[Solved] Clay does not stack in inventory?

srothe
Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 12:03

[Solved] Clay does not stack in inventory?

by srothe » Tue Jul 24, 2012 14:21

Hi folks,

when I dive in front of my Beach and mine some clay (or at least what I believe is clay) the blocks are mined (eG sand slopes down filling the gap), but nothing stored in my inventory. Am I doing wrong? Or is it a bug?

Using: Version 0.4.1 (last night's update), moreblocks, moreores, doorsplus, forniture3D, junglegrass.
OS:Ubuntu Linux 12.04

Your help is much appreciated :-)

Stefan
Last edited by srothe on Wed Jul 25, 2012 20:00, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Tue Jul 24, 2012 14:50

I have not checked it yet but i think you only get clay with a shovel.
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3157
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Tue Jul 24, 2012 16:28

No, you can get clay when mining with any tool.
srothe wrote:(or at least what I believe is clay)

Are you really sure it is clay? Clay is a gray block, not bright red.
 

srothe
Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 12:03

by srothe » Tue Jul 24, 2012 17:32

Well, it is underwater, it is grey and it is not red. And especcially: If it were something else, it should show up in my inventopry after all, like all other mineable blocks. The thing is that it does not show up as anything at all.

Will also test this behaviour on a different machine now, before I update to 0.4.1.

Cheers, Stefan
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3157
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Tue Jul 24, 2012 17:36

Are you playing the "minetest_game" game, or the "minimal" game? Also, if your inventory is full, it cannot be filled with new items. Lastly, when you mine clay, you obtain four clay balls, not a clay block.
 

srothe
Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 12:03

by srothe » Tue Jul 24, 2012 17:55

Calinou,

I have just tried it on yesterdays nightly, where I also have a sandbeach in reach. Result: I found the same grey stuff underwater and realised it adds to my gravel stack :-/
Then I saw some red blocks underwater, which I considered to be desert sand or -stone. Out of pure curiosity I mined them for floor decoration, and -heureka!!! Clay-lumps were nicely stacking in my inventory.

Obviously, misa's textures (which I forgot to mention) make the difference in colour. So it looks like I raised false alarm here. I will double-check tomorrow in the office with 0.4.1 on my other machine (noooo, I am not playing all day at work...), if you do not here from me, all works fine there as well.

Thank you for your help!

Stefan
Last edited by srothe on Tue Jul 24, 2012 17:58, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Tue Jul 24, 2012 17:59

srothe wrote:I will double-check tomorrow in the office with 0.4.1 on my other machine

:)
 

srothe
Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 12:03

by srothe » Tue Jul 24, 2012 18:06

PilzAdam wrote:
srothe wrote:I will double-check tomorrow in the office with 0.4.1 on my other machine
:)

^
|
I knew it! :-P
srothe wrote:(noooo, I am not playing all day at work...)
 

User avatar
SegFault22
Member
 
Posts: 870
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 03:17
Location: NaN

by SegFault22 » Tue Jul 24, 2012 23:45

*facepalm*
are you in ''creative'' mode? you can not obtain nodes by digging them while in creative mode, nor can you craft. Try survival mode.
Resources are abundant; only money is scarce. People should not have to work hard and remain poor just to pay for the needs of survival.
Society can thrive without money - but only if productive members of society are rewarded for being productive.
 

srothe
Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 12:03

by srothe » Wed Jul 25, 2012 18:25

Hi all,

it is all fine, my mistake! It was indeed the colour which is changed by misa's textures. There clay appears red and stone appears grey, just as clay would appear in original colours. Not knowing this I just did dig the wrong stuff, and I failed to check the cobblestone stack for increase.

Thanks for all your help,
Stefan

---Mods: Topic can be closed---
 

User avatar
dannydark
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28
Location: Manchester, UK

by dannydark » Wed Jul 25, 2012 18:35

Maybe you should put "[Solved]" or fixed or something at the start of the thread title and add something like: "Solved: http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=33754#p33754" so that people can find the solution quicker.

You can do that by editing the original post ^_^
Last edited by dannydark on Wed Jul 25, 2012 18:39, edited 1 time in total.
 


Return to Problems



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests