[Mod] Mobs Redo [1.53] [mobs]

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2871
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

It has been reported and there's a few issues posted in github, we can only hope it gets sorted for 5.0 release.

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2871
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Quick Update:

- Animals no longer drown in water since most can swim in real life :)
- Picks deal a little more damage to Stone Monsters.
- Shovels deal a little more damage to Sand Monsters.
- Axes deal a little more damage to Tree Monsters and saplings can also heal them.

erstazi
Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 22:41
GitHub: erstazi
IRC: erstazi
In-game: erstazi

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by erstazi » Post

Woot! Thanks for the update TenPlus1!

User avatar
texmex
Member
Posts: 1752
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: tacotexmex

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by texmex » Post

I was thinking. When fighting mobs, what if instead of punching a selection box and become wildly unimmersed the calculation for hit or miss and damage would use raycasting instead?

Essentially if a mob stands in front of (and within swinging range of) a player when the player weapon is swung it's a hit, regardless of whether selection box was selected or not. Selection boxes could then be completely hidden, increasing immersion.
Mods | Support Mesehub: bc1qluuests9rxmlnvpjrhsnyjg9ucwy6z3r0y3srw

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2871
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

It would be ideal but raycasting is a 5.0 feature which wont be used until a stable version is released and mobs updated. You could also turn off selection boxes in settings as the mob collision boxes are almost shaped the size of each monster :)

User avatar
texmex
Member
Posts: 1752
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: tacotexmex

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by texmex » Post

Well isn’t 5.0.0 around the corner? Ok, I thought you needed selection boxes to fight mobs?
Mods | Support Mesehub: bc1qluuests9rxmlnvpjrhsnyjg9ucwy6z3r0y3srw

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
Posts: 2395
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf or LoneWolfHT
In-game: Lone_Wolf
Location: Not there, THERE!

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by Lone_Wolf » Post

texmex wrote:I thought you needed selection boxes to fight mobs?
Nope. That just lets you know you're pointing at an entity

User avatar
texmex
Member
Posts: 1752
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: tacotexmex

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by texmex » Post

Then I’ve no idea why it’s still enabled on servers everywhere. Do people not want immersive worlds?
Mods | Support Mesehub: bc1qluuests9rxmlnvpjrhsnyjg9ucwy6z3r0y3srw

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
Posts: 2395
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf or LoneWolfHT
In-game: Lone_Wolf
Location: Not there, THERE!

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by Lone_Wolf » Post

texmex wrote:Then I’ve no idea why it’s still enabled on servers everywhere. Do people not want immersive worlds?
IIRC it's disabled client-side

User avatar
texmex
Member
Posts: 1752
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: tacotexmex

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by texmex » Post

Lone_Wolf wrote:
texmex wrote:Then I’ve no idea why it’s still enabled on servers everywhere. Do people not want immersive worlds?
IIRC it's disabled client-side
Not in, say, minetest.registered_entities?
Mods | Support Mesehub: bc1qluuests9rxmlnvpjrhsnyjg9ucwy6z3r0y3srw

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
Posts: 2395
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf or LoneWolfHT
In-game: Lone_Wolf
Location: Not there, THERE!

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by Lone_Wolf » Post

texmex wrote:
Lone_Wolf wrote:
texmex wrote:Then I’ve no idea why it’s still enabled on servers everywhere. Do people not want immersive worlds?
IIRC it's disabled client-side
Not in, say, minetest.registered_entities?
If you did that then you would be unable to hit them. All the client setting does is stop the outline from showing up
Image

User avatar
texmex
Member
Posts: 1752
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: tacotexmex

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by texmex » Post

Client settings are completely uninteresting from a server-based game POV. Which brings the issue back to my initial idea. Raycasting for checking hit or miss.
Mods | Support Mesehub: bc1qluuests9rxmlnvpjrhsnyjg9ucwy6z3r0y3srw

Astrobe
Member
Posts: 325
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:46

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by Astrobe » Post

I can't find again a post that show how to replace the halo texture that is used to draw the selection box. I tried it for a while, and I remember it made the game more difficult because it made it harder to see if a mob is in range. In my opinion, this is not something everyone would want to have, so leaving the choice to clients to disable it is not a bad option.

User avatar
texmex
Member
Posts: 1752
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: tacotexmex

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by texmex » Post

Astrobe wrote:it made the game more difficult because it made it harder to see if a mob is in range.
That's the whole point, but it would need to be the same for everyone of course.
Mods | Support Mesehub: bc1qluuests9rxmlnvpjrhsnyjg9ucwy6z3r0y3srw

User avatar
runs
Member
Posts: 1836
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 08:32
GitHub: runsy

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by runs » Post

I have this problem in 5.0:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=19852

A vertical offset :-(
Day 42 of the quarantine

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2871
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Player offset has nothing to do with mobs redo ? although the npc's do have their own character model included so shouldn't be affected.

User avatar
runs
Member
Posts: 1836
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 08:32
GitHub: runsy

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by runs » Post

TenPlus1 wrote:Player offset has nothing to do with mobs redo ? although the npc's do have their own character model included so shouldn't be affected.
Yes, it was my fault.

Feature request: Spawn in biomes instead of nodes. (v5 detect biome function)
Day 42 of the quarantine

User avatar
sorcerykid
Member
Posts: 1453
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2016 15:36
GitHub: sorcerykid
In-game: Nemo
Location: Illinois, USA

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by sorcerykid » Post

texmex wrote:I was thinking. When fighting mobs, what if instead of punching a selection box and become wildly unimmersed the calculation for hit or miss and damage would use raycasting instead?
I could be mistaken, but I thought the new raycast feature specifically works with selection boxes.
Essentially if a mob stands in front of (and within swinging range of) a player when the player weapon is swung it's a hit, regardless of whether selection box was selected or not. Selection boxes could then be completely hidden, increasing immersion.
It seems to me, this would be entirely possible just using trigonometry esp. the if the distance between the player and the object is under two meters. Raycasting in that situation would be overkill. Particularly since most lever-based weapons and tools require a swinging rather than thrusting motion, so collision checks should be across a wide angle. Not a single point.

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
Posts: 2421
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by Andrey01 » Post

TenPlus1, are you going to make some mobs a possibility to turn their heads?

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2871
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Me personally, no... but with help from someone with good modelling skills and a lot of free time it's possible.
Last edited by TenPlus1 on Sat Feb 23, 2019 06:25, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
Posts: 2421
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by Andrey01 » Post

TenPlus1 wrote:Me personally, no... but with help from someone with good modelling skills it's possible.
I have skills in blender modelling. What do i need to do?

User avatar
jas
Member
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 18:15
IRC: Freenode
Location: IRC

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by jas » Post

In case anyone was wondering, there's a reason why the mobs are physical. It's just sucky because players cannot be physical, but mobs have to be or they fall through the floor.

User avatar
sorcerykid
Member
Posts: 1453
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2016 15:36
GitHub: sorcerykid
In-game: Nemo
Location: Illinois, USA

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by sorcerykid » Post

jas wrote:In case anyone was wondering, there's a reason why the mobs are physical. It's just sucky because players cannot be physical, but mobs have to be or they fall through the floor.
It's possible for an entity to be physical but not collide with objects. They are two separate properties.

User avatar
jas
Member
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 18:15
IRC: Freenode
Location: IRC

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by jas » Post

Yeah I thought of that after I posted this, that's a good point. It's worth a try, thank you sorcerykid.

User avatar
BlazeGamingUnltd
Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 10:04
GitHub: BlazeGamingUnltd
In-game: BlaZe3
Location: Hyderabad, India
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by BlazeGamingUnltd » Post

How do you install this. I keep seeing the error that there is no such directory. Please reply!!!
-BlazeGamingUnltd
Do not forget to check my channel out : http://bit.ly/BlazeGamingUnltd

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests