[Mod] Encrustable Gems [gems]

Post Reply
User avatar
wowiamdiamonds
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 10:21

[Mod] Encrustable Gems [gems]

by wowiamdiamonds » Post

Adds gems to the game. Gems are found deep underground and can be encrusted into certain tools to make faster and more durable variants.

Depends: default, moreores
License: WTFPL for code and textures
Download: https://github.com/wowiamdiamonds/gems/zipball/master
...or look at the code here: https://github.com/wowiamdiamonds/gems

garnet, aquamarine, topaz, diamond, opal (left to right):
Image

crafting recipe:
Image
  • Garnet (+5% speed, +5% durability, spawns starting at -64)
  • Aquamarine (+5% speed, +10% durability, spawns starting at -128)
  • Topaz (+15% speed, +5% durability, spawns starting at -256)
  • Diamond (+10% speed, +15% durability, spawns starting at -512)
  • Opal (+35% speed, -10% durability, spawns starting at -1024)
Encrustable tools: steel, gold, and mithril, (gold and mithril are from moreores).

After some bug testing, I want to make a specialized furnace (fueled by mercury) that encrusts tools.
Last edited by wowiamdiamonds on Wed Aug 01, 2012 06:19, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

I got kicked out at -395:

02:47:26: ERROR[EmergeThread]: PseudoRandom.next(): max=-514 min=-512
02:47:26: INFO[EmergeThread]: on_generated took 639ms
02:47:26: ERROR[EmergeThread]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: LuaError: PseudoRandom.next(): max < min
02:47:26: ERROR[EmergeThread]: stack traceback:
02:47:26: ERROR[EmergeThread]: [C]: in function 'next'
02:47:26: ERROR[EmergeThread]: ...st-d38b465_test 3/bin/../mods/minetest/gems/init.lua:212: in function 'generate_ore'
02:47:26: ERROR[EmergeThread]: ...st-d38b465_test 3/bin/../mods/minetest/gems/init.lua:247: in function <...st-d38b465_test 3/bin/../mods/minetest/gems/init.lua:237>

Maybe the init.lua of the most recent moreores can help you.

Nice mod, don't worry about the textures, they're not bad. The structure of the lumps looks good.

User avatar
Josh
Member
Posts: 1146
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 23:11
Location: Victoria, Australia

by Josh » Post

Looks nice!

User avatar
cornernote
Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Post

+1 awesome!

User avatar
wowiamdiamonds
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 10:21

by wowiamdiamonds » Post

Topywo wrote:I got kicked out at -395:

02:47:26: ERROR[EmergeThread]: PseudoRandom.next(): max=-514 min=-512
02:47:26: INFO[EmergeThread]: on_generated took 639ms
02:47:26: ERROR[EmergeThread]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: LuaError: PseudoRandom.next(): max < min
02:47:26: ERROR[EmergeThread]: stack traceback:
02:47:26: ERROR[EmergeThread]: [C]: in function 'next'
02:47:26: ERROR[EmergeThread]: ...st-d38b465_test 3/bin/../mods/minetest/gems/init.lua:212: in function 'generate_ore'
02:47:26: ERROR[EmergeThread]: ...st-d38b465_test 3/bin/../mods/minetest/gems/init.lua:247: in function <...st-d38b465_test 3/bin/../mods/minetest/gems/init.lua:237>

Maybe the init.lua of the most recent moreores can help you.

Nice mod, don't worry about the textures, they're not bad. The structure of the lumps looks good.
You're right. I'll start using the generate_ores function found in moreores. Thank you

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3166
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

Nice idea. You should tweak opal so that it makes the tools 35% faster, but with a 10% durability loss. :)

User avatar
RealBadAngel
Member
Posts: 557
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 16:30

by RealBadAngel » Post

Cool mod :) i got a spare diamond texture in my texture pack:
Image
wanna reserve it? :)

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3166
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

RealBadAngel wrote:Cool mod :) i got a spare diamond texture in my texture pack:
Image
wanna reserve it? :)
...it doesn't fit the normal, 16x16 stone texture.

User avatar
RealBadAngel
Member
Posts: 557
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 16:30

by RealBadAngel » Post

Calinou wrote:
RealBadAngel wrote:Cool mod :) i got a spare diamond texture in my texture pack:
Image
wanna reserve it? :)
...it doesn't fit the normal, 16x16 stone texture.
I said: in my texture pack. Which is 128x actually. :)

User avatar
wowiamdiamonds
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 10:21

by wowiamdiamonds » Post

RealBadAngel wrote:Cool mod :) i got a spare diamond texture in my texture pack:
Image
wanna reserve it? :)
Sure, I'd like that :D

Updated: rebalanced the different gems so they aren't a linear progression, but each gem type is unique.

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

No crashes with the second version ( http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php ... 612#p35612 ) . Good job!

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3961
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

Looks nice!
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
terminalerror
Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 22:46
Location: The Sar-Chasm

by terminalerror » Post

GloopMaster wrote:Gem setup changed to Ruby, Sapphire, Emerald, Amethyst, and Topaz. Listed in order of depth needed to dig.
The gem names sound like Pokemon games.
ERROR[main]: ModError: Failed to load and run a sarcastic remark.

User avatar
Actev8
Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 14:09

by Actev8 » Post

May you consider moving opal aboth -999.5 as that's the lowest you can go

User avatar
0gb.us
Member
Posts: 841
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 01:55
Location: 0gb.us:30000
Contact:

by 0gb.us » Post

Actev8 wrote:May you consider moving opal aboth -999.5 as that's the lowest you can go
That's only the lowest you can go when on a server that has Glomie's protect blocks (or a variant) installed. The real bottom of the game is at -30912. (The top is at 30927.)

User avatar
axlrose08
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 14:58

by axlrose08 » Post

what is the /giveme command to get topaz etc?
I'm trying to make a spawn item and the recipe requires topaz >_<

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

axlrose08 wrote:what is the /giveme command to get topaz etc?
I'm trying to make a spawn item and the recipe requires topaz >_<
From the init.lua -just try doubleclicking it-

minetest.register_node("gems:mineral_topaz", {

So it is: /giveme gems:mineral_topaz 99

or 1, or 1000 or -1

LorenzoVulcan
Member
Posts: 445
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 06:46
GitHub: aegroto

by LorenzoVulcan » Post

+1
Developer of the BlockForge 2# Project!
Official thread: http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php ... 290#p54290

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

Topywo wrote:
axlrose08 wrote:what is the /giveme command to get topaz etc?
I'm trying to make a spawn item and the recipe requires topaz >_<
From the init.lua -just try doubleclicking it-

minetest.register_node("gems:mineral_topaz", {

So it is: /giveme gems:mineral_topaz 99

or 1, or 1000 or -1
-1 gives you 1-max. max=the max number of items you could get with the giveme command
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: XenoXenno and 3 guests