[Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

User avatar
Pyrollo
Developer
Posts: 385
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 15:14
GitHub: pyrollo
In-game: Naj
Location: Paris

[Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

by Pyrollo » Post

Digiterms
Digilines monitors and keyboard mod for Minetest using Display API / Font API (from Display Modpack).

Monitors display text received on their digiline channel and works like digilines lcd monitor. Craft recipes depend on installed mods, please refer to craft guide in game.

Keyboards send text ofer their digiline channel. In protected areas, keyboard can be set to "Public" to be usable by anybody. Else, only players granted rights on the area can use the keyboard.

Craft recipes depend on installed mods, please refer to craft guide in game.

If scifi_nodes mod is enabled, scifi monitors can be turned into digiterms by crafting scifi monitor with a digiline.

Image

License: LGPLv3 for the code, CC-BY-SA for the textures

Mod dependencies: display_api, font_api, digilines, dye, default

Mod optional dependancies: xpane, scifi_nodes, basic_materials, homedecor, mesecons_microcontroller, mesecons_luacontroller, mesecons_materials

Download or browse code
Attachments
screenshot.png
(123.21 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by Pyrollo on Thu Dec 13, 2018 21:01, edited 3 times in total.
[ Display Modpack ] - [ Digiterms ] - [ Crater MG ] - [ LATE ]

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
Posts: 1144
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
GitHub: Desour
IRC: DS-minetest
In-game: DS
Location: I'm scared that if this is too exact, I will be unable to use my keyboard.

Re: [Mod] Digimons[digimons]

by DS-minetest » Post

It looks good in the screenshot.
However the name is a little bit irritating.
Note that I've recently renamed myself on github and co. to "Desour". (I'm bad at naming things.)
Feel free to call me DS.

User avatar
davidthecreator
Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 19:48
GitHub: daviddoesminetest
In-game: DavidDoesMinetest
Location: Lithuania

Re: [Mod] Digimons[digimons]

by davidthecreator » Post

DS-minetest wrote:It looks good in the screenshot.
However the name is a little bit irritating.
LOL, did you too expect something a bit different after seeing the name for the first time? XD

User avatar
Pyrollo
Developer
Posts: 385
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 15:14
GitHub: pyrollo
In-game: Naj
Location: Paris

Re: [Mod] Digimons[digimons]

by Pyrollo » Post

Ahah actually that was totally unconscious, I did not know about Digimon, I found that the name sounded good for digilines monitors :)

I'm totally open to any other name ;)
[ Display Modpack ] - [ Digiterms ] - [ Crater MG ] - [ LATE ]

spixi
Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 18:13
GitHub: spixi

Re: [Mod] Digimons[digimons]

by spixi » Post

What about “digiscreens”?

User avatar
Pyrollo
Developer
Posts: 385
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 15:14
GitHub: pyrollo
In-game: Naj
Location: Paris

Re: [Mod] Digimons[digimons]

by Pyrollo » Post

Yes !

Actually, I'm thinking of something wider. I have to check if it could be possible, but it would be interresting to have some input devices also, like keyboards.
[ Display Modpack ] - [ Digiterms ] - [ Crater MG ] - [ LATE ]

Christian_Soldier
Member
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2018 17:36
In-game: Christian_Soldier

Re: [Mod] Digimons[digimons]

by Christian_Soldier » Post

Pyrollo wrote:Ahah actually that was totally unconscious, I did not know about Digimon, I found that the name sounded good for digilines monitors :)

I'm totally open to any other name ;)
How about "Digimonitors"? (Yeah, I know it's basically the same.)
plz see my map from The Stanley Parable. viewtopic.php?f=12&t=19944&p=0&e=0

spixi
Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 18:13
GitHub: spixi

Re: [Mod] Digimons[digimons]

by spixi » Post

Nice, but how to use that? It seems to require the lua controller, which is part of the mesecons package, but I don't get it working.
screenshot_20181206_184514.png
(840.63 KiB) Not downloaded yet
screenshot_20181206_184925.png
(455.46 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
Naj
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 17:53
GitHub: pyrollo
In-game: Naj

Re: [Mod] Digimons[digimons]

by Naj » Post

Have you set up the digiline channel on the monitor ?
Should be the same as arg #1

spixi
Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 18:13
GitHub: spixi

Re: [Mod] Digimons[digimons]

by spixi » Post

Naj wrote:Have you set up the digiline channel on the monitor ?
Should be the same as arg #1
I set it to 1 and the code is

Code: Select all

port.a = true;
digiline_send(1, "Hallo World!");
I hope, that is correct ...

Edit
I got it, I forgot the quotes around the first argument

Code: Select all

port.a = true;
digiline_send("1", "Hallo World!");
works well

User avatar
texmex
Member
Posts: 1752
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: tacotexmex

Re: [Mod] Digimons[digimons]

by texmex » Post

That old monitor looks gorgeous.
Mods | Support Mesehub: bc1qluuests9rxmlnvpjrhsnyjg9ucwy6z3r0y3srw

spixi
Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 18:13
GitHub: spixi

Re: [Mod] Digimons[digimons]

by spixi » Post

@Pyrollo

I found a bug in your font_api plugin, which caused crashes on some strings. You can find the fix here:

https://github.com/pyrollo/font_api/pull/1

User avatar
Pyrollo
Developer
Posts: 385
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 15:14
GitHub: pyrollo
In-game: Naj
Location: Paris

Re: [Mod] Digimons[digimons]

by Pyrollo » Post

Hi Spixi,

Thanks for the finding, actually the error was in Digimons mod. Problem due to line splitting not taking care of UTF8 long chars.
Just pushed a fixed version on github.
[ Display Modpack ] - [ Digiterms ] - [ Crater MG ] - [ LATE ]

User avatar
Pyrollo
Developer
Posts: 385
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 15:14
GitHub: pyrollo
In-game: Naj
Location: Paris

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

by Pyrollo » Post

Changed mod's name :)

- New green monitor (exactly the same as amber except the color).
- Monitors can be switched on/off
- Fixed rotation on place
[ Display Modpack ] - [ Digiterms ] - [ Crater MG ] - [ LATE ]

User avatar
Pyrollo
Developer
Posts: 385
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 15:14
GitHub: pyrollo
In-game: Naj
Location: Paris

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

by Pyrollo » Post

Digiterms + SciFi Nodes =
Image
Attachments
screenshot_20181209_190436.png
(144.38 KiB) Not downloaded yet
[ Display Modpack ] - [ Digiterms ] - [ Crater MG ] - [ LATE ]

User avatar
texmex
Member
Posts: 1752
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: tacotexmex

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

by texmex » Post

That looks amazing! :D
Mods | Support Mesehub: bc1qluuests9rxmlnvpjrhsnyjg9ucwy6z3r0y3srw

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
Posts: 1144
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
GitHub: Desour
IRC: DS-minetest
In-game: DS
Location: I'm scared that if this is too exact, I will be unable to use my keyboard.

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

by DS-minetest » Post

This looks really cool.
Are there prism formed monitor with 3 screens?
Note that I've recently renamed myself on github and co. to "Desour". (I'm bad at naming things.)
Feel free to call me DS.

User avatar
Pyrollo
Developer
Posts: 385
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 15:14
GitHub: pyrollo
In-game: Naj
Location: Paris

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

by Pyrollo » Post

DS-minetest wrote:This looks really cool.
Are there prism formed monitor with 3 screens?
There are none... if i understand correctly. Do you have any illustration? (always looking for ideas :) )
[ Display Modpack ] - [ Digiterms ] - [ Crater MG ] - [ LATE ]

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
Posts: 1144
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
GitHub: Desour
IRC: DS-minetest
In-game: DS
Location: I'm scared that if this is too exact, I will be unable to use my keyboard.

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

by DS-minetest » Post

Pyrollo wrote:
DS-minetest wrote:This looks really cool.
Are there prism formed monitor with 3 screens?
There are none... if i understand correctly. Do you have any illustration? (always looking for ideas :) )
Yes, I've found one. Those prisms from Enterprise are very futuristic, unlike mobile phones they were not yet built in real life.
Image
http://de.memory-alpha.wikia.com/wiki/D ... nzraum.jpg (CC-BY-NC 4.0) by Paramount Pictures or CBS Television Studios
Note that I've recently renamed myself on github and co. to "Desour". (I'm bad at naming things.)
Feel free to call me DS.

User avatar
Pyrollo
Developer
Posts: 385
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 15:14
GitHub: pyrollo
In-game: Naj
Location: Paris

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

by Pyrollo » Post

Good :)

It would be possible to add some... after a small evolution in Display_API.

My main concern is that prism is not very cube-ish :)
[ Display Modpack ] - [ Digiterms ] - [ Crater MG ] - [ LATE ]

Isja Krass
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2018 19:30
In-game: init.lua
Location: {X=25.25, y=-400, z=478,8} Bavaria, Germany

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

by Isja Krass » Post

Hello,
Your mod is great i like it so mutch.

But I have a problem: If I connect the screen with a digiline and a digiboard, and insert a text I see nothing. (see picture)
I instaled all the mods that this mod needs to work.

Image

What can i do?
Attachments
sdas.png
(223.73 KiB) Not downloaded yet
my topics | profile | contact me | nothing else to say...

User avatar
Pyrollo
Developer
Posts: 385
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 15:14
GitHub: pyrollo
In-game: Naj
Location: Paris

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

by Pyrollo » Post

Hello,

Wich mod is the digiboard from ? I have no idea how it works.

(I plan to add some keyboards also anyway :) )

I guess this is a matter of setting the right digiline channel on both monitor and keyboard.
[ Display Modpack ] - [ Digiterms ] - [ Crater MG ] - [ LATE ]

User avatar
Pyrollo
Developer
Posts: 385
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 15:14
GitHub: pyrollo
In-game: Naj
Location: Paris

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

by Pyrollo » Post

Ok, I found it.

Tested :
- Placed a digiboard, a monitor and a digiline connecting both
- right clicked on monitor and put "mon" as channel
- right clicked on digiboard and put "mon" as channel also
- right clicked on digiboard again and typed some text
The text displays as expected on monitor

I'm using mintest 0.4.17.1 + last versions of digilines / digiboards / digiterms
[ Display Modpack ] - [ Digiterms ] - [ Crater MG ] - [ LATE ]

Isja Krass
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2018 19:30
In-game: init.lua
Location: {X=25.25, y=-400, z=478,8} Bavaria, Germany

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

by Isja Krass » Post

Than you for your support.
I finaly found the problem: the mod where are the digiboard come from can not interact with
your mod.
my topics | profile | contact me | nothing else to say...

User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

by BuckarooBanzay » Post

Your monitors look awesome, sadly they don't display the text properly:
screenshot_20181211_191350.png
(185.56 KiB) Not downloaded yet
I suspect a font-issue but haven't looked at it closer, any ideas?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests