New member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2018 05:05

Re: [Mod] StreetsMod [2.0.1] – create modern cities

by Lol1234 » Post

I habe some Problems to load this Modell.

My error is line 26 in initiiert.lua: attempt to conc atenate field 'modpath' (a nil value)

Can anybody help please?

Thomas-S
Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 12:23
GitHub: Thomas--S
IRC: Thomas-S
In-game: Thomas-S
Location: Bavaria, Germany

Re: [Mod] StreetsMod [2.0.1] – create modern cities

by Thomas-S » Post

Lol1234: Please be sure that the folder of this mod is called "streets".

Lol1234
New member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2018 05:05

Re: [Mod] StreetsMod [2.0.1] – create modern cities

by Lol1234 » Post

Thomas-S wrote:Lol1234: Please be sure that the folder of this mod is called "streets".
Thanks for fast help

crixtiano
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2019 22:01

Re: [Mod] StreetsMod [2.0.1] – create modern cities

by crixtiano » Post

I tried to install, but the program generated an error:


2019-07-02 18:55:57: ERROR[Main]: ModError: Failed to load and run script from /home/cris/.minetest/mods/streets201/init.lua:
2019-07-02 18:55:57: ERROR[Main]: /home/cris/.minetest/mods/streets201/init.lua:26: attempt to concatenate field 'modpath' (a nil value)
2019-07-02 18:55:57: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2019-07-02 18:55:57: ERROR[Main]: /home/cris/.minetest/mods/streets201/init.lua:26: in main chunk

What do I have to do?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests