[Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.1]

gpcf
Member
Posts: 355
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 10:48
In-game: gabriel

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by gpcf » Post

New website is at https://advtrains.de/

User avatar
Phoenixflo44
Member
Posts: 639
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 15:01
In-game: EvilPhoenix
Location: Behind my PC, in Germany

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by Phoenixflo44 » Post

I'm looking for the download for the trains. There were others of them.
+ Spoiler

User avatar
AccidentallyRhine
Member
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 05:43

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by AccidentallyRhine » Post


User avatar
orwell
Member
Posts: 830
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by orwell » Post

no, that's not the site phoenixflo meant.
mbb has made something wrong with the link, I'll tell him to correct it. But the git repos are at https://github.com/mbblp?tab=repositories
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...

Maverick2797
New member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2018 12:37
In-game: Maverick2797
Location: File location.geo not found

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by Maverick2797 » Post

Hi Orwell,
Have you had any luck with the node corruption bug yet?
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ax180bui58hn8 ... 1.png?dl=0
I end up doing a lap of the tracks replacing the incorrect nodes manually every time i start the server
I'm running Windows MTG ver 0.4.17 and advtrains ver 1.3.8
also running tunnelmaker, unified_inventory, mesecons, pipeworks and advtrains_construction_train (https://git.bananach.space/advtrains_co ... train.git/)
Thnx

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
Posts: 2395
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by Andrey01 » Post

Hi, orwell. Are you planning to add cabels? It would be nice because some trains can not go without the connection with wires in real as passenger ones.

User avatar
orwell
Member
Posts: 830
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by orwell » Post

No, I didn't have luck with those corruption problems. I still can't reproduce it. But you must always make sure to delete both "advtrains" and "advtrains_ndb2", else it will do wondrous things...
cabels are long-term.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...

User avatar
orwell
Member
Posts: 830
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius

[Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [appr. 1.20]

by orwell » Post

Hi everyone!
I am almost done with the new railway interlocking system. I still need to write some tutorials for it.
As soon as bananach.space is up again, I will push my latest version to the 'tss' branch there.
If you are interested, and once I've finished the tutorials, I would like you to help with beta-testing before I officially release it.
The next major milestone is then the new train automation system. It will be possible to define railway lines and assign trains to them, which then set their routes and stop at stations automatically according to a timetable.
Regarding the interlocking system, one feature that is still missing is that of distant signals, shunt signals and combination signals (distant and main signal in one). Currently all signals either show green or red. Aside, some small cosmetic fixes need to be done, like moving the passive component API to the core and adding LuaATC functions for route setting.

The attached screenshot shows the first fully interlocked station that ever existed in Minetest, built by me for testing purposes.
Attachments
screenshot_20180813_112702.png
It even has a shuntyard and a small shunting section at the other end to get trains from the shuntyard to the rightmost platform
(985.71 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...

gpcf
Member
Posts: 355
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 10:48
In-game: gabriel

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by gpcf » Post

Nice that the interlocking system is almost ready. I hope to be able to get bananach.space back up on Friday. This stuff really has to happen while I'm on holiday.

User avatar
orwell
Member
Posts: 830
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by orwell » Post

Nevermind... nice to hear from you again :)
I'll redo the privilege system once again based on our ideas in the hemiptera issue, then we can test it on the server.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...

gpcf
Member
Posts: 355
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 10:48
In-game: gabriel

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by gpcf » Post

bananach.space is up again. It was down due to a kernel bug locking up cpu cores.

User avatar
orwell
Member
Posts: 830
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by orwell » Post

Ok, thanks
I'm sorry, i can't pish right now.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...

User avatar
mbb
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 17:47
GitHub: mbblp
IRC: mBb
In-game: MBB
Location: in front of my pc
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by mbb » Post

Just working on tram rails
If you want to contact me please send me a twitter pm https://twitter.com/mbbdev

gpcf
Member
Posts: 355
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 10:48
In-game: gabriel

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by gpcf » Post

nice :)

User avatar
mbb
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 17:47
GitHub: mbblp
IRC: mBb
In-game: MBB
Location: in front of my pc
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by mbb » Post

first models with thee realcraft texturepack photographed in Vienna a few days ago by me and my brother
Image
Image
Attachments
tram2.png
(38.42 KiB) Not downloaded yet
tram1.png
(238.08 KiB) Not downloaded yet
If you want to contact me please send me a twitter pm https://twitter.com/mbbdev

User avatar
orwell
Member
Posts: 830
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by orwell » Post

Looks nice! But I think that the turns will be the problem.
Nevertheless, I pushed the TSS branch. Happy testing...
I don't know when I get to writing the tutorials for it...

PS: Better not try it in your favorite train world, but a copy of it, I give no warranty that anything works after the update (though I've tried my best).
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...

User avatar
mbb
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 17:47
GitHub: mbblp
IRC: mBb
In-game: MBB
Location: in front of my pc
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by mbb » Post

[quote="orwell"]Looks nice! But I think that the turns will be the problem.
Image


if i would use the moreblocks saw It would work perfect
Attachments
tram3.png
(110.94 KiB) Not downloaded yet
If you want to contact me please send me a twitter pm https://twitter.com/mbbdev

caylee
New member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 13:43
In-game: caylee

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by caylee » Post

Are there any textures for busses?

I've build busses driving on transparent rails, but I didn't find a proper texture for the bus driving, so at the moment in my world there are trains driving on the street :/

User avatar
Phoenixflo44
Member
Posts: 639
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 15:01
In-game: EvilPhoenix
Location: Behind my PC, in Germany

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by Phoenixflo44 » Post

mbb wrote:first models with thee realcraft texturepack photographed in Vienna a few days ago by me and my brother
Image
Image
Looks good.

You could not raise the normal rails and make gravel underneath. Like the slope?

and/or rails which one can use for the road or other reason?

I'll surprise you.
+ Spoiler

gpcf
Member
Posts: 355
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 10:48
In-game: gabriel

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by gpcf » Post

These are for trams.

User avatar
Phoenixflo44
Member
Posts: 639
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 15:01
In-game: EvilPhoenix
Location: Behind my PC, in Germany

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by Phoenixflo44 » Post

gpcf wrote:These are for trams.
That's what I meant.
+ Spoiler

User avatar
daufinsyd
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 16:43
GitHub: daufinsyd
In-game: daufinsyd

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by daufinsyd » Post

Hey there,
Last week I tried to add some trains and ATC controllers in my world but the game became laggy although I was in singleplayer and my laptop has an i7-7700HQ, 16GB Ram and a gtx 1050Ti.
I also tried the LinuxWorks server which is so cool (even if the train themselves are also a little jerky).
And finally I checked trains for Minecraft which were smooth.

Just to know, do you think the "problem" is minetest core needing improvements for the entities, the use of lua instead of some low level language ?

by the way, you mod is really amazing, thank you for all you work ! :)

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
Posts: 2395
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by Andrey01 » Post

daufinsyd wrote:Hey there,
Last week I tried to add some trains and ATC controllers in my world but the game became laggy although I was in singleplayer and my laptop has an i7-7700HQ, 16GB Ram and a gtx 1050Ti.
I also tried the LinuxWorks server which is so cool (even if the train themselves are also a little jerky).
And finally I checked trains for Minecraft which were smooth.

Just to know, do you think the "problem" is minetest core needing improvements for the entities, the use of lua instead of some low level language ?

by the way, you mod is really amazing, thank you for all you work ! :)
Do you mean how are they laggy? Abrupt braking? If yes, so works all entities. I don`t know why it happens so. Really, does anybody know why they are so slow?

User avatar
orwell
Member
Posts: 830
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by orwell » Post

The advantage Minecraft currently has is client side prediction. In the Minecraft train mods, the client always knows where the train is going to go with which speed. Minetest's API currently only allows sending the current position, speed, direction and acceleration of individual entities, and user interactions need to be sent to the server first.
This might be solved with client side scripting, but this needs time to be developed.

However - how many trains did you deploy in your world? Because network latency is usually not a problem in singleplayer games.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...

User avatar
daufinsyd
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 16:43
GitHub: daufinsyd
In-game: daufinsyd

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by daufinsyd » Post

Okay I understand the jerky trains (when turning left/right) now.

Currently I have 6 trains but only one moving. I thought there was high CPU usage; I'll do some tests when I have time.

As far as I understand, the client couldn't "move" the train in order to have smooth movements without sending its changes to the server and waiting for its validation ?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot] and 12 guests