[Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

User avatar
dan75
New member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 19:20

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by dan75 » Sun Jun 16, 2019 17:38

I rebuilt my routing completely, I deleted all TCB and built it from ground up again. Only the tracks remained.

And guess what! It's working as intended!

dan75 wrote:
h-v-smacker wrote:Two — ARS is not a very docile beast. It often tries to overdo its duties. At stations the most likely scenario would be for ARS on the exit signal to reserve the route for a train that just pulled into the platform simply because it happened to stop close enough to the exit signal.


I think the trains stop with enough space between it and the exit signal on the platforms. I'll keep your advice in mind.


I had the exact problem on the left signal of Platform B with my new build. The signal placed the route back left before the train had fully passed the signal to the right. So I placed the signal and the influence point a little more right and the problem was solved. It seems I was a little too fast with my reply. Please forgive.

Now everything works! :)
Thank you for all your help.

Best wishes,
dan
 

yw05
Member
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 12:59
Location: linux-forks.de port 30000
IRC: yw05
In-game: ywang

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by yw05 » Wed Jun 19, 2019 09:55

Orwell:
On Bananach Space Git I saw that you have made some commits related to "Railway Time". Was is it? Your comments in the code doesn't appear to explain enough.
+ Screenshots of Bananach Space Git
Attachments
Screenshot_20190619-174946_Firefox.jpg
(232.98 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Screenshot_20190619-175141_Firefox.jpg
(702.53 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Huh, why am I still using Minetest 4.x?
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 784
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by orwell » Wed Jun 19, 2019 21:15

It is a new feature that I'm working on. See also the wiki page
https://advtrains.de/wiki/doku.php?id=l ... ilway_time

My long term goal is to provide a system to make trains run according to a timetable. This is the first step towards this goal: having a time synchronized to the movement of trains.

I will add documentation in the next days.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

yw05
Member
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 12:59
Location: linux-forks.de port 30000
IRC: yw05
In-game: ywang

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by yw05 » Wed Jun 19, 2019 22:51

orwell wrote:It is a new feature that I'm working on. See also the wiki page
https://advtrains.de/wiki/doku.php?id=l ... ilway_time

My long term goal is to provide a system to make trains run according to a timetable. This is the first step towards this goal: having a time synchronized to the movement of trains.

I will add documentation in the next days.

Thanks, I understand now.
Another question: when this system is mature, is there a way to access it using Lua without atlatc components (i.e. Luacontrollers or something like that)?
Also (a bit off-topic, but since you also maintain the poshud mod): can you please change the "Time:" and "Railway time:" to simply "RLT:" and "RWT:"? Otherwise the railway time can't be seen on some mobile clients because of screen size.
Huh, why am I still using Minetest 4.x?
 

yw05
Member
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 12:59
Location: linux-forks.de port 30000
IRC: yw05
In-game: ywang

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by yw05 » Fri Jun 21, 2019 14:51

Also, could you please add a command that shows the timetable of stations? Something like /timetable <station code used in station/stop tracks>
Huh, why am I still using Minetest 4.x?
 

User avatar
Hume2
Member
 
Posts: 325
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 08:24
Location: Czech Republic
GitHub: Hume2
In-game: Hume2

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by Hume2 » Wed Jun 26, 2019 08:12

I'm trying the interlocking now. When I set a route on a section which has more exits, the rails aren't switched accordingly. Is it a bug or I am expecting too much?
If you lack the reality, go on a trip or find a job.
 

yw05
Member
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 12:59
Location: linux-forks.de port 30000
IRC: yw05
In-game: ywang

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by yw05 » Wed Jun 26, 2019 10:31

Hume2:
The switches must be manually set during route programming.
Huh, why am I still using Minetest 4.x?
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 784
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by orwell » Wed Jun 26, 2019 11:56

At the moment, you need to set and lock(punch) all switches. This is not done automatically yet.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

User avatar
mbb
Member
 
Posts: 251
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 17:47
Location: in front of my pc
GitHub: mbblp
IRC: mBb
In-game: MBB

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by mbb » Thu Jul 04, 2019 17:52

Hi, the website where I had my trains for download is down atm so here are the links to the git hubs of the trains:
Image
https://github.com/mbblp/advtrains_freight_train
Image
https://github.com/mbblp/advtrains_train_zugspitzbahn
https://github.com/mbblp/advtrains_train_orient_express
Image
https://github.com/mbblp/advtrains_subway_ny
https://github.com/mbblp/advtrains_rocket
https://github.com/mbblp/advtrains_db_160
https://github.com/mbblp/advtrains_bboe_1080
https://github.com/mbblp/advtrains_railbus
https://github.com/mbblp/advtrains_transib

most of the rains are not very well made but I know that I liked the Zugspitzbahn, the freight train and the rocket.

but I think all the freight cars are not working at the moment
Attachments
screenshot_20190704_194701.png
(532.73 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by mbb on Thu Jul 04, 2019 18:30, edited 1 time in total.
If you want to contact me please send me a twitter pm https://twitter.com/mbbdev
 

User avatar
mbb
Member
 
Posts: 251
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 17:47
Location: in front of my pc
GitHub: mbblp
IRC: mBb
In-game: MBB

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by mbb » Thu Jul 04, 2019 18:02

just a question: are sloped trains a thing now?
If you want to contact me please send me a twitter pm https://twitter.com/mbbdev
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 784
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by orwell » Sat Jul 06, 2019 05:55

mbb wrote:just a question: are sloped trains a thing now?

With 5.0,yes
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

User avatar
mbb
Member
 
Posts: 251
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 17:47
Location: in front of my pc
GitHub: mbblp
IRC: mBb
In-game: MBB

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by mbb » Wed Jul 10, 2019 21:44

orwell wrote:
mbb wrote:just a question: are sloped trains a thing now?

With 5.0,yes

nice
If you want to contact me please send me a twitter pm https://twitter.com/mbbdev
 

piet
Member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon May 06, 2019 10:16
In-game: piet

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by piet » Wed Jul 17, 2019 09:43

one question: are there more trains comming to advtrains?
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 784
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by orwell » Fri Jul 19, 2019 10:20

Hm, my problem is that my free time to work on advtrains is practically inexistant at the moment, and my motivation to create new models and integrate them is close to 0.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

piet
Member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon May 06, 2019 10:16
In-game: piet

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by piet » Fri Jul 19, 2019 10:40

orwell wrote:Hm, my problem is that my free time to work on advtrains is practically inexistant at the moment, and my motivation to create new models and integrate them is close to 0.


oh
 

User avatar
gpcf
Member
 
Posts: 317
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 10:48
In-game: gabriel

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by gpcf » Fri Jul 19, 2019 20:49

Due to orwell not having much free time at the moment, I am currently the de-facto maintainer of advtrains when it comes to the code, however, I have no 3d-modeling skills.
 

piet
Member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon May 06, 2019 10:16
In-game: piet

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by piet » Sat Jul 20, 2019 13:06

gpcf wrote:Due to orwell not having much free time at the moment, I am currently the de-facto maintainer of advtrains when it comes to the code, however, I have no 3d-modeling skills.



ok then i wil wait for next advtrains update
 

User avatar
h-v-smacker
Member
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 23:04
GitHub: h-v-smacker
In-game: Smacker

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by h-v-smacker » Sat Jul 20, 2019 16:33

piet wrote:
gpcf wrote:Due to orwell not having much free time at the moment, I am currently the de-facto maintainer of advtrains when it comes to the code, however, I have no 3d-modeling skills.



ok then i wil wait for next advtrains update


Piet, you can download Blender 3D and learn how to model with it, it's free software. Who knows, maybe you'll like it and make a new train yourself.
Linux Forks, the Best Forks: linux-forks.de // Play @ LinuxWorks Next Generation
 

PizzaIstGeil1
New member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2019 03:22
In-game: PizzaIstGeil1

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by PizzaIstGeil1 » Sun Jul 21, 2019 04:03

orwell wrote:ADVANCED TRAINS

Image

This mod features realistic trains and various equipment for railways, with a focus on automated train operation.
Main features:
- A small selection of different trains (passenger and goods trains) (see also "Extensions")
- Almost-realistic tracks with actual curves and switches
- Railway signals, controllable by various means
- ATC: Simple, command-like automatic train control
- LuaATC: Powerful Lua-scripted automatic train operation(requires some programming knowledge)*
- An Interlocking system, featuring track sections, routes and automatic stopping before signals
Planned features:
- A timetable-based automatic train operation system.

Manuals and guides:
Wiki
General manual
Interlocking system guide
Website, contains screenshots

Download / Git
Content Database:
https://content.minetest.net/packages/orwell/advtrains/
Git repository:
http://git.bananach.space/advtrains.git/
Issue tracker:
https://bugs.linux-forks.de/advtrains/

License of code: LGPL 2.1
License of media: CC-BY-SA 3.0


Extensions
These are some additional mods that add more content to advtrains.
You just need to install those mods and enable them.
More trains:
https://mbblp.github.io/advanced-trains ... index.html
https://github.com/Andrey2470T/Advanced ... ional-.git
https://github.com/h-v-smacker/advtrains_granite
Decoration blocks:
https://git.bananach.space/railroad_paraphernalia.git/
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=19743
Tunnel building
Tunnelmaker: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=20159
Digtron: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=16295

Servers
There are some servers running the Advanced Trains mod:
Linuxworks Next Generation
- I am frequently online on this server. If you are in trouble with some railway setup or have a question, it's best to catch me there.
*) LuaATC is in use in a variety of applications, most notably the Spawn subway system, on this server
Grand Theft Auto Minetest
- This server has some subway lines operated by advtrains.
Pandorabox
There might be more of which I am not aware.

Nice mod
 

User avatar
thomasthespacefox
Member
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 15:00
GitHub: ThomasTheSpaceFox
IRC: ThomasJaguar1212
In-game: thomasthespacefox

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by thomasthespacefox » Tue Jul 30, 2019 15:12

Made a new texture for the subway car.
Screenshot:
+ Spoiler

(yes, i figured out the mapping by hand. yes. the LED sign says "minetest" :) )
feel free to use it.

Edit: fix a small hairline flaw on one of the sides.
Attachments
advtrains_subway_wagon.png
revised texture
(314.78 KiB) Not downloaded yet
advanced_trains_subway_retextured.jpg
screenshot
(234.07 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

User avatar
gpcf
Member
 
Posts: 317
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 10:48
In-game: gabriel

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by gpcf » Tue Jul 30, 2019 21:34

I really want to make a font for the LED display, so it can show destinations....
 

User avatar
thomasthespacefox
Member
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 15:00
GitHub: ThomasTheSpaceFox
IRC: ThomasJaguar1212
In-game: thomasthespacefox

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by thomasthespacefox » Tue Jul 30, 2019 21:39

gpcf wrote:I really want to make a font for the LED display, so it can show destinations....

certainly a nifty idea... though for now i just made it say "minetest" as that seemed the most obvious.

Took a bit of trial and error to get that working from such a plain texture, i must admit.

If you do add it to advanced trains, i can make a new inventory image too if you need someone to. just ask.

Edit: heres a matching inventory icon:

Image
Attachments
advtrains_subway_wagon_inv.png
inventory icon for revised subway traincar texture
(1.79 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

User avatar
thomasthespacefox
Member
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 15:00
GitHub: ThomasTheSpaceFox
IRC: ThomasJaguar1212
In-game: thomasthespacefox

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by thomasthespacefox » Tue Jul 30, 2019 22:17

hmm... those line number graphics would need modifying, they cover the LED display when visible... moving them over to one side of the window would work i think.
 

User avatar
thomasthespacefox
Member
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 15:00
GitHub: ThomasTheSpaceFox
IRC: ThomasJaguar1212
In-game: thomasthespacefox

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by thomasthespacefox » Tue Jul 30, 2019 22:57

heres the full set of textures, including adjusted line number textures.
adv_subway_newtextures.zip
subway car textures
(331.52 KiB) Downloaded 15 times


also, here are the line numbers in their new position:
Image
Attachments
advanced_trains_subway_retextured_withlinenumbers.jpg
screenshot
(105.58 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 784
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by orwell » Wed Jul 31, 2019 18:11

Hm, I would like adding them as new wagons instead of replacing the old textures. But nice work thomas!
The displays are on my wishlist too.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests