How to change language?

Post Reply
e7968359
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2018 14:12

How to change language?

by e7968359 » Post

I have just downloaded minetest but it is in my OS local language. How can I change it to english?

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4562
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: How to change language?

by Krock » Post

Welcome to the forums!

1) Select the tab "Settings" in the main menu
2) Press "Advanced Settings"
3) Type "language" in the search box and hit enter
4) Open the tree "Client & Server" and edit "Language" (both translated)
5) Use the dropdown menu and select "en"
6) Save and restart Minetest

If that does not work, find a directory called "locale" inside your Minetest installation and delete your translation files. That will result in an English interface as well.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2627
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: How to change language?

by Linuxdirk » Post

Addition to that: If you’re on Linux and if you didn’t compile Minetest by yourself there is a very high possibility that none of this works because Minetest checks for the translations in a non-default location when not compiled with the correct path set.

The easiest solution is to link the wrong path to the correct path ln -s /usr/share/locale /usr/share/minetest.

e7968359
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2018 14:12

Re: How to change language?

by e7968359 » Post

Thank you for your answers. I have successfully changed my language to english.

Festus1965
Member
Posts: 1398
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
In-game: bye bye

Re: How to change language?

by Festus1965 » Post

e7968359 wrote:I have successfully changed my language to english.
What language did you have before ?

And for all:
There can only chosen the languages build in ?

Where they are defined ?

And how to get other languages in ?
Minetest has no future

User avatar
Walzy
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 09:59
In-game: Walzy

Re: How to change language?

by Walzy » Post

In the 5.2.0 version I can't set the english language. My OS language is french and I don't like Minetest in french...

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3935
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

Re: How to change language?

by sfan5 » Post

You can always open minetest.conf in a text editor and add a new line that says language = en
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

Termos
Member
Posts: 328
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 12:50

Re: How to change language?

by Termos » Post

This gave me hell too, took me about 10 minutes to figure out.

The language setting interface became useless in 5.2.0, the two character strings are unintelligible.
There's no 'en' to be found, and apparently 'uk' stands for Ukrainian, finally by trial and error I think I've found
English is under 'el'.

CST1229
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2020 06:01
In-game: CST1229

Re: How to change language?

by CST1229 » Post

Termos wrote:
Wed Apr 08, 2020 10:04
This gave me hell too, took me about 10 minutes to figure out.

The language setting interface became useless in 5.2.0, the two character strings are unintelligible.
There's no 'en' to be found, and apparently 'uk' stands for Ukrainian, finally by trial and error I think I've found
English is under 'el'.
"eu" isn't Europe. Some strings look like English, but then there's things like the delete world button text not being actually english.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests