How can I remove all trees from a world

theblob
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 17:31

How can I remove all trees from a world

by theblob » Mon Mar 31, 2014 22:02

I need to remove all of the trees (along with saplings, leaves, and apples) from a world for... uh... reasons. Does anyone know how I could do this? A seed that generates no trees is also acceptable. Thank you for your help!
Dogecoin: DM33mpJVPMNiaTxBoBpiJChBrnLBQFyaw9
 

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
 
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
Location: world
GitHub: hoodedice
IRC: hoodedice
In-game: hoodedice

by hoodedice » Mon Mar 31, 2014 23:58

Open minetest.conf, located in your Minetest root directory, or the folder where the mods, worlds, and bin folder are.

Add this line to it. Remember! Minetest MUST be closed before you open this, else your changes will not be saved.

Code: Select all
mg_flags = notrees


And generate a new world.


See this:

https://github.com/minetest/minetest/blob/master/minetest.conf.example

for more *secret* options for your minetest game =)


Also, welcome to the Minetest Forums ^.^
Last edited by hoodedice on Tue Apr 01, 2014 00:02, edited 1 time in total.
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build
 

theblob
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 17:31

by theblob » Tue Apr 01, 2014 00:09

Thanks for the quick answer, this was exactly what I needed.
Dogecoin: DM33mpJVPMNiaTxBoBpiJChBrnLBQFyaw9
 

TeTpaAka
Member
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 21:54

by TeTpaAka » Tue Apr 01, 2014 17:12

Hybrid Dog wrote:"notrees" isn't mentioned there


It sais:
# To explicitly turn off a flag, prepend "no" to the beginning, e.g. nolight.


And "trees" is mentioned, so notrees disables all trees.
 

User avatar
DaN
Member
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 19:09
Location: Silicon Valley

by DaN » Wed Apr 02, 2014 00:51

(insert environmentalist complaining here)
DaN H.
 

User avatar
RHR
Member
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 20:07
GitHub: RHRhino

by RHR » Wed Apr 02, 2014 08:52

Is it also posible to remove all plants and flatten the terrain completely without water or biomes?
I tried it with:
mg_flags=notrees, flat
but this dosn't work 100%.
 

twoelk
Member
 
Posts: 1307
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
Location: northern Germany
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk

by twoelk » Wed Apr 02, 2014 11:38

maybe starting with "singlenode" set as mapgen and then insertng a large flat sheet of dirt-with-grass nodes with the WorldEditor is what you want. That would elimate any automatic mapgeneration and give you full control - and the complete workload of landscaping.

As "flatworld" is often asked for, maybe we should collect all the sollutions posted so far. As there seem to be various settings for different official/semiofficial mapgens and mod mapgens as well as mods for "flattening" limited areas and some people have posted flat maps of various kinds to the forums.

... in other words: search the forums, there are many sollutions out there.
Last edited by twoelk on Wed Apr 02, 2014 11:40, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 4259
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

by Krock » Wed Apr 02, 2014 12:54

https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=8952

flat, 100% for sure *

* Does not count for other lua-mapgens
Last edited by Krock on Wed Apr 02, 2014 12:54, edited 1 time in total.
>> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
RHR
Member
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 20:07
GitHub: RHRhino
 

John987
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 06:04
Location: Sebastopol, CA

Re:

by John987 » Thu Sep 17, 2015 06:09

RHR wrote:Is it also posible to remove all plants and flatten the terrain completely without water or biomes?
I tried it with:
mg_flags=notrees, flat
but this dosn't work 100%.


What kind of attribute is "flat" ? Does it mean everything is removed when we apply it ?
 

Dartmouth
Member
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 14:39

Re: How can I remove all trees from a world

by Dartmouth » Thu Sep 17, 2015 06:38

It makes a completely level world where there are no elevations or lakes
 

twoelk
Member
 
Posts: 1307
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
Location: northern Germany
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk

Re: How can I remove all trees from a world

by twoelk » Thu Sep 17, 2015 09:49

the flag "flat" makes the ground flat, no hills no mountains but still biomes as in blotches of sand in stretches of grass. Also the underground generation is normal with caves and ores. As such you may have holes in your flat surface, some with water.

For endles plains of a single type use:

Superflat by srifqi or
flatgen by krock

"flatgen" was faster the last time I tried but "superflat" has more options.

in both you can define of what nodes the world should be made sorting it in absolutely flat layers. "flatgen" has three while "superflat" allows to compose a layer structure of as many layers as you wish and also allows to decorate the surface with plants to your liking. Consider though that in "flatgen" you can allow normal mapgen under a given depth.

or maybe play with the possabilities of skyplatform by Sokomine
 

2014 guy
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 01:49
In-game: Eric

Re: How can I remove all trees from a world

by 2014 guy » Sat Feb 09, 2019 03:01

Is there away you can take an existing world and remove the trees. because on this world, i made a building that took a while to make and i dont want to create a new world and have to start over again. is there any way to do this?
 

User avatar
paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3376
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

Re: How can I remove all trees from a world

by paramat » Sat Feb 09, 2019 03:08

2014 guy,
Yes. Use the lua voxel manipulator to remove all tree nodes, then recalculate lighting and write the luavoxelmanip to the world.
Last edited by paramat on Thu Feb 14, 2019 05:01, edited 1 time in total.
 

Skamiz Kazzarch
Member
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2018 20:34
Location: la lojbaugag.
In-game: Skamiz

Re: How can I remove all trees from a world

by Skamiz Kazzarch » Sat Feb 09, 2019 18:41

Would several aliases along the lines of:
Code: Select all
minetest.register_alias("default:tree", "air")

work? Or would that also cause lighting issues?
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3410
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: How can I remove all trees from a world

by Wuzzy » Wed Feb 13, 2019 16:45

I need to remove all of the trees (along with saplings, leaves, and apples) from a world for... uh... reasons.

That's easy: Craft an axe and start chopping!
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH
 

User avatar
voxelproof
Member
 
Posts: 840
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 08:13
Location: Europe

Re: How can I remove all trees from a world

by voxelproof » Wed Feb 13, 2019 17:09

I need to remove all of the trees (along with saplings, leaves, and apples) from a world


Just set them on fire. Fast, easy, pleasant. Btw has perhaps anyone comitted a napalm mod already?

for... uh... reasons.


That's ok. You don't need to feel guilty. Trees are beautiful when they burn.
>>>there is life beyond the Cube>>>
 

User avatar
paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3376
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

Re: How can I remove all trees from a world

by paramat » Thu Feb 14, 2019 04:56

Using aliases is a bad way.
If you want to create a new world where only trees are removed, use a mod to clear all registered decorations then re-register them without the trees.
(non mgv6 mapgens only).
 


Return to General Discussion



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest