Minetest 5.0 release candidate 1 (5.0.0-rc1)

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6148
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Minetest 5.0 release candidate 1 (5.0.0-rc1)

by rubenwardy » Post

Hi all! We'd be very grateful for some help testing a prerelease version of Minetest 5.0.0.

Please go crazy, and break all the things!

Highlights

  • Add online content repository (games, mods, modpacks, texture packs)
  • Add Carpathian mapgen
  • Android: Rewritten controls. Add joystick and modify up on-screen buttons
  • Mods and games can be translated
  • Rename 'subgame' to 'game'
  • Modding: More node drawtypes: disconnected nodeboxes (more ways to create connected blocks), plantlike_rooted (useful for algae and other seaplants)
  • Modding: Customizeable max. health and max. breath for players
  • Modding: Custom player collision box
  • Modding: A great deal of new map generator features
See the Changelog for more details

Known Remaining Issues

  • HUD elements may appear twice - ie: with hudbars, the old health won't disappear. issue | PR
  • Rotation accuracies - you're unlikely to bump into this, but if you use the new set_rotation method with allows full rotation, you may notice some issues and inaccuracies. There's an issue for it and an open PR

Breaking Changes

As a major release, 5.0.0 will break some mods written for 0.4.x versions.
We tried to keep the breakages as small as possible whilst fixing long standing issues.
All worlds and most mods should continue to work. Most (sub)games are likely to break if they don't receive updates
  • Minetest now uses C++11 instead of C++03, make sure you have a compatible system (Windows Vista, Debian 8, Ubuntu 16.04, CentOS 7, macOS 10.7, …)
  • Breaks network compatibility with 0.4.x. 0.4.x clients won't be able to connect to 5.x servers and vice-versa. Fix: update clients and servers to 5.x
  • Attachment and entity model positions have changed. Fix: **todo**
  • Formspec theming using prepended strings. This may cause wrong backgrounds to appear on formspecs. Fix: see viewtopic.php?f=18&t=20646
  • depends.txt and description.txt have been deprecated. Fix: use ''description'', ''depends'', and ''optional_depends'' in mod.conf, game.conf, modpack.conf, or texture_pack.conf instead
  • modpack.txt has been deprecated. Fix: rename to or add ''modpack.conf''.
  • Use of deprecated methods such as ''object:setpos()'' is now warned about. Fix: replace them with correct functions
  • ''player:get/set_attribute()'' is now deprecated. Fix: use ''player:get_meta()'' instead
  • ''nodeupdate()'' was removed. Fix: replace with ''minetest.check_for_falling''.
  • Clouds API: changed speed param from 'y' to 'z'
  • Some client-side scripting functions were removed (see below)

Downloads

  • Win32: https://gitlab.com/minetest/minetest/-/ ... s/download
  • Win64: https://gitlab.com/minetest/minetest/-/ ... s/download
  • Android: coming soon
  • Ubuntu:

    .deb: https://gitlab.com/minetest/minetest/-/ ... s/download

    Compile portable build:

    Code: Select all

    sudo apt-get install -y git build-essential libirrlicht-dev libgettextpo0 libfreetype6-dev cmake libbz2-dev libpng12-dev libjpeg8-dev libxxf86vm-dev libgl1-mesa-dev libsqlite3-dev libogg-dev libvorbis-dev libopenal-dev libcurl4-openssl-dev libluajit-5.1-dev liblua5.1-0-dev libleveldb-dev; cd; git clone https://github.com/minetest/minetest.git; cd minetest/games; git clone https://github.com/minetest/minetest_game.git; cd ..; cmake . -DRUN_IN_PLACE=1 -DENABLE_GETTEXT=1 -DENABLE_FREETYPE=1 -DENABLE_LEVELDB=1; make -j$(nproc); cd ../bin; ./minetest; echo -e "\n\n\e[1;33mYou can run Minetest again by double-clicking \"minetest\" in the \"bin\" folder of the \"minetest\" folder in your home folder.\nYou can install mods in ~/minetest/mods, too.\e[0m"
Reference: 5b965e08bd8795c71ab9a6d9474c2cf3bd3a7d17

User avatar
v-rob
Member
Posts: 744
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 03:19
GitHub: v-rob
Location: Right behind you.

Re: Minetest 5.0 release candidate 1 (5.0.0-rc1)

by v-rob » Post

Yay! The prerelease is here!

I'm testing it now :)

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 3962
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Weblate did still not update

by Wuzzy » Post

Ok, I'm pretty sure the first problem I can point to is that Weblate still fails to update properly.
https://hosted.weblate.org/projects/min ... st/#alerts

In fact, it has been this way for weeks now.

In other words, a 100% translation in Weblate right now does not lead to an actual 100% translation in Minetest, since Weblate is outdated atm.
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH

User avatar
garywhite
Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2016 16:19
GitHub: garywhite207
IRC: same as MT name
In-game: garywhite garywhite1
Location: San Francisco, CA

Re: Minetest 5.0 release candidate 1 (5.0.0-rc1)

by garywhite » Post

When I click on the Win64 download link, it gives me a ZIP file called Artifacts.zip, that makes me kind of nervous. Is that just the name of the zip or is it redirecting me to somewhere else?

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6148
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Minetest 5.0 release candidate 1 (5.0.0-rc1)

by rubenwardy » Post

garywhite wrote:When I click on the Win64 download link, it gives me a ZIP file called Artifacts.zip, that makes me kind of nervous. Is that just the name of the zip or is it redirecting me to somewhere else?
An artifact is the result of a Continuous Development stage to build the release. In that case, it's the Windows build

TL;DR: it's just the name of the zip

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2538
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Minetest 5.0 release candidate 1 (5.0.0-rc1)

by Linuxdirk » Post

Awesome work! Totally looking forward for the release! Big thumbs up.

Just wondering: why was the pretty generic nodeupdate() replaced with the super specific minetest.check_for_falling()?

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 3962
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: Minetest 5.0 release candidate 1 (5.0.0-rc1)

by Wuzzy » Post

Linuxdirk wrote:why was the pretty generic nodeupdate() replaced with the super specific minetest.check_for_falling()?
It was not replaced, it's the exact same function, just a different name. And it really only does “check for falling”. In fact, the name “nodeupdate” was bad.

Also, it was not part of the “minetest” table, which also bothered the core devs for obvious reasons.
Also, minetest.check_for_falling already existed for a while and nodeupdate was already deprecated for its stupid name, and now it will be destroyed. Note that nodeupdate was not even documented, modders were not supposed to call this function in the past.

Same story for minetest.check_single_for_falling, which was previously nodeupdate_single.
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2538
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Minetest 5.0 release candidate 1 (5.0.0-rc1)

by Linuxdirk » Post

Thanks for the clarification!

User avatar
runs
Member
Posts: 1633
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 08:32
GitHub: runsy

Re: Minetest 5.0 release candidate 1 (5.0.0-rc1)

by runs » Post

When I compile I get the following error:

<ft2build.h> does not exist

Edit: Soilved installing libfreetype6-dev
Day 42 of the quarantine

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
Posts: 1273
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
In-game: Thomas Explorer Thailand
Location: Thailand - Chiang Mai (+5-6h to MEZ)
Contact:

Re: Minetest 5.0 release candidate 1 (5.0.0-rc1)

by Festus1965 » Post

As this is public Forum, I guess everyone is meant to try.

So minetest-server owner have to deal with it, earlier or later.

I am working on it, but still with older version, stuck to get this new release, as I need to make myself with

Code: Select all

... -ENABLE_POSTGRESQL=ON -ENABLE_LUAJIT=ON -ENABLE_SYSTEM_GMP=ON
* ubuntu 18.04 server
* postgrelql (know how to)
* LuaJit (probs but I think I found)
* GMP (same)
* maybe allow also thai letters in chat (search where and how)
*
still to dumb, but I am working on it.

cmake command looks good now, libs are there ... hoping to get further, but actual running 5.0.0 server nice, no problems yet, also changed players to sqlite3.
I post when I stuck for a week ... for help.

for the dev I use thisdev.minetest.net/Compiling_Minetest
and here github.com/minetest/minetest
Last edited by Festus1965 on Wed Feb 06, 2019 05:19, edited 1 time in total.

Brian Gaucher
Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 01:56
GitHub: BrianGaucher
In-game: Camasia

Re: Minetest 5.0 release candidate 1 (5.0.0-rc1)

by Brian Gaucher » Post

I noticed there is a download link, and run in place instructions for Debian/Ubuntu and deriatives. Is there any place with arch-based distro instructions?
I tried following the instructions from
Compile portable build:
. But Some dependencies to install don't seem to show up. I'll look into it later, but if there's a link to more complete instructions, I'll take them gladly.
Current projects: Making a CTF map, Learning C++, Learning Programmer's Dvorak

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2538
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Minetest 5.0 release candidate 1 (5.0.0-rc1)

by Linuxdirk » Post

Brian Gaucher wrote:I noticed there is a download link, and run in place instructions for Debian/Ubuntu and deriatives. Is there any place with arch-based distro instructions?
For Arch you need nothing special because the system isn't that heavy modified. Just make sure you have the needed dependencies installed. cmake tells you what's missing.

Code: Select all

git clone --depth 1 https://github.com/minetest/minetest.git
cd minetest
git clone --depth 1 https://github.com/minetest/minetest_game.git games/minetest_game
cmake . -DRUN_IN_PLACE=TRUE
[install missing dependencies with pacman and re-run the cmake command]
make -j $(grep -c ^processor /proc/cpuinfo)
Now you can run the version with ./bin/minetest.

For having a properly installed version just get the current Minetest PKGBUILD, alter it for the new version (optionally change pkgver to 0 so you will get the "normal" 5.0.0 version once it's available in the repos), build the package and install with pacman -U ....


User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2538
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Minetest 5.0 release candidate 1 (5.0.0-rc1)

by Linuxdirk » Post

This wasn't the question, but yes: the AUR is always a good place (just make sure not to use Yaourt anymore and read the source files before installing).

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6148
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Minetest 5.0 release candidate 1 (5.0.0-rc1)

by rubenwardy » Post

Linuxdirk wrote:just make sure not to use Yaourt anymore and read the source files before installing
Thanks for mentioning this, I wasn't aware that Yaourt was discontinued. Yay fixes a lot of peeves I had with yaourt, for example yay sorts results in reverse order which is much more user friendly

Image

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2538
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Minetest 5.0 release candidate 1 (5.0.0-rc1)

by Linuxdirk » Post

rubenwardy wrote:Yay fixes a lot of peeves I had with yaourt, for example yay sorts results in reverse order which is much more user friendly
For everyone interested: Here's a nice comparison table about AUR helpers and Pacman wrappers.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/AU ... ison_table

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
Posts: 1273
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
In-game: Thomas Explorer Thailand
Location: Thailand - Chiang Mai (+5-6h to MEZ)
Contact:

Minetest 5.0 release candidate 1 (5.0.0-rc1)

by Festus1965 » Post

I stuck,
using the advice: ... near Text "Build a version that runs directly from the source directory:"

Solved, see more down ... but with BOTH options, I am just migrating the map for testing ...

* git download minetest also _game in minetest/ ok
* cmake runs no mistakes/failures
with
cmake -BUILD_CLIENT=FALSE -BUILD_SERVER=TRUE -ENABLE_POSTGRESQL=ON -ENABLE_LUAJIT=ON -ENABLE_SYSTEM_GMP=ON -DENABLE_SOUND=0 .

Code: Select all

-- *** Will build version 5.0.0-dev ***
-- Using GMP provided by system.
-- Using bundled JSONCPP library.
-- Using LuaJIT provided by system.
-- cURL support enabled.
-- GetText enabled; locales found: be;ca;cs;da;de;dv;eo;es;et;fr;he;hu;id;it;ja;jbo;kn;ko;ky;lt;ms;nb;nl;pl;pt;pt_BR;ro;ru;sl;sr_Cyrl;sv;sw;tr;uk;zh_CN;zh_TW
-- Freetype enabled.
-- ncurses console enabled.
-- PostgreSQL backend enabled
-- PostgreSQL includes: /usr/include/postgresql
-- LevelDB backend enabled.
-- Redis backend enabled.
-- SpatialIndex not found!
-- Locale blacklist applied; Locales used: ca;cs;da;de;dv;eo;es;et;fr;hu;id;it;ja;jbo;kn;lt;ms;nb;nl;pl;pt;pt_BR;ro;ru;sl;sr_Cyrl;sv;sw;tr;uk
-- Configuring done
-- Generating done
-- Build files have been written to: /home/thomas/minetest
(tried also

Code: Select all

-RUN_IN_PLACE=FALSE
also with TRUE)
and here it is named

Code: Select all

-DBUILD_CLIENT=0 or -DBUILD_SERVER=0
(see with and not leading "D")

then

Code: Select all

sudo make -j8
or

Code: Select all

sudo make -j8 install
get

Code: Select all

[  0%] Built target jsoncpp
[  0%] mo update
[ 19%] Built target translations
-- *** Detected Git version 5.0.0-dev-fc566e2 ***
[ 19%] Built target GenerateVersion
[100%] Built target minetest
minetest/bin/minetest is there ...

oh ... here a tip
Krock wrote:Compile it with BUILD_SERVER and without BUILD_CLIENT (cmake)
so I did

Code: Select all

cmake -RUN_IN_PLACE= -DBUILD_SERVER=1 -BUILD_SERVER=1 -ENABLE_POSTGRESQL=ON -ENABLE_LUAJIT=ON -ENABLE_SYSTEM_GMP=ON -DENABLE_SOUND=0 .
(guess double ON)
and got a minetestserver ... checking now if it is usefull

usefull:
* minetestserver there and works
* migrated map
* migrated players
* migration auth not supported yet

thanks, and may be a help for others
(now I need to compile on 0.4.17.1 minetestserver with postgres for the old original running version ... pffftt)

but by the way, where to change the language locales ... : out Russia ... in Thai (example) - not the translations, I just wanna see the Thai, Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia letters in chat, but the Russian or similar
Last edited by Festus1965 on Thu Feb 07, 2019 07:26, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
v-rob
Member
Posts: 744
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 03:19
GitHub: v-rob
Location: Right behind you.

Re: Minetest 5.0 release candidate 1 (5.0.0-rc1)

by v-rob » Post

I broke one of the things ;-)

Image

Try placing a cart right next to a slope on normal rail and give it a push towards the slope, and this happens.
Attachments
screenshot_20190206_215900.png
(320.8 KiB) Not downloaded yet

gpcf
Member
Posts: 353
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 10:48
In-game: gabriel

Re: Minetest 5.0 release candidate 1 (5.0.0-rc1)

by gpcf » Post

Is there any best practices guide for switching servers over to 5.0?

I was thinking of switching Linuxworks over when a substantial amount of servers have been migrated to 5.0.

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
Posts: 1273
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
In-game: Thomas Explorer Thailand
Location: Thailand - Chiang Mai (+5-6h to MEZ)
Contact:

Re: Minetest 5.0 release candidate 1 (5.0.0-rc1)

by Festus1965 » Post

gpcf wrote:Is there any best practices guide for switching servers over to 5.0?

I was thinking of switching Linuxworks over when a substantial amount of servers have been migrated to 5.0.
Best ? - look 2 posts up and read the pages about ... Think about what you might want to change also, like database backend, and if you need to compile yourself then ...
Wait for final release - I even think then most will switch also ...

TillCoyote
Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2019 08:05
Location: Kasachische Republik

Re: Minetest 5.0 release candidate 1 (5.0.0-rc1)

by TillCoyote » Post

I probably found a bug. When I set my skin and model, my player looks like buried to 1 node:
Attachments
screenshot_20190209_111439.png
(611.51 KiB) Not downloaded yet
screenshot_20190209_111432.png
(606.57 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: Minetest 5.0 release candidate 1 (5.0.0-rc1)

by Andrey01 » Post

I found a bug with setting collision box node. The place that a node border is set in, may be transparent for any entity (it can cross over without any obstacles). It happens with a node of nodebox/mesh drawtype.

Sires
Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 21:00
GitHub: Sires0
IRC: Sires
In-game: Sires Sores Siri Seris or anything ppl call me
Location: :noitacoL

Re: Minetest 5.0 release candidate 1 (5.0.0-rc1)

by Sires » Post

TillCoyote wrote:I probably found a bug. When I set my skin and model, my player looks like buried to 1 node:
Read this: viewtopic.php?f=18&t=18144
I don't have anything important to say.

User avatar
batnoob
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 21:28
In-game: TheIncredibleHulk

Re: Minetest 5.0 release candidate 1 (5.0.0-rc1)

by batnoob » Post

a thing broke.
Image
drop anything on snow and it sinks.
Attachments
scr_bug1.png
(452.39 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
Stix
Member
Posts: 1385
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 14:19
IRC: nil
In-game: Stix [+alts]
Location: USA

Re: Minetest 5.0 release candidate 1 (5.0.0-rc1)

by Stix » Post

batnoob wrote:a thing broke.
Image
drop anything on snow and it sinks.
That isn't a bug, its a feature. Snow cover got a custom collision box recently.
Hey, what can i say? I'm the bad guy.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest